Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Travel Size Glycemic Load Pocket Guide!
Excellent small reference book that is purse size and easy to carry everyday to be used as a glycemic load eating guide when out and about!
Published on July 7, 2008 by Lois Matheson

versus
88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Leaves much to be desired
I recently received this book. I am NOT impressed. It is small enough to carry along with you everywhere. However, even though the back says it "no more math - each food's serving size is already computed into the GL score" it offers no serving sizes at all. For example, it lists "stuffing" at GL-14, GI-76 but offers no further info. How much? What kind of stuffing? Or,...
Published on August 27, 2008 by D. Frank


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

88 of 91 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Leaves much to be desired, August 27, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
I recently received this book. I am NOT impressed. It is small enough to carry along with you everywhere. However, even though the back says it "no more math - each food's serving size is already computed into the GL score" it offers no serving sizes at all. For example, it lists "stuffing" at GL-14, GI-76 but offers no further info. How much? What kind of stuffing? Or, meat-filled ravioli GL-3, GI-39. How much? Homemade or store-bought? It goes on like that. There are also not enough listings. This handbook leaves much to be desired.

I also received "The New Glucose Revolution Shopper's Guide to GI Values 2008" (by Dr. Jennie Brand-Miller and Kaye Foster-Powell) at the same time. This book is WELL worth the investment. There are over 1,000 foods listed, including name brand products. If you are looking for a handy guide to take along with you... definitely toss this one and buy the 2008 Shopper's Guide. You will get a much bigger bang for the buck with that book.

That book is MUCH better!

Good luck with the diet. So far, I am excited about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flawed, February 25, 2009
By 
T. ONEILL (St. Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
I really wanted to like this handy little reference, but it's sadly flawed. As another reviewer said, it doesn't give any indication in the tables of the quantity of food the GL is based on, though the book does imply that a typical serving size is used to compute this number. But worse, when randomly looking at foods I found two puzzling conflicts: Black coffee is listed under "Desserts, sweets, and snacks" as having a GL of 49!! and under "Drinks" as 0 GL. Likewise, plain hummus is listed under "Condiments, spices, sugar, and sweeteners" as having a GL of 7 and under "Soups, sandwiches, and prepared foods" as 1 GL. Since there's no specific info in these categories (Is "dessert" black coffee assumed to have something with a high GL added to it? The author doesn't tell us.), it's hard to know what to make of this confusing information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money, April 1, 2009
By 
Susanne (Austin, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
In recent months, I have bought and read several books on modifying my diet based on the glycemic load (GL) concept. I purchased this book on the assumption that it would be handy to carry around as a quick reference. Sadly, a 'reference book' is only as valuable as the information contained therein is accurate. I am astounded at the contradictions (listed above by other reviewers) as well as the utter lack of complete information regarding serving sizes, etc. I am insulted by Mabel Blades' assumption that I'm not clever enough to do some calculations to figure out the GL value based on a given portion. Simple multiplication and division are within the capabilities of most literate adults. Further, the GL data for a variety of items is different (or erroneous) compared to other published GL charts. Difficult to tell which is the case as there are no portions listed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glycemic Load Counter, January 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
In comparison with the Glycemic Load written by Rob Thompson it doesn't compare with the GL in his book.....Who is correct??????
I feel the GL Counter is way off in the calculations and doesn't give specific amounts which can be a little misleading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe a thing in it - lacks many common sweeteners and foods, May 29, 2010
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
This book was a major disappointment to me. Black coffee was listed as having an extremely high GL and GI in one place and zero in another place. Common sweeteners like honey and Equal, Truvia, etc were not included at all. Common and popular veggies like turnips were not included. Moreover, the calorie count was extremely out of whack --- far too high. She said (sucrose) sugar has a GI of 68 and GL of 68. Other sources say the GL is only 8. She also says that a serving of veggies is two or three Tbl. I'm pretty sure that's not correct. I'm so sorry I bought this book and will now have to locate something I can depend on. I suggest you avoid this book.

- Susanna K. Hutcheson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Glycemic Load Counter, April 26, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
Not very detailed; example: under Cookies, it has "wafer." That is only cookie shown. Under cheese it does not show Swiss, a common enough product. Don't buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, February 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
It was disturbing to me to find several of the load counts quite different from Dr. Thompson's
list in his book on the GL diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth reading, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
This book is inaccurate and misleading. It should not be offered in a package with Dr. Thompson's GL Load titles since it directly contradicts his carefully research information. He says avoid starches; this book says that starches should make up 1/3 of your diet. As other reviewers have noted, serving size is not clearly described. High GL foods appear to be low (like muffins). I will be not be using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth The Price, April 19, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
This book provides less information than is available for free on most web sites concerning glycemic load diets. Save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Travel Size Glycemic Load Pocket Guide!, July 7, 2008
This review is from: The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods (Paperback)
Excellent small reference book that is purse size and easy to carry everyday to be used as a glycemic load eating guide when out and about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Glycemic Load Counter: A Pocket Guide to GL and GI Values for over 800 Foods
$7.95 $7.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.