Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, Quick Read, Great Business Short Story
This one needs to be added to every young business person's essential reading list. Though written in the 1920's, it does not feel dated, and its lessons and examples are still applicable today.

The young character in the book, Bill Peck, has just returned from the war and is determined to get a job with the leading lumber company. He displays confidence, and...
Published on December 12, 2004 by Chief Exec

versus
34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Go Getter: A Parable of Thuggery
I realize this is the minority opinion, especially for a book with a price tag of $0.00, still in all, I found "The Go Getter" a very strange book.

The protagonist is a one-legged, 1 1/2-armed ex army sniper who lands a job with a lumber company. The guy clearly can sell ice cubes to Eskimos but as we go deeper into the story we find there's a bit of Joe...
Published on September 7, 2010 by J. Carpenter


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, Quick Read, Great Business Short Story, December 12, 2004
This one needs to be added to every young business person's essential reading list. Though written in the 1920's, it does not feel dated, and its lessons and examples are still applicable today.

The young character in the book, Bill Peck, has just returned from the war and is determined to get a job with the leading lumber company. He displays confidence, and that's the first lesson in the book. He refuses to take no for an answer when rejected by two of the top executives of the company. He takes his case directly to the founder of the company, who is impressed by his determination. Bill's confidence is demonstrated by the fact that he had his business cards printed before he had even spoken to the company.

The second lesson is execution. Bill doesn't just throw out empty promises, but promptly delivers when turned loose in the field. It does not matter that he has been given an inferior, difficult to sell product. He finds a way to make it irresitible to his customers.

Finally, the company's founder decides to give Bill the final test, asking him to "deliver the blue vase." Bill shows his resourcefulness and refusal to quit in fulfilling this quest.

Though you can knock this book out in just one sitting, its lessons will stay with you throughout your career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars are you a go-getter?, September 23, 2004
The Blue Star Navigation Company has a problem. It hasn't been able to find a manager who will stick to his mandate once he is sent overseas and away from immediate supervision. The company needs a "go-getter", but how will it find one?

Along comes Bill Peck, a war veteran who will not take "no" for an answer. He asks for a job, any job. The company relents and gives him a sales job, selling lumber that nobody in their right mind would want. He proves himself worthy by excelling in his sales position despite the odds. He is now ready for the ultimate test.

From this point on, he encounters obstacle upon obstacle. As you read this story, consider at which stage you would give up. The Go-Getter displays just how much one person may accomplish if they decide to go beyond their usual point of giving up.

Do you ever catch yourself saying, "I tried but...", "If only I had more time/money/resources...", "I'm just not good at..."? Read this little treasure and you will discover that in all likelihood you are selling yourself short. You'd be amazed at what you can do, by simply deciding it shall be done.

Larry Hehn, author of Get the Prize: Nine Keys for a Life of Victory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tool any salesman could have!, February 1, 1999
By A Customer
This book was given to me by the President of a Lumber Company I once worked for. It is what I've patterned my sales technics after... Always going the extra mile. In short... Service above all. I recommend it not only to all sales people, but to anybody who's job it is to service the public. Oh, by the way, the Lumber Company President?... He's my best customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Stimulating, September 6, 1999
By A Customer
Mr. Peck's attitude is the greatest point he never quits. Young people today need to learn from the attitude of Mr.Peck. This world today is competative and Mr. Peck shows a CAN DO attitude. He demonstrated that one must win the person first to gain there confidence. Easy reading and quick. Excellent book recommend it to everyone!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection for anyone who needs a "jump start" in life., March 25, 1998
By A Customer
I give this book a '10' because it is short, in a story format, and has surpassed the test of time. Many "motivational" books are long; too long for someone who is busy and needs information to the point. I read this book in an hour and really felt like I was involved with the main character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it's not what you've got, it's what you *do* with it!, March 1, 2001
By 
Greg Rebuck "Greg Rebuck" (Kansas City, MO United States) - See all my reviews
It took me a few times to read the first chapter--I kept saying "huh?" (a weird opening) then finally got into it. Some of the best books start this way!
DON'T QUIT IN DISGRACE ACE, FACE THE VASE!
Greg "failing forward on my way to success" Rebuck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great motivational book, March 5, 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you've read anything by Spencer Johnson or Ken Blanchard and enjoyed their work, you need to read this precursor to the latest rage. This is far superior even if it is a bit dated.
Do you have the blue vase in your life? Are you in the "get it done" club?
Fun, interesting and with enough twists and turns that you will enjoy the quick hour you will spend reading this book. You'll want to let all your colleagues and friends read this (but not your competitors).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 45 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Go Getter: A Parable of Thuggery, September 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Go-Getter (Kindle Edition)
I realize this is the minority opinion, especially for a book with a price tag of $0.00, still in all, I found "The Go Getter" a very strange book.

The protagonist is a one-legged, 1 1/2-armed ex army sniper who lands a job with a lumber company. The guy clearly can sell ice cubes to Eskimos but as we go deeper into the story we find there's a bit of Joe Pesci's character in "Goodfella's" in him. To achieve his ends he bullies, threatens to beat the crud out of those who stand in his way, and at one point considers robbery to fulfill a promise to his boss.

And I thought Kevin Trudeau was extreme.

Stick with "A Message to Garcia". The Kindle edition will set you back $.95 but it has one thing going for it the other doesn't come close to: it's a classic of the genre. You don't have to plunge for this, of course, but as the protagonist of "The Go Getter" might say, "Listen, chum. You're going to download this or by God, I'll beat you with my stump and throw you off a bridge!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't Think it to Death, February 2, 2001
By A Customer
This used to be mandatory reading for ServiceMaster employees in the 1970s, and I got my copy from a retiring SM manager in the mid-1980s as he was cleaning out his office. This was the time when Tom Peters, fresh off his "Excellence" writings, was descending into his "break all the rules" type of exhuberant speechifying, and before "business process reengineering" hit the scene with Dr. Hammer, in suit and horn-rims from MIT. The Go Getter, by contrast, portrays a simpler, more direct world of business. You want the job? Pass this test.
You only have one arm because the other one was blown off in WWI? Pass the test. No ADA type accomodating here, no "norming" of the test. And the guy does it. He goes on the wild goose-chase treasure hunt and locates the object defined as his goal: the blue vase. All to prove he's fit to represent his new employer in Shanghai.
After hearing about business in China from a Chinese guy who shared our house in grad school, this seems like a good way to qualify for managing things over there. You want some guy spouting off about "seeing the future first" and making up slide shows? Or the relentless one-armed veteran who will stop at nothing to get the job done? If the job is all about moving lumber down rivers to be stacked and processed, doesn't sound too theoretical to me.
So I like this book, and for several years forced summer law student clerks of our firm to read it, to disabuse them of the notion that practicing law is some lazy, sit around and blow air all day type of undertaking. Don't clients want lawyers who are go getters? ServiceMaster did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the top five books I have ever read!!!, September 6, 1999
By A Customer
There have been times in my life when I was behind the eight ball and I remembered the story of the go-getter. It has gotten me through many a tough situation.
It is not a very long book. If it takes you more than an hour to read, then you have reading problems. However, it is the story that makes the book amazing.
I have read hundreds of books, and I would rank only four or five of them five stars, and this is one of them.
If you want to succeed at something then read this book first. You will not regret it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Go-Getter: A Story that Tells You How to Be One
The Go-Getter: A Story that Tells You How to Be One by Peter B. Kyne (Paperback - April 16, 2012)
Used & New from: $1.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.