Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please take all antique writings with a grain of salt.
Please take all antique writings with a grain of salt. I believe that one needs to view and interpret this book within the cultural milieu of 1900. I am not defending the ethnocentrism of that time or the occasional downright bigotry in this book. But don't throw the baby out with the bathwater. Like it or not, all of Budge's works on Egyptology are vital historical...
Published on April 19, 2009 by L. Byron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cornerstone texts on the religion of Ancient Egypt
It's rather hard to find concrete information on the Ancient Egyptians. E. A. Wallis Budge would be a good place to start. These could be considered cornerstone texts on the religion of Ancient Egypt. Absolutely jam-packed with reproductions of hieroglyphs and steles.

These books can be had dirt-cheap, and are a worthwhile addition to every student of...
Published 16 days ago by jason simpson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please take all antique writings with a grain of salt., April 19, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
Please take all antique writings with a grain of salt. I believe that one needs to view and interpret this book within the cultural milieu of 1900. I am not defending the ethnocentrism of that time or the occasional downright bigotry in this book. But don't throw the baby out with the bathwater. Like it or not, all of Budge's works on Egyptology are vital historical records and treatises. He is the one turn of the century egyptologist who approaches the subject from a magical and mystical perspective. If you are looking for the most up-to-date information on Ancient Egypt, this book is not for you. But if you are looking for some books that capture the Magick of Egypt that influenced Hermetic traditions such as the Golden Dawn and A^A^, I think that this book along with its companion volume, as well as Egyptian Magic and The Egyptian Religion (both by Budge and available on Amazon), are four essential source documents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gods of the Egyptians, August 23, 2005
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
Published more than 100 years ago, it still appears to carry authority. Very detailed account of Egyptian deities. Needs concentrated reading; of interest to people with more than a passing interest in the topic. New edition. A second volume follows this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extensive, June 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
I disagree that Budge did not mention that Christianity came from Egyptian religion. He did mention, in one of the first chapters that both Judaism, Christianity and Islam all are rooted in traditional Egyptian religious practice. I found that statement highly enlightening. And although he does pay tribuite to the classical Western view that ancient Egyptians were "half savage," he does clarify that he disagrees with that statement. In Budge's opinion, the Egyptians are clearly complex in their religious beliefs depending on where they lived and no broad statements of condemnation can be made about what little we understand of them. I do think he holds a high opinion of the ancient Egyptians, and although I cannot read hieroglyphics I trust that what he writes is to the best of his knowledge (at the time) correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cornerstone texts on the religion of Ancient Egypt, September 4, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
It's rather hard to find concrete information on the Ancient Egyptians. E. A. Wallis Budge would be a good place to start. These could be considered cornerstone texts on the religion of Ancient Egypt. Absolutely jam-packed with reproductions of hieroglyphs and steles.

These books can be had dirt-cheap, and are a worthwhile addition to every student of egyptology, comparative mythology, or ancient magick. Beware, however, as Budge is a typical academic, and these books can, at time, be drier than the mummies he's writing about.

It's still worth it, though. I've got two tattoos, taken from Budge's books, to give you an illustration of how I feel about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This book is what I was looking for, April 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
I am not a scholar but am interested in the subject and literate and for a person of my level it is exactly the right book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good book, January 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
I am into the Egyptian theories so this and volume 2 were a necessary addition to my library. For those into mystic ideas I would recomend both volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read. Loads of explanations and information for those ..., July 24, 2014
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
A very good read. Loads of explanations and information for those who are studying Egyptology or converting to an ancient Egyptian Religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An excellent reference work for researching the deities of the Ancient Eqyptians, timelessly written by Budge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and informative... Yet also Erroneous, May 12, 1998
This review is from: The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 (Paperback)
Wallis Budges' Book, "The Gods of The Egyptians" was Interesting at BEST and full of insulting and incorrect terminology and opinions about the Ancient Egyptians at WORST!! The book delved into the belief structure of the religion of the Egyptians but he referred to the Egyptians as "savages" many times then made statements that "...their ideas about the world beyond the grave and God and gods were of a savage, childish and inconsistent character". He also made the statement that "..it is difficult to see how the eminent Egyptologist could attempt to compare the conceptions of God formed by a half-civilized African people with those of such cultured nations as the Greeks and Romans". ANY educated man that has studied Egypt knows that the Egyptians TAUGHT the Greeks everything they THOUGHT they knew who came into Egypt ignorant and obsessed with homosexuality I.E.- Socrates, Pythagora credited w/(Pythagorems Theorom) which he learned in Egypt and the Romans were the same way. The Romans INVADED Egypt.. raping the country of her knowledge and culture.. which is how the Romans got THEIR knowledge I.E.- The Library of Alexandria. It is well known that Egypt was considered the "Learning Center Of The World" and had even developed the FIRST writing systems and were mathematical, medicinal and philosophical geniuses. YET... Wallis Budge would have his readers believe that they were SAVAGES and their religion wasn't really even worth bothering with.. yet he neglects to mention that it is the SAME religion upon which Christianity was based. So I would say to read Mr. Budges books (but especially this one), with a reserved and cautious mind. I have quite a few of his books, and they all maintain that same opinionated and incorrect view of the Egyptians and their culture. Therefore if you take his writings literally and as pure fact.. you might miss the GREATNESS that existed in an ancient people and their culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1
The Gods of the Egyptians, Volume 1 by E. A. Wallis Budge (Paperback - June 1, 1969)
$22.95 $15.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.