Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Golden Age of American Rock 'N' Roll: Special Novelty Edition
Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
37
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon February 26, 2004
After ten outstanding volumes in their "Golden Age Of American Rock and Roll" series, much to the chagrin of collectors, Ace pulled the plug on the series. However, they have continued to please us die-hard collectors and casual listeners alike with the likes of their "Country Edition" based on the "Golden Age" discs and now, with this "Novelty Edition".

Novelty compilations abound in the CD reissue marketplace but in Ace's true fashion, while including some of the ubiquitous tunes, here are found several rarely-seen ones along with some first-timers to legitimate CD such as Spencer and Spencer's "Russian Band Stand" and the Dyna-Sores' version of "Alley Oop". All told, within the massive 30 tracks total, there are 12 tunes from the top-ten, six from the top-20 and the remaining 12 coming from the lower reaches of the top-100 charts. With this kind of mix, the appeal here is to both the casual listener and avid collector alike.

And, as we have come to expect from Ace, these tracks have been mastered from the best sources available, so sound quality is as good as you'll find for these vintage tunes. Nine of the tracks (2-4,16,17,20-22,30) appear in stereo with the remainder in mono. Finishing off the piece is a massive 32-page booklet with lots of interesting and eye-opening tidbits on each of the included tracks.

Ace has once again proved who is king of the reissue when it comes to golden-age American rock 'n' roll. No real collection should be without this. In a word, outstanding.
22 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2005
I am a enthousiastic collector, and have almost all the Time Life rock n roll stuff, as well as Eric Records cds of this era. Although they are essential to any 50s 60s collection, nothing can top ACE series.

I could comment like this on all the 50s remasters of this fabulous record label, not only their other editions, but especially the Golden Age of American Rock n roll. I can not add anything to the positive reviews than simply summing up my personal view:

30 tracks per cd! (Time life is also excellent, but you get 15 per cd!)

excellent booklets with background info (not surpassed by any label).

not the same old songs over again, but many rare and still excellent tracks! This is especially true for this collection with many cheerful, sometimes ironic tracks! Amazing!

last but not least amazing sound quality.

So although you might have some songs there on other collections, it is for above mentioned points alone worth it to always have an ACE copy as well.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2006
The series of "Golden Age of American Rock & Roll" released by

ACE couldn't have a better end. During the past 15 years they

have delighted us with a series of 10 CD's with 30 songs each

remembering the Rock & Roll era mostly with minor top hits between 1954 and 1963. One reason for their tremendous success

is the superb quality of all the recordings no matter from

what year the original song was. Now besides these series of 10

CD's from the R&R era they have launched another 2 special

editions with the same title: one with the special novelty

edition and another with the special country edition. Both

deserve more than 5 stars.

The song selection on the novelty edition is just out of sight!

Most of the songs brought back memories from a long long time

ago since these weren't available after the time they were

top hits. I never found them back on what compilation so ever

until ACE put them all together 45 years later. And with a

sound quality better than in their original version on 45rpm.

Therefore don't hesitate. Buy it together with the country

edition and you will have 60 songs for utmost pleasure; 60

songs we grew up with and now with no scratches on them.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 22, 2007
This album from Ace of London presents many of the same novelty tunes found on the CD "A Novelty Experience," but in this case you also get their usual copious liner notes [none in the other CD] and a discography of the contents.

Many of the selections are readily available on numerous other compilations [e.g, Mr. Bass Man, Baby Sittin' Boogie, Mr. Custer, Beep Beep, Purple People Eater, and Witch Doctor], but even in those cases you have to be careful as often they are not the original versions. All of the tracks in this set are originals, and the sound quality is, as usual, excellent.

A full 12 of the tracks [1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 18, 19, 26, 28, and 30] are by bona-fide "one-hit wonders" [not more than one on the Billboard Hot 100], and mixed in are some rarities like I Want My Baby Back by Jimmy Cross. Once voted as the most gross record of its time, this was a take-off on the teen disaster songs of the day like Teen Angel and Tell Laura I Love Her by the host of the syndicated radio series Country Concert, and tells how the "hero" gathers up the pieces of his girlfriend after an auto accident. It made it to # 92 Billboard Pop Hot 100 in 1965.

Another is Ambrose (Part 5) (there never were Parts 1 to 4) by Linda Laurie about a pair strolling through the New York City subway system while she jabbers incessantly. In reality Linda Gertz, she is better remembered as the author of the songs Delta Dawn and Leave Me Alone (Ruby Red Dress), both hits for Helen Reddy.

Two more rarities are Psycho and Alley Oop by The Dyna-Sores. The former is a duet with Bobby Hendricks (Itchy Twitchy Feeling) and New York DJ Dr. Jive, who portrays a psychiatrist analyzing a whacko, while The Dyna-Sores' rendition of Alley Oop is the hardest to find of the three hit versions from 1960. Most of the time you will see either the one by The Hollywood Argyles (# 1) or Dante & The Evergreens (# 15), and so it's nice to see this # 59 hit re-released at last. The group included H.B. Barnum (Lost Love from 1961) and Jimmy Norman (I Don't Love You No More from 1962).

Jim Backus {Mr. Magoo) and Friend will get you to chuckling on Delicious as they indulge in some booze, as will Bob McFadden & Dor (Rod McKuen) with The Mummy - "eee eee eee eee eee eee ... I'm a mummy - aaaahhhhh" - but you'll be left wondering how Russian Band Stand ever made the charts [# 91 in 1959). In reality Spencer & Spencer were Dickie Goodman [who, with Bill Buchanan, also does The Flying Saucer] and Mickey Shorr, and this one is just plain idiotic. A better choice would have been Part 2 of The Flying Saucer.

Even so, a volume worth having if only for the liner notes and reproductions.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
30 rock and roll novelty songs spanning the period of 1956 to 1966. Most are by the original artists with good quality sound reproduction. Some made it to number one on the charts while some barely cracked the top 100. The version of Alley-Oop on this CD is by the Dyna-Sores as opposed to the more popular version by the Hollywood Argyles. Also the version of Ahab the Arab by Ray Stevens is a shortened version from the one more commonly heard. The reason I didn't give this effort five stars is mainly because of the song selection. Had I been doing the compilation, I would have replaced several of the songs with others from the same time period. But, that's just me being subjective. Would I buy the CD again? I think so.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Someone said it in their review. I'm cut'n'pastin' here:
"Nine of the tracks (2-4,16,17,20-22,30) appear in stereo with the remainder in mono."
To tell the truth, sittin' in MY car with the 26 speakers rockin', and ME drivin', I didn't even
notice the ones in mono-sound... maybe THOSE were the three songs I did NOT care for.
How DOES that MEATLOAF song go? "... three outta thirty ain't bad."

HIGHLY recommended! Oh, and the booklet tellin' me all about the songs and artists was
REALLY cool!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 11, 2013
Gotta love the Ape Call; those who grew up in or around Jacksonville, Florida will recognize the call in that song as the one used by WAPE, "The Big Ape". And did anyone know that the tipsy lady with Jim Backus, in "Delicious", is none other than the late, great Phyllis Diller? There was also another version of "The Mummy", which might have only been available in South Florida, done by two WINZ disc jockeys who called themselves "Booby and Bobby" (Bob Booker and Bob Green).

Alright, so what I'm really saying here is this is one of the best collections of novelty songs ever compiled. ACE is an ace at putting things like this together. I put them right up there with Eric Records as masters of the reissue. Great sound quality, too. Let's have more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
A good representation of some of the quirky songs of the fifties and sixties. My favourite will always be "yogi" by a bunch of frat boys. I had this song on another compilation. If you've never heard it then its worth the price of the CD!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2005
HERE A VERY FUNNY ALBUM.YES SOME SONGS ARE ON OTHER ALBUMS,BUT THE BULK ARE OBSCURE AND WILL MAKE YOU LAUGH HISTERICALLY.YOU HAVE 30 TRACKS.ALL ARE ORIGINAL HITS.YOU CAN FIND THE TRACK LISTING AND SOUND CLIPS IF AVAIABLE,IN THE PRODUCT IMFORMATION SECTION.BUY THIS DISC, YOU CANNOT GO WRONG. !!!ENJOY!!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2013
This was purchased for a fund raising event for the American Cancer Society. We were doing some real nostalgic games, and the ideas to bring in some fun music was brought up. This certanly did the trick. Such fun to go back in time.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.