Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The deepest secrets at a glance.
In the days when education was valued, magic(k)al knowledge was a closely guarded secret. Today, on the other hand (and unfortunately), if you want to keep something a secret, then you must hide it between two covers.

This is the ultimate reference for any sudent of the occult, regardless of school. In it one finds the mindset of every original GD member...
Published on September 8, 2001 by Brian D. Baird

versus
31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat disappointing
When I purchased this book, I was under the impression that it would contain a course to guide me through the Golden Dawn system. I was wrong. This is merely a collection of writings/notes by Regardie, and is not meant to be used alone.
If you are looking for a course through the Golden Dawn system, I would recommend the book _Self Initiation Into The Golden Dawn...
Published on June 17, 2004


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The deepest secrets at a glance., September 8, 2001
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
In the days when education was valued, magic(k)al knowledge was a closely guarded secret. Today, on the other hand (and unfortunately), if you want to keep something a secret, then you must hide it between two covers.

This is the ultimate reference for any sudent of the occult, regardless of school. In it one finds the mindset of every original GD member (before they all became profiteering, drug abusing, egomaniacs) who started the Western occult revival. Absolutely anything you could ever think of concerning occult matters is here, presented and indexed in a manner that makes it easy to use. It should be noted that while this book reveals the ENTIRE Golden Dawn, any flaws in its philosophy are inherent to the book. No two systems, for instance, can ever agree on the crafting of tools and elemental weapons, or on their proper use. If one's own system is unclear on a certain point, however, this book can clarify it and/or supplement it easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An incredible compendium of the Original Golden Dawn, October 25, 2000
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
This book in an incredible compendium of the original papers of the Golden Dawn. Isreal Regarde, when he broke ranks and published these papers, laid the foundation for the modern occult movement.
This book contains everything the aspiring adept ever wanted to know about the rituals and teaching of the Golden Dawn (the only more complete work is "The Complete Golden Dawn" published by New Falcon).
A warning though, the reading is dense and betrays the ethics, morality, and biases of the late Victorian era. Much of the ritual offers little in terms of practical magic to the modern magician (unless you are working on mastering the Golden Dawn system).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent reference, not for beginners, October 13, 2005
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
Step by step instruction is lacking and certain fundamental ideas are assumed to be known and understood by the reader... a complete beginner would be lost with this book alone. It is an invaluable reference for someone who has a certain level of practical experience, but a book like Don Kraig's Modern Magick would be preferable to start with.

That being said, it is a virtual "must have" in the library of any serious magician, be they traditional GD, thelemite, aurum solis, or of any other western tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Founation of the Western Esoteric Tradition, February 3, 2008
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
The book, "The Golden Dawn," is not a graded course although it contains enough material to keep one studying for years. Multitudes of subjects one can take lifetimes to master, Astrology, Tarot, Numerology, Geomancy, Meditation, Alchemy, Enochian system, QBL, ect., can be found here in great detail.

By going through a graded course such as the Cicero's, "Self Initiation," or "Modern Magick," by Donald Michael Kraig and using this book as supplementary material one could make much progress upon the esoteric path by this Golden Dawn tradition.

Re: Initiation. Temple initiation is by far the ideal route for those to whom this tradition resonates. (This book contains invaluable material to study side by side with ones own temple material.) That being said, it would be redundant of me to point out that this book contains nearly every imaginable "spoiler," for those who will seek that path. So there are several choices. To leave the initiations alone until one has the privilege of experiencing them, or to carefully dissect and understand them one at a time, until at great length they are built into ones aura, whether working with a temple or not.

It is to those seeking the latter that I dedicate the following.

Spend at least several months on the study of the Neophyte initiation. The Ciceros recommend building a temple and give a well thought out course for self initiation. I would recommend building a small scale model of the temple, or even organizing it like a paper chess board. Break down the entire classical ritual and understand each of its parts. One will also see what is omitted from the Ciceros version and get a better glimpse of the entire ritual. This is nice to do in combination with the "Z" docs. Spend much time with Z.1 and 3 (and if one has access to Zalewski's invaluable Z.5 you are very lucky.) The Z documents are for the Adept Heirophant who will officiate the initiation, and for the officers who will be performing it.

Break it down, learn the significance of each piece. Take notes and try to understand the significance of each part, officer, piece of furniture and item used. Try to discover the elements of the ritual, perhaps re-examining it after each chapter of "Modern Magick," (or similar,) is completed.

The Golden Dawn tradition is really historically amazing. Even though much of the material was available in other sources at the time of the formation of the GD, no other single source brought it all together so cohesively, often combining extraordinarily rare and obscure texts. This century which has followed its birth has seen countless contributions from many adepts who have worked through and pieced together a collective opus unknown and unmatched in history. For those who master this work there are a multitude of areas which the next generation will expand. This is a potentially never ending sea of expansion of which, in its already current vastness, it is possible we have merely seen the first drop of that which will one day be an ocean.

"And the voice of my undying and secret soul said unto me, 'Let me enter the Path of Darkness and peradventure, there shall I find the Light. I am the only being in an abyss of Darkness, from Darkness came i fourth, ere my birth from the Silence of a Primal Sleep.'"

"And the Voice of the Ages answered to my Soul, 'I am he who formulates in Darkness, the Light that shineth in Darkness, yet the Darkness comprehendeth it not.'"

-From the Neophyte Ritual of the Golden Dawn

Knox Om Pax
LVX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible Reference, February 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
I purchased this book a few years ago and found it to be terribly cumbersome. Don't get me wrong, this is a must own for any Kabbalist or one interested in High Magick. I consider it to be the best reference for the historical Golden Dawn, and I am generally pleased with it today.
However, for the solitary practitioner with no ties to an Hermetic Temple of any kind, Regardie's book is too much, too soon. I would reccomend before purchasing this book, you read the Tree of Life, A Garden of Pomegranates, and even the Cicero's Self-Initiation into the Golden Dawn Tradition. The first two books give an excellent background on ceremonial magic and the Kabbalah, and the third is a more easily workable exposition of the Golden Dawn. After going through these works, one can understand the much of the content of The Golden Dawn as never before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Isreal lives, October 18, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
What can I say..awsome book by one of the Great Magi of our times!Gives you the complete system from top to bottom as far as the Golden Dawn goes.Beginers could use this book...but Id suggest Donald Michael Criegs "Modern magick" first if your realy new to the system!But just to help give you some foundation before you dive into this complete Tome.Suppliment it with some od Isreal's teachings on CD and youll go far.......fast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to New Worlds, January 9, 2007
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
Not for a rank beginner, this massive opus is a vademecum for those interested in and a desire to explore New Worlds. While basic Qabalistic knowledge is helpful (Regardie's ART OF TRUE HEALING or Dion Fortune's MYSTICAL QABALAH), this is a veritable labyrinth of information for the beginner. The new introductions are extremely helpful. Be advised that this is not a "read cover-to cover" tome, but one which must be carefully studied and pondered. While some suggestions are given for approaching the book, each reader must discover his or her own way into this dense forest of metaphysical -- occult, if you prefer, but with the knowledge that "occult" merely means "hidden" and NOT "Satanic" as fundamentalists would have you believe -- teachings and lore. Not for the abecedarian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the edition to hold you, for now . . ., December 20, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
I would add, however, that some of the 'body awareness' and 'visualising the body as full of holes,' which regardie features in some of his books and CDs/ tapes, may be bad, and even dangerous for some people, if only in the long run. ( see 'Healing Energy Prayer and Relaxation' book, and 'One Year Manual.') Still, Regardie has much of value to contribute. (see my review for the largely useful 'One Year Manual.'

I am suspicious of the consecutive editions of this work since Regardie's death. Llewellyn, occasionally useful publisher of worthy 'occult' volumes, seems to have let Chris Monnastre, or whoever, stick their fingers into this volume, and muddy up some of Regardie's original edition, with dubious revisions of the original material.

Quite frankly, any reprinting of the Golden Dawn material should be left alone, if only for historical reasons. All over the internet, are versions' of the original Golden Dawn material, recklessly modified this way and that, leaving the sincere student to muddle with poorly documented material, free of Regardie's explanations, as well as free of access to the Golden Dawn material as Regardie knew it. To put it bluntly, I want the Golden Dawn material as Regardie originally knew, compiled, and explained it!

I read on the 'net that the New Falcon Press 'Complete Golden Dawn System' volume, although twice the price, or more, of this Llewellyn 'modified' reprint, is still available. Yet I read that it has been modified, in its subsequent editions, even worse than the Llewellyn edition has been.
Much useful material, exclusive to the Falcon edition, is added. Yet, it is said that Regardie's work has been tampered with in the editions since his death. I don't know what to think. After all is said and done, I wish the New Falcon people would stop adding to and modifying the edition Regardie oversaw before his death, and reprint their 'oh, so marvelous!' new insights into some sort of companion volume.

In short, I am not so sure that there are, as yet, worthy successors to Regardie, or to his original contents and layouts, in either edition ! This is so, in spite of the glitter/wonder boys like DuQuette, who would affect to follow in Regardie's footsteps as types of 'new expounders.'

Also, the past few Llewellyn editions features an index, by David Godwin. I might add a useful thought here, for students: the idea of a Godwin index is a little useless/ superfluous, as it takes time and patience to absorb the Golden Dawn material anyway. Regardie himself advises, 'a few pages a day' at a time. The presence of a large index may have been a fun exercise for compiler David Godwin, but I fail to see how it really makes the material so much easier to master. (Question: did Regardie ever feel an index necessary to his edition of the Golden Dawn materials ? Nowhere have I read that he did.)

In other words, patience is what's needed, not the use of some nervous index, likely to appeal only to the hesitant and unsure, and give them a false idea of the work to endure. What a waste of paper! I would rather they would stick everyone's 'modifications' back on those index pages, and leave Regardie's original text entirely alone !

At any rate, the additions of too much material, and 'addenda/ephemera' to the text, is at least a minor insult to Regardie. It is certainly a major insult to the structure of his work, which may have an integrity and wholeness all its own that ought to be acknowledged and appreciated, before anyone goes messing about with it.

Still, this volume is likely to serve you well, as being closer to the original Golden Dawn material as gathered by Regardie, than unreliable and random ramblings through any dubious websites that offer up the same material.

In the other, New Falcon edition, Regardie expands on the desirable recommended books he felt one should study along with the Golden Dawn material. These include a highly desirable list of recommended psychology readings, and also ' Nature's Finer Forces' by Rama Prasad, 'Kundalini' by Gopi Krishna (precious cautionary advice!,) and a few others, as I recall. However, useful recommended reads are also set forth in the Llewellyn edition. One can use these as a 'beginner's guide,' and acquire the 'New Falcon' edition later, following its reading recommendations.

You will need a guide through the occult maze, assuming you set out on it. Regardie provides that guidance.

Certainly one should acquire Regardie's 'Tree of Life' volume (even if it's the Cicero's!) It is in 'The Tree of Life' that Regardie provides the understanding necessary to appreciate the spirit of both the Golden Dawn and the much maligned, yet worthy, Mr. Crowley material. Having done that, one can add 'Gems from the Equinox' to one's bookshelf, the second major important volume to study along with 'The Golden Dawn,' even in the edition set forth by Llewellyn.

Truly, we shall not be setting in gear with Golden Dawn or Regardie to much of anyone's benefit, until more of Regardie's material is reprinted ( and I might add, the magic books of W. E. Butler.) It is in Regardie's various books that guidance is also provided, as well as his recommended readings in various authors, not completely discussed elsewhere.

Enough of this 'word to the wise.' If you have a nose for the best, you will not be distracted by lesser 'occultarians.' and Regardie will appear to be the 'man to go with.' I especially enjoyed having my Llewellyn Golden Dawn (before anyone started to 'revise' it) as I originally started on this road, to augment my work with the 'middle pillar ritual' (see Regardie's 'Art of True healing.') Benefits accrued, as Regardie would say. And they continue to.

Proceed cautiously, but proceed. And don't fall for the 'glitter kids' of the occult scene, before spending some time reading and contemplating Regardie's efforts, and learning to understand and practice them. Complete comprehension will gradually arise, all in good time. As Regardie says in an essay currently out-of-print, though accessible on the internet, ' The benefits are such as to make this effort extremely worthwhile.'

Get your currently preferred edition (Llewellyn's is smaller than New Falcon's) of the Golden Dawn material. Start studying a few pages a day. And practice the Middle Pillar ritual every day, as you will find Regardie recommends in his books. It is a 'sine qua non' of magical practice as Regardie sees it, and practically the entire central essence of his conception of the Golden Dawn.

If anyone has doubts, I reassure the reader that the edition I am (carefully!) working with now, is the 6th edition of Regardie - much as I resent what appear to be a few 'modifications' from previous Golden Dawn editions I have owned! ( At least they solved the 'page 103 misplacement issue' with the inauguration of the Llewellyn paperback edition.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat disappointing, June 17, 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
When I purchased this book, I was under the impression that it would contain a course to guide me through the Golden Dawn system. I was wrong. This is merely a collection of writings/notes by Regardie, and is not meant to be used alone.
If you are looking for a course through the Golden Dawn system, I would recommend the book _Self Initiation Into The Golden Dawn Tradition_ by Chic and Sandra Cicero. I'm not sure how easy it is to find this book still, but it is possible to purchase from the publisher's website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be the First Book You Buy!, June 19, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Golden Dawn: The Original Account of the Teachings, Rites & Ceremonies of the Hermetic Order (Llewellyn's Golden Dawn Series) (Paperback)
When it comes to the subject of ritual magic and the occult, I would be hard-pressed to think of another book that one should buy. True, it contains information that can be found in a dozen other books, both older and newer than this one. What matters is the presentation. The most important achievement of the Order of the Golden Dawn was to create a working system of magical training. By reading this book and performing the exercises it prescribes with regularity and detail, the occult student embarks on the voyage of "becoming more than human". The study program in this book is intended to train the mind to be capable of working magick, not just provide a series of rituals that are fun and entertaining. Aleister Crowley said that magic isn't just a tool to be picked up and put down according to necessity and desire, its a change of lifestyle that necessitates a complete transformation in behaviour and thought. This book is, in my opinion, the first step towards doing just that. If you are interested in becoming a practicing magus, buy this book, practice the rituals inside with regularity and you won't be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.