Customer Reviews

227
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Golden Girls: Season 4
Format: DVDChange
Price:$13.88 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

158 of 162 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon November 21, 2005
Format: DVD
1. Yes, We Have No Havanas - Blanche discovers that her new beau is two-timing her - with Sophia! Rose takes Dorothy's class in order to get her high school diploma.

2. The Days and Nights of Sophia Petrillo - As Blanche, Rose and Dorothy spend a lazy day sitting around the kitchen table, Sophia spends her busy day doing all sorts of charitable deeds.

3. The One That Got Away - Rose sees a UFO while sitting on the lanai; Blanche attempts to seduce the man who turned her down in the past.

4. Yokel Hero - Rose runs for St. Olaf's Woman of the Year contest.

5. Bang the Drum, Stanley - Stanley talks Sophia into filing a lawsuit when she gets hit on the head by a baseball; Rose and Blanche prepare for their roles in "Cats."

6. Sophia's Wedding (2 parts) - Sophia marries a man from her past; Blanche and Rose kick Dorothy out of their Elvis Presley fan club. One of the most hilarious episodes!

7. Brother, Can You Spare That Jacket? - Sophia mistakenly gives a jacket to charity, not knowing that there is a winning lottery ticket inside the pocket.

8. Scared Straight - Blanche's brother Clayton comes to visit and decides to tell Blanche that he is gay.

9. Stan Takes a Wife - Dorothy's feelings for Stan are rekindled when Sophia becomes ill.

10. The Auction - The girls learn that a famous artist is near death and attempt to buy one of his paintings at an auction as an investment.

11. Blind Date - Blanche meets a handsome man at a bar but doesn't realize that he is blind.

12. The Impotence of Being Ernest - Rose wonders why her new boyfriend doesn't approach the subject of sex.

13. Love Me Tender - Dorothy falls head over heads for a man her mother sets her up with but the attraction is purely physical. Blanche and Rose become a mentor to two teenaged trouble makers.

14. Valentine's Day - The girls reminisce about Valentine's Day when all of their dates cancel on them at the last minute.

15. Two Rode Together - Dorothy feels guilty about not spending quality time with Sophia and decides to take her on a trip to Florida. Sophia is not amused.

16. You Gotta Have Hope - Dorothy can't find a talent act for a hospital charity show and is astounded when Rose tells her that she can get Bob Hope to do it!

17. Fiddler on the Ropes - Sophia invests her money in a prize fighter but on the day before the big fight, he ends up missing.

18. Till Death Do We Volley - Things go a little bit too far when Dorothy's old friend Trudy comes to visit they try to out-do each by playing the biggest pranks.

19. High Anxiety - The girls learn that Rose is addicted to her medication; Sophia and Dorothy are hired to appear in a pizza commercial.

20. Little Sister - Rose is jealous when her sister comes to visit and spends most of her time with Dorothy and Blanche.

21. Sophia's Choice - Sophia rescues one her friends from a badly run nursing home; Blanche decides to have her breasts enlarged.

22. Rites of Spring - The girls discuss ways of improving their appearance for an upcoming party.

23. Foreign Exchange - Two of Sophia's old friends from Sicily come to visit and they have shocking news - Dorothy is really their daughter!

24. We're Outta Here (2 Parts) - Blanche considers selling her house when she gets a fantastic offer - the girls recall their times spent together.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2006
Format: DVD
I LOVE "The Golden Girls." All the characters are so funny, and imaginative. But my favorite is Dorothy (Bea Arthur). Just looking at her could make even the most serious person start cracking up.

During the Fourth Season "The Golden Girls" were at the top of their game. It doesn't get much better than this.

It's very sad that sitcoms no longer capture the warmth or comedy that "The Golden Girls" always had. Why can't the broadcast networks get their act together and make TV like this today?
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
Thank goodness we diehard fans don't have to wait over 6 months for The Golden Girls fourth season to be released on dvd!!! I noticed this particular season the character of Sophia really shines. She competes with Blanche over a man, gets a pizza commercial (too funny!), gets laid and married (in that order), and is leading a full productive secret life! Way to go Sophia!!

Although I love Sophia dearly, Dorothy is my favorite golden girl! Beatrice Arthur can make me laugh out loud just from her priceless facial expressions! I can't wait to purchase the Golden Girls intimate portrait dvd on November 15th because I missed it when aired on Lifetime. I'm totally looking forward to spending Valentine's Day with a box of chocolates and The Golden Girls Season 4!!! Okay! Okay! a hot lover will be nice too!!! Now only if the powers at be will finally release Maude on dvd!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on January 21, 2006
Format: DVD
I think that the Golden Girls season 4 is going to be awesome I can't wait to buy it because there are a bunch of episodes that I havent seen on the 1988-1989 series. I think most of all I want to see "Yes,We Have No Havanas" because I saw it once but don't remember it so maybe this season will get me caught up on the only last few episodes I didn't see on television. I also hope they put out seasons 5,6, and 7 on DVD soon also plus the Golden Palace so I can continue to buy my favorite television show of all time!!!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on February 23, 2006
Format: DVD
"The Golden Girls" continued to be the funniest show on TV as it went into Season Four. Dorothy, Rose, Blanche, and Sophia were all back together for another hilarious season. As far as where this season ranks with the three previous seasons, Season Four doesn't quite top Season Two. But it's right up there with Season One and Season Three, which is an amazing accomplishment. "The Golden Girls" was definitely at its peak when the fourth season aired.

SEASON FOUR (1988-89)
It's very hard for any TV show to continue being at the top of its game while going into a four season on the air. But "The Golden Girls" continued to excel and succeed as the fourth season played out. Episodes from Season Four to remember: Blanche and Sophia vying for the affections of a charming old Cuban guy; Rose winning the award as St. Olaf's Woman of the Year, and the girls traveling to Rose's home state of Minnesota for the awards ceremony; Sophia getting knocked on the head by a baseball at a baseball game; Sophia marrying her late husband's best friend; Blanche's brother who pays a visit and breaks some shocking news to Blanche; Blanche dating a blind man; Dorothy dating a man who, despite his plain looks, turns out to be the greatest lover she's ever had; the girls flashing back to Valentine's Day disasters; the girls putting together a charity variety show and trying to get Bob Hope to be their emcee (after Rose admits that Bob Hope is her father!); Rose trying to break an addiction of pills; the girls trying to get an old friend of Sophia's out of a nursing home that looks like a slum; the discovery that Dorothy might not be Sophia's daughter; and Blanche attempting to sell her house.

After being rewarded with Emmys and Golden Globes for the first three seasons, the awards parade stopped for "The Golden Girls" after season four in 1989. After receiving 15 Emmy nominations and 4 wins for Season One, 14 Emmy nominations and 3 wins for Season Two, 12 Emmy nominations and 3 wins for Season Three, "The Golden Girls" received 10 Emmy nominations for Season Four and ended up being shut out. That was not right. One Emmy it should have won for its fourth season was for Estelle Getty, who I thought was going to repeat as Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series for the second season in a row. But Rhea Perlman ended up winning the Emmy in a shocking upset as Best Supporting Actress for her role as Carla on "Cheers", and was her fourth win in that category. The Emmy should have gone to Getty, who was just as funny in Season Four as she was in Seasons One, Two, and Three. She continued to get the biggest laughs and continued to steal the show from her three co-stars Beatrice Arthur, Betty White, and Rue McClanahan (who all lost the Best Actress in a Comedy Series Emmy to Candice Bergen, winning her first of five Emmys for "Murphy Brown"). But still, 10 Emmy nominations is quite an honor for a fourth season of a show. Many times a show loses Emmy steam when it gets to its fourth season (not always, but sometimes).

Season Four of "The Golden Girls" featured some unforgettable guest stars. As a matter of fact, probably the most memorable guest appearence on "The Golden Girls" in its entire seven year run came in Season Four. It's the most memorable because the guest star turned out to be one of the greatest Hollywood entertainers of our time. That guest star was the great Bob Hope, who made a surprise cameo appearence as himself in the episode "You Gotta Have Hope", which is the one where Rose thinks Bob Hope is her father. Other guest stars included Jack Gilford (from "Cocoon") as Sophia's new husband in the two-part episode "Sophia's Wedding"; Monte Markham as Blanche's brother with a dark secret in the episode "Scared Straight"; John Fiedler as Dorothy's plain-looking new lover in the episode "Love Me Tender"; Latin singer Julio Iglesias as himself in the "Valentine's Day" episode; Anne Francis as Dorothy's old school chum and competitive rival in the episode "Till Death Do We Volley"; Jay Thomas (from "Murphy Brown") as a TV commercial director in the episode "High Anxiety"; Inga Swenson (from "Benson") as Rose's little sister who comes to visit and charms Dorothy and Blanche but constantly keeps giving Rose the shaft in the episode "Little Sister"; and Ellen Albertini Dow (seen recently in the smash hit comedy "Wedding Crashers") as Sophia's friend stuck in a nasty nursing home in the episode "Sophia's Choice". Also making an appearence on "The Golden Girls" during Season Four was a then unknown Quentin Tarantino (several years before becoming a top-notch director of feature films such as "Pulp Fiction" and the two "Kill Bill" movies) as an Elvis impersonator in part 1 of the episode "Sophia's Wedding".

"The Golden Girls": The Complete Fourth Season is a great TV show to add to you're DVD collection if you're a big fan of the show. I'm currently watching the episodes of Season Four, and I've been laughing my head off just like I did when I first saw these episodes over 15 years ago.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on April 2, 2006
Format: DVD
I am 29 years of age. I started watching "The Golden Girls" in my early 20s. I still don't understand what drew me to this show. Probably because my parents wouldn't let me watch it as a young child. During college, living at home, my younger sister and I, who shared a room, would stay up watching the reruns on Lifetime Television till midnight. We call each other "G-Girls." The comedy is quick and snappy. I especially love the sarcasm and glimpses of love between Dorothy and Sophia. Long live the stories from Sophia! I don't know why I started watching this show. I do not watch it to make fun of old people, rather, it gives me hope that life doesn't stop just because you get a few gray hairs. This show proves that the golden years truly are golden!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 21, 2006
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
Season 4 of the Golden Girls is here now, and if you have any doubts as to its pedigree, just look at the sales figures.

Seriously! Other classic 80s TV series like Dynasty, Dallas, and Twin Peaks have all mysteriously stopped coming - due to poor sales. The Golden Girls is one TV run that we may well see released as a whole. Which is very, very good news.

Anyway, back to the review at hand. Season 4 of the Golden Girls does two quite important things: it removes almost all of the pop culture references that littered Season 3, making its appeal even more universal, and it continues to build on the strong roots of multidimensionality laid down for each character in Season 3.

For example, the 2-parter 'Sophia's Wedding' shows that Estelle Getty isn't simply playing Sophia for wisecracks - there's some very funny humanity in there, too. 'Scared Straight' has probably Rue McClanahan's funniest scene so far (dealing with the acceptance of her gay brother's coming out) and shows more of the versatility of the actress who so often gets predictable, if likeable, one-liners about her sexual past. Dorothy and Rose have similar depth added to them, "Two Rode Together" shows a manic and unreasonable side to the normally intractable Dorothy and 'The Impotence of Being Ernest' brings out the bitch in Rose Nylund.

Situations run a gamut here, too, from homeless shelters to hospitals to questionable retirement homes to an hilarious little-old-lady beauty parlour run by recurring guest star Lloyd Bochner (Cecil Colby from 'Dynasty', fact fans).

Writing is as together and as solid as ever, and, as a collaborative effort, "Golden Girls - The Complete Fourth Season" deserves top marks for sheer entertainment value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
Each season of the Golden Girls gets better with each new release! Don't miss it! It's the "comfort food" of '80's television.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on January 7, 2006
Format: DVD
The Golden Girls is without a doubt one of the most memorable sitcoms from the past twenty years, even while airing six times a day on Lifetime, it's the kind of show that you will never grow tired of. Beatrice Arthur, Estelle Getty, Rue McClanahan and Betty White make one of TV's great all-women casts, much like the Sex And The City, Designing Women, Desperate Housewives and Facts Of Life casts.

Season four contains several classic episodes during the shows run, including the one where Rose and Dorothy believe they've seen a UFO, and the one where Blanche's brother comes out of the closet to her.

After a seemingly endless wait between seasons 1 and 2 and 2 and 3, Buena Vista have listened to us and are going to be getting these out faster. This is one of the greatest and funniest sitcoms ever created and long after the girls are dead and gone, this show will be along the lines of Lucy where new generations are still falling in love with the four widows and divorcees from Miami.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on February 13, 2006
Format: DVD
This is one of my favorite seasons and it includes my all time favorite episode of The Golden Girls, The Impotence of Being Ernest..the restaurant scene between Rose and Ernest is classic, it makes me chuckle every time. If there is one season that you should own of this show, it should be this one..but I would recommend them all, of course. There aren't that many shows that have four solid characters with an excellent plotline. I would say buy this as soon as you can, it's on my want list.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Golden Girls: Season 3
The Golden Girls: Season 3 by Betty White (DVD - 2005)
$13.88

The Golden Girls: Season 2
The Golden Girls: Season 2 by Betty White (DVD - 2005)
$13.89

The Golden Girls: Season 1
The Golden Girls: Season 1 by Betty White (DVD - 2004)
$13.89
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.