Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$117.15+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

HALL OF FAMEon August 8, 2010
This special set is being issued to help celebrate the 25th Anniversary of THE GOLDEN GIRLS. The show ran from 1985 to 1992, earning legions of fans worldwide. An unexpected smash for NBC, THE GOLDEN GIRLS told the story of four older women living together, and happily growing old disgracefully, in Miami. Brainy, self-assured divorcee Dorothy Zbornak (Bea Arthur), sultry, sex-mad Southern belle Blanche Deveraux (Rue McClanahan), sweet, simple-minded St. Olafian Rose Nylund (Betty White), and Dorothy's acid-tongued mother Sophia (Estelle Getty), on the run from Shady Pines Retirement Home.

This complete series set sadly won't feature any new bonus content (the only special new things will be a deck of novelty playing cards and the packaging, designed to resemble Sophia's trademark wicker purse). So in essence those who've already purchased the individual season sets won't have a great reason to double-dip unless you really want the purse--which is quite a novelty for the hardcore fans.

Extra features varied throughout the seperate season sets, but here's a quick run-down for those who didn't buy them:

Season 1 - A fashion commentary feature hosted by Joan and Melissa Rivers
Season 2 - "Go for the Gold" Interactive Trivia Game
Season 3 - "Golden Moments" montage, "Golden Girls" Interactive Scrapbook
Season 4 - "Top Ten Guest Stars of Season 4" countdown
Season 5 - Audio commentaries for key episodes, hosted by Bea Arthur, Betty White and Rue McClanahan
Season 6 - Excerpt from a 2006 cast/crew reunion Q&A held at the Museum of Television & Radio
Season 7 - "Thankyou for Being a Friend" retrospective with Arthur, White and McClanahan

It's hard to imagine a more perfect sitcom (save perhaps "I Love Lucy"), in terms of how the writing, humour and performances never seem to become dated. It's still as fresh and vital as it was during the original run. How many sitcoms give you serious belly laughs, re-run after re-run? This show does! THE GOLDEN GIRLS will always be in my Top Five favourite sitcoms; these ladies have truly endeared themselves and I can't see a week through without playing at least one or two episodes.

Now, how about DVD releases for "The Golden Palace" and "Empty Nest"? C'mon! I want a COMPLETE "Golden Girls" set!
99 comments|100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2010
"The Golden Girls" will always be one of the greatest TV sitcoms ever broadcast on network television. Not only was it a Top 10 show six out of the seven seasons it originally aired on NBC, but it went on to enjoy enormous success in both syndication and cable airings, and the individual season sets sold in huge quantities.

Now, "The Golden Girls-The 25th Anniversary Edition" comes to DVD with all 180 episodes uncut on 21 DVD's along with all the bonus features that were included in the DVD season sets. The bonuses include a great feature called "Thank You For being A Friend-A Look Back With The Golden Girls" and interviews with Bette White, Rue McClanahan, Beatrice Arthur, and Estelle Getty from the Museum of Television and Radio. Unfortunately with this new DVD edition, which is being released to celebrate the 25th Anniversary of the series (it debut on September 14, 1985), there are no new bonuses. Fans were hoping the studio would release episodes from "The Golden Palace" that aired after "The Golden Girls" was cancelled in 1992, but alas this is not the case. What you do get, however, is beautiful packaging made in the mold of Sophia's famous purse, along with all the episodes. If you haven't bought any DVD sets of this wonderful series snap this gem up. Even if you bought the individual sets buy this edition: the price is excellent and I am sure this will be a collector's item in time.

One interesting tidbit of information: "The Golden Girls" was the only TV series, along with "All in The Family" and "Will and Grace", where the entire lead cast received Emmy's for their work.
55 comments|56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2010
I bought this series for my grandma for Christmas and it is very funny. The only problem is not all of the discs will play. It is a very funny series as anyone who has watched it on television knows but with the prospect of having to buy a couple of the seasons again with the defective discs, I'm not sure it was worth the money.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2010
The quality of the discs are not to my liking.. It appears that copies might be 2nd or 3rd generation from the original and sold accordling. Not original and clarity is not good.
0Comment|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
Very glad to finally own this series on DVD. These are standard sets, not a superfine digital remaster, but the quality is good. It's currently a better value to buy all seven seasons separately (especially with the free shipping)--comes out just under $80 instead of the advertised $129+ for the series as a single unit.
11 comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
This box set looks and feels home made. I was embarrassed to give it to my friend as a birthday present so I kept it for myself. The DVD packaging is flimsy and the plastic parts that hold the DVD in place aren't even attached to the packaging for each season. It's like it was made at home by a counterfeiter. The image quality of the DVDs are terrible!!! It's like they didn't even try to make it better. On the earlier seasons, it even looks like they just copied it straight from VHS format without doing any tweaking at all. This all is terribly unfortunate, as I love this show and it deserves more respect than this joke of a collection.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2009
Blanche, Rose, Sofia and of course Dorothy played so well by Bea Arthur was a sensational tv show.
I just had to have the whole series.
Some of the episodes are unforgettable and hilarious. I have so many, many favorites. I'm going to keep them to myself, rather than making a boringly long, personal review.
Blanche and her boyfriends, Rose and her outlook, Sofia's great wit and Dorothy being the butt of jokes is just precious.
I love the complete set and am very appreciative of owning it.
0Comment|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2011
As an audience of Golden Girls on tv, i would watch it on every weekdays during my holiday periods. I loved the interaction between the characters and how they were presented.

This collection is great for the beginners that didn't get the individual DVDs of all 7 seasons since it comes with a cardboard replica of Sohpia's purse and a deck of playing cards, along with the 7 sets wrapped into the purse. Thou i wish that there would be a newer edition of the DVDs or with better video quality. I wonder where the source of the subtitles were from but i do hope to get more accurate subtitles as it misses sometimes.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
I have waited a long time for a true complete box set to be released. I was very disappointed that when it arrived, I noticed that not only did it not include any new previously, unreleased footage, but it was the same DVDs that you can by 2 for $19 at Target. Even the dates on the back of each DVD box were old. At a minimum I was expecting an all newm cool package design and possibly some bloopers. That would have been classic. But alas, all I got was a poorly executed marketing idea. I returned it immediately.

A true disappointment for long time fans of the show. The Girls deserve better !
22 comments|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2014
I bought this complete series for my wife for Christmas and most of the discs are damaged. They either skip constantly or don't work all together. We tried to contact the seller "Great Tv Shows" and they never responded. We finally decided to contact Amazon and they are looking into it through the A to Z guarantee. We are just hoping to get our money back because these are completely useless. Makes you rate it with a star even if you hate it, not even worth the one star.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.