Customer Reviews


177 Reviews
5 star:
 (164)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


120 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Sunset - The Final Season episode guide
The last season of one of television's funniest sitcoms aired from September 1991 to May 1992. The episodes include:

Hey, Look Me Over - Rose finds an old camera with undeveloped film in it that belonged to her husband Charlie. When she develops the film, she is shocked to see photos of Charlie in bed with Blanche.

The Case of the Libertine Belle -...
Published on November 16, 2006 by Phillip Oliver

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars GOLDEN GIRL FAN
I purchased the 7th season because i am a fan of golden girls. I have to put these videos in my portable dvd player first, then they play in my regular player.
The dvds are to light weight, thats the flaw. In fairness once the dvds begin to play the picture is of the highest quality. I have always been satisfied with amazon products. I purchased other dvds from...
Published on September 28, 2010 by D. thibodeaux


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

120 of 125 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Sunset - The Final Season episode guide, November 16, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
The last season of one of television's funniest sitcoms aired from September 1991 to May 1992. The episodes include:

Hey, Look Me Over - Rose finds an old camera with undeveloped film in it that belonged to her husband Charlie. When she develops the film, she is shocked to see photos of Charlie in bed with Blanche.

The Case of the Libertine Belle - The girls take part in a murder mystery weekend.

Beauty and the Beast - Blanche wants her granddaughter to compete in a Little Miss Beauty Contest.

That's For Me To Know - Dorothy finds a mysterious wedding photo in Sophia's collection and demands to know who the groom is. Blanche must make expensive repairs to her home or loose a renter.

Where's Charlie? - Rose is convinced that Charlie is sending her messages that he disapproves of her relationship with Miles. Blanche dates a baseball player.

Mother Load - Blanche dates a newscaster with a meddling mother. Stan wants Dorothy to take him back.

Dateline: Miami - The girls reminisce about some of their worst dates.

The Monkey House (2 parts) - During a hurricane, Blanche and Rose hold a telethon to save a lighthouse. Dorothy discovers that Stan is dating her sister Gloria.

Rose Loves Mile - Rose gets tired of Mile's penny-pinching and decides to date other men. Blanche looks after Sophia while Dorothy is away.

Room 7 - The girls accompany Blanche to Atlanta where she tries to save her grandmothers plantation. One of the funniest episodes ever!

From Here to the Pharmacy - A man returning from the Persian Gulf says Blanche made a promise to him but she doesn't remember him. Rose helps Sophia prepare her will.

The Pope's Ring - Sophia visits the Pope who has come to Miami. Blanche hires a detective for Rose to spy on Miles.

Old Boyfriends - Rose meets an old boyfriend from St. Olaf but can't remember him.

Goodbye Mr. Gordon - Dorothy starts dating an old high school teacher. Rose starts a talk show.

The Commitments - Blanche is worried about her looks when she can't get a man to go to bed with her. Dorothy dates a Beatle impersonator.

Questions and Answers - Dorothy goes on Jeopardy and annoys everyone.

Ebbtide VI: The Wrath of Stan - Dorothy and Stan are convicted of being negligent
landlords.

Journey to the Center of Attention - Blanche takes Dorothy to the Rusty Anchor and but becomes jealous when Dorothy starts singing and attracting the men's attention.

A Midwinter Night's Dream (2 parts) My personal favorite episode! Blanche throws a Moonlight Madness party and Sophia tries to break a curse.

Rose: Portrait of a Woman - Blanche convinces Rose to take boudoir photos of herself to spice up her relationship with Miles.

Home Again Rose (2 parts) - The girls crash a high school reunion where Rose ends up having a heart attack.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest (2 parts) - Dorothy becomes engaged to Blanche's uncle Lucas Hollingworth (Leslie Neilsen).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Girls - Season Seven, December 6, 2006
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
At long last, the seventh and final season of "The Golden Girls" will finally be out on DVD. It's been great watching the first six seasons of this truly wonderful sitcom on DVD, shown just like it did when it first aired on NBC. True, there are a couple of episodes from seasons four, five, and six that featured some brief editing while seasons one, two, and three were pretty much edit free. The brief editing was a little disappointing, but nothing like the hack job that Lifetime has done to the episodes that have aired on the cable network for years.

SEASON SEVEN (1991-92)

Season Seven of "The Golden Girls" is just a notch below Season Six. Season Six was a pretty good season, though not quite as good as the first five seasons. Season Seven was in my opinion the weakest season of the show's seven year run, but that doesn't make it a completely bad season. There were episodes that made me laugh out loud; there were episodes that were marginally funny; and there were episodes that weren't as funny as they should've been. But the show made a very strong comeback to end the series with the last two episodes: the next-to-last episode (a two-parter) and of course the final one hour episode that ended the series' seven year run.

The best episodes of Season Seven include: the girls going on a murder mystery weekend and Dorothy becoming a detective when a real murder occurs and Blanche is the prime suspect; Dorothy hiring a nurse to care for Sophia while Blanche enters her granddaughter into a kids beauty pageant; Stan going into therapy in trying to help him forget about Dorothy; a hurricane hitting Miami while Dorothy's sister Gloria visits; the girls traveling to Atlanta so that Blanche can make an attempt to save her grandmother's plantation; Sophia starts to date a man she met through the personals column only to be distracted by his sister who goes with them everywhere on their dates; Dorothy starts dating one of her high school teachers, while she and Blanche go on a talk-show that Rose is working for to talk about what it's like living together as roommates, only to find out at the beginning of the show that they are mistaken as lesbians, which infuriates them in the process; Dorothy trying to get on the game show "Jeopardy!"; and Blanche inviting Dorothy out for a night on the town at Blanche's favorite bar, and Dorothy becoming the center of attention with her terrific singing talent.

And of course there are those final two episodes, which work brilliantly not just for the laughs, but for the drama too. The two-part next-to-last episode, titled "Home Again, Rose" is an episode that combines big laughs with high drama. In this episode, Rose suffers a heart attack that requires serious open heart surgery. It's one of the most seriously dramatic episodes of "The Golden Girls", but it does contain some upbeat hilarious moments. The high comic point of the episode: Rose's dream that she, Dorothy, and Blanche all have their heads frozen. This scene is a comic masterpiece as the three ladies look absolutely ridiculous with their heads sticking up through the kitchen table simultaneously. And then there's the final episode: "One Flew Out of the Cuckoo's Nest", in which Dorothy finds true love with Blanche's Uncle Lucas (played by Leslie Nielsen), and in the end decides to marry him, which in the process breaks up the old gang. The final scene of "The Golden Girls" is so touching that it brought a tear to my eye when it aired back on May 9, 1992. It was a wonderful ending to a wonderful show.

Before the beginning of the seventh season of "The Golden Girls", Beatrice Arthur announced that the seventh season would be her last. She apparently had had enough, and wanted to move on to other things. One major change the show had to endure for Season Seven was a new time slot. For its first six seasons "The Golden Girls" aired on NBC in the same time slot: Saturday nights - 9 p.m. Eastern/8 p.m. Central, and all six seasons the show finished each season in the Nielsen Top 10. For Season Seven, "The Golden Girls" continued to air on Saturday nights, but got moved up an hour to 8 p.m. Eastern/7 p.m. Central. This move backfired, and the show fell out of the Nielsen Top 10 for the first time in the show's history. As a result, the show ended after its seventh season. But it didn't end for Betty White, Rue McClanahan, and Estelle Getty. They went on to reprise their roles in the "Golden Girls" sequel show "The Golden Palace."

For its final season, "The Golden Girls" didn't fare well at the Emmys. It only received three nominations for its last season, and for the first and only time it did not receive a nomination as Best Comedy Series. Betty White and Estelle Getty were nominated again as Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress, respectively. White and Getty were nominated for all seven seasons. The other nomination it got for Season Seven was for a technical category which it won. So for its seven seasons "The Golden Girls" finished with a total of 68 Emmy nominations and 11 Emmy wins. Very impressive.

"The Golden Girls" always has and always will be my favorite show. Some great shows have preceded it ("Soap", "All in the Family"); other great shows have followed it ("Desperate Housewives", "House"). But nothing will ever top "The Golden Girls". It's the best TV show ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Season, December 1, 2006
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
What can I say? Too bad we can't give it more than 5 stars!! I am so very glad the release of the final season is coming quickly. We own all 6 seasons so far and continue to watch them everyday in re-runs.

A special note to all of you true Golden friends.

Take close attention in the final episode when Dorothy marries Lucas. the ending credits is a gem which has been edited these days on TV. We get to see the classic closing piece (which I am sure most of you remember) of the picture Rose took and it lies on the table developing, our girls, cheesecake and all.

The perfect ending to a special and most beloved show.

Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow finally to own all the episodes of The Golden Girls!, January 26, 2007
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
This is my favorite season because they go to that murder mystery weekend in this one and they get their heads frozen in Rose's dream. This season is hilarious and it also includes Leslie Neilson! Like with season 4 last year I plan to pick up a box of chocolates and my Golden Girls and enjoy Valentine's day!

I'll get my head frozen if they release Golden Palace the complete show and Maude! Oh and maybe they will release that t.v. movie "Once in a Lifetime" with Betty White where she gets a chance to bungie jump and fall in love with Leslie Neilson!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly one of the best sitcoms ever!!, December 26, 2006
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
I have to say that I have bought all six seasons and I can watch this show over and over again and it always brings a smile to my face. I cant wait to get the final season on DVD I have all the episodes on video recored from reruns on the lifetime network and let me just say there is so much more on the dvds, lifetime had cut out so much to make room for commercials. I think season seven has got to be the funniest of season of all. I would like to see the Golden Palace released on DVD to kind of finish up the Golden Girls series. Anyone that is thinking of buying this DVD collection...DO IT! Believe me you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Season of a Wonderful Series, April 10, 2007
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
Like Seasons 1 thru 6, Season 7 is a thoroughly enjoyable DVD of a fantastic series, perhaps the greatest of all time. Dorothy, Rose, Blance and Sophie leave us wanting a Season 8 and so on. I hope "Golden Palace" will be available on DVD as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars After all this time we're almost finished!, November 18, 2006
A Kid's Review
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
I have been writing reviews since the Third Season and yet cannot believe that the last season is about to release. It will be releasing on February 13,2007 and it has 26 episodes from 1991-1992. The box art is black and the girls are in the same long-sided rectangle shapes that they were in on the first season. But what is really sad is on the front of the box its says "The Golden Girls The Complete Seventh(AND FINAL)Season.

Right now I have the last episode recorded to DVR and I always cry when I watch that show because I keep thinking "After seven years it's finally over" I always got sad when sophia says "Goodbye my girls" and they show the picture of Blanche and Rose hugging on the Lanai, and then I get sad when Dorothy says the last words you ever here from her on the show "you will always be my sisters,always". Then again i'm actually happy about getting the last season because then i'll just put in the first disc and start from episode 1 and then go to 180. But I still cannot believe we're almost finished!!! Some of the episodes are... Hey,look me over, The case of the libertine belle, Ebbtide VI The wrath of Stan, Questions and answers, That's for me to know, and of course On Flew Out Of the Cuckoos nest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Final Season of The Great Golden Girls!!!, November 15, 2006
By 
Charles I. (Kansas City, MO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
Finally we have come to the Seventh and Final Season of The Golden Girls! I have been waiting to own all of these great seasons and after this release I will finally get my chance. This is another great season that features more laughs, jokes, silliness, and the great friendship that each of the ladies had shared. This was a great and sad season in my opinion. Because Bea Arthur who played Dorothy felt that seven years was enough for her and she decided to leave the show. I wanted to cry right along with them on the last episode where Dorothy leaves to be with Blanche's Uncle Lucas. I wish Bea Arthur would have stayed just a little while longer because I could have watched more episodes of this wonderful show! I can't wait for this final season to come out on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet farewell, December 27, 2006
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
This is my favourite show of all time and my favourite season. For me, it was probably the most consistently funny (not that I've ever seen an episode that wasn't funny). So, on the one hand, it was very sad for me to say good-bye to a show that was clearly still in it's prime, but on the other hand, I'm also happy we were potentially spared from any shark jumping. Thank heavens for these DVDs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOLDEN PALACE SEASONS, September 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season (DVD)
Why can't we get the seasons of the GOLDEN PALACE?!!! Please Help me finish the complete history of "THE GOLDEN GIRLS" on DVD by putting "GOLDEN PALACE" on DVD!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Golden Girls: The Complete Seventh and Final Season
$20.00 $15.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.