Start reading The Golden Orb: Icewall Trilogy, Book 2 on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.
Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player


The Golden Orb: Icewall Trilogy, Book 2 [Kindle Edition]

Doug Niles
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Digital List Price: $7.99 What's this?
Kindle Price: $5.59
You Save: $2.40 (30%)

Whispersync for Voice

Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration. Add narration for a reduced price of $5.99 after you buy the Kindle book.


Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition $5.59  
Paperback, Import --  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Audible Audio Edition, Unabridged $17.95 or Free with Audible 30-day free trial
Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description


Towering aloof and secure, the isolated fortress offers humankind a place to survive and flourish in the barren realm of Icereach. Even the elven Messenger Kerrick Fallabrine has made a home there, living among the humans and teaching them a multitude of skills. But the ogre enemies are always near, and they have developed a powerful weapon, a destructive magic encased within a sphere of solid gold. Its existence forces the humans to confront the threat of extinction that lurks outside their walls.

In the second book of this epic trilogy that began with The Messenger, Douglas Niles carries the reader into the heart of an unknown realm, where the world beneath the Icewall trembles with threats of war, slavery, and greed.

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Douglas Niles was one of the creators of the Dragonlance(r) world and the author of the first three Forgotten Realms(r) novels. Some of his Dragonlance novels include The Dragons, The Last Thane, and The Puppet King. He also wrote the Watershed Trilogy for Ace Fantasy and Fox on the Rhine for TOR. He lives in Wisconsin.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1967 KB
  • Print Length: 324 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: B009LJK9Z2
  • Publisher: Wizards of the Coast (March 13, 2012)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0076PGLBO
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #117,187 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great second book in trilogy December 2, 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Set eight years after the first book in the trilogy, this is an excellent fantasy novel and part of a terrific trilogy. It answers a lot of questions from the first book and develops the familiar characters even further. Readers do not need prior exposure to the Dragonlance world to enjoy this book. And don't stop here, the final book in the trilogy (Winterheim) is excellent as well!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfied August 15, 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I've always been a fan of stories involving elves, and the Icewall Trilogy has given me a new view of them. This book features the same characters as The Messenger, mainly Kerrick Fallabrine and Moreen Bayguard. I was hoping to see some romantic involvement between them, but no dice, though there were some hints. The book was centered around the ogres' plot to destroy Brackenrock completely with the golden orb, an explosive device created by the alchemist, whose origins are eventually revealed. Kerrick learns some interesting information about the fate of his parents, and Moreen has changed quite a bit since The Messenger. I liked this book a lot, but I wish I knew when the third one was going to be released.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Straightforward and Entertaining Adventure April 9, 2002
Format:Mass Market Paperback
The Golden Orb is fantasy I like - straightforward entertaining fantasy adventure. Sometimes we need books like these, uncomplicated by political intrigue so rife in fantasy books these days (Eg. The Game of Thrones). Some say this simplicity sacrifices story quality, but I see nothing like this here!
The Golden Orb continues after The Messanger. I'm a little dissapointed that we did not see much of Kerrick's character developing and am stuck with yet another 'save the Arktos' adventure. So let's hope that the final book will see Kerrick returning to Silvanesti and showing those snobbish elves what he's made of.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category