Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$8.87+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 14, 2006
Dr. Olsen's, THE GOLDEN SECTION: NATURE'S GREATEST SECRET, casts a new light on the symmetry and beauty of the "hidden" aspect of nature which has been held in secrecy throughout the ages. Phi is the key that unlocks the ineffable mystery through elegant mathematics and geometry that result in nature's multitudinous physical manifestations and the the whirling cosmos. Readers will be rewarded with a brightened perspective and greater appreciation of the grand design which unifies it all in a clear and concise manner. Olsen's diminutive book speaks volumes, having been authored by one who clearly has delved deeply into the underlying origins of life. THE GOLDEN SECTION is thought provoking and mind opening, causing one to ponder the deeper mysteries of life and the universe. I highly recommend it to anyone interested in illuminating life's greater mysteries.

Wendy Mullins

Publisher
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
Hooray for Fibonacci! Certainly one of the funnest mathematical truths to get young minds contemplating.
Wooden Books publishing has developed a great 1 page, with an accompanying illustration page, at a time approach to explaining all kinds of natural occurrence and phenomena. I recommend you become as addicted as I am to their complete list of books!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2006
A book by its very nature is intended to impart information and/or instill thought on a subject. Scott Olsen's book The Golden Section: Nature's Greatest Secret indeed meets the criteria of both attributes. His writing ability allows even the most inept at geometry to understand Phi and the significance of its relationship to nature. Olsen not only covers some old points, but brings his own fresh perspective on Phi. I applaud his ability to convey the primary essence of Phi and its relationships to nature in just 58 pages clearly and succinctly. I truly look forward to reading additional work authored by Scott Olsen.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
This is one of the very best volumes in the Wooden Books series, which is the best book series I can think of. Of course a text this size on a subject this large is going to be limited in scope, but all the the most important aspects of the golden section are hit upon. If you think you are being ripped off because there are other books on Phi that are much longer, think again - this is quality over quantity. What really impresses are the fine print and the notes in the back, which have a great deal of information and some of the better commentary on the esoteric nature of Plato's work, brief though they are, that I have seen. I like that the author seems to have a passion for this work, which enlivens what is a rather dull subject if handled in the wrong way.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
AN AMAZING LITTLE BOOK AT AN AMAZING PRICE! WRITTEN IN EVERYDAY WORDS, THE AUTHORS SHOW THE MATHEMATICS BEHIND CREATION'S SHAPES AND FORMS, RICHLY LAVISHED WITH DRAWINGS, PICTURES, CHARTS AND APPENDICES. A MUST FOR ANY CURIOUS PERSONS BOOKSHELF.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
in my view this is one of the best of a fine series: well presented, well illustrated.
a few do somewhat disappoint; but most get four stars, some get five.
all are compact — easy to pocket, easy to read on the go, easy to handle.
and easy to giftwrap!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2012
Very interesting book, but obviously was a condensed version of a larger book. The small illustrations are very difficult to read even with a magnifying glass. Otherwise good information in almost too condensed form.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
I was anticipating something much different. It reads as if it were the authors notes for teaching. The illustrations are nice, but too many, too small, too little explanation/relationship to text. It rambles. I have a PhD in Neuroscience and a BA in Art, yet I found the text to wandering, unfocused, confusing and ultimately of no help. I rarely feel this strongly negative about a book, perhaps because my expectations were so dashed by the actual book.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2015
The many years of research distilled into the just the 7 page appendix is well worth the cost of this book. While i agree that it would be easier to read if larger print, the small format makes it easy to carry. I treasure my author endorsed hardbound version, it is a high quality binding that breaks-in well. When available, i will buy an e-book too. Thank you for writing this book Dr. Olsen !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
THE GOLDEN RATIO - what a marvel ! - what a miracle ! It`s the universe ! This little gem
expands on the subject that I 1st became aware of when I watched the dvd "Crop Circles"
in 2006. I've now acquired an insatiable interest in the works of Fibonacci & others. A
starting point for anyone who likes to draw, do tessellations & appreciate universal constants.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse