Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT CAN A MAN HAVE, BETTER THAN GOOD DAUGHTERS?
THE GOOD DAUGHTERS

Joyce Maynard hits the excellence button again in her newest novel THE GOOD DAUGHTERS.

We are introduced to the Plank and Dickerson families who both celebrate having daughters born on the same day, the 4th of July, 1950. While being more acquaintances than friends, the two families see each other yearly to mark the 'birthday...
Published on August 5, 2010 by Pamela A. Poddany

versus
39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad, sweet, and well ended
Occasionally a book or movie contains a revelation that is supposed to surprise everyone, but it's so obvious (in this book from page 4 on) that the only suspense is in waiting to find out how the characters will react when they get the news. That was almost but not quite the case in this book.

The story is competently narrated in two first person voices that...
Published on August 7, 2010 by Pasiphae


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT CAN A MAN HAVE, BETTER THAN GOOD DAUGHTERS?, August 5, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
THE GOOD DAUGHTERS

Joyce Maynard hits the excellence button again in her newest novel THE GOOD DAUGHTERS.

We are introduced to the Plank and Dickerson families who both celebrate having daughters born on the same day, the 4th of July, 1950. While being more acquaintances than friends, the two families see each other yearly to mark the 'birthday girls' special day. These visits mostly consist of the Dickersons coming to the Plank farm to purchase produce.

Ruth Plank has four sisters, not being really close to any of them. As for her and her mom's relationship, that is cold, distant, and awkward. Her mom, Connie, always seems to have to force herself to pay any attention to Ruth, while lavishing attention on the other girls. Also, Ruth doesn't resemble any of her siblings or mom.

Dana Dickerson has the same problem regarding her bond with her mom, Val. Dana has one older brother, Ray. Ray and Dana couldn't be more different, both physically and in temperment. Dana's parents are the type who don't stay in one place very long, moving around the country constantly, never holding down real profitable jobs, and never really paying much attention to either Ray or Dana.

Connie Plank has a strange obsession with the Dickersons, always bringing them up in conversations, sending them small gifts, and making a yearly visit to see them. While nobody can understand these almost foreceable visits, they continue to take place. The Dickersons are never too cordial and after a while the visits stop.

The Planks farm their land and the Dickersons move from city to city. Ruth Plank loves art and becomes immersed in that world. Dana, on the other hand, is very interested in plants and biology. Ray, a very good-looking and charismatic, charms his way through life, giving into his constant and drastic mood changes. Ruth Plank thinks he is the most beautiful boy she has ever seen and carries a torch for him for years. No other boy/man can ever measure up to Ray. Their paths cross in the future and what will be will be.

Ruth and Dana tell their stories chapter-by-chapter in their revolving voices. I love this type of writing format. We travel through their lives with them, from Barbie dolls to the pain of first love, the adventures of Woodstock, through marriages, divorces, jobs, aging parents -- life in general. The story is fast paced and full of the human condition. Maynard grips your heart hard as you, the reader, learn to care very much for her authentic and life-like characters.

The reader immediately is made aware that something is not quite right when it comes to the 'daughters' and later in the book the truth is revealed. While the reader is very conscious of what may have happened and the milk is spilled at the end of the book, the suspense and wonder of what actually happened is delicious. The reality of what actually happened between these two families is surprising. You don't have to be Sherlock Holmes to figure out immediately that something just isn't right.

Maynard is one author nobody should miss out on. Her books are different and wonderful often dealing with sensitive issues such as THE USUAL RULES that deals with a young girl's heartache and life after the devastation of September 11. You may wish to read LABOR DAY that deals with an escaped convict moving in with a woman and her son and the consequences of that Labor Day weekend.

This book comes highly recommended!

Thank you!

Pam
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad, sweet, and well ended, August 7, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Occasionally a book or movie contains a revelation that is supposed to surprise everyone, but it's so obvious (in this book from page 4 on) that the only suspense is in waiting to find out how the characters will react when they get the news. That was almost but not quite the case in this book.

The story is competently narrated in two first person voices that sound exactly alike, even though the characters are supposed to be different from each other in every way. It's easy to tell whether Dana or Ruth is doing the telling, though, because their paths are very different. Ruth follows an artist's way. Dana follows a farmer's way. And the reader goes on a little tour of the sixties and seventies, from New Hampshire to Boston, Colorado, British Columbia. Ruth even goes to Woodstock, where she falls madly in love, takes acid and hears legendary bands performing. But strangely, it all sounds and feels the same, no matter where the characters are or what they're doing. And that is my main problem with this book. It's this flat, emotionally aloof narration.

There are some lovely passages (the time in BC is really beautifully told) but for the most part, even when very painful or harsh things are going on, the characters retain a strange distance from the events. Perhaps that's why in the end, when another lovely and fitting revelation happens, I was not as moved as I thought I'd be. I really liked the ending twist. I liked Dana quite a bit as a character and enjoyed her story. But the somber, joyless tone throughout this book left me unmoved, especially by Ruth.

My other problem? I didn't buy what turned out to be a major factor in the basic premise, best described as "what women did." You'll understand if you read it; in no way did I believe that would ever happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting but falls short, September 12, 2010
By 
I did enjoy this book but I didn't think it was particularly memorable or insightful. I saw the "twist" at the end coming from early on, but that's not what gave me pause so much as the fact that the voices of the two women (both written first person pov)were almost exactly the same so I had trouble remembering which woman was narrating which chapter. I also found the story narrated in such a way that it only skimmed over key developments and scenes that I wish had been available to readers. This is particularly true at the end, which feels rushed and almost synopsisized. And finally, it's clear to me that the author wasn't personally familiar with the time period she wrote about in dealing with the girls' childhoods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Lovely Book by Joyce Maynard, August 5, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Joyce Maynard's books are usually about love, loss, life, and resolution. This book is no exception. It is a lovely book that I'd like to have read while resting against a tree in a forest or while lounging in a canoe in a crystal still lake. It's that kind of book.

The Good Daughters is about two girls, Dana Dickerson and Ruth Plank. They are called `birthday sisters' because they were born in the same hospital on the same day, almost nine months to the day after the great hurricane of 1949. Because of this connection, their families stay in touch as the girls are growing up. Usually they visit one another once or twice a year. The Planks own a large farm in New Hampshire that has been in their family for generations. The Dickersons are never in one place for very long.

Ruth grows up on the farm with four older sisters. The four other sisters all look alike, just like their mother. They are short, sturdy, strong girls who are close with one another and their mother. Ruth is tall and lean, built unlike her sisters or mother. Her father calls her `beanpole'. Ruth doesn't think that her mother loves her like she loves her other daughters. Their relationship is stiff and difficult at the best of times. Ruth feels very close to her father and loves to ride the tractor with him or spend any other alone time she can get with him. Ruth is drawn to art and wants to be an artist when she grows up. She has an active imagination and loves to create stories in her head.

Dana's parents are on the fringe of society and move around frequently. Her mother is a narcissistic artist and her father is absent more than present. He is full of get-rich-quick schemes that come to naught. Dana's mother is almost six feet tall and blond. Dana has a brother, Ray, that is quirky and ephemeral. Neither parent pays much attention to the children. Ruth and Ray have a special relationship. Dana's mother showers her with Barbie dolls and Barbie outfits which are about the last thing in the world that she wants. When Ruth comes to visit she likes to play with them. Dana is short and stocky, not built at all like her tall, lanky mother. Dana loves the smell of the earth and the Plank farm. She doesn't like to dress up. Her idea of dress-up is clean jeans and a clean shirt. She wouldn't be caught dead in a dress.

The book harbors a big secret that is obvious to the reader very early on. This secret, however, is not obvious to Dana or Ruth. As they grow up and become the women they were meant to be, pieces of the story fall into place more and more.

The story is told in the alternate voices of Ruth and Dana. Each chapter is told by one of the girls and is about their lives from their births in 1950 until they are in their 50's. The reader is privy to their childhoods, first loves and relationships. We live with them through the Vietnam War, Woodstock, their love of the land, and their relationships with their families. It is a tender book that has its share of sadness and torment. Joyce Maynard knows how to write page-turners that are literate and strongly emotive. This is a wonderful follow-up to Labor Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1950's reborn...., August 24, 2010
What a heartwarming, cozy, feel good read.....a sweet, nostalgic book...but with all good things there usually are regrets, heartbreak, and secrets. I really enjoyed this book...you will be surprised at who/what the "good daughters" turn out to be and will also learn some fun agricultural facts about fruits and vegetables.

Dana and Ruth were born on the same day, but they came from two completely different backgrounds. Dana Dickerson had a childhood that wasn't stable, and Ruth Plank had one that was totally what a childhood should be. Dana's parents were flighty, moved around, and their father never held a job for too long...her mother was an artist and acted as though she didn't even have any children. Dana actually never even called her parents Mom and Dad. Ruth's parents were very down to earth, had a farm to take care of, made sure their children were taken care of, and were called Mom and Dad.

Ruth's mother felt some sort of kinship with Dana's mother since their children were both born on the same day, even though Dana's mother laughed at Ruth. Ruth's mother would make a point of visiting the Dickersons each year even though it was a long trip and as usual an uneventful, uncomfortable, and unfriendly occasion.

The book continued by describing the lives of the two families during the 1950's with the focus on the girls and their choices of careers and partners that of course had been affected by their family and childhood.

I really enjoyed the book...it was during the time I was a child, and I could relate to some of the situations...if you liked The Glass Castle, you will like this as well. My rating is a 5/5. Great story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars heavy-handed, August 30, 2010
Maynard's premise in this book is an interesting one. Unfortunately, her efforts to be coy about that premise result only in heavy-handed foreshadowing that really leaves very little to the reader's imagination. Given how much she gives away, it seems that what was really important was not what the big secret was, but how the characters would react once they found out. That being the case, I wonder why Maynard chose to frustrate the reader by giving away almost the whole thing through less-than-subtle hints rather than just telling the reader what happened in the beginning and letting the story focus on the characters and how learning the truth changes (or doesn't change) their lives. There are a few details that are left unanswered until the big reveal near the end, but it wasn't enough to maintain any sort of narrative tension.

Once I got beyond the fact that there was no mystery where it seemed like there was supposed to be one, I was able to enjoy this book. Maynard's descriptions of her settings are beautiful, and I did find myself caring about the characters and how they would deal with finding out the truth. Unfortunately, the lovely prose does not make up for the narrative shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Is A Good Daughter?, September 11, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Born on the same day, Dana Dickerson and Ruth Plank actually seem to have very little in common. Dana's parents, Val and George, are free spirits who move their family frequently and cannot seem to hold on to anything; Ruth's parents are the latest in many generations of Planks who have farmed the same land in New Hampshire for over 200 years. Dissimilar in looks and temperament, the only reason the two remain in any sort of contact as they grow up is that Ruth's mother maintains a yearly trip to visit the Dickersons wherever they might be living, almost as though it's a sacred pact that only she knows about. The one good thing about these trips is the opportunity for Ruth to see Dana's brother Ray, a boy she maintains a crush on throughout the years.

Told in chapters that alternate between the lives of the girls as they grow up, Maynard foreshadows the major plot point along the way so often that it's easy to see what tragedies will unfold as the stories play out. Ruth's an artist who doesn't fit in with her four older sisters and who feels distance from her mother; Dana is a lesbian with a kinship for all things agricultural. As their lives march on through the 60s and into the 70s, both experience love and loss as they come to the awareness that sometimes what makes a good daughter is not what we are but what we do.

Maynard's writing is always a joy to behold, and The Good Daughters is no exception. Relatively short at under 300 pages, the inter-connectedness of the lives of these two young women play out against bigger cultural events and smaller familial actions. While I would have liked for there not to have been so many obvious hints at what the twist would be, it didn't detract from my overall enjoyment of Maynard's gift of words and her ability to bring life to her characters. Scenes of emotional loss so deep that it physically hurt brought tears to my eyes and yet this is not a book without hope and understanding. Maynard has a rare talent and The Good Daughters is yet another example of her complex layering. As long as she's writing, I'll continue reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A predictable light read, February 24, 2011
By 
kim*designer (Pittsburgh, PA area) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
There's no doubt that author Joyce Maynard can weave the language well, but her storytelling leaves out something needed in this book - heart. I felt that although she tried very hard to develop the two narrators, Ruth and Dana, their characterization ended up feeling just a little forced and flat. I never felt like I engaged with them, or cared about them much. The peripheral characters seemed to be stereotypical - a church lady, a free spirit, a philanderer, a stolid farmer, a wounded soul . . . when you can easily label characters that you don't care about, there's something faulty in the writing. The plot was highly predictable - no spoilers, but focusing on physical traits that Maynard emphasized, I had figured out the mystery less than halfway through the novel, thus killing any sense of suspense and making the remainder of the book move more slowly for me. I would recommend this book only to those who just read for the sake of reading and enjoy every book despite its flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An engaging read with a revealing ending, December 16, 2010
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Ruth Plank and Dana Dickerson are born on the same date--July 4, 1950--in the same hospital of a small New Hampshire town. Although the Planks, who have farmed the same land for generations, have little in common with the Dickersons, a transient family who had only arrived in town a few years earlier, Ruth's mother, Connie, claims a connection between the two families, calling the two girls "birthday sisters." Even after the Dickersons move out of state, Connie insists on keeping in touch, and so the Planks fall into the habit of paying yearly visits to the Dickersons throughout the girls' childhoods.

Author Joyce Maynard presents the story alternately from the perspective of Ruth and Dana. This makes for somewhat slow reading, as aside from the yearly childhood visits, the two girls live entirely separately lives--Ruth grows up immersed in the life of a farmer's daughter, although she harbors a secret ambition to be an artist, whereas Dana is shuffled from town to town with her hippie parents. As the two girls enter adulthood, the families lose contact; however, Ruth has harbored a long-time crush on Dana's older brother, Ray, and several chance encounters serve to blossom the seeds of her desire.

As the novel progresses, it does become obvious that there is more to the association between these two families than the "birthday sisters" explanation. Some reviewers have accused Maynard of over-playing her hand here; I admit that although I guessed at some aspects of the plot twist which is revealed in the concluding chapters, there were aspects that I did not figure out until the end. And to the extend that some readers DO discover the secrets of these two families ahead of time, I think perhaps this was what Maynard intended--i.e., maybe she wanted her readers to slowly become aware of the facts in the same way that Ruth and Dana themselves did.

Overall, I found this book to be an engaging read, if a bit slow at times. This was the first novel I have read by Joyce Maynard, and I would certainly consider reading her previous works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Families, sisters, and a secret...finding their way to peace, July 20, 2010
By 
E. Griffin (Wilton, CT, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
The Good Daughters is a novel about families--the ones you are born into and the ones you create for yourself. The story focuses on two very different families. The Planks are a serious, hard-working, responsible, and conservative farm family. The Dickerson family is mobile, has no evident source of income, and the parents are mostly self-involved, leaving their children to fend for themselves. These two families are linked together by each giving birth to a daughter in the same hospital on the same day--"birthday sisters."

The story unfolds through the eyes of the birthday sisters; Ruth Plank and Dana Dickerson, with each taking turn in alternate chapters. They begin as young children, sharing their family experiences, relationships with their parents and siblings, and their own developing sense of self. The lives of each family continue on separate paths, with the Dickerson family moving frequently while the Planks remain steady on their family farm. However, once or twice each year, the families are drawn together in awkward, manufactured coincidences that maintain tenuous ties between them.

Ruth and Dana proceed with their lives, encountering challenges and heartbreak as well as love and joy. The secret that ties the girls and their families together is evident to the reader from the beginning, but not revealed to Ruth and Dana until the end. However, knowing the secret does not make the story any less compelling, instead, Joyce Maynard creates a wonderful anticipation that makes the reader eager to discover how each girl reacts when she learns the secret.

The Good Daughters is well written, with a wonderful empathy and understanding for even the most unsympathetic characters. The story was too compelling to put down, and I read the entire book in an evening--highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Good Daughters: A Novel (P.S.)
The Good Daughters: A Novel (P.S.) by Joyce Maynard (Paperback - August 23, 2011)
Used & New from: $1.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.