Customer Reviews


2,408 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,993)
4 star:
 (328)
3 star:
 (56)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most thoughtful show on network tv
fabulous script writers make art, or rather meaningful TV fare, out of crime, the economy, corporate maneuvering, and edgy intimacy. The outstanding cinematography and ensemble acting have turned these great scripts into an epic with a precise economy: everyone is held accountable for their sins, great and small, and paybacks are excruciatingly interesting. It's probably...
Published 23 months ago by Andree Conrad

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legally improbable, romantically improbable, still fun
Thanks to Amazon, I became a Good Wife fan a few months ago and binge-watched the first 3 seasons. The actors are appealing and the script is frequently delicious, especially when Peter runs for office or has to do a deal with a devil (Wendy Scott-Carr?) in order to buy credibility. The relationship between Alicia and Peter seems real and complex and just as fraught as...
Published 14 months ago by Runsilent


‹ Previous | 1 2241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Legally improbable, romantically improbable, still fun, October 15, 2013
By 
Runsilent (Philadelphia PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Good Wife: Season 4 (DVD)
Thanks to Amazon, I became a Good Wife fan a few months ago and binge-watched the first 3 seasons. The actors are appealing and the script is frequently delicious, especially when Peter runs for office or has to do a deal with a devil (Wendy Scott-Carr?) in order to buy credibility. The relationship between Alicia and Peter seems real and complex and just as fraught as you might expect. As a lawyer, the legal bits of this show are almost unwatchable. From the very first season it was ridiculous, but it gets ever more so as time goes on and in this 4th season it's downright laughable. It's like a pointillist version of the law -- if you stay very far away it looks plausible, but as you get closer it looks more and more like nothing. The basics of the cases are interesting, but the timeframes and behavior of lawyers are just insane and unrealistic. Kalinda the magical "law firm investigator" does not have a job found at most law firms and since she transgresses the law regularly, LG would constantly be in trouble. Honestly, no big firm is doing that much criminal work, and especially it's not doing blood and guts criminal work. Still, I watch because although the courtroom drama is terrible, the relationships between and among people do feel real. Law firms do have partners like David Lee, and Diane, and (to a lesser extent) Will and they react in more or less real ways. The personalities of the various judges feel right also. All in all, it's an entertaining show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak first half mars otherwise strong season, July 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Good Wife: Season 4 (DVD)
I love THE GOOD WIFE. Season One is one of the best seasons of television, period. And the best thing about this show has always been the relationship between Alicia Florrick (Julianna Margulies) and Kalinda Sharma (Archie Panjabi). Unfortunately, two decisions made by the writers have irreparably damaged this relationship, and consequently the series. First, at the end of Season Two the writers decided to reveal that Kalinda slept with Alicia's husband during her stint at the State's Attorney's office two years before the show began. This undermined the friendship that had grown between these two very different women. And second, in Season Four, they brought in new character Nick (Marc Warren), Kalinda's long-lost abusive husband. This guy shows up in the first episode of Season Four as a thug with a criminal record attempting to use Lockhart Gardner to help him get a towing contract from the State. But his real motive is to move in on Kalinda again and get his hands on some money he believes she stole from him.

The problem here is that Kalinda has always been portrayed as a strong and self-sufficient woman. Yes, she was "mysterious," and it was obvious from the start that she had secrets she was hiding, but it seems totally against character to portray her locked in a love-hate battle with an abusive lunatic. While things are left a bit murky as to what Kalinda's relationship with Nick really is, they are shown punching each other, going full-on martial arts with each other, pulling guns on each other, and having what can only be called sadomasochistic sex with each other. In fact, their first "sex scene" looks very much like rape, although it is left up in the air as to whether or not Kalinda was into the whole rape scenario.

This storyline permeates the first half of Season Four, and the first ten episodes are undeniably marred by its presence. By mid-season, however, the writers seemed to get it (fans were not happy), and Nick was abruptly written out (although his story was left open-ended).

I didn't really begin enjoying Season Four until episode 11 ("Boom De Yah Da"), which is the first without Nick's appearance. There's also a great scene in that episode between Alicia and Kalinda that recalls their relationship in the first two seasons. Julianna Margulies has said that she herself could never forgive a friend who had done what Kalinda did (sleeping with Peter), and I think the writers have been influenced by her feelings about the storyline. That's unfortunate, since I've missed the Alicia/Kalinda friendship and hope to see it get back on track in Season Five.

There are some good characters in Season Four, including the return of Louis Canning (Michael J. Fox), Elsbeth Tascioni (Carrie Preston), and Mike Kresteva (Mathew Perry). Notable new additions include Clarke Hayden (Nathan Lane), a trustee appointed to help Lockhart Gardner avoid bankruptcy, and Maddie Haywood (Maura Tierney), a wealthy woman who befriends Alicia and then becomes competition for Peter. THE GOOD WIFE has always been adept at using guest stars to great advantage, and Season Four is no exception.

Overall, if you're a fan of the series (and I most definitely am), you won't want to miss Season Four. There's plenty of drama as Lockhart Gardner tries to survive an impending financial crisis, and Peter's run for the governorship is equally compelling. Just be aware of the weak first half. I'm also disappointed in the writers' decision to continue with the on-again-off-again Alicia/Will romance. While believable, a romantic relationship between these two characters makes Alicia seem weaker, and more vulnerable to the same kinds of things she dealt with in her marriage to Peter. That said, the conflict in Alicia's mind between her very understandable sexual attraction to Will and her commitment to her husband and children is compelling. The final moments of Season Four set up a scenario for Season Five that may or may not mean she has finally chosen one path over the other - but the writers leave it brilliantly inscrutable. Will Alicia jump back into a passionate liaison with Will, or will she recommit to Peter and her family? It's a delicious dilemma, and I, for one, can't wait!

First half of Season Four: 2 stars
Second half of Season Four: 4 stars
Overall: 3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars most thoughtful show on network tv, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
fabulous script writers make art, or rather meaningful TV fare, out of crime, the economy, corporate maneuvering, and edgy intimacy. The outstanding cinematography and ensemble acting have turned these great scripts into an epic with a precise economy: everyone is held accountable for their sins, great and small, and paybacks are excruciatingly interesting. It's probably the only show that could have withstood its perilous Sunday night schedule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I continue to just love this show!, January 14, 2013
By 
Linda D. "The Traveler" (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Wow, I am so hooked. I have been playing catchup via the Amazon Season purchases and I have had the most entertaining moments this past holiday season just viewing the first 3 seasons and season 4 is just as good as the first three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars My "Top Ten" for fixing The Good Wife, September 18, 2013
I became hooked on this show when I signed up for Amazon Prime and binged on the first three seasons. I waited impatiently for the fourth season to become available. Finally, $0.00! But I'm halfway through the series and it's such a letdown. The plot lines have strayed to relationships, while the bread-and-butter stories -- legal and courtroom battles -- are pushed to the side. I'm tired of skipping though the stuff I don't like (and even find repulsive).

Here are the Top Ten things I dislike about the fourth season. If most of them don't change, I'm outta here.

1. Nick has to go! He's skeevy, ugly and dragging the whole show down.
2. Put Kalinda back to work. Hang up her baseball bat and black belt and keep her out of the bedroom. (2014 update: I hear Kalinda's leaving the show. Whew!)
3. There's not enough of Eli! Give us more... but not of his personal life. Keep him on the campaign trail.
4. Forget the Will-and-Alicia romance. There's no chemistry there. (2014: Still, I miss Will. Finn Polmar doesn't do anything for me.)
5. More Will-and-Diane! Their working relationship, I mean. But please don't put them in the bedroom. (Ditch all the bedroom scenes while you're at it. No one needs to go there.) More Cary at work, too. (2014: Cary is a loser.)
6. Give us more parenting savvy. Zach and Grace are great kids facing universal teen issues. Show us how Alicia and Peter help them through. (2014: shocker about Zach. Miss his teenage self.)
7. Spare us Alicia's mom! Veronica is ridiculous. (And give her brother, Owen, something to do other than mope.)
8. Spare us Peter's mom! Except the scenes with her nurse companion. He's a hoot! But don't make it into a May-December romance.
9. Give us more of the political back-biting of Peter's campaign. It's delicious!
10. More courtroom and legal drama, please. But keep the violence and graphic images off-stage, as they were at first. Oh, and bring the firm out of bankruptcy, and put us all out of our misery. (2014: Yay! Florrick Agos & Lockhardt are back in the LG offices! I love Louis Canning... wish he'd join, too.)

Thank you in advance, and I hope to see you next season!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant entertainment, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I really enjoy The Good Wife. The acting is consistently good and the plot lines keep me watching. There are often some interesting surprises. I find the recurring guest cast skilled and amusing. It is not high-adrenaline excitement, but it is a solid drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone slept with Peter, October 15, 2012
Alicia is trying to win an internet lawsuit when Eli warns her that a reporter (the fabulous Miriam Shor) is about to print a story about Alicia and Will's affair. It turns out the story is about Peter and a campaign worker, and Alicia emotionally relives Peter's previous betrayals all over again. Kalinda continues her S&M relationship with her husband, while helping Eli determine if the campaign worker is telling the truth. And Rita Wilson is back as a lawyer trying to get Nathan Lane (as trustee) to intervene in Alicia and Will's case. A great episode with a great ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series, January 3, 2013
By 
HJC (Ringoes, NJ) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the best Network Series I have ever seen. Hope it continues forever with the same cast for several more seasons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyed this series, April 28, 2014
The cast is well put together and complex. The story lines are…..mostly good. There is some need to "suspend disbelief" as the lawyers take on a murder case one week, a civil suit the next, followed by a class action in the next episode. This is explained by their being a "full service firm". That said, the actual cases are interesting and, while Kalinda, the investigator, appears to be able to complete about 200 hours of work in every 40-hour work week, while maintaining an active and complete personal life, there is quite a bit of depth and interest in the work they are doing. The sidelines of the story interweave well and the writers do a great job of leading us in one direction and then surprising us when we're least expecting it. I've watched four seasons so far and am looking forward to when the next is available for streaming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Show, March 20, 2013
By 
Slomo Schmeckelbaum (Chiang Mai, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great entertainment, writing and acting are top notch,This show is very smart. It's funny, dramatic,The characters are engaging.The episodes just get better and better as more of each character's back-story comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Good Wife: Season 4
The Good Wife: Season 4 by Good Wife (DVD - 2013)
$64.99 $27.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.