Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Comic Book Making
There are comics that have more depth and some that have more subtlety than The Goon, but few that exhibit such sheer joy of the comics medium and "low-brow" art. It's obvious that Eric Powell knows not only the value of good B-Movies and pulp tales, but of all other pop-culture discards as well. His stories, freeway collisions among gansters, monsters, Frank Capra and...
Published on July 15, 2005 by Tim Hewitt

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for a start...
Eric Powell's "The Goon" didn't appeal to me at first. Yet again, we had another monstrous hero who fights monsters, and it was made worse by the fact that his appearance was VERY similar to Eddie Campbell's Bacchus. At the recommendation of several fanatical comic shop owners, I checked it out. They claimed that, if I liked Hellboy, I'd like this.
Well, the story is...
Published on August 4, 2003 by Babytoxie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Comic Book Making, July 15, 2005
By 
Tim Hewitt (Columbia, SC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
There are comics that have more depth and some that have more subtlety than The Goon, but few that exhibit such sheer joy of the comics medium and "low-brow" art. It's obvious that Eric Powell knows not only the value of good B-Movies and pulp tales, but of all other pop-culture discards as well. His stories, freeway collisions among gansters, monsters, Frank Capra and drive-in "sci-fi", are pure, simple, direct, and often outright funny. They invoke everything from Ed Wood to Norman Rockwell. Although Powell adopts a beautiful cartoony style in drawing Goon (with suggestions of Jack Kirby, Will Eisner and other comics greats), what makes it work is the talent of an accomplished artist capable of far more complex renderings. The Goon is a wonder and well worth your attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark Horse hit a Homerun picking Powell up., September 18, 2006
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
This was a wonderful read. I do not normally laugh out loud when reading comics, but this one keeps me rolling. Despite the fact that the characters are much the antihero, you just can't help rooting for them.

After reading this I am determined to buy and read this title as long as he is publishing it. The Goon is my favorite comic out today, and I would definitely pick this product up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hilarious melding, November 23, 2003
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
OK, "high concept review": What if you took the old E.C. horror comics, and mixed it up with old E.C. MAD comics -- tossing a few old E.C. "Two-Fisted Tales" in with the mix? Well, that's THE GOON -- both in its sensibilities, its subject matter, and its lush style of artwork.
I picked this up after many recommendations from many people (both friends and critics). And while it took me a few pages to get into it -- and to realize that what was going to draw me in was the humor. Any comic that can get me to laugh convulsively more than 10 times throughout its length has my vote, and my filthy lucre.
If you like your horror straight up, I doubt this will do it for you; but if your looking for comedy tinged with gore -- you're in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "All I can say is... knife to the eye!", July 16, 2009
By 
H. Bala "Me Too Can Read" (Recently moved back to Carson, California, or as I call it... the center of the universe) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
Eric Powell sure is one deranged em-effer, but in a good way, and THE GOON is one weird, subversive, crazy wonderful comic book. THE GOON isn't that easy to pin down in terms of genre. It's definitely horror, and there's even a Lovecraftian whiff at times, but it's also pulp adventure and crime noir and slapstick and parody. As Eric Powell's mentioned in The Daily Cross Hatch website, "It's a dark comedy about a street thug, in a world of monsters." But, really, it's basically whatever notion Eric Powell reels in, on any given day.

We seem to overlook the fact that the Goon himself is a shady character, because he battles and murderizes zombies and monster squids and other wicked supernatural whatnot. The brawny, face scarred, blind in one eye Goon passes himself off as mere muscle for the Labrazio crime family, but constant readers will know that the Goon had a while ago killed Labrazio and had taken over his criminal operations, but that he's kept the hostile takeover on the hush hush. So dude's not a good guy. Except that, in a world crawling with nightmarish otherworldly creatures, well, he's actually perceived as a hero.

You won't break your brain trying to keep up with the Goon's exploits. The story arcs basically boil down to: Hey, a monster! And then the Goon clobbers the monster with a pipe wrench or with something else equally handy. So Eric Powell keeps the narrative pretty easy to follow. This particular trade, THE GOON Vol. 1: NOTHIN' BUT MISERY, has the Goon and his cartoony-rendered sidekick Franky polishing off some more of the Zombie Priest's undead minions (these cats just keep wandering off Lonely Street). The Buzzard makes his debut, that tortured ex-sheriff cursed into a dark creature and who survives by devouring the undead (which is all kinds of ironic). The Buzzard has come to town harboring a long-held mad-on against the Zombie Priest, and off he goes to Lonely Street, with the Goon's blessing.

Then, intended as a nod to Christmas (but it feels more like a stab in the eye), Powell introduces a semi-sadistic Santa Claus whose little helpers had been consuming people during the holidays. There's also a hillbilly werewolf, and we learn why Franky had never ever received presents from Santa. Next, the Goon goes up against a magician and his harpies. And, finally, the Goon saves the world from alien invasion, and he does this in only three pages.

THE GOON Vol. 1: NOTHIN' BUT MISERY collects Powell's self-published issues #1-4 of THE GOON and THE GOON COLOR SPECIAL, as well as THE GOON short story featured in the final issue of DARK HORSE PRESENTS. You'd think, just because this is volume one, that it holds the Goon's earliest published issues. But, no, sir. For the Goon's earliest published stuff, you'd have to get THE GOON Vol. 0: ROUGH STUFF, which collects the first three Goon issues originally published by Avatar Press back in 1999. Good luck with that; Volume 0 costs a lot of bones.

To keep things even more interesting Eric Powell occasionally interrupts the story by injecting offbeat, dark humored advertisements, and I'm now really, really jonesing for that Billy Lobotomy Kit (with its totally convincing guarantee: "All heads taken from convicts and soulless heathens!"). The Depression-era backdrop adds to that pulp adventure feel and somehow lends itself well to a protagonist who's no-nonsense and less than loquacious. The very cool thing is that you never know exactly where Eric Powell is taking you. There are out-of-left-field twists, and the creepy crawly elements are offset with moments of sheer absurdity. The Goon and Franky are who they are, intractably, and the monsters are friggin' monsters, and what I mean by this is that you can pretty much forget about steady growth and development in their character arcs. But it's okay, I'd rather not have the Goon suddenly quoting Jane Austen or Baudelaire or Aesop.

Eric Powell can draw, did you know? Guy incorporates the signature touches of several comic book legends into his own wicked style: Jack Kirby's blocky dynamism; a whiff of Steve Rude's simple yet evocative lines; the old school magic and grit of Will Eisner; the twitchy weirdness of Richard Corben. Taking these influences and continuing to evolve, Eric Powell has established himself as an artist to be seriously reckoned. His painted covers are awesome stuff, and I wish there was a blow up of that one iconic panel featuring the Goon driving his red gas guzzler while firing slugs into a monster squid.

Actually, if one short sentence could encapsulate this comic book's in-your-face attitude, it may be Franky's no frills declaration as he and the Goon confront several fishy mobsters on the dock. To quote the ever feisty Franky: "All I can say is... knife to the eye!"

(By the way, I'm still waiting for new word on the supposedly upcoming CG-animated film about THE GOON. What's up with that?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I laughed, I gasped until my eyes bugged out, June 11, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
I am not a huge graphic novel fanatic, not that I do not appreciate great artwork and the compelling stories that come out of a variety of fantastic stories, it is just that it has never been something I have latched onto as much as many of my friends have.
My fascination has been with zombies and that has led me to different graphic novels where zombies play a part in them. From The Walking Dead Series to Xombie to Reces Pieces, I have found plenty to entertain me with along with the strictly written word in zombie books.
I picked up a couple of Goon titles, thinking that My Murderous Childhood and Nothin' But Misery would be the first two in the series. I was mistaken but after reading these two, I will be hitting up Rough Stuff and moving forward with the rest of the series.
I love the almost schitzophrenic way that Eric Powell's brain works with this series, how he brings in totally lunatic elements with both a dark and malevolent sense of humor that had me cracking up through this entire book. The advertisements are hilarious, the different tales both big and small are intriguing, and overall I thought it was a fantastic read.
Zombies play a part in the Goon series, which is what drew me to it, but it is far more than just that. I honestly cannot wait to read the rest of the various tales of the Goon, because the art is great, the stories are rolicking, and the bottom line for me is that this was fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun but too similar to Hellboy, January 23, 2008
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
The art is great, feels almost animated (and i hope someone will animate it). There is humor, but it's mostly in the art rather than in the text and ideas.

However, i felt a little dissapointed for two reasons:
1. Even if this is the first volume, you should read volume 0 (Rough Stuff) first since this one makes some important references to the origins of Goon and its enemy, the Zombie Priest
2. It's too similar to Hellboy. Not VERY similar, but enough to notice it easily. Even the looks and one-liners of the Goon remind me of Hellboy. Also his absurd supernatural enemies and friends are from the same pool of ideas (zombie gangsters instead of nazis, talking fish and sea monsters, hot chicks with a noir shade of character)

The Goon volumes make for a great looking and entertaining collection and should be appreciated by Hellboy fans. But this being the first volume that i read, i expected something fresher and more genuine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, August 11, 2004
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
This is my first foray into The Goon. I loved it. I usually read superhero books but lately I've weanted to get into something different. First it was Hellboy and now it's The Goon. This is Hilarious but it's not just jokes there are real stories here too. These other reviewers mention these great horror writers and what-not, I have not read their stuff (but I probably should), but this is a great read for anybody.

And The Atomic Rage is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kooky Spooky Fun, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
Always a mix of sly wit, humor and the strangest, most inappropriate characters. Just a few of many reasons that the Goon is one of my favorite independent comics. Eric Powell is a period-humor-macabre genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta have the Goon., January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
Been reading the Goon since it came out and finally had decided to buy the volumes. Highly recommend to anyone who likes comics and/or hilarious reading. Hopefully that movie ends up coming out one of these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Funny, Rollicking Blast, June 13, 2010
This review is from: The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) (Paperback)
Combine the wild horror of Hellboy, the Depression-era atmosphere of the Rocketeer, and the wacky, outrageous humor of Sam and Max, and you get Eric Powell's Goon.

Who is the Goon? A mighty, scarred, granite-jawed, two-fisted mountain of a man who, with his sidekick, Frankie, runs all of the crime rackets in the dead-end slums of a no-name city while, at the same time, keeping it safe from the marauding undead armies resurrected by the Nameless Zombie Priest. Weird? Sure. Wacky? You bet. Fun? Absolutely.

The Good: Powell knows his audience. He blends obscure pop culture references with some out-of-left-field humor, as well as a healthy dose of zombie-kicking fun, and makes what you might call a nifty companion comic to Mike Mignola's Hellboy. It's drawn in a cartoony fashion, but that actually adds to, rather than detracts from, the antics. Powell is also able to bring out a surprising amount of pathos in his characters. There really isn't an ongoing storyline in this volume, just interconnected short tales, and that seems to work just fine.

The Bad: Really, I didn't have much to complain about. If I had to complain about something, it would be the one-note plots (Joke, then zombie shows up, joke while beating up zombie, then joke finale), though even that isn't bothersome.

If you're a fan of zombies, Hellboy, or a good, funny comic, give The Goon a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered))
The Goon Volume 1: Nothin' But Misery (Goon (Numbered)) by Eric Powell (Paperback - October 20, 2003)
Used & New from: $2.93
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.