Customer Reviews


2,427 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,881)
4 star:
 (360)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (56)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


105 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Goonies R Still Good Enough
Director Richard Donner has gone into his wine cellar, retrieved this vintage flick, and poured it out for today's kids who might enjoy it along with a serving of Spy Kids and Harry Potter.Now, what is a goony, they might ask? Well, in this case, it's one of seven kids who find themselves searching for buried pirate loot, and running from the villainous Fratelli family...
Published on August 28, 2001 by Owlzindabarn

versus
24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointed!
I love the Goonies because it is a great movie. But one thing I really hated about the DVD was the fact that not all the deleted scenes are on it. Everyone says they are most likely lost but then again you see them turn up on Disney and all the bootlegs in good quality. Also for all you fans out there, the snack and shop scene is not the full thing. It stops right in the...
Published on July 20, 2002 by paul082189


‹ Previous | 1 2243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

105 of 117 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Goonies R Still Good Enough, August 28, 2001
By 
Owlzindabarn (Camarillo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
Director Richard Donner has gone into his wine cellar, retrieved this vintage flick, and poured it out for today's kids who might enjoy it along with a serving of Spy Kids and Harry Potter.Now, what is a goony, they might ask? Well, in this case, it's one of seven kids who find themselves searching for buried pirate loot, and running from the villainous Fratelli family. It's Saturday-matinee serial redux; SEE the Goonies escape from Steven Spielberg death-traps and Rube Goldberg booby traps! LAUGH at the unforgettable 'Truffle Shuffle!' APPLAUD as our heroes save the day, and WISH they'd made a sequel.Donner's wine has improved with age. The rapid pacing, the unraveling mystery, the over-lapping dialogue...and the incomparable Anne Ramsey as Mama Fratelli. Ahhhh, what a great actress. She scared the lice off of me as a kid, and can still do it, sixteen years later. And Sloth, cousin to the Incredible Hulk. How much can one love a misunderstood movie mutant? And Jeff Cohen as Chunk, possibly the greatest juvenile scene-stealer in motion picture history, (although, unlike most kid actors, you WANT him to do it).OVER 21 ALERT: It's not just a kids' movie! Oh, no! There's plenty for the big kids, really! This DVD has for example, several deleted scenes, including the infamous and mysterious 'octopus' scene, subject of much discussion and speculation. Well, now you can see for yourself why it was cut...We have here also the complete two-part Cyndi Lauper "Goonies R Good Enough" music video, guest-starring the Goonies cast, the Bangles as lady pirates, the hibachi chefs, the professional wrestlers, the plastic cow, Dave and Wendy and...(drum roll)...Andre the Giant! Yes, it's all here...the 12-minute video that was almost long enough (and funny enough) to be Goonies II.But never mind all this. What the grown-ups REALLY want to see is the Director's Commentary. That's right, SEE. This special edition DVD occasionally allows you to see the stars and director chat and reminisce about the picture, and...WOW. ALL SEVEN Goonies are here! Chatting, bickering, laughing, remembering. And I KNOW you all want to see how well the Goonies aged over 16 years. Very well, actually. And it's funny to note that Corey Feldman's character was called "Mouth," as he blabs away, hogging most of the commentary himself, (with Martha Plimpton in second place for the Chatterbox award). Interestingly, Sean Astin simply gets up and walks out halfway through the movie. Why? No one could say. Perhaps that will someday be as big a mystery as the 'octopus' scene...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Goonies R Good Enough For Me., November 7, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Goonies (VHS Tape)
Every once in a while that one movie that a whole generation of kids knows and loves comes around. For my generation, it was The Goonies. My friends and I used to pretend we were characters from the movie for months after we saw it. Goonies features one of the most endearing monsters ever, in the Baby Ruth loving Sloth, a young hero, Mikey, who uses his words incorrectly, an asian James Bond wannabe, Corey Feldman as the obnoxious Mouth, and the obligatory fat kid who everyone makes fun off. This group of kids, and Mikey's older brother and his girlfriends go off on an underground treasure hunt in an effort to save their beloved homes which are about to be torn down to make room for a country club. All the while their being pursued by The Fratellis, a family of counterfeiters who are after the same treasure. Awesome in everyway, despite it's script flaws (Data mentions the infamous non-existing octopus scene deleted from the film because it was deemed unnecessary). Goonies features many in jokes Mikey (Sean Astin) at one point exclaims "Holy Mackenzie" an obvious reference to his then teen heart throb brother Mackenzie Astin from Facts of Life. Can't go wrong with Goonies. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


156 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing Will Never Surpass The Goonies!, June 28, 2001
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
Like many before me, I grew up with The Goonies. I ran around my house as a young one, trying to act like Mouth, or doing the Truffle Shuffle to entertain friends (I lacked on the truffle, but I could do the shuffle).
The Goonies holds something that every kid should find magical, even though the only magic in the movie is the magic of friendship. Steven Spielberg wrote the story about a group of friends who are about to lose their houses so a country club can be built where they leave. They come upon a treasure map that supposedly has a legend behind it, and leads to a great treasure. Mikey and his colorful bunch of friends set up to go in search of the treasure not knowing the villianist trio, the Fratellis, are also out for the treasure. Along the way, chaos ensues, friendships go stronger, and they meet a creature who has nothing but love to share and Baby Ruths to eat.
The characters are all likable . . . are all lovable, and the actors who portray them made them all that they were. The Fratellis are even, in some ways, likable throughout the movie, but in the end, they get what they were asking for. The directing, of course, is awesome. None like it actually. And the sets are amazing. Especially the pirate ship set. That was too awesome, and enough to satisfy any adventure lover.
The DVD should satisfy any Goonies fan with the word of all the extras to be on it. And I'm ready to see the infamous deleted octopus scene. I hope it's on there. I believe I read somewhere that some of the cast had gotten together to do a commentary. Now there's wishful hoping that that did happen!
"SLOTH LOVE CHUNK!" And Josh loves this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goonies on DVD!, October 21, 2007
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
Before I had a DVD player, I heard about the release of this excellent film on DVD. I had to have it when I discovered it included a commentary featuring all of the Goonies with the director. I begged and pleaded with my parents to get a DVD player so I could see it, and finally, my wish was granted.

How could I be disappointed? The movie is fabulous. It is an adventure story and a teen movie mixed into one; it covers the coming of age theme and finding buried treasure at the same time. I know what you're thinking: "Rubies, and emeralds... and diamonds?" Yes! A group of kids who call themselve "The Goonies" are facing their last days in Astoria, Oregon. Their homes are being taken from them by a rich family who wants to extend their country club over the properties. Mikey (Sean Astin) and Brandon Walsh (Josh Brolin) are brooding in their home when Mouth (Corey Feldman), Chunk (Jeff Cohen), and Data (Ke Huy Quan) drop by. In their boredom, they decide to explore Mikey's dad's attic where he keeps all of the rejected museum items. There, they find a map showing where the kids can find pirate One Eyed Willie's buried treasure on the coast. Fueled by boredom and a need for money, the kids set out to find it. Brand tries to stop the boys, but consents to go along on the adventure when they meet up with Andie (Kerri Green) and Steph (Martha Plimpton). However, they run into trouble when they find that the place where the treasure is buried is also the hideout of the Fratellis, a group of murderous criminals. Filled with great scenes and great lines, ("I smell ice cream," "That's my mom's most favorite piece," "I'm setting booty traps!") you'll find yourself quoting this film and talking about it with everyone. It appeals to young and old alike.

The extra features are great. Besides the commentary which adds a lot of insight into the hijinx behind the scenes, there are both parts of the Cindi Lauper "Goonies R Good Enough" music video, a short featurette with behind the scenes information, and three deleted scenes including the famed octopus scene. Even the main menu is beautifully done.

I paid significantly more for this DVD than it is being listed for here, and it was worth what I paid for it and more. Why not take advantage of a great movie with great extras for a great price? You'd be dumb if you didn't!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun ride, February 17, 2003
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
The first thing I was thinking when "Goonies" really kicked into gear was: This is the daydream of an adventure-loving preadolescent boy, full of pirates, bloodthirsty villains, and exotic twists and turns in an underground maze full of booby traps. It's sort of "Indiana Jones" for the kids as well as the adults.
The Goonies (a band of young boys) are spending their last weekend hanging around their hometown, before it's razed for yuppie developers. Then Mikey Walsh (Sean Astin) uncovers a treasure map hidden in an old painting, and becomes obsessed with finding the lost treasure of the pirate One-Eyed Willie. With that treasure, they could save their town.
But the hunt for treasure sends the Goonies, Mikey's long-suffering teenage brother (Josh Brolin), and a pair of teenage girls (Kerri Green and Martha Plimpton) into dangerous proximity to the murderous fugitives, the Fratellis. With the Fratellis on their tail, the Goonies are determinedly navigating the underground, booby-trap-infested tunnels that lead to the treasure -- or to a very nasty demise.
The stolidly mature among you may scoff at the improbability of the story, but who cares? This is obviously a fantasy story, harkening back to pirate treasure and childhood adventures, thwarting the evil guys. The classic formulae are what makes it so fun. "Goonies" is like "Indiana Jones" in the sense that it's action-filled, with nasty villains, elaborate booby-traps, and a plotline that is wonderfully improbable. This is just fun. The sets are amazingly complex, full of stone tunnels and enormous waterfalls full of money, thin little bridges and a bone piano that causes the floor to collapse.
Sean Astin (yes, this is THAT Sean Astin, the guy currently starring as Samwise Gamgee in "Lord of the Rings") is endearing and very convincing as Mikey, the gutsy boy that could. Josh Brolin is also good as his overbearing but nice brother; the other Goonies include the incredibly funny Corey Feldman as "Mouth" (the scene where he weirds out the cleaning lady is priceless), comic relief Jeff Cohen as "Chunk" who bumbles from one misadventure to another, and Jonathan Ke Quan (who was also in "Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom") as gadget-obsessed "Data," a kid riddled all over with homemade inventions that occasionally save the heroes' behinds.
Though this film was made in the 1980s, it's aged extremely well -- now there is affection on top of the original liking for it. It's a funny, entertaining thrillride with pirates, villains, treasure and a band of quirky heroes. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Cinematic Treasure, January 8, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Aside from being one of my personal favorite movies of all time, this blu ray box set adds to the awesomeness that is The Goonies! The classic movie comes boxed with some really cool stuff so I'll discuss each item.

The Goonies [Blu Ray] - Picture quality is amazing. Looks just as good as newer movies shot with HD cameras. None of that weird grainy looking snow that sometimes shows up (all depends on the film stock used in production). The sound isn't too shabby either. I don't notice a huge improvement with the audio from the dvd version, however it seems a little cleaner.

The Goonies Board Game - Haven't played it but I opened the pieces and studied the rules a bit. Seems like a fun to-do on a rainy day kind of game.

Empire Magazine 2oth Anniversary Article - Nifty little reprint simply updating what the original cast has been up to since the film was made.

The Goonies Souvenir Magazine - 150 pages telling the story of how the movie was made, cast profiles, and lots of other fun stuff.

Storyboards - Original Story board mini copies. Pretty neat to compare the boards to what eventually would come to screen.

My only gripe is that the Blu Ray itself really has no new bonus features from that of the DVD. However, this set is a must have for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pinchers of peril!!! The Ultimate Goonie DVD experience!, February 15, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
Growing up in the 80's - The Goonies was one of the most incredible movies for me. It captures all of the childhood joy and want of adventure and excitement that a normal day just doesn't bring. This movie, while it is clearly an "80's" flick, does not appear dated in any way. It still has that spark that gave it life nearly 20 years ago.
That said, here's what you get with this DVD and here's why you should buy it today:
The movie itself is enough however...
The deleted scenes are a lot of fun. We finally get to see the ever-fabled "Octopus" scene. For years, I would scratch my head when Data said "The Octopus was really scary!" Huh? What Octopus? Well, he's in this DVD. You also realize why the scene was cut out. Let's just say the animatronics weren't all that great.
Those old music videos starring Cyndi Lauper and various classic WWF wrestlers are here too. Remember Rock "n" Wrestling? I found myself saying "oh yeah....I remember that!" Watch for a cameo of Susanna Hoffs from the Bangles in the video!
The DVD commentary is a lot of fun! While almost every new DVD has a commentary in place, it almost always bores one to tears with the director or a star just kind of droning their way through the movie. Often, the major stars don't even do the commentary (great example is Rocky - where the commentary features everyone but Stallone himself!) This commentary has all of the original Goonie stars plus Richard Donner. There's a lot of joking around and the stories they tell are funny and don't go off the subject. Note: Sean Astin disappears about halfway through the flick. Also, beware Corey Feldman who talk over everyone to further perpetuate that he is the biggest glory hog in show business.
Enough already. This is such a great movie and the special features are ones that you'll actually watch more than once! Buy the DVD already!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Presentation of a classic family film!, September 6, 2001
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
Despite the appearance of the lackluster cardboard case, The Goonies DVD is a must for any fan of this classic family adventure film. The high points of this edition are an inventive and colorful selection menu, the excellent transfer print of the film used, and the feature-length audio commentary, which reunites the entire child-star cast of the film! They've even gone so far as to include both parts of the promotional Cindy Lauper "Its Good Enough" video that ran its course back in the good-old days, when MTV played music videos.
The DVD is far from perfect, however, and there are a few minor disappointments. First, the audio commentary occasional switches from the movie to an in-studio shot of the actors discussing the film, which I personally found a bit distracting, although others may disagree. And while they take great pains to show the cast members talking, there are no filmographies or bios included in the Cast & Crew section, an excellent opportunity for a "Where Are They Now?" moment. Finally, while some deleted scenes are included with the extras, the cast invariably makes mention throughout the commentary of numerous scenes filmed that are not shown, even in rough form. Its always a let-down when a seven-hour rough cut is alluded to, yet only five minutes worth of deleted scenes (and no outtakes) make it onto the disc.
But these are all minor complaints, and in no way detract from one of the greatest kid's films ever made! Even if this DVD were a bare-bones release, it would still be worth picking up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Disappointed!, July 20, 2002
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
I love the Goonies because it is a great movie. But one thing I really hated about the DVD was the fact that not all the deleted scenes are on it. Everyone says they are most likely lost but then again you see them turn up on Disney and all the bootlegs in good quality. Also for all you fans out there, the snack and shop scene is not the full thing. It stops right in the middle of Brand yelling at Mikey. On Disney and the bootlegs it shows Mouth steal the map from Brand's pocket again and then the kids run off. So all in all, the DVD isn't all that great. The only good thing is pretty much the commentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Kids Adventure Movie Ever Made, November 20, 2002
By 
This review is from: The Goonies (DVD)
On a Saturday Weekend, Brothers asthmatic Mikey (SEAN ASTIN) and Bodybuilder Jock Brand Walsh (JOSH BROLIN) are depressed about leaving the Goondocks neighboorhood. When neighborhood friends smart aleck Mouth (COREY FELDMAN), complusive eater Chunk (JEFF COHEN) and gadget inventor Data (KE HUY QUAN), dedide to drop in for a visit they take a little stroll up in Mr. Walsh's attic and discover a three hundred year old treasure map made by a legendary pirate known as "One Eyed" Willie. Mikey knows the story so well he even recities about the events that led to a battle a long time ago.
From there this group called "THE GOONIES" later joined by Cheerleader Andy (KERRI GREEN)and Fishergirl Stef (MARTHA PLIMPTON) set out to Cannon Beach and embark on an adventure beyond their wildest imagination: their quest to find hidden treasure in need to save thier neighborhood and buy back their homes to stop a foreclosure from demolishing not only thier houses, but the Goondocks as well.
But it won't be easy, they're are two things that stand in their way which are: The Deadly Booby Traps and The Villianous Criminal Family trio called "The Fratellis" (ANNE RAMSEY, ROBERT DAVI and JOE PANTOLIANO). So now The Goonies must make it past the traps, solve the riddles and outwit The Fratellis in a game of Cats and Mouses in a race against time to save the Goondocks.
I have no memory of how I first fell in love with this classic, but I do know that it's the best Story from Steven Spielberg ever seen.
P.S. One of Richard Donner's best directed films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Goonies
The Goonies by Richard Donner (DVD - 2001)
$5.97 $4.63
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.