Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essay Vidal Would Have Enjoyed
So much has been written about Vidal through the years, and especially after he passed on this July. This essay is a true standout, though, and its engaging prose will edify Vidalophiles and newcomers to Vidal alike. Wolcott, naturally, refers to the oft-told stories of Vidal's public scrapes with the likes of Mailer and Buckley, but he does not dwell on them. Wolcott...
Published 23 months ago by Seth M Guggenheim

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gore, who I met once or twice
This essay by James Wolcoat is rather bland overview of the writer's opinion about the great American man of ideas, Gore Vidal. Vidal took an insider's outside look of American society. Born into the right, but not quite so right, upperclass WASP society, Vidal formed an objective viewpoint of American society, particulary towards politics and social order. The review...
Published 21 months ago by esarfjames


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Essay Vidal Would Have Enjoyed, August 18, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
So much has been written about Vidal through the years, and especially after he passed on this July. This essay is a true standout, though, and its engaging prose will edify Vidalophiles and newcomers to Vidal alike. Wolcott, naturally, refers to the oft-told stories of Vidal's public scrapes with the likes of Mailer and Buckley, but he does not dwell on them. Wolcott places Vidal in context, and makes the reader yearn for the days when David Susskind sat in a cloud of cigarette smoke on his show with the likes of Susan Sontag, and when Dick Cavett engaged his guests in discussions worth listening to. What I especially appreciate, in a goosebumpy kind of way, is Wolcott's deliberate refusal to immerse us in the products of Vidal's unfortunate mental decline toward the end of his life. This is not a fawning tribute; it is a fair one and one which Vidal himself would have appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Words seldom failed Gore Vidal", August 19, 2012
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Whether you were a fan of Gore Vidal or not, it was hard to ignore him. As one of the rising stars of the literary world after World War II, he was one of the generation of writers who became as comfortable in front of a TV camera as he was with a typewriter. As well known as he would become for his novels and stage plays, Vidal is perhaps even better known for his classic TV appearances. I'm old enough to actually remember the 1968 Democratic Convention when Vidal and William F. Buckley Jr. faced off as political commentators, and the head-to-head with Norman Mailer on the Dick Cavett Show a few years later. That era of TV has long since ended (how many authors have you seen on talk shows lately?), but James Wolcott has captured the essence of the times in the Kindle Single "The Gore Supremacy." Vidal described his personal credo as "Never say no to sex or appearing on television."

Obviously a fan of Gore Vidal, Wolcott rehashes the highlights of Vidal's tumultuous career, including the rejection and blackballing his early gay novels received from mainstream reviewers. Vidal forged ahead, however, eventually achieving mainstream acceptance and popularity. But he never cared about being liked, preferring to sit on his throne "dispensing papal benediction to those who came to pay homage."

A very readable account of Gore Vidal, a one of a kind character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tender, lingering voice, August 19, 2012
By 
Paul Reece (Atlanta, Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
In all of his reasonable and warranted lamentations on the passing of the last master, Wolcott has overlooked a voice that keeps us all listening despite a year of tragic literary losses. It is his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, October 16, 2012
By 
James N. Lansing (SAN ANTONIO, TX, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
An homage to a man who may have been America's last public intellectual. This work highlights classic Vidal at his best and is an enjoyable, often amusing read. I am almost 65 years old and have followed Mr. Vidal since college, and always found his curmudgeonly persona quite engaging. Reading this reminded me how much he will be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the tank for Vidal and Wolcott, August 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
As the title of this review indicates, caveat lector: I was Gore Vidal's last book editor and am James Wolcott's current one. Fair warning! But I want to tell prospective readers that this is a lovely, eloquent and touchingly elegaic piece of writing, one that not only captures Vidal in all his singularity (while not shining off his flaws) , but that mourns the passing of the literary culture in which such a figure could flourish. It is the best such piece produced since Gore Vidal left the building.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Gore, who I met once or twice, September 21, 2012
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This essay by James Wolcoat is rather bland overview of the writer's opinion about the great American man of ideas, Gore Vidal. Vidal took an insider's outside look of American society. Born into the right, but not quite so right, upperclass WASP society, Vidal formed an objective viewpoint of American society, particulary towards politics and social order. The review begins quite sharply with Mr Wolcot's first viewing of Mr. Vidal and his barbed battle with William F. Buckley, Jr., which sets the reader up for a sparkling review of the wit and wisdom of the great essayist and writer. There is a respectful and somewhat enlightened coverage of Vidal's earlier works, such as the adolescent Williwaw, and the popular and shockingly (for a postwar nation) hilarious, Myra Breckenridge. Wolcot's book seems more nostalgic for an age gone by, than by the poignant growth of a writer who matured during that emerging period. Although Vidal did titilate us with societal gems of his relations with Jackie O., Truman Capote, Norman Mailer and other celebrities, I found that more like icing on the cake than the vision of the sage that played in that cultural circus. In both Gore Vidal's personal and professional life, and those who lived it with him,Vidal's analysis of our society progressed, often far more than society at large did. Vidal gave us insight into our nation's history, and through his enlightened vision may just haved helped us understand our country objectively and begin to mature us all. Above all, Vidal knew the folly of mankind, but, I do think, he had hope for the goodness and intelligence of us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gore Supremacy, October 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Highly recommended tribute for those who mourn the loss of Gore Vidal. As Wolcott says, Vidal's death has capped an ever-growing list of writers, journalists, critics who have died this year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, October 24, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Beautiful hommage to Gore Vidal, one of our titans. Very much worth checking out, as is Wolcott's memoir. First Kindle single I've bought, worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A memory of a Great Man, September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Wolcott gives an in depth analysis of Gore Vidal in relation to others of his time period and tells why Gore Vidal is special both as a public intellectual and as a wise and insightful writer. I found it not only an enjoyable read, but one that provided new insight and understanding to this very special man and I might add, the others of his generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gore Supremacy, September 12, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Mr. Wolcott's style was very refreshing. I have read many of Vidal's works and I believe Mr. Wolcott captured the essence of what made this complex and controversial figure such a fine writer. I believe that in the years hence critics and literary historians may look back at Vidal's essays and see what they contributed to the Gay Rights Movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Gore Supremacy (Kindle Single)
$1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.