Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal teachings for all
His beautiful and elegant parables read like Jesus's in the Biblical Gospels, like Jesus had yet to say but did not manage to say because His life was nailed short; another way to look at it is maybe the parables are inspired by the same source.
"The worldly-minded never come to their senses, even though they suffer and have terrible experiences. Camels are very fond...
Published on January 12, 2003 by alliatus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great book on Ramakrishna
I was always fascinated by teachings of Ramakrishna .. This book explains beautifully his teachings to the world .
Life is An illusion is beautifully explained . Also liked to lean more about Hinduism ..
Published 18 months ago by Srinivasan J


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Universal teachings for all, January 12, 2003
By 
"alliatus" (Toronto Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
His beautiful and elegant parables read like Jesus's in the Biblical Gospels, like Jesus had yet to say but did not manage to say because His life was nailed short; another way to look at it is maybe the parables are inspired by the same source.
"The worldly-minded never come to their senses, even though they suffer and have terrible experiences. Camels are very fond of thorny shrub. The more they eat of them, the more do their mouths bleed, yet they do not refrain from making them their food."
"As persons living in a house infested with venomous snakes are always alert and cautious, so should men living in the world be always on their guard against the allurement of lust and greed."
"As the fly sits now on an offering dedicated to gods and again on a festering wound, so the mind of the worldly is at one time deeply engaged in religious topics and at the next moment lost in the enjoyment of lust and wealth."
Although the 3rd cited parable mentioned "gods", if you are monotheist, I think Sri Ramakrishna would ask you to feel fine to read as "God"; "the Heaven/Buddha" if you are Buddhist...Truth is the Truth.
Regardless of your background and path of practice, I would like to quote from Swami Nikhilananda: "...In these pages seekers of all religions would find courage and faith, hope and illumination."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremelly beautifull, extremelly usefull, March 18, 2000
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
Simply the best book I have ever read. It's a very simple and profound book. It's lenghty size (more than 1000 pages) is like walking in a long white sand beach, you stroll the pages on and on, the stories seems to repeat itself like the scenery in a beach, but you never get tired, or bored, rather it always enlarge your view about very important spiritual matters. A book recommended for the ones questing for spiritual clarifications and guidance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A review of The Gospel of Sri Ramadrishna by M., February 17, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna is truly one of the spiritual treasures of the ages. It contains over 1,000 pages of dialogue capturing the words and essence of a man beloved not only in India but around the world as a pure expression of the divine. While the comparison may seen blasphemous to some, imagine the Gospels of Jesus recorded in faithful and impeccable detail with conversations enlarged upon ten times over, this will give the reader an idea of the content of this wonderful book. My own experience of reading this work is that it has immeasurably enriched my own spiritual quest. The mere act of reading the book has taken me many times to beautifully deep meditative states but each reader will have his own experience. I can only encourage the serious student to open her or his heart to its pages it could be the beginning of the most wonderful journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate book for the Spiritual Seekers, August 4, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
If someone asks, if you can ever have only one book, I would choose this one. It is indeed a blessing to read this. Whoever reads this will have a paradigm shift in their spiritual life. As given in the reviews, it is "the consummation of two thousand years of the spiritual life of three hundred million"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book on yoga and spiritual life, October 27, 2005
By 
AJ (Washington, DC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
If you are a sincere spiritual seeker, you are not likely to find any book better than this one. The whole book is filled with actual recorded question-and-answer conversations between one of India's greatest saints and various people who came to him seeking spiritual insights. The conversations are recorded so vividly that you feel like you are actually there in the room with the people in the story, listening to the words of a great saint.
Sri Ramakrishna emphasized that the goal of life is to realize the truth, and that all religions can lead to the same God. He also explained that the only thing separating us from God, whom he defines as the very essence of knowledge, love, and selflessnes, is our own ignorance. Using beautiful stories and parables, he explains how to go beyond this ignorance to realize our true unity with God and with all living beings.
For non-Indians, such as myself, the extensive glossary in the back is very helpful in explaining the meanings of Hindu terminology. This book does nothing short of explaining how to realize the highest truth in the words of a man who did so himself.
This book is a life-changer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure for all Ages, October 7, 2004
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
What if one of Jesus' disciples had carefully written down every detail of his every encounter with Jesus, and every word he heard come out of his mouth? Unfortunately that didn't happen, but luckily in the 19th century a physics teacher named Mahendranath Gupta had the presence of mind to do exactly that for his own spiritual teacher, the Bengali mystic Ramakrishna Paramahansa. Ramakrishna was one of the greatest saints of his era. This record of his activities and conversations is worth its weight in gold. An all time spiritual classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historic dialogues with Ramakrishna., May 13, 2000
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
With Ramakrishna, the custom started, that disciples write down every word of a guru and publish it in a book. However troublesome that usually is, in the case of Ramakrishna it was a great blessing to mankind. Ramakrishna was a god-man with deepest spirtual insights, and an enormous richness of spritual diversity. At the same time, in this book, human ascpects are shown as well. The book does not pretend a perfect world or a perfect Ramakrishna. The time one invests into spiritual development is obvously lost from investing into other things, like presentig oneself in an optimized way. I'm sure, Ramakrishna wore no tie and would fail in a modern management school. This is no joke, because many people do not beleive certain enlightend people, because they behave not quite propperly according to social standards. A reader of this Gospel has to be prepared to be confronted with a strange, but extremely spritual, environment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best spiritual book, ever., January 9, 2007
By 
Christian Karl (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
This is truly the best spiritual book I have ever read. There is nothing that can be found in another spiritual book that is not contained in this Gospel of Ramakrishna. What a spiritual teacher he was! The insights! The clarity of explanation! I wished everyone on earth has a chance to be exposed to Ramakrishna's words. He makes the spiritual path understandable and brings it down to earth. I could go on and on singing the praises of this great being. (And don't forget M., the author! His good fortune in being in Ramakrishna' company for all these years! And he paid real attention to all that was going on. What a great messenger!)
C.K.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Message for the 21st Century, February 4, 2000
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna is an extraordinary record of spiritual experiences as narrated to and seen through the eyes of an intially sceptical intellectual, experiences that occurred over 125 years ago. Yet the simplicity of Sri Ramakrishna's teachings are ever more relevant for the new Millenium. They span the full range of human religious and spiritual thought and philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - well worth the read., August 18, 2001
By 
Joe Cutter (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna (Hardcover)
This book is a diary of the author's experience in the presence of Sri Ramakrishna 125 years ago. To the modern mind, Ramakrishna would seem like a schizophrenic or epileptic but after reading this book and hearing his explanations of Hindu concepts you realize that although he had no formal education he was a very knowledgeable and loving man. I love that he always says - do not follow anything I say blindly, work it out for yourself, take what's useful to you and leave the rest. He says a lot of people forget to do this where religion is concerned. They don't assimilate the information - they just repeat the pretty words.
His relationship to Narendra, who later was known as Vivekananda, is an awesome love story. Very beautiful. My favorite part was when Ramakrishna asked Narendra a significant question about God and Narendra says, "I'm currently studying the views of the atheists." He was completely able to be himself with Ramakrishna and Ramakrishna loved him for it. He didn't have to put on a "holy-holy" act with Ramakrishna. They didn't have any of that you'd better obey and agree with everything I say attitude going on.
Something that struck me as interesting is I think the author added some comments in the 1940's while translating the book to English. The events took place near Calcutta, India in 1885 but there are statements describing the connection to God as being like having the gas company hooked up to your house. Did they have a gas company in Calcutta, India in 1885? There are other statements relating peoples beliefs in the righteousness of their religion to everyone thinking his watch has the correct time. Were watches a widespread item in India in 1885? I don't particularly think so... But the allegories work.
I don't agree with everything Ramakrishna says. For instance, I don't believe bhakti or devotional religion is the key for this day and age. I think you should keep your bhakti a personal thing tucked away in your heart otherwise you'll wind up looking like a nut. I don't agree with worshipping the divine as a parental figure. I think it adds to the emotional immaturity that we already experience - but I'm glad Ramakrishna mentions other modes of relating to God and acknowledges their validity. I also don't believe that bliss is an important factor in anyone's relationship to God. Hell with the availability of street drugs today - bliss is just down the alley. But joy - joy is something different. You can't find real joy in a pill or in a drink.
Towards the end of his life things get a little weird. It's almost as if someone else has taken over his body or something. He starts emphasizing being a paramahansa (incarnation of God) and expounding on how paramahansas and ishvarakotis (pure souls) are different from everyone else. It really doesn't seem to follow how he used to talk before that. Plus he starts letting yes-men, like that Ghirish Ghosh guy, hang around. I didn't like that part but it happened so what can you do?
So, whether you agree with what Ramakrishna says or not, you can't help but love and respect him after reading this book. It's a very intimate encounter with a man totally devoted to God and you gotta respect his honesty and willingness to be himself no matter what anyone else thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna
The Gospel of Sri Ramakrishna by Swami Nikhilananda (Hardcover - 1984)
$35.50 $31.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.