Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


840 of 936 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As one raised in islam, I am amazed that a westerner finally gets islam & terrorist connections
As one who was raised in a muslim country in a muslim family and society, I often find books by westerners trying to describe islam through western paradigms to fail to grasp the reality of islam. Finally someone breaks through all the political correctness and presents true islam as clearly compatible with Jihad. To the surprise of many westerners, for 1300+ years,...
Published on May 24, 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
11 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Difficult read
I have read with a keen interest, books relating to Islam, Sharia Law, and the Muslim movement in the U.S.. Commonly, in all of these books the Muslim names can be difficult to follow. However, in the book "The Grand Jihad", the author writes in a style that uses a vocabulary which, when combined with the Muslim names makes each paragraph difficult to comprehend without...
Published on April 10, 2011 by Sentinal


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

840 of 936 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As one raised in islam, I am amazed that a westerner finally gets islam & terrorist connections, May 24, 2010
As one who was raised in a muslim country in a muslim family and society, I often find books by westerners trying to describe islam through western paradigms to fail to grasp the reality of islam. Finally someone breaks through all the political correctness and presents true islam as clearly compatible with Jihad. To the surprise of many westerners, for 1300+ years, since the prophet of islam, mohammad himself practiced jihad as he took out 600+ Jews and beheaded them in front of the faithful muslim leaders following mohammad's understanding of God.

This author rightly presents the reality that many wonderful muslim neighbors do not want sharia law! They are muslim culturally because their parents were muslims, but they want to be able to walk in public with members of opposite sex, play chess, play soccer, have a drink every now & then, have fun and live a happy life. True Islamic sharia law practiced by muslims for centuries requires the mullahs or imams of the nation to tell all muslims what they can and cannot do. If mohammad can take a 6 year old girl as a bride along with his other teenage wives and concubines and slaves, then muslims are taught that it is right for all muslims. If mohammad told us to hate all nonmuslims, including his final words prior to his surprise death, that we are all to hate Christians and Jews and behead all who will not submit to sharia law, then all faithful muslims are supposed to accept mohamamad's words as divine and imitate his lifestyle.

Under modern nonrestrictive interpretations of first amendment, the author rightly points out that the mastermind of the 1993 NY bombing under Clinton, laid out his case that as a muslim religious ruler, he was free to issue Islamic fatwas to destroy the lives of innocent nonmuslims. Shockingly, ACLU & liberal westerners are falling for this argument now more than ever . Under President Bush, even the muslims who succeeded in blowing up the towers on 9/11 were given muslim freedoms to continue to read the quran and live by the islamic sharia law while in prison. Subsequently, when some of the muslims were released from American prisons, they immediately went back to fulfill their Islamic call to destroy all infidels. Sadly, under hussein obama , we have accelerated our downfall as president obama has opened the door for muslim terrorists to believe they now have the strong upper hand and multiple terrorist attacks in America only failed because of The Grace of God. Shockingly hussein obama told the world that America is one of the largest muslim nations in the world and disavowed all Christian connections of the early founders of America.

The author of this book lays out a strong logical case for the reality of islam and the fact that majority of all muslims around the world who would not personally murder others, are fully in support of the muslim jihad terrorists; and the few that do not support the Islamic sharia law but call themselves "muslim" are only culturally Islamic, while walking against Islamic law as practiced by mohammad and muslims for 1300+ years.

This book will trouble the politically correct and western minded intellectuals who do not understand islam or those who are fooled by quotes of earlier quran revelations that were abrogated/overruled by the prophet of islam himself once he had the power to establish sharia law.

Every American and westerner should read this book and look up quran and hadith and Islamic history to determine the real Islamic threat so we can deal with the problem of terrorism at its root, rather than make up false causes for muslim inspired terrorists like poverty or illiteracy. As everyone knows by now, muslim terrorists were engineers, doctors psychiatrists and professors of islam and often very well off. They simply followed the iman/faith where islam led them. For us to win the battle against terror, we must first agree on the honest root cause well documented in this book, so we can finally address the tough needed solution for peace in our lands for all people! To have our troops die on the battlefield only to then establish sharia law and even open a center to promote sharia law where 9/11 muslims succeeded is utter foolishness that will lead to the deaths of hundreds of millions of innocent around the world. Hope we wake up before that time! This book helps get us on the right starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 194 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Co-agenda of Islam and the Left, June 1, 2010
The Koran instructs "Seek knowledge, in China, if necessary" (Sura 39:12) and in "The Grand Jihad: How Islam and the Left Sabotage America," erudite author Andrew C. McCarthy provides a cargo of interesting and disturbing information concerning Islamic terror and its partner on the Left. The Koran commands: "Slay the idolaters, wherever you find them ... ambush them" (Sura 9).

Remember that it was Muhammad himself, who led or ordered twenty-seven warring attacks against the "infidels." He, as their supreme lawgiver, gave the order to decapitate 900 Jewish men for opposing him and not receiving him as a prophet. The perennial threat to the West is Islamic terrorism along with its advancement and in "The Grand Jihah" McCarthy offers a vexing report regarding the Islamic aims for global conquest while much of the Left encourages such.

The Islamic moral code is an ethical system that sanctions death for verbal crimes and the repression of women. It is worth noting that Allah has 99 attributes ascribed to him in the Koran and not one of those traits is "love." Love is not part of his eternal nature. Moreover, love is the heart and motivation of true morality. The Islamic god cannot account for love since it is not an eternal attribute of Allah's nature. Many ancient and modern Muslims profess that Allah is a god, who has commanded his followers to pursue jihad against Jews, Christians, and all other "infidels" (see Sura 2:193; 8:12, 17, 41, 60; 9:5, 14, 29, 123; and Hadith 1:25; 4:196, etc.).

In Grand Jihad McCarthy exposes:

- The American government's active appeasement of the Islamic goals
- The America-hating closed Islamic societies in our nation as the Left aides their cause
- The Islamic goal of instituting Sharia law on American life
- The Islamic goal to end the West's liberty and freedom.

Millions of Muslims avouch and support jihad. Jihad against Israel, America, and all non-Muslims is an important element in the worldview of large populations of Muslim people. The Koran commands: "Slay the idolaters, wherever you find them ..." (Sura 9). The Arabic dictionary defines jihad: "To fight and kill in the path of Allah, the enemies of Allah, for the cause of Allah. It can also be used to mean to strive in the path of Allah."

Muhammad launched and advanced Islam with the sword. Muhammad himself led numerous invasions on neighboring villages during his lifetime, while his followers engaged in fifty more. Many times the conquered people were given the choice of conversion to Islam or death. Christians, pagans, and Jews were killed by the armies of Muhammad in seventh century Islam. Islam's inception is associated with war. At Islam's birth, there were eighty-three military campaigns involving Muslims.

Muhammad spearheaded or ordered almost eighty attacks. Jesus Christ and all His apostles ordered zero military attacks. Islam is a warring religion, and has been so in every century it has existed. Even George Washington had to deal with Islam's warring and plundering. Muslims were kidnapping Americans and receiving large ransoms for the captured. President Washington wrote a letter in 1786 to Marquis de Lafayette, complaining of Muslim terrorism, and wished that America "had a navy able to reform those enemies of mankind, or crush them into nonexistence."

Endorsed by:

- Hugh Hewitt (lawyer and Radio host)
- Dennis Miller (former liberal; Radio talk show host)
- Rush Limbaugh (number one Radio Show Host)
- Steven Emerson (author of American Jihad: The Terrorists Living Among Us)
- William J. Bennett (conservative Radio Host)
- Mark R. Levin (author Liberty & Tyranny; Radio Host)
- Michelle Malkin (mega-blogger and author of Culture of Corruption: Obama and His Team of Tax Cheats, Crooks, and Cronies).
- World Magazine also lauds this volume.

"One Way to God: Christian Philosophy and Presuppositional Apologetics Examine World Religions" ASIN #:1432722956
or
There Are Moral Absolutes: How to Be Absolutely Sure That Christianity Alone Supplies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 193 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McCarthy has the will and courage to call things by their right names, May 26, 2010
The title of Andrew McCarthy's new book isn't something he made up, it is taken from a 1990s document from a "mainstream" "non-violent" Muslim organization describing their long term goal of hollowing out Western culture using its own values of tolerance and religious freedom. Note that Islamic countries do NOT allow tolerance and religious freedom in anything like the Western manner. And their two holiest cities are closed to us non-Muslims because we are unworthy to enter such holy places. Once they have hollowed out Europe, America, and other nations, they can fill the void with Sharia, which is the Muslim law and turn these nations into Islamic countries and their Grand Jihad will have achieved victory. Note, that terror is not necessarily part of this strategy.

In fact, Al Qaeda and their brother terrorist groups are frowned at in some of this Salafi circles. Others see them as tools that supply cover for their "moderate" work. But make no mistake about it, McCarthy warns, the goal of the Islamist moderates and the terrorists is the same. They desire the collapse of the West and the rise of Islam as the ruling way of life throughout the world. To the extent that Sharia spreads into Western democracies the strategy of "Grand Jihad" is victorious.

Have you heard of the Grand Ayatollah Ali al-Sistani? He is a very powerful Shia cleric and deemed by our U.S. government as a "moderate" and key ally in Iraq. He teaches that we non-Muslims should not be touched or even associated with. That we, as non-believers, are filth no different than feces, urine, pigs and the like. Does that sound like moderation and mutual respect to you?

Islam is not a religion in the sense that the West currently views its various "faith communities" that are one aspect of the lives we assemble for ourselves from the lavish and extensive buffet we call our Western Culture. Islam is a faith, but it is more than that. In the Salafi view of Islam it is a complete way of life. Everything is settled and has been settled since around 900 A.D.. Well, they wouldn't use A.D. and I know it is fashionable to use C.E. nowadays, but I'm a Christian and will count my own years, thank you very much.

McCarthy also demonstrates how the post-Modern Left philosophies make us blind to this very real threat. We can't call terrorists what they are. We can't admit to ourselves what Islam is really about or even what Jihad actually means to hundreds of millions of Muslims or that this non-violent approach to conquering the West exists. This despite the fact that Sharia is making inroads into British, Dutch, and French jurisprudence. That there are whole sections of major cities in Europe that have been left to Muslim gangs to run because police cannot even enter them.

The Left elites advise that we can't use the word victory or that we are even at war with some kind of Islamic philosophy. These jihadist Islamist terrorists send a bomber into Detroit, my hometown, in order to blow a plane out of the sky on Christmas Day, a high Holy Day that most Americans observe, and our government's first instinct is to lie to us and tell us he is acting alone and that it has nothing to do with terror or Islam. But our enemies know they are at war with us and say so. And we refuse to accept the fight. Will that really end well? Where we are actually in armed conflict with them we refuse to press our advantages and let the other side dictate the rules of engagement: that we can't fight at night or shoot until shot upon and we see their weapons, and so forth. They respect only strength and we hope to appease through weakness and bowing. We need to wake up.

This is a terrific, powerful, and very informative work. I hope you pick up a copy today and read it and share it with everyone you know. Andrew McCarthy knows what he writes about. That his critics viciously attack him personally rather than debate his arguments is strong evidence that he is spot on in his observations and strong in his arguments.

We need to stand up and engage this war of civilizations at all levels. Folks, this is not going to go away. Our enemy is implacable, patient, and relentless. We have to be stronger, more tenacious, and willing to endure all things until we achieve victory. But first we have to allow ourselves to call things by their right names.

Reviewed by Craig Matteson, Saline, MI
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


155 of 192 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another warning. When will we hear?, May 26, 2010
By 
When Barack Obama announced to the world that the United States was one of the largest Islamic nations in the world, we should all have registered our protest with the whitehouse (lower case intentional). I suspect that had Obama announced with we were a Christian country in the world, we would have heard from the far left an outcry of violation of the separation of Church and State. Yet, not a peep from the left or from the main stream media about the President's proclamation! Such is the way of things in the United States.

In The Grand Jihad: How Islam and the Left Sabotage America, Andrew McCarthy presents a scary but all too believable premise that the United States is being changed in fundamental ways; ways many of us would resist if we could. Scarier is the fact that the changes aren't happening secretly, but are taking place right in front of our eyes. Complicit in this "take" over is the American media.

McCarthy convincingly argues that our enemy is not Islamic terrorism, but in fact the faith itself. This is an eye opener and something I hadn't thought about. Even more basic is McCarthy's point that Sharia law is slowly worming its way into the American judicial system. This has been pointed out by other authors, most notably While Europe Slept: How Radical Islam is Destroying the West from Within by Bruce Bawer and Menace in Europe: Why the Continent's Crisis is America's Too by Claire Berlinski. There are whole areas in some of Europe's major cities that the police won't even enter because the legal system has ceded control of those areas to Islamic courts.

There are clues all around us as to the veracity of McCarthy's claim. That Obama will bow to a tyrant and yet treat the head of Great Britain and Israel with such rude distain is one of several examples. Further, McCarthy makes the argument that though different, the Islamism we see in this country and the hard left share the same goal, the dismantling of the American system.

As an educated American, I have nothing against Islam as a faith. However, it is unnerving to consider with McCarthy and other authors are telling us.

I highly recommend The Grand Jihad by Andrew McCarthy for all of us to at least read and consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Political science collections will find it an intriguing argument, October 14, 2010
THE GRAND JIHAD: HOW ISLAM AND THE LEFT SABOTAGE AMERICA maintains that the real threat to American freedoms lies not in terrorism, but in the forces of Islam which have collaborated with the American left to undermine U.S. national security and democracy. This shows how the global Islamist's jihad movement is changing the world - and pinpoints President Obama as a sympathizer. An intriguing viewpoint, this comes from a former federal prosecutor whose prior WILLFUL BLINDNESS: A MEMOIR OF THE JIHAD introduced the topic. Political science collections will find it an intriguing argument.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foreclosure, August 25, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
McCarthy's work rings with clarity in this 'expose' of Islamic goals, which did not begin just a few years or even decades ago. This book reveals fundamental facts: that American jurisprudence, indeed our entire culture and heritage, is anathema to Islamists and that the fall of the West, specifically America is a key goal for this enemy. This book is a MUST read for any who wants to understand the ideology behind Islamist terrorism and how this ideology, not the attacks, is a fearsome threat facing America.
If we don't wake up to this, as McCarthy's work would allow any thinking person to do, this country faces foreclosure far beyond the American real estate market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grand Jihad, April 13, 2011
By 
K. J. Larson (Orlando, FL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I just finished this book and I consider it essential reading for Americans who wish to remain Americans and if you want your children to enjoy the benefits of being born American.

It thoroughly outlines the Islamists intent to establish a global caliphate and the liberal lefts misguided ideas to embrace the Islamists to reform them. As a result the liberal left have enabled and empowered the Islamists to populate sleeper cells around the world in nearly every nation as the Islamists then proceed to undermine and sabotage society after society as they forcibly institute Sharia law around the globe. Worse still is the guarantee that if they do not successfully institute Sharia law every where,they promise to bring civil war to every nation they live in.

France and the Netherlands to include the Dutch have already seen untold riots and violence for petty reasons and continuous murders of people throughout the world by the hands of Islamic fighters. This book is a record of the betrayal the left has committed against the human race and the untold lives that are still to be lost because of the ignorant dreams to destroy civilization for the sole purpose to institute 7th Century principles co-opted by socialistic fantasies of countless failed nations.

If for nothing else, this book stands as the sole landmark explanation of why the human race one day went extinct and none of the human race saw it coming.

How Obama Embraces Islam's Sharia Agenda (Encounter Broadsides)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Case, January 15, 2013
This review is from: The Grand Jihad: How Islam and the Left Sabotage America (Hardcover)
The author was one of the Federal prosecutors of the first WTC bombing. Ironically, we now see politicians capitulating over the Blind Sheikh's life sentence. The book is well researched, well organized and well written. It exposes the true nature of Islam as a socio-political-religious structure pledged to world domination, slavery, brutality of women and destruction all the sub-humans (non-Muslims). Many facts, quotes and real life cases are exposed to support the author's premise. It's not the white-wash lie you hear in the media. Anything goes from a moral perspective if it forwards sharia law and the implementation of Islam. The lies we hear about peaceful Islam and respect for human life only describe one phase of indoctrination. The author exposes our ignorance to this "clear and present danger" and how philosophically and politically the left and Islam co-exist in a marriage of convenience. I highly recommend this book if you are at least somewhat open minded and trying to understand how these twisted, cash rich movements are perverting America's DNA and destroying freedom. The message is EXCEEDINGLY URGENT. Please recommend this once you understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's late in the game and the wrong players are on our team, April 30, 2013
By 
Marvin D. Pipher (Houston, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Grand Jihad: How Islam and the Left Sabotage America (Hardcover)
Sandy Koufax had a fearsome fastball, but it wasn't until he perfected an equally devastating curve and a deceptive change-up that he became one of the most feared pitchers in baseball history. Then, opposing batters simply became so transfixed by his fastball that they were helpless against his curves and change-ups.

According to this book: Islamists are very much like that. They had "their" fastball: TERROR based on a relentless determination to indiscriminately kill and maim, but they didn't win much either. Then, about fifty years ago, the Muslim Brotherhood conceived and began implementing its own devastating curves and change-ups: infiltration, obfuscation, organization, communication, and a self-imposed apartheid all imbedded in a covert plan for subverting and destroying Western Civilization. And, as this author makes all-to-clear: We in America are now so fixated on the Islamist's "fastball" that we're striking-out on their insidious curves and change-ups.

And worse yet, as this book clearly shows, the U.S. is now faced with an even greater threat: a "Far Left"-leaning president, his administration, and a mainstream media which are so intent on aiding and abetting the destruction of our nation's Constitutional Republic that they can't bring themselves to even whisper the words "Islam," "Jihad," or "Muslim" in the same sentence with the word "terror." As noted on page 320, in fact, Janet Napolitano, President Obama's Homeland Security Secretary, carries this lunacy to its ultimate conclusion by referring to terrorist acts against the America she is supposed to protect as "man-caused disasters."

All this foreshadows a frightening future for America and makes this book an urgent and a must read for any American concerned about his or her future and that of our nation's Democratic Republic. It is an even more crucial read when one considers the credentials of the book's author: a man who's been around the block a time or two and even helped prosecute the "Blind Sheikh" for his role in the 1993 bombing of the World Trade Center.

So, if you really want to understand what our nation's self-appointed enemies have been, and are, up to and how our nation's misguided Liberals (Progressives) on the Far Left are facilitating them; then you can't find a better place to start than this. But you'd better hurry: It's getting very late in the game for America, and we have the wrong players on our team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of those "must read" books, February 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Andrew McCarthy is well-informed, well-spoken and extremely gifted at "connecting the dots." He has a prosecuting attorney's instincts for getting to the facts--in this case the facts about an intentional assault on the United States through the combined efforts of the Left (via the media and academy) and the Islamists (primarily via the Muslim Brotherhood).

For me it was particularly helpful to see the parallels between communist ideology and shari'a law in reference to the role of individual in the community/umma. This commonality in ideology, which contradicts the spirit of the US founding and constitution, helps clarify why there can be a working partnership between the radical left and radical Islam.

Unfortunately, this analysis also reveals a great deal about Obama's history and core beliefs.

The expose of the Muslim Brotherhood's US network is also an eye-opener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Grand Jihad: How Islam and the Left Sabotage America
The Grand Jihad: How Islam and the Left Sabotage America by Andrew C. McCarthy (Hardcover - May 25, 2010)
$27.95 $11.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.