Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The PERFECT coffee table book!
Wow, what a great book! Informative, colorful and loads of fun. Lots of guests have commented on it. It is amazing how cereal is such a big part of our culture. We've always had it and taken it for granted. This book gives you the history of all of them, from the very beginning with the small entrepreneurs to the big corporate productions of today. So many times,...
Published on January 16, 2012 by David Dworkin

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars American cereal book
I would say 3 1/2, slow to start but got more enjoyable as it went on (and got chronologically where I remembered more of therm).
Published 12 months ago by south dakota


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The PERFECT coffee table book!, January 16, 2012
By 
David Dworkin (Toledo, OH United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
Wow, what a great book! Informative, colorful and loads of fun. Lots of guests have commented on it. It is amazing how cereal is such a big part of our culture. We've always had it and taken it for granted. This book gives you the history of all of them, from the very beginning with the small entrepreneurs to the big corporate productions of today. So many times, I'd see a cereal and say, "I remember that!" (I'm 56 years old). This book can be the definition of a coffee table book: Light and fun and a real browser. Great job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magically Delicious, February 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
I believe there are three levels of coffee table books.

On the first level is the book you put out to look like a cultured fancy pants. You really don't like the book, and the people who come to your home really don't like it either, but they go through the motions of leafing through it, as a social custom more than anything. This is the level in which you find your Frank Lloyd Wright retrospectives and your selected Georgia O'Keefe female parts flowers.

On the second level is the book that anyone will have a passing interest in. The book caught your eye in the bookstore; you flipped a few pages, found it interesting enough, and brought it home. Anyone who comes over can browse it contentedly. This level is where we find the brightly colored rainforests photography collections and various other natural phenomena.
But on the third and highest level is the book that is so great, not only will people gravitate toward it excitedly as soon as they put butt to cushion, but will shriek with joy more than once throughout your chitchatty dinner party preamble. This is the kind of book that people will connect with on a personal level. Firmly situated on level three is where you will find The Great American Cereal Book.

This tome of the most American of breakfast products charts the rise, and occasional falls, of the American cereal industry from its humble beginnings at a sanitarium in New York in the late 1800s. It is the passion product of authors Marty Gitlin and Topher Ellis, 15 years in the making.

Chock-full of facty goodness, there is something delightful on every page. Hundreds of cereals are broken down and catalogued meticulously. Included in the cereal bios are facts about the manufacturers, debut and discontinuation dates, advertising mascots, and any other interesting marbits the compilers could dig up.

The artistry of cereal box design is pushed to the forefront as well, with fantastic full page photos of boxes old and new. Ok so maybe with WWF Superstars cereal, artistry might not be the exact word. But you know what I mean.
Peppered throughout the book are asides which explore topics more in-depth such as Cap'n Crunch's life story (It's way more detailed then you might think) or the origin of the aforementioned "marbit," those delightfully dry marshmallows originally found in Lucky Charms.

All of the classics are here (Cheerios, Kaboom, Corn Flakes, Rice Crispies) as well as the strike-while-the iron-is-hot ephemera of pop culture (C-3PO's, Bill and Ted's Excellent Cereal, Urkel-O's, Nintendo Cereal System). Indeed, something for everybody.
I cannot recommend The Great American Cereal Book highly enough. It is an epically researched and wonderfully fun collection that every leftover-milk-slurping American should own.

Plunk it on your coffee table, sit back, and enjoy the squeals of delight and nostalgic conversing that is sure to follow. You might also want to stock up on some Frankenberry just in case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cereal Lovers Will Eat This Up!, January 16, 2012
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
I was a little skeptical about a book about cereal, but when a friend gave me a copy and I started leafing through it, I couldn't stop. There are tons of colorful photos of all your favorite boxes. It brings back a lot of great childhood memories especially about those sugary staples we can't live without that came out in the 60s like Lucky Charms and Froot Loops. It made me miss one of my personal favorites, Super Sugar Crisp and the Sugar Bear. The fun facts about the spokescharacters and slogans will have you waxing nostalgic about the good old days of riding your bike with the banana seat and the high handlebars. This would make a great gift for young and old alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breakfast book of champions, January 14, 2012
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
Pop culture fans will love this. A chunky book telling you all you need to know about a few simple agri products that must have generated billions of dollars over the decades. The two authors have devised a neat fun format for the four hundred entries: eleven categories from 'Brought to you by: manufacturer'; 'First poured: cereal launch year' to 'Crunch on this: facts about the cereal'. Historically it covers cereals from 1863 to 2010.

What I liked about the book were the pack shots presented as cutouts, frequently page size. Several pages feature lists and printed ephemera from past decades. It's worth saying that only cereals made by General Mills, Kellogg's, Nabisco, Nestle, Post, Quaker Oats and Ralston are included but this surely must be most of the market.

Cereals must be a hard market to crack considering the number of failed brands. What chance would anyone give these of succeeding: Ooobopperoos (Nabisco 1972) Grins & Smiles & Giggles & Laughs (Ralston 1975) Spider-Man (Ralston 1995) Spider-Man (Kellogg's 202) Spider-Man 3 (General Mills 2007) well, they disappeared in no time. The chapter dealing with 1981 to 2010 reveals that the companies will clutch at anything, especially entertainment and celebrities to launch a new brand. Page 290 has a pack shot of HULK Limited Edition Cereal from 2003 to tie in with the Universal movie. Despite the gone in a flash brands others just keep on pouring. A hundred years or older are Nabisco Shredded Wheat, Grape-nuts, Puffed Wheat and Corn Flakes. Eighty years or older are All-bran, Post 40% Bran Flakes, Wheaties and Rice Krispies. Even Trix and Special K have been here for over fifty years.

Overall a fun read in a very nicely presented book, especially the dozens of pack shots. A very minor criticism is that the paper is rather thick preventing the book from being opened flat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back Yummy Memories, February 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
I read this book cover to cover the day it arrived - Brought back so many memories of great and not so great cereals - Makes you say oh yeah I remember that one it lasted a hot minute ! Liked it so much that i bought a copy for a friend that is a fellow cereal-phile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, February 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
What an interesting book for those of us who love product history (in this case cereal). Fun reading and interesting conversation starters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic in so many ways, January 5, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
This book offers a lot. It's a fascinating history of the American cereal industry with geeked out facts about hundreds of cereals; When the products were on the market, the type of cereal, related brands, factoids and more. There are some very obscure cereals covered too: Dinky Donuts, Crazy Cow, Cheyenne Corn - the vastness of the number of brands to grace supermarket shelves is astounding,

The Great American Cereal Book is also a beautiful book with a ton of high quality package shots. The book layout and design are wonderful. There's a humorous approach that's appropriate for the subject matter without going overboard. The shimmering gaudiness that is the American cereal industry comes through on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read a book instead of the Cereal Box, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
This is an awesome book!!! Very easy to read and the pictures are great. Great book to display in your kitchen. Well worth the money spent. Will be recommending it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All your favorite childhood cereals, December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
Gave this to my brother for Christmas just so I could read it first! Very fun and full of nostalgia. I especially enjoyed all the side stories behind all my favorite cereals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll need to brush your teeth after reading about so much sugary goodness!, November 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch (Hardcover)
Everything you could possibly want to know about breakfast cereals. You've seen cereal ads your whole life but this book gives you a new appreciation for how many come and go and how some have become classics. It covers pretty much EVERY cereal since the start of the 20th century and gives all the basic info (how long it has been out, etc) and a little blurb about it. A great book for someone like myself who enjoys monographs on unusual but familiar topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch
The Great American Cereal Book: How Breakfast Got Its Crunch by Martin Gitlin (Hardcover - February 1, 2012)
Used & New from: $41.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.