Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the REAL Fairyland!
This is a MUST for any true lover of the Faerie world. By this I do NOT mean the prissy Victorian idea of Faeries as twee little tinkerbell types. This is the real stuff. The Red and Black ladies, the Selkies and all the other nasty little members of the un-Seelie Court. Here you will find the good with the bad, the beautiful with the ugly. If this was a map, there would...
Published on January 11, 2004 by Laurent T. Wright

versus
85 of 110 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What I thought
I originally bought this for a sponsored kid in Colombia. After it arrived, I skimmed it and it's not a children's book. There's slight nudity. Another thing is that this merely tells of some fairies, and gives but one or two very brief examples. This should be called the dictionary of fairies, not the encyclopedia. It does not go in depth enough, and the pictures in...
Published on January 22, 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the REAL Fairyland!, January 11, 2004
By 
Laurent T. Wright (Westcliff On Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
This is a MUST for any true lover of the Faerie world. By this I do NOT mean the prissy Victorian idea of Faeries as twee little tinkerbell types. This is the real stuff. The Red and Black ladies, the Selkies and all the other nasty little members of the un-Seelie Court. Here you will find the good with the bad, the beautiful with the ugly. If this was a map, there would be 'Here be Monsters' written on it. (but then it would be too late!) If you ONLY like the Brian Froud stuff (and I do as well) then you will be dissapointed. The line drawings are perfect for this book. They give an edge. The scope is worldwide, although predominetly Eurocentric. The bibliography is enormous and the research extensive. Of course there is nudity. Faeries are nature spirits - they don't NEED clothes.
As to the question of it being a children's book. If you want to mollycoddle your children, then no, but if you want to teach them to be aware that appearances can be deceiving in both the real and faerie world, then go right ahead. They'll thank you for it later (unless of course ther're a changeling!!).
I have just returned from France and was delighted to find the out-of-print companion volume to this - "encyclopedie des Lutins" - basicallly the male-ish side (pixies, brownies, Bogeymen (my favourite). Same style. no punches pulled. The ISBN is 2905292482 (there is also a volume on Elves (available this time at Amazon.fr -its ISBN is 2842301838)
Sadly for those that don't read french, these latter volumes haven't been translated, but for those of you that do read it, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice introduction to the subject, March 28, 2000
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
If I could I would give this book 4 and a half stars. This book is great. It lists the general information dealing with many faeries including costuming, behavior, food , and habitat. Along with the general info is a little background of the story behind the particular faery. Each page is dreamily illustrated in a unique style with brilliant colorization. This book presents information in an organized, encyclopedia format without being boring or monotonous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A misunderstood book, March 28, 2003
By 
"phoderia" (Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
The Author of this book is french I'd like to note first of all and as far as I know that is what the original language the book was written in. It's very difficult to translate from one language to another as there are always "problem words" that was the only problem I saw with the way the book was written. As for the pictures of the faeries in the book I thought they were very unique and well done. As for the complaints about nudity in the book as i said before the author is french and it is way more acceptable there than here.This book does contain sexual references and gruesome descriptions but one must remember that most "fairy tales" were composed merely to scare children. Even the story of the little mermaid in its original form is a gruesome tale.This book is probably not suitable for children under 12 as some of the words in the book are fairly difficult. I personally would allow my child to read it seeing as the nudity in it is less than one would see in a 6th grade health class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and lots of fun!, November 2, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
This is a great book, packed full of faery and folklore information. It comes from France, so it's got a lot of good European lore that may be new to readers familiar only with the British faery tradition. The art is whimsical and unusual, and clearly aimed at adults, not children. This one belongs on every faery-lovers shelf beside the folklore texts of Katherine Briggs, the faery art of Brian Froud, and the faery fiction of Terri Windling, Neil Gaiman, Charles de Lint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, but not for children, October 26, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
This book is fabulous. The descriptions are, however, quite dificult to understand, and there are a lot of sexual references, so this is probably best for the adult faery lover. The illustrations are the best part, quite different from any other faery book. They are reminicent of illustrations from vintage children's books, with the black outlines and vibrent colors. Each page is stunning to look at. Even if you don't read the whole thing, it is worth buying just for the gorgeous illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Incredible amount of information, April 24, 2006
By 
wolf_faery (San Diego, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
Pierre Dubois covers a vast array of different types of faeries. This is more for the serious study of faeries and less on their cute aspects. Contains lots of information from folklore and mythology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 110 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What I thought, January 22, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
I originally bought this for a sponsored kid in Colombia. After it arrived, I skimmed it and it's not a children's book. There's slight nudity. Another thing is that this merely tells of some fairies, and gives but one or two very brief examples. This should be called the dictionary of fairies, not the encyclopedia. It does not go in depth enough, and the pictures in it are not as beautiful as you would think, judging from the cover. The pictures are simpler lines, and not as much of the details that many other pictures of fairies have. The content is not deep enough to give the average reader any more information than he or she probably already knows anyhow. Therefore, one would assume that it was meant for young readers...but considering the diction and the lack of beautiful pictures (there are pictures, but on a scale of one to ten for fairy pictures I have seen, I'd say they're only 7.5), I doubt they would find this very interesting at all. Yes it's hardback, yes, it's in color, and yes, it does have some information about various folktales...but the problem is that it is not about just fairies (some Christmas hags are thrown in), it's not as beautifully illustrated as the cover makes the viewer believe, and it's not as nicely written as it could have been. I'm disappointed, I suppose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and unique!!, August 9, 2007
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
If you are looking for a comprehensive guide to the fairy world, you will be hard-pressed to find a better book than this. An encyclopedia is exactly what this book is- an artistic encyclopedia. It provides a thorough description of each mythical being, including its history, characteristics, magical powers, habitat, and even dietary preferences. And all the descriptions are surrounded by beautiful illustrations.

If you are looking for a fairy art book, you'll probably want to look elsewhere. The illustrations are wonderful, but they are not the primary focus of the book- the information is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good book, but not the best, April 25, 2002
This review is from: The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries (Hardcover)
Although there was a lot of information, the pictures were definatley not up to par. Compared to the cover, which was beautifully done, the pictures inside weren't nearly complicated, or as impressing. I'd recommend Good Fairies Bad Fairies instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real must-have for Myth-maniacs., June 1, 1999
By A Customer
I have read this book in French and even in one of the most annoying languages around, it is beautiful. Mr.Dubois has a beautifull way of writing things in a reasonable and humorous way that could charm a free-minded crittic. The book is enjoyable as both a guide to Europian folklore and as a book full of fairy-tales. The illustrations are beautifully magical and mysterious and a joy to the eye. A tip for those who can read French or Dutch, Mr. Dubois has written another book of this sort, an encyclopedia of the Little People which is just as great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries
The Great Encyclopedia Of Faeries by Pierre Dubois (Hardcover - April 1, 2000)
Used & New from: $2.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.