Customer Reviews


1,784 Reviews
5 star:
 (699)
4 star:
 (369)
3 star:
 (283)
2 star:
 (208)
1 star:
 (225)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling depiction of the excess of the 20's
As a fan of the book as well as of DeCaprio's, this is undeniably the Gatsby adaptation I've been waiting for.

First, the set: Much attention is paid to small but important details, such as the glowing green light at the dock and the faded oculist's sign. The splendor of Gatsby's mansion is recreated exquisitely, and the "valley of ashes" doesn't disappoint in...
Published 14 months ago by katarinaism

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gatsby rendered not so great
Perhaps because I grew up on Long Island Sound in Connecticut, and F. Scott Fitzgerald penned his literary masterpiece, “The Great Gatsby” in my home town, it is my favorite work of American literature. I thought the 1970’s movie version of the film was OK but felt Mia Farrow was miscast as Daisy. From the reviews of the 2013 adaption I knew it was...
Published 9 months ago by Colonel D


‹ Previous | 1 2179 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling depiction of the excess of the 20's, October 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Amazon Instant Video)
As a fan of the book as well as of DeCaprio's, this is undeniably the Gatsby adaptation I've been waiting for.

First, the set: Much attention is paid to small but important details, such as the glowing green light at the dock and the faded oculist's sign. The splendor of Gatsby's mansion is recreated exquisitely, and the "valley of ashes" doesn't disappoint in its ghastly wasteland.

Second, Luhrmann doesn't depart from the story too much, though I think there was a lot more discourse between Gatsby and Daisy than I remember reading in the book. He may have changed some of the dialogue, but he does stay unflinchingly true to the spirit of the book and its morals, which I think is vastly more important.

Third, the casting was perfect, and probably the most telling detail about Luhrmann's good judgment in making this film- DeCaprio is the embodiment of Gatsby--the smile, the charm, the mannerisms are all what one reading the book would expect him to be like. Tobey Maguire as Nick Carraway was also a great pick -- he has the 'outsider' qualities required for the role of the narrator. Debicki as Jordan Baker was also very well-cast; she had the aloof coolness and the slightly-bored gaze I pictured when I read the novel. Daisy, by far, was the most crucial casting in my opinion, because if played too obnoxiously and over-the-top, the whole story falls flat. However, Carey Mulligan makes her flighty and airy but also lets her show real emotion. In a way, though her character does horrible things in the movie, you can't help but feel that she isn't completely devoid of thought/emotion. And of course, her husband Tom, makes the antagonist as a macho-man whose emotions occasionally seep through to the surface.

Honestly, with all the good things this movie had going for it, the anachronistic music surprisingly didn't bother me one bit. It was also clever how jazz motifs were mixed in with hip-hop and rap beats, somehow making the sound swirl into an unidentifiable, chaotic experience.

Overall, this was a phenomenal adaptation and definitely a must for any Gatsby fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 156 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3-D Splendor: Luhrmann's "Gatsby" Is An Opulent And Over-The-Top Assault On The Senses, June 27, 2013
No one can ever accuse Australian auteur Baz Luhrmann of playing it safe! Subtlety and restraint are not qualities that the director embraces. In fact, his motto appears to be "the bigger, the better." His previous pictures (both good and bad) are chaotic, frantic, excessive and over-the-top in every way imaginable. I don't necessarily mean that as an insult. I enjoyed both "Strictly Ballroom" (a lot) and the anachronistic "Romeo + Juliet." But it was "Moulin Rouge" that really stole my heart. I appreciate this musical mash-up so much because it simply shouldn't work. It's too much, everything about it. Yet for all its ADD attitude, it's a dazzlingly original piece of work with real heart and passion. It was my favorite film of 2001, while his follow-up "Australia" was my biggest disappointment of 2008. Expectations were high when Luhrmann announced a re-imagining of F. Scott Fitzgerald's "The Great Gatsby." The prior film interpretation, with Robert Redford and Mia Farrow, was a lavish production that never fully connected with me on an emotional level. It was faithful enough, to be sure, it just lacked a bit of life.

Well LIFE (with a capital LIFE) is something that Luhrmann's version doesn't lack. For literary purists, this spectacle may not resemble Fitzgerald's classic in anything but basic plotting. In many ways, this is NOT Fitzgerald's "Gatsby." Instead, this is unquestionably Luhrmann's creation. And for that, you will likely love the movie or hate it. While I didn't think it was a perfect film, I ended up embracing it and loving it. If nothing else, it is not like any other project you'll see in movie theaters in 2013. In this day of homogenized sequels and cookie cutter copies, this experience explodes from the screen as a true original. The use of fantastic 3-D filming, the opulence in set and costume design, the visual trickery of the special effects, the massive cast (the party scenes alone seem populated by thousands) and the effectively anachronistic soundtrack all create a distinctly unique impression. The sheer magnitude of the production is almost overwhelming! To keep up with it all, you might just feel exhausted after watching "The Great Gatsby."

The story, as I mentioned, stays largely intact from the source material. Recounted from the modest perspective of Nick Carraway (Tobey Maguire), an unlikely tale of friendship, mystery and tragic love unfolds at a frantic pace. While it is dizzying to begin with, just settle in and things calm down as the movie progresses. This is a common element to Luhrmann endeavors, it takes a while for the manic energy to subside. Taking a small cabin next to the palatial Gatsby estate, Carraway has a strong curiosity about the enigmatic Gatsby (Leonardo DiCaprio). When he gets a personal invitation to a gala, it seems that the great man reciprocates this interest with his new neighbor. Carraway is seduced into a new world of luxury and excess. His wealthy cousin Daisy (Carey Mulligan) lives across the bay with her volatile husband (Joel Edgerton) and Gatsby seems especially fascinated by her as well. Is he just using Nick to connect with Daisy? What exactly does he want?

As much as anything, this iteration of "The Great Gatsby" plays up the mystery elements of the story. The secrets of the past are slow to surface, but they are powerful and vivid when they do. When played for drama and even tragedy, the movie does strike an strong emotional chord. The tone, however, throughout is somewhat scatttershot. An early meeting between Gatsby and Daisy, for example, is played as awkward comedy and feels decidedly less than real. But I still loved the movie. DiCaprio is especially strong as Gatsby. Maguire is also good, if a little old to be so wide-eyed and innocent. But for me, the star of the production is the production itself. Absolutely spellbinding from a visual perspective, I won't soon forget this "Gatsby!" I'd recommend the 3-D version as this was intended to be seen in that format (it wasn't converted after the fact to cash in like most other movies). Maybe not for everyone, Luhrmann took a classic American novel and developed one of 2013's most unique films. KGHarris, 6/13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


112 of 140 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, and yes, supplementary to readers., July 11, 2013
Though this is supposed to be a product rating and not a movie review, I wanted to comment on Matthew's review titled "Old Sport." as a separate review because commenting on his post would merit less views, and I don't like misconceptions.

So yeah, rap probably wasn't the music Fitzgerald had in mind for Jay Gatsby's parties, but that doesn't mean that kids in school studying the novel this movie is based on won't find this movie helpful. In fact, it might be more helpful than any movie adaptation made before it, for this reason: it is largely contemporary. I think it sticks to the story quite well. It is only told differently - that is, it doesn't attempt to stiffly adhere to some notion of antiquity. It tells the story in a way people today, and probably especially those the adolescent age of students studying the book in school, will understand. Maybe jazz in the 20's evoked a feeling different from what it evokes now. And so the soundtrack used in the film expresses what the novel means (while still playing along with the Jazz Age theme, entertainingly) - lavish, badass partying, scandalous forbidden love, intense hope, for example - and isn't that what's important?

I think watching this movie will enhance the understanding of anyone who reads the novel.

Otherwise, whether you are studying the novel, reading it for pleasure, or not reading it at all, this is a great movie worth watching. Superb acting, gorgeous costumes for each body that appears, music that makes an impact, and brilliant retelling of a timeless story.
Gorgeous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gatsby rendered not so great, March 19, 2014
By 
Colonel D (Cross Plains, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Perhaps because I grew up on Long Island Sound in Connecticut, and F. Scott Fitzgerald penned his literary masterpiece, “The Great Gatsby” in my home town, it is my favorite work of American literature. I thought the 1970’s movie version of the film was OK but felt Mia Farrow was miscast as Daisy. From the reviews of the 2013 adaption I knew it was largely a flop but wanted to see for myself what a contemporary director might turn out.

From the get-go with it’s anachronistic hip-hop musical score by Jay Z, Baz Luhrmann, proceeds to lay waste to this classic story. I should have known from seeing the stomach churning trailers for “Moulin Rouge” that this would be more of the same. Garish, over the top, over produced, and under edited Lurhrmann’s Gatsby is clearly aimed at a nation of people who won’t read anything longer than 140 characters, and never read the book. Fitzgerald’s book relies on expert mastery of the language and is full of subtle imagery and intelligent dialog; you’ll get none of that here but snippets. The vehicle of using poorly cast Toby Maguire’s character Nick reliving the tragic events by way of a therapeutic journal writing exercise at an alcohol rehab clinic is tiresome.

CGI for a film such as this should be unnecessary but for whatever reason it’s used extensively and to poor effect. The wardrobe budget would feed a third world country for a year. Gatsby’s walking stick and oversized pinky ring are creations of this film, he was a bootlegger, but not a pimp. His car in the novel is described as being a “cream yellow with a green leather interior”, not this screaming yellow nightmare that he drives like he stole it. Every scene is a study in excess and overly choreographed.

Casting is everything after the screenplay and no one fits their role well in Luhrmann’s interpretation. Leonardo DiCaprio looks uncomfortable in this part, maybe because he lacks the background to play such a rags-to-riches fellow who is full of hope and haunted by his past? All I know is that using the affectation “old sport” every other line doesn’t make him Gatsby. JG certainly says that phrase in the book but not to the extent Leo does and it wears thin very quickly.

I never heard of Carey Mulligan and while at least in terms of appearance she’s an improvement on Mia Farrow. Here is a character who is supposed to be so compelling that she drives our protagonist to expend vast sums of money and make grand gestures all with the aim of winning her favor and winding back the clock to when they were first together. Off hand I can’t think of an actress who could convey that beauty and desirability but it’s not Ms. Mulligan.

Joel Edgerton didn’t seem physically big enough for the role of the brutish Tom Buchanan (DiCaprio’s an inch taller according ti IMDB). Jordan Baker’s part in the story was watered down and forgettable while Isla Fischer does a decent job with what little she gets to do as Myrtle Wilson, Tom’s mistress.

Fans of the novel will mostly be irritated at the details that are wrong. For example they go through the trouble of pointing out Wolfscheim’s tie pin which is made from a human molar, but it’s actually his cufflinks- why change this? Bottom line, purists who cherish F. Scott Fitzgerald’s work should avoid Lurhmann’s tedious flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The music ruined the film, January 22, 2014
By 
jennifer Sabia (Blue Ridge, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was so looking forward to a modern film of one of my most beloved books, but this movie ruined everything I love about Gatsby. The music was horrible and has nothing to do with the roaring 20's feel. It totally stripped it of that classic feel. I also felt that by explaining everything about Gatsby, they stripped away the mystique that is Gatsby. They ignored the repeated symbolism that is in the book and the writers "artistic license ruined the movie. Because this is just a pop movie, the Redford version is a Classic Film. If you're on the fence about this, watch the Redford version. It's so much better and is so much closer to the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Gatsby, March 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rap music, jumping around from scene to scene, Tobey Maguire narrating - ALL BAD. Terrible production!
Unless you are fond of movies like Moulin Rouge also directed by Baz Luhrmann do not buy this movie. I wasted my money on this one. I watched about 10 minutes of it and could go no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 61 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If it wasn't for Leo..., September 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
...I would not have watched this movie. Personally the original movie, with Mia Farrow and Robert Redford, was qualitatively better. If one was to ask an older generation, I am sure that the original would prove to be quantitatively better as well. I did not care for most of the music in the film, though a couple of the renditions were okay. Also, as a fan of the book, there was a particular dialogue that made the book and the original movie that was critically altered in this film, "rich girls don't marry poor boys" (Daisy to Gatsby in the book and in the 1974 film). In the new film this line was muttered by an insignificant character to Carroway in reference to his crush on Ms. Jordan Baker. Also, the relationship between Gatsby and Daisy is a bit skewed. In all, I gave the film three stars because of the things mentioned above and because the direction was not stellar, nor was the cinematography (which was jerky and disorienting at times). As a long time fan of Leo DiCaprio, I hate to give a film he stars in a less than stellar review. I would urge everyone who has not read the book or seen the 1974 film to do so and judge for yourself. As a warning to students looking for an easy way out...read the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 86 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cartoonish, May 10, 2013
By 
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (DVD)
CGI is becoming the ruin of serious films. Its over-use is leading to films that ever more cartoonish with overblown designs, garish colors and visuals that are notable for their utter excess. This film, in my opinion, takes things to a whole new level of ugly. Its a visually loud film with no real sense of style to speak of. Like most CGI, its so poorly done that it screams obvious fake at least to me. The film has all the visual style of Joel Schumaker's 1997 "Batman and Robin" and that is not a complement. Some have complained about the music not being appropriate. I'm not sure about that. If anything, they didn't go far enough with the music. Only a disco soundtrack straight out of the 1970s would have been appropriate.

Worse yet is the script which isn't very respectful of the novel. They invented a new framing sequence which was completely unnecessary. They seemed desperate to make Daisy Buchanan a good and likeable character which she should not be. What I liked the least was the removal of Gatsby's father from the story. The father showing up to the funeral is, in my opinion, one of the great moments in the entire book.

Many of the other key moments in the story are simply overwhelmed by the visuals and noise. The meeting in the city with Meyer Wolfshiem falls flat as a scene because there is so much "junk" going on for the sake of going on in the background. They keep going back to a trumpet player on a fire escape for no particular reason.

As far as casting, Leonardo DiCaprio works out as the main character far better than I would have expected. He captures the essense of being a fake very well. Joel Edgerton doesn't work as Tom Buchanan at all. They needed someone who could do a credible WASPy rich hypocrite and that is just not him. Elizabeth Debicki is good, but her character is not given much of anything to do. Amitabh Bachchan was a misfire in that someone seems to have told him to play the part as a vampire. The faults of "Daisy" are faults in the construction of the script. Tobey Maguire does a reasonable job, but nothing special.

In some sense, many of the flaws of the film are really simply expressions of Baz Luhrmann's style. But where Moulin Rouge seemed in step with excess of the times when it was released, Gatsby seems completely out of touch.

In terms of the music, Luhrmann's comments sort of speak for themselves:

"The question for me in approaching Gatsby was how to elicit from our audience the same level of excitement and pop cultural immediacy toward the world that Fitzgerald did for his audience? And in our age, the energy of jazz is caught in the energy of hip-hop."

The problem of course is that where they went for that excitement, energy and pop cultural immediacy to a couple people who no longer have ANY of those things: Jay Z and Beyonce. They found "pop culture immediacy" in established acts like Fergie, U2, Bryan Ferry and Amy Winehouse among others. The idea of using high-energy modern music was not a bad one, but they didn't carry it through. They went for celebrity names and a style of music that was low energy.

People who like the overblown style of Baz Luhrmann and who are not very familar with the novel might enjoy this. But for me, it was just a pointless display of excess.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning visuals., August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Gatsby (Amazon Instant Video)
The remake of Gatsby is visually stunning. The Tiffany jewelry, chandeliers, blowing white curtains and winding staircase are the stuff of imagination. The twenties at their peak. The acting however, and the screenplay failed to fulfill this magnificent book. De Caprio is not Redford; for the better part of the movie he sounds as though he is trying to speak like a Kennedy. He finally comes into the character in the last scenes, and in those, is really good. Toby McGuire is vacant; without the writing tool used in the movie he has no personality at all. Carey Mulligan is a picture of Daisy; the depth of character and beginnings of her madness are not there. She never has those 'Zelda' moments which gave meaning to her part in the story. The best character in this version is Jordan; Isla Fischer is beautiful and conveys her character, the times, everything with only few words; in her facial expression and movement there is a true depth that draws attention. Found myself wanting to hear more from her. The story is lost. There is no mention or appearance of Daisy's child at all until the last; one is left wondering where she came from and when, unless you know the book. The best part of the screenplay is the use of Fitzgerald's amazing closing lines and the green light...... Because I love the book, I liked the movie; if Redford, Farrow, and even Edward Hermann playing the twenties era piano were in this production it would be amazing! Only a 'like' for content. An exceptional visual for those who love the twenties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rap music ruins the 1920's atmosphere, story veers to much from book, September 8, 2013
By 
Carlos Santos "cmsanto" (Trenton, nj United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The movie is basically ruined by a music soundtrack that is completely alien to the story. The story has as an essential back drop the wild jazz age of the late 1920's the music breaks that feeling that the story is so focused on.
The story itself is only loosely based on the original book. I wouldn't watch the movie as a way of getting away from reading the book for a class. Still it would have been an okay movie, if it wasn't for the music.
The music kills the movie for me. Please don't get me wrong, I love pop music as much as anyone else, and have a few rap albums in my collection, the music just does not fit the 1920's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2179 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Great Gatsby
The Great Gatsby by Baz Luhrmann
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.