Customer Reviews


150 Reviews
5 star:
 (114)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, great laughs, and great muppets
I've only seen this movie on a recorded-off-TV format, but this is probably one of the funniest movies you can see (at least with Kermit the Frog in the starring role), and certainly the best Muppet movie, as far as I'm concerned.
The movie begins with Kermit, Fozzie, and Gonzo in a balloon, floating high above the city, reading the credits as they roll...
Published on April 5, 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 50th Anniversary Edition = 4 star movie with 0 star transfer
I enjoy the movie, however the quality of the transfer is horrible on the 50th Anniversary DVD release of this movie. Not only is the film very grainy, it also appears that the video has horrible compression. I can't believe that any company would put out such a poor quality product and place thier name on it.

I also own The Muppet Movie (1979) and the quality...
Published on April 8, 2012 by Mike


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, great laughs, and great muppets, April 5, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Lexington, Kentucky) - See all my reviews
I've only seen this movie on a recorded-off-TV format, but this is probably one of the funniest movies you can see (at least with Kermit the Frog in the starring role), and certainly the best Muppet movie, as far as I'm concerned.
The movie begins with Kermit, Fozzie, and Gonzo in a balloon, floating high above the city, reading the credits as they roll. ("Kermit? What does B.S.C. stand for?" "I dunno..." and "Nobody really reads these do they?" "Well sure they do. They all have families.")
Once the credits finish, the balloon plummets to the street, where the trio introduce the movie with a large song-and-dance number amidst a chaotic street scene, complete with a robbery on set!
The rest of the movie is loads of laughs as Kermit and his friends travel to England for their newspaper to interview Lady Holiday (Diana Rigg). Their Muppet entourage grows when the three book their stay at the Happiness Hotel, a run-down England hotel occupied by a crew of lazy Muppets.
Kermit, Fozzie, Gonzo, Miss Piggy, Animal, Dr. Teeth and the whole gang eventually team up to foil Lady Holiday's brother (Charles Grodin) and his three partners in crime from stealing the fabulous Baseball Diamond at the Mallory Gallery. It's pure, hilarious, and classic Muppet mayhem.
Kiddos and adults one and all will most likely enjoy this movie, and you don't have to worry about any unclean humor whatsoever.
I'm in my late teens and I still laugh at this movie. Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars everything you'd ever want in a Muppet movie, August 27, 2002
This review is from: The Great Muppet Caper (DVD)
"The Great Muppet Caper" is not the definative Muppet film (check out "The Muppet Movie" [1979] for that distinction) but it is a very solid outing from Kermit and the gang. The celebrity performances and cameos (even Jim Henson, Muppet creator, shows up) are well-done, with just enough campiness to make them funny for kids, but just enough restraint to keep it interesting for adults. The bike riding scene in the park is first rate, as is the Esther Williams-style water dancing sequence with Miss Piggy as its star.
In short, this British-influened slice of cinema is more sophisticated than the aforementioned "Muppet Movie" and less silly than the subsequent films. It's a great choice. Buy it without hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YYYYEEEEAAAAAA!!!!!, August 24, 2005
By 
S. Ellis "drummerman727" (Overland Park, Kansas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Muppet Caper - Kermit's 50th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
There was an error in the press release about these movies. They will be in both WIDESCREEN and Full Frame formats :)

An email I eceived from Disney...

"Thank you for your e-mail regarding MUPPETS DVDs. We appreciate your interest.

In celebration of Kermit's 50th Anniversary, THE MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL, THE MUPPET MOVIE, THE GREAT MUPPET CAPER, and MUPPET TREASURE ISLAND will be released on Disney DVD. These titles will be released in both Widescreen and Fullframe formats and are tentatively scheduled to be released on November 29, 2005.

Please visit our website at [...] for further details."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Muppets are the funniest performers in the game!!, May 21, 1999
Any movie that features the Muppet gang is going to be great, but the ones produced while Jim was still below the scenes are the best. This movie has so many wonderful moments -- the background nonsense during "Hey, a movie!", Gonzo's demonstration of how to hail a cab, Statler and Waldorf's heckling, the way people can't tell Kermit and Fozzy apart, and a hilarious cameo by Peter Falk...just to name a few. And it even has Charles Grodin before he became a boring late night talk show host. Terrific fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tons of Family Fun - Henson/Oz At Their Best, May 26, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Muppet Caper - Kermit's 50th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
I have to say this is one of my favorite movies of all-time since I was a little girl. The Great Muppet Caper is one of the rare movies today where you can sit down with your children, laugh, have a good time, and not have to worry about any "uncomfortable" moments. Tons of singing, dancing, and wise-cracks. This movie is sure to have kids and parents entertained.

So why did I give TGMC only four stars? It's not the movie per se ... I was just a bit disappointed with picture quality. Since this DVD is a special "anniversary edition" I was hoping it would've been digitally remastered since it had originally only been available on VHS. In my opinion (I have 2 plasma screen TVs in my home and 1 flat screen) the picture quality is just so-so; it could definitely be better. Other than that issue, this movie deserves 5 stars!

Anyone else notice this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Message From Mr. Movie Buff, August 16, 1999
By A Customer
The second besst Muppet Movie ever! This movie stars Kermit and Fozzie as twin newspaper reporters, and Gonzo as thier photographer. After losing their jobs, the trio travels to England to solve the case of Lady Holiday's jewel thefts. While there, Kermit meets Miss Piggy and has a great adventure after Miss Piggy is framed, and Kermit, Fozzie, and Gonzo along with the rest of the gang have to work to bring the real thieves to justice! This was definitely one of the best mysteries I've ever seen, and would have been my favorite Muppet Movie, but The Muppets Take Manhattan edged it out. I loved the story, the Muppets couldn't have been funnier, and you just had to love Animal! A movie for all types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ester Williams, eat your heart out., August 23, 2002
By 
Rick D. Barszcz (bristol, ct United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Muppet Caper (DVD)
Only kidding Ester, but the swimming sequence with Miss Piggy to me is worth the whole entire movie. The song is beautiful and the orchestration is powerful and mind blowing and the 5.1 stereo sound with Charles and Kermit battling over for Miss Piggy in that swimming scene gives me goose-flesh every time i watch it.Artistically these muppet movies are a wonderful combination of live people, great props and scenery, lavish costumes, wonderful music and really great story lines. Even at age 54 i find these movies a wonderful escape from hectic days and are just a joy to watch. Who would ever think "the muppets" would endure these several decades. Jim Henson was a wonderful man and to bad his life was cut so short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hey, a movie!, July 18, 2001
This review is from: The Great Muppet Caper (DVD)
The second big-screen outing for Jim Henson's Muppets is nearly as good as the first. Kermit and Fozzie are investigative reporters with Gonzo as their photographer. To save their job's they need to find out who stole Lady Holiday's diamond necklace. Cue unforgettable musical numbers, cleverly choreographed dance routines and more Muppet laughs than you can shake a baseball diamond at.
The DVD release of The Great Muppet Caper was a little disappointing. The other two Muppet movies included more extra features, eg. Jim Henson interview or Camera Test, but this release only includes a handful of Muppetisms. Second long comical clips featuring Kermit and the gang. It would have been nice to see the original production featurette for this movie or even some original trailers from The Great Muppet Caper or The Muppet Movie.
Even though the special features are a little light we are still presented with the wide-screen version of an excellent Muppet movie with cameos galore and plenty of that Muppet magic. The musical score is also amazing. Provided by Joe Raposo, the man behind other Muppet music such as Bein' Green and the theme from Sesame street, it is as charming and friendly as the Muppets themselves. The sound is also included here in a 'Newly Created Dolby Digital' version so you get the full cinema surround sound right in your own living room!
All-in-all, this is a worthy addition to anyones DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 50th Anniversary Edition = 4 star movie with 0 star transfer, April 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Great Muppet Caper - Kermit's 50th Anniversary Edition (DVD)
I enjoy the movie, however the quality of the transfer is horrible on the 50th Anniversary DVD release of this movie. Not only is the film very grainy, it also appears that the video has horrible compression. I can't believe that any company would put out such a poor quality product and place thier name on it.

I also own The Muppet Movie (1979) and the quality is decent, which makes it puzzling as to why a movie released 2 years later (1981) is of much lesser quality. It's almost like they grabbed an old VHS copy, transferred it, added a menu and threw it on a DVD.

Hopefully Disney's quick-and-cheap to market strategy earned them enough money over the years to focus on putting cleaner improved copies out there as titles are released on Blu-Ray.

There's no way this movie came from something other than a multi-generation copy of the original. If you didn't get enough grain in your diet, pick this one up you'll be good for life.

The only positives being that it was affordable and available on DVD, it's still a classic muppet movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kermit and CO go to LONDON!!, May 11, 2001
By 
P B FLETCHER (MUPPET FAN lancashire England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Great Muppet Caper (DVD)
The first muppet film directed by the man himself JIM HENSON we see our heroes kermit,fozzie and gonzo head to london to solve a spate of jewell robberies. The film is well cast the stars are great but its the muppets who steal every scene the musical numbers are superb the puppeteering is flawless the on screen muppet effects e.g the bicycle scene are a work of sheere genius.Any muppet fan worth their salt will already own this film on VHS as i do but the DVD edition should be far supperior with those new muppetisms etc.As a puppeteer and puppetmaker myself the muppets are at their visual best esspecially miss piggy who has changed dramatically over the last few years,this was when the muppets were at the height of their popularity and that comes accross in the finished movie. If you havent seen this film you owe it to yourself to purchase this DVD,If you have seen the movie however buy it amyway....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Great Muppet Caper - Kermit's 50th Anniversary Edition
$19.99 $8.34
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.