Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


135 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from the BBC Natural History Unit
If you've seen any of the other HD nature documentaries from BBC (Planet Earth, Life, Nature's Most Amazing Events, etc), you already know what to expect from this series. There is nothing groundbreaking here, just more of the amazing, high-quality, exciting nautre scenes that, frankly, only BBC knows how to deliver. While I wish David Attenborough had narrated the...
Published on August 26, 2010 by V

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars silent movie/no audio on this disc
I ordered it and sent to a friend over seas. Unfortunately, the sound track is missing on this disc. You can watch it silent with titles, but it is far from pleasant. Unfortunately, it is too expensive to return and exchange.
Published 1 month ago by tenacious foreigner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

135 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another gem from the BBC Natural History Unit, August 26, 2010
By 
V (Boston, MA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you've seen any of the other HD nature documentaries from BBC (Planet Earth, Life, Nature's Most Amazing Events, etc), you already know what to expect from this series. There is nothing groundbreaking here, just more of the amazing, high-quality, exciting nautre scenes that, frankly, only BBC knows how to deliver. While I wish David Attenborough had narrated the series, simply because no one else has that kind of gravitas, Hugh Quarshie's narration is decent and takes nothing away from the presentation.

East Africa had already been pretty well documented before this series. I have also traveled there. And still, in shot after shot, this series showed me things I had never before seen.

If you're a fan of high-quality, serious, beautiful nature documentaries, pick this up right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow -- amazing images, good story, April 22, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This DVD has the best video images I have ever seen. I viewed this on a 53" Sony Hi Def TV. The images were solid, the color intense and many scenes appeared nearly three dimensional. Over and over again we replayed a section just because of the quality of the image on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful video, October 8, 2010
By 
Ron (Carmichael, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Another outstanding documentary with a combination of great photography and good information about the geological and ecological development of this area of Africa. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spectacular, just like the Rift Valley itself, May 29, 2011
By 
Migstone (Cape Town, W Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
Having just been in Tanzania at the Serengeti, Lake Manyara and the Ngorongoro Crater, we could especially appreciate the content and visual quality of this 3 hour documentary about the Rift Valley. The footage and sound are amazing. How they get so close to the animals is a mystery. Clearly the film team is highly professional and accomplished. The information content is exceptional and this DVD provided hours of entertainment and fascination for the whole family even for our 2 year old niece. A wonderful DVD to have in the library. Well done BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, Breathtaking & Also Heartbreaking, July 18, 2012
By 
Rick Seals "Transplanted OKie" (Santa Ana, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The BBC's The Great Rift is an amazing journey through one of the most diverse and unique regions on Earth, located in eastern Africa. The various animals and plants there presented in the documentary are astounding and really reminded me what a wonderful world this is. The facts presented also show just how vulnerable and fragile all these amazing places are. It is narrated by Hugh Quarshie, who some people may remember from his role in Star Wars Episode I The Phantom Menace as Queen Amidala's Captain of the Guard.

The BBC has a long history of making great documentaries and this one does not let down the tradition. The cinematography is sharp, the locations are amazing in their remoteness and each episode is followed by a short anecdotal section showing just how much work the crew put into getting the footage they shot. The presentation is broke into three parts all telling the story of the Great Rift from different angles. One focuses on the geological aspect, describing how fire and lava have played a role in forging the shear valleys and mighty volcanoes. The next talks about how water and lack of it have affected the evolution of plants and animals in the area. The third and final installment talks about how the grasslands that make up most of the area came to be and in turn affect everything in and around them. It is an astonishing story to say the least.

I can't lie about the fact that I am a huge fan of the BBC's natural world documentary series. Like the others, The Great Rift looks amazing on the HD release and really catches your eye. The only downer to the whole thing is just how threatened it all is by human encroachment. I recommend this movie with 5 stars for anyone who loves nature for what it is and for everyone else who may not know the natural world that is out there. I hope it brings the wonder to everyone that it brings to me and opens eyes and hearts to taking the preservation of the natural world more seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't beat the quality of BBC's Natural History Unit's photography!, January 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When it comes to nature films, NOBODY does it better than BBC's Natural History Unit! The photography is superlative high definition, the content very interresting and informative, plus, I personally prefer the original BBC versions with British narrators than Discovery Channel's re-issued "Americanized" versions which replace the original voice with voice-overs using American actors instead! Why would they do that? England IS where the English language comes from, don't cha know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Video, Very Nice, March 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great video to watch. A great and different view of the African Wild-Life, not just your usual lions and such, Silver Back Gorillas, and much much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Africa..., February 8, 2012
This review is from: The Great Rift: Africa's Greatest Story (DVD)
This producer is good and really good and no wonder it is part of the BBC Earth collection. His other productions are as astonishing as this. You want to learn about Africa topography, nature and ecosystem, this is the one to watch. Double Bravo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sooooo educational!, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I think every student should watch this movie. It is biologically and geographically the most relevant documentary I have ever seen. The photography is so stunning, especially on Blu-ray. I had no idea the Rift was so large and so diverse as well as ringed with volcanic activity. I will watch this several times and pass it on to my grandchildren.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another fine product from the BBC Natural History Unit, April 12, 2014
This review is from: The Great Rift: Africa's Greatest Story (DVD)
Yes it is possible to get 'animal documentary overload' but the chances of it are minimalized if you stick to quality organisations like the BBC Natural History Unit.

This production maintains their fine standards and really excels in portraying one of the more iconic areas of Africa - the great rift - with verve and splendid photography. This film showcases this geographic feature from top to bottom in terms of looking at the breadth of animal life that inhabits the area and neatly presents how so much of what goes on there is intertwined.

At almost three hours running time you are getting value and if that sort of length is daunting then consume it in chunks. A fine purchase for the animal lover and/or armchair traveller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Great Rift: Africa's Greatest Story
The Great Rift: Africa's Greatest Story by Hugh Quarshie (DVD - 2010)
$19.98 $13.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.