Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, With a Few Flaws
ODE TO JOY - 50 BEST BEETHOVEN is a pretty good sampling of the prolific composer's work, and it's priced well too! All the "greatest hits" are here:

Piano Sonata No. 14 (the "Moonlight Sonata")
Symphony No. 7: Alegretto
Symphony No. 9: Choral (the "Ode to Joy")
Bagatelles No. 25 ("the Fur Elise")
And it really just goes on from...
Published on August 23, 2012 by T. A. Daniel

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If it sounds too good to be true...
This is a compilation of historic EMI performances. I was thrilled to see legendary names listed in these performance, but many of the tracks are excerpts. Okay, so 99 cents may be too cheap for a compilation like this, but with those "Supreme Classics" coming out for next to nothing, it seemed plausible. Boy was I wrong. Seriously did they have to be this stingy...
Published on August 24, 2012 by Edward Park


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If it sounds too good to be true..., August 24, 2012
By 
Edward Park (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
This is a compilation of historic EMI performances. I was thrilled to see legendary names listed in these performance, but many of the tracks are excerpts. Okay, so 99 cents may be too cheap for a compilation like this, but with those "Supreme Classics" coming out for next to nothing, it seemed plausible. Boy was I wrong. Seriously did they have to be this stingy? Was 3 more minutes of the 4th movement of Symphony No. 8 too much to ask? Overall, historic recordings by big names, but unfortunately this compilation is just a teaser/ advertisement for the actual albums. It would've helped if *excerpt* was added next to the corresponding titles, but alas they are not. Overall I'm disappointed, but I blame myself. What was I thinking? The 1st mvt of Piano Concerto No. 5 cannot humanly be played in 6 min.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, With a Few Flaws, August 23, 2012
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
ODE TO JOY - 50 BEST BEETHOVEN is a pretty good sampling of the prolific composer's work, and it's priced well too! All the "greatest hits" are here:

Piano Sonata No. 14 (the "Moonlight Sonata")
Symphony No. 7: Alegretto
Symphony No. 9: Choral (the "Ode to Joy")
Bagatelles No. 25 ("the Fur Elise")
And it really just goes on from there...

There are a few issues with this compilation though. The production is a grab-bag in terms of quality. Most of it, is actually pretty good. Compared to other releases of this nature (specifically, Beethoven - 100 Supreme Classical Masterpieces: Rise of the Masters), the quality of the recordings here are better. However, because these tracks come from an array of different recording studios, composers, theaters, etc... there's a lot of variability. And while this collection does collect a bunch of great work by Beethoven, it doesn't even really scratch the surface of his work. Especially regarding the symphonies here, there is a lot of fantastic stuff missing that could have replaced some of the more obscure tracks on this collection. The biggest caveat of all is probably the bizarre sampling/editing of the songs. I suppose that this was originally a CD set, where song length is at a premium -- many of these songs are unfortunately truncated.

So, in summary: Who is this for? I would recommend ODE TO JOY - 50 BEST BEETHOVEN to anyone who has a cursory interest in Beethoven, or anyone who is just looking for some nice classical music to listen to. For anyone who wants some serious Beethoven compositions, I would recommend either one of the more sprawling collections (see above link) or a better, more professional orchestra performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good start, December 3, 2012
By 
Alicia P (Goose Creek, sc) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
This is a nice starter album for classical music. Rounded out my classical playlist which I prefer to have on all day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You get more than what you pay for, October 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
Great value for the money. Of course you may not like every track but there is more than enough to satisfy most fans of Beethoven. I just haven't learned to appreciate all instruments yet so there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At this price this really is a joy worthy of an ode., September 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
A buck for some of Ludwig Van's greatest hits?! Little Alex out of 'A Clockwork Orange' would have killed for this. Try not to be put off by the corny photo accompanying this download. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, September 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
Long relaxing hour of classics. Fifty songs for the price of one .. awesome. Very enjoyable tunes. Love the selection. And the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soothing and Enriching!, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
Just put it on and let it play! Used frequently while I'm cleaning, cooking, napping, or doing something mundane. Amazing how many songs I knew already, but didn't know it was Beethoven!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great album for studying purposes, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
So this is a great classical album. The downside is the quality. Not the best sound but it's pretty good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good listening., September 6, 2012
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
Good listening for any age. A good mix of the his best known works, easy listening and performances are clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, August 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Classical Music Ever! Ode to Joy - 50 Best Beethoven (MP3 Music)
The download did not work very well and several songs would not load.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.