Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living above the Mundane.
I'm going to be 50...someday - to emulate Meg Ryan.

And Steven Scott tells me that on that day, I will have lived 2600 of my (on average) 3,952 weeks. Does that bother you? It bothers me... and I am actually closer to 40 than 50 (wrinkles not withstanding).

Do you want to know that the world is different because you were here?

Steven...
Published on March 26, 2009 by K. Martinez

versus
34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings
I have mixed feelings about The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived; well, not the man...but the book about the man. First, a little about the book; written by Steven K. Scott, the best-selling author of The Richest Man Who Ever Lived and The Greatest Words Ever Spoken, it's about Jesus and how his life on earth can be a model for ours to help us in overcoming adversity and/or...
Published on March 23, 2009 by Jeff Borden


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Feelings, March 23, 2009
By 
Jeff Borden (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
I have mixed feelings about The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived; well, not the man...but the book about the man. First, a little about the book; written by Steven K. Scott, the best-selling author of The Richest Man Who Ever Lived and The Greatest Words Ever Spoken, it's about Jesus and how his life on earth can be a model for ours to help us in overcoming adversity and/or limitations that challenge our ability to "live our lives with unparalleled success and unshakable happiness."

Ok, so the book is well-written. It is also put together very well, following a very logical progression of alliterated points. There is no question in my mind that the points are practical, balanced, and beneficial for achieving the results promised by the author. I also believe that Jesus is the ultimate model for living life on this earth. Where are my mixed feelings?

As I have said, I agree with the principles and teaching exposited in the book, The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived...I believe them and I try to model and live my life by them. I especially liked the "Whole Different Kind of Love" chapter. I also like very much that almost all the chapters ended with a list of action steps to help the reader with concrete starting points for making change in their life. What I did not care for, and I don't mean this to be a criticism of the book (I really hope I have qualified myself enough by now), is the packaging. I'm left with a taste that the message of Christ's gospel is being hawked as a self-help clinic; "How to be like Jesus in 6 easy steps!" I don't want to imply that is the intent of the author, Scott, I'm just saying that's the aftertaste I'm left with. I think the gospel is about much more than "earthly success" and "unshakeable happiness." I think there is something to eternal joy in the face of and in spite of unspeakable grief and tragedy. I think there are millions of people that might put these principles into action and not achieve the tangible results of earthly success...success is not always measured by what we see in our immediate reality or future.

Bottom Line: It is a good book with solid principles and it is technically accurate. My personal opinion is that the book presents a commercialized message and borders on a "what's in it for me" sales pitch. I'm left feeling a little disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Living above the Mundane., March 26, 2009
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
I'm going to be 50...someday - to emulate Meg Ryan.

And Steven Scott tells me that on that day, I will have lived 2600 of my (on average) 3,952 weeks. Does that bother you? It bothers me... and I am actually closer to 40 than 50 (wrinkles not withstanding).

Do you want to know that the world is different because you were here?

Steven Scott is an ordinary guy who has succeeded in extraordinary ways because he has used the principles that he learned by following Jesus. With a fair amount of learning from Solomon and Thomas Edison thrown in.

He started his career with eight failures and became a multi-millionaire. In this book, he shows you how to succeed at being the best YOU you can be, by being like Jesus. This book is "How to win friends and influence people" plus every book that John Maxwell ever wrote, all in one. You can save yourself a ton of time and money if you buy, read, highlight, study, and apply the principles of this book.

Rarely do I find a book that I am convinced every one of my kids needs to read. Right now I'm plotting how to get this book in formats that they will all assimilate. (This one's an audio learner (audio book), this one's a visual learner (regular book), what if I read it aloud at bedtime for this one...)

I believe we are all called to greatness. You are called to greatness. God put you on earth for a purpose. You can fulfill it. This book is a great tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About the man Jesus was, May 7, 2009
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived teaches us the principles of fulfillment from the life of Jesus. I think it's interesting, for a Christian, to contemplate the man Jesus as opposed to the diety of Jesus. Christians believe that Jesus had a dual nature as both man and God, but this book really investigates how the man acted in order to carry out his divine mission.

From the first chapter, which provides the arguments for why you should base your life on the principles by which Jesus lived his, to the last chapter, which warns against living your life only for the possessions and fame you can garner, this book provides the most useful reference to the principles of life, which Jesus lived and taught, that I have found.

My favorite chapters were "The Sense of Mission", "A Message that Communicates", and "Your Incredible Worth." Here's my favorite quote from the book:

"Think how much better our world would be today if we valued ourselves and those we work with, meet, and interact with in the manner of Jesus"

This statement is made after referencing Matthew 6:26-27 and Matthew 10:29-31 where Jesus reminds his disciples that God takes care of all living things and he cares even more for them. Have you thought of that today? God is caring for every living animal and plany on the planet, but he cares more for that person you're having an argument with than he does the animals and plants. It will make us stop and interact differently if we think like this.

Great book. Much of the content acted as a reminder of past readings, but there were equally as many new and insightful thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book - worth your time!, March 24, 2009
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
Review:
This book is a rich resource of lessons from the words, life and actions of Jesus Christ - the greatest man who ever lived. Steven K. Scott's insights are both refreshing and challenging. I particularly enjoyed chapter seven: A Manner That Moves Men and Women. I'm glad to have this book in my library and gladly recommend to all my friends.

Summary:
In The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived, Scott guides readers in a step-by-step application of the life-changing principles, skills, and methods that Jesus used throughout his earthly life. Although believers may spend a lifetime learning from Jesus' teachings, it's easy to overlook the powerful lessons demonstrated in His life. But when these incomparable lessons are learned and put to use, they enable ordinary people to achieve extraordinary success and happiness.

From Jesus' earthly life readers will learn:
How to break through the barriers that prevent them from achieving extraordinary success at work and relational success at home.
How to experience a level of happiness and fulfillment that nothing the world offers can duplicate.
How to use adversity and opposition as a springboard for greater success.
How to love others in a way that increases their love as well.

No matter what a person's area of expertise and in what setting a person influences others, living by the principles of Jesus' life on earth produces extraordinary success, unprecedented achievements, personal fulfillment, and blessings for others.

Author Bio:
Steven K. Scott is the best-selling author of The Richest Man Who Ever Lived, The Greatest Words Ever Spoken, and Mentored by a Millionaire. After failing in nine jobs, he started reading a chapter of Proverbs every day--and the wisdom of Scripture changed his life. Scott and his business partners have built more than a dozen multimillion-dollar companies from scratch, achieving billions of dollars in sales. He is the co-founder of Max International, Total Gym Fitness, and The American Telecast Corporation. He is a popular international speaker on the subjects of personal and professional achievement and the application of biblical wisdom to every area of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Example for . . . Life!, March 20, 2009
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived by Steven K. Scott is a great book. Imagine reading a self-help book, one of those books that teach you how to better manage your time, focus on your priorities, cultivate friends, make more money, be fulfilled in your career, have an enviable marriage, be a better parent, etc., etc. Now imagine being told you can do all of the above if you just follow the example of one man: Jesus. This is that book.

Steven K. Scott manages to make complex subjects easy to understand and apply, while not dumbing down his message. This is a rare talent - one I greatly appreciate. We all know we are supposed to be followers of the Master, but this book shows us how to do that in practical terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book reveals truth about "The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived!" An excellent read!, March 29, 2012
By 
First of all, I am a huge fan of best-selling author Steven K. Scott and his writing. I have read his books, The Jesus Mission, and The Greatest Words Ever Spoken, and have thoroughly enjoyed them both. So, when I saw his book, The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived, about the "Greatest Man Who Ever Lived" I knew I had to read it and review it.

His books consists of 17 well-written, spiritually rich and Biblically sound Chapters of information about Jesus Christ who truly is the Greatest Man who ever lived and how his rule and reign of our lives can and will forever change how we think and live. Because we live in a "what's in it for me society" - with even so-called professing believers buying into that way of thinking his first chapter is appropriately titled, "What the Greatest Man Who Ever Lived Can Do For You." It is in this chapter author Scott explains who Jesus is and what he can and will really do for you if you believe in him and live for him. Author Scott share from his own life how he came to know about Jesus Christ and how he saved and transformed him. One thing he writes in the chapter is that Jesus came to provide us an abundant life as his followers but from a man who has been successful and is wealthy he writes, "Now don't get me wrong, the "abundant life" Jesus offers us does not refer to material wealth, (no health and wealth gospel being presented in his book thank God), I've known millionaires, and even billionaires, many of whom are more miserable and "empty" than people of ordinary means." And this is written by a man who is successful and wealthy but definitely has his spiritual and financial priorities in order.

So, he starts his book out by telling us the truth and the truth is that Jesus came to save us from our sins and give us an abundant and fulfilling life." He concludes Chapter one with the oft quoted saying of Jim Eliot, a missionary who died as a martyr for the cause of Christ, "He is no fool who gives that which he cannot keep, to gain that which he cannot lose."

In Chapter 2, titled "Wake up and Smell the Starbucks," author Scott writes about the real difference that Jesus Christ can make in a person's life. I especially like his chart concerning what he refers to as life's "illusions" and "realities" and how Jesus can "illuminate them with his words and insights." He then concludes this chapter as he does with many in the book with what he refers to as, "Understanding Changes Minds - Action Changes Lives" which is a section of each chapter where he reveals to us how we can turn understanding into action." And that is what the real Christ and the true Christian life is all about...Action. From the Gospels as well as from the writings of the Apostle Paul and others who wrote the books of the New Testament we read that Jesus, his disciples, the Apostle's Paul, Peter and John, were all men of action and all at great cost to them personally.

In Chapter 3, "The Six Keys from the Life of Jesus" and Chapter 4,"Meaning That Motivates: Finding Your Whys" author Scott relates six important key teachings and lessons from the life of Christ and then directs us to the heart and soul of our own lives to have us probe what it is that we believe gives our life meaning and the "whys" of our lives. This is definitely important information author Scott is providing so as to cause us to pause in our lives as Disciples of Christ and really think through who we believe Christ is, what that means to our lives and how our believing in him causes us to live day to day in this present world. There are many things I enjoy about Steven Scott's writing style and one of them is how he writes to us as his readers...in a very easy to read, understand, and practical manner.
In Chapter 5 he writes about our "Sense of Mission," a chapter that addresses an issue that I often share with many people who reach out to me because their lives seem meaningless, unfulfilled or empty. Just as author Scott writes in his book I tell them that they need a mission - a life purpose - a reason to get out of bed in the morning, get going and living life to the fullest regardless of our situation or circumstances...and that it is possible to do so. I can attest to that fact from my own personal experience living with 2 brain tumors. If I did not have a "mission" or a purpose for my life that gets me out of bed and going each morning I know I would not be in the good shape that I am in for the shape that I am in.

In the rest of his awesome book, author Scott continues to write about the life - the message and ministry of Christ, citing Scriptures and personal examples a well as from the examples of others, what it means and looks like to be a successful Disciple of Jesus Christ. Again, he is not equating success with the possessions of money, things, or status, but rather, author Scott writes about living as a successful Disciple of Christ from the standpoint of the impact we have in the lives of the people around us as a result of being one of Christ's followers. He writes about "overcoming adversity," and experiencing and living out a "whole different kind of love," a love that he writes is "infinitely better" than any so called "love" people experience in this world apart from Christ and his love experience.

In Chapter 13 he reminds us as his reader of our "incredible worth," which are words of encouragement and empowerment for when we realize who we are and whose we are...well, it just changes how we think and live and the measure of real meaningful success we achieve in our lives.

And I for one do not have much in this world as far as worldly goods; however, by the grace of God and the power of the Holy Spirit working in and through my life I have established relationships and friendships with some of the most powerful people in the political and corporate world. And it really makes me chuckle sometimes because of the fact that I am just an ordinary sinful man that God seems to bless and use in ways that literally blows my mind AND for which I am truly grateful. And because of what God has done in my life and does through my life I have been able to help thousands of consumers/
citizens worldwide in a number of different ways. It is very humbling to me. And I do not write this to brag or boast as God forbid that I should boast in anyone or anything other than my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ and his cross, but rather to share with you that the seemingly impossible becomes possible when God and his son Jesus Christ is Lord of our lives and is working in and through our lives. He truly does use the foolish things of this world to confound the wise. AMAZING it is! And in his book in chapter 15 author Scott writes about such "unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness" that he along with countless others including myself have found and do experience because of our relationship with Jesus Christ.

In chapter 16 of his book he writes about "the Most Important Questions You'll Ever Ask," and if you buy the book and read it, (and I highly recommend that you do), you will agree as to just how important the questions are and that we do need to ask them in our lives. And finally in Chapter 17 he concludes with the grand finale asking the question, "Wouldn't You Like to Live Forever?" The author's vote is yes and I vote yes and for us the good news is that we ARE going to live forever.

But what about you my dear friend? Do you know where and with whom you are going to spend your eternity? If you don't buy the book, read it and do what author Scott suggests as he shares from the Word of God what you need to do in order that you might be certain of your eternal destiny spending it in Heaven with "The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived," Jesus Christ, the Son of God and God AND King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

I have received a complimentary copy of the book from the publisher, Waterbrook/Multnomah Publishing Company, for reviewing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling Information, But You Gotta Want It...., March 25, 2009
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
In one of the more wisdom dense books I've read in quite awhile, Steven K. Scott, delivers an enthusiastic and compelling infomercial type of pep-talk that will challenge most readers on several levels. Emotionally, Scott lays out the drives and needs that forge our actions and then he delivers sage Biblical advice that can help to shape actions and to meet needs without leaving trails of destruction in our lives. Financially/Careerwise Scott urges the reader to find that passion, the burn and then harness and focus them into success. He gives helpful guidelines and more wisdom, again, Biblical. His encouragement covers relationships, physical choices and pursuits also painted with wisdom from the book of Proverbs and the teachings of Jesus Christ. If you haven't picked up on the theme, Steven Scott is an on-fire follower of Christ.

If you are looking for a small group Bible study idea, or a book to light a fire under your carcass, or help with some issues that are making your life just not work so well, you could do far worse. Scott is one of the kings of infomercials and his examples of some of his successful ventures hit home with me as I've purchased a few of his products over the years and have wanted quite a few others. Interestingly, his products, no matter how great, how much they stand up to their claims only work when they are used. Same deal with the book.

If Jesus offends you, you may struggle or squirm. However, if you are curious to understand a little bit more about Jesus and His teachings and how they affect you and your life, this is a thoughtful and meaty book that really brings home how intersected life, spirit and soul really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, well written, easy to understand, great message, August 29, 2010
By 
N. RODRIGUEZ (FORT WORTH, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
I've read this book three times and learn something new each time. Highly recommend for business and life lessons. Gave to several friends and collegues. They loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not enough about Jesus, May 6, 2010
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
this book is too much about the author, and not enough about Jesus! He talked more about himself than he talked about Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived, June 4, 2009
By 
This review is from: The Greatest Man Who Ever Lived: Secrets for Unparalleled Success and Unshakable Happiness from the Life of Jesus (Hardcover)
Awesome book, loved Steven Scott's understanding of the life of Jesus, and how he has used the same principles of Jesus' personality, in the business world and his personal life. His insights on success in business and relationships is valuable to all. I loved the book, and learned alot from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.