Customer Reviews


366 Reviews
5 star:
 (219)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


163 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a majestic, beautifully filmed epic
This film is often compared with the 1961 "King of Kings", and "Jesus of Nazareth", but this one is by far my favorite of the three, because of the exquisite beauty of it, and Max von Sydow's powerful portrayal of Jesus; his performance has a strength and boldness that is lacking in the other two, and therefore for me much more believable. Sydow was...
Published on July 15, 2004 by Alejandra Vernon

versus
29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Greatest Story Ever Told" Review
Although I prefer "Jesus of Nazareth" over all the Biblical films depicting the life of Christ, this film comes in at a close second ("King of Kings" is enjoyable although loses most of it's luster when compared to "Greatest"). Max Von Sydow (with those piercing blue eyes) turns in a notewrothy portrayal as Jesus and should have at least...
Published on April 19, 1999 by PJ


‹ Previous | 115 16 1737 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great for Sunday School children, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie to summarize the Sunday School lessons we have read from the bible. It is a very long movie so it needs to be be broken up into several sessions. But unlike many movies today, this one has no foul language and is not too violent for young eyes. The only negative that I could see was some screen darkness in certain scenes. There was also enough quiet time between dialogue where I could whisper, "remember this part?". I showed this movie to 4th and 5th grade children and they enjoyed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love watching it, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Story Ever Told (DVD)
I love watching it every Easter and Christmas when they showed it on TV so I was glad to find a copy of it so I can watch it every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Story Ever Told, May 2, 2013
This review is from: The Greatest Story Ever Told (DVD)
I love this movie and every year like to watch all the Easter Stories. I like to learn about the apostles, and their time with Jesus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Telling of the Gospel Story, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Story Ever Told (DVD)
This is an outstanding rendition of the Gospel story. Many of the scenes in this film are as artistic as a Renaissance painting. Max von Sydow's portayal of Jesus is credible and the story remains The Greatest Story Ever Told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An epic, classic movie., April 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This used to be on every Easter in the old days, but now I never see it on anywhere, so i rented it from Amazon Instant video. This is a classic movie and it is a nice retelling of the basic biblical version of Jesus's life. It's a good way to get to know him if you don't know anything about him. Max von Sydow is a little over the top dramatically as Jesus, but not too bad. I like Telly Savalas as the Roman governor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every scene is a work of art, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Story Ever Told (DVD)
There is nothing new in the portrayal of Jesus in this movie. What makes it so good, is the director and cinematographer set up every scene as if it was an oil painting in a museum. The extra wide screen format is used to its maximum effectiveness. There are little side stories or activities within each scene. As an example, Jesus and the disciples are spending the night under a bridge. As the main scene activity is going on you see normal traffic going over. You also see people stop and hand their heads over the edge to get a better listening opportunity, then they move on. It is a feast for the eyes when watched not for the story, but for the visual story-telling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great old movie to watch., April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Story Ever Told (DVD)
Very good movie, with suspense and action. Portrays Our Lord's pain and suffering. I would recommend buying it and liked the history of Jesus it portraryed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You got it straight from James Gilbert, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Story Ever Told (DVD)
Got it when they said in great shape and got it for a great price.Got it when they said in great shape and got it for a great price.like how you can se where it is .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an Anointed and Blessed Movie!!, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
All I can say is that, this is one of my most Favorite Movies!! I listen and watch this movie all the time.!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just like I remembered it !, April 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Greatest Story Ever Told (DVD)
One of the best renditions of Jesus life I have ever seen and very well done even by todays standards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 115 16 1737 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Greatest Story Ever Told
The Greatest Story Ever Told by Jean Negulesco (DVD - 2004)
$14.98 $9.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.