Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Green Beauty Guide: Your Essential Resource to Organic and Natural Skin Care, Hair Care, Makeup, and Fragrances
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 45 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
VINE VOICEon August 30, 2008
From the founder and owner of the organic skin-care line, Petite Marie, comes a revealing look at cosmetics and skin care that the most of the beauty industry would love to keep secret. For instance, all that a product needs to be labeled as "Organic" is a drop of organic essential oil. This is called greenwashing and most greenwashers spend more money on promoting themselves as environmentally friendly than they do on formulating toxin-free, environmentally sound products.

With The Green Beauty Guide, Julie Gabriel starts with the basics of learning all about your skin and guides you through what you should look for in all your beauty products. She teaches you the how tell the difference between a good marketing campaign and truly organic products. You'll also find The Ten Commandments of Green Beauty, How to Go Green Without Going Broke and even recipes for your own organic beauty products such as cleansers, toners, facial masks, moisturizers and even acne zappers with simple easy to find ingredients.

For me, a not so environmentally conscious consumer, the realization what most of us are doing to our skin and the environment was initially a bit intimidating and scary really but Gabriel's information makes it easy to make the green switch. I've already been through my cabinets checking labels and packaging. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in making a difference.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2008
The Green Beauty Guide (GBG) is a wonderful reference that will have a place on my shelf for quite some time. I personally found this book particularly useful because I have an allergy to the paraben preservatives that are commonly used in beauty products and cosmetics so I have a little experience with what the author is talking about. However, thanks to the GBG I am now aware of several other ingredients that I should also be watching out for when I read labels and I've been able to add several new items to my beauty routine with confidence.

However, the Green Beauty Guide doesn't just put the spotlight on the things you shouldn't be putting on your face and body, but it gives you guidelines on how to actually find the products that don't contain the harmful ingredients which, believe me, is not as easy as it sounds. I cannot tell you how many hours I have spent searching through beauty aisles and cosmetic cases looking at itty-bitty ingredient lists - only to find parabens hiding away in products labeled as "pure", "natural", or "allergy-free". The GBG goes a long way towards debunking all of these common buzz word claims and gives the reader straight facts on the whole advertising/marketing game.

Which brings me to the part of the Green Beauty Guide that I love the most - a list (with ratings) of several recommended products grouped by function and suggestions on where these products can be purchased. And for those do-it-yourselfers out there - a list of recipes for making your own green beauty products including information on how to obtain, mix, and store any ingredients you need for the products you want to create.

I highly recommend this book to all women. Even if you don't have allergic reactions to your beauty products like I do, this guide will really help open your eyes to what you are actually putting on your skin everyday and might just inspire you to make some changes to the products you use. Over the just the past few years that I've been aware of this issue, the natural/organic/green cosmetics have really made some steps forward into the mainstream beauty aisles. It can only get better from here.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2008
The Green Beauty Guide is engaging and extremely informative. The link between toxicity and poor health is only beginning to be fully exposed, and this book makes a firm case for a change in lifestyle. It's obvious that Julie Gabriel has spent much time in research mode, and the guide provides a great deal of scientific context. The material is comprehensive and arms one with the tools needed to make changes in personal care routines.

As a (former) 15-year subscriber of Allure beauty magazine with an insatiable appetite for any mainstream beauty product, I felt increasingly liberated as I made my way through this book. It enables me not only to purchase with confidence from integrity-filled companies, but the ability to master my own creations. Don't be the victim of unregulated chemicals! Take control of your health and make educated decisions regarding your skin. Many of the beauty products on the market are made by companies with business standards- the final goal being profits, not your optimum health. As Ms. Gabriel points out, never "assume that people who make it have only good intentions in mind."
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2008
I found this book to have all I needed to enjoy a toxin-free, healthy beauty routine. Before I read this book I had no idea we have so many healthy beauty options. Green Beauty Guide shows that becoming a green beauty junkie can be very exciting and actually fun! Apparently, not everything has to be preserved with parabens and other chemicals which make us sick.

As I tried some of the recommeded products in the book, I noticed that my skin became smoother, glowing and more taut. I love the homemade recipes of hair treatments and moisturisers, and I will now browse pharmacies, Whole Foods Market and local health foods stores with much more knowledge.

I appreciate the in-depth section on various chemicals used in cosmetics(althought I am a bit scared, for it seems that I have consumed a lot of needless chemicals while being pregnant with my first child), and I really adore the section on baby skin care. Being pregnant with my second child, I strive to live as green as possible, and I consider this book a valuable resource for anyone who wants to live longer and healthier.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2008
Most women will look in Cosmo or other beauty magazines for the latest cosmetic and fashion tips, but what many of these magazines don't tell you is that the products manufactured by these companies are using chemicals and other compounds that once your skin absorbs them could cause other ailments or problems. While I don't readily wear makeup or use cosmetics, I gladly took on a TLC Book Tour stop for Julie Gabriel's The Green Beauty Guide: Your Essential Resource to Organic and Natural Skin Care, Hair Care, Makeup, and Fragrances. I love holistic looks at our everyday lives and books that seek to provide an alternate perspective to how we live our lives whether its from turning holiday celebrations green or learning how to reduce our own carbon footprints.

The Green Beauty Guide goes beyond the typical fad advice given by glossy magazines, providing the reader with recipes to create their own natural shampoos, facials, and other products, while at the same time providing readers with the know-how to become savvy cosmetics shoppers. Check out the Ten Commandments of Green Beauty at the end of Chapter 2.

Through a combination of science, insider information about the cosmetic industry and government regulation, and common sense, Gabriel dispels some of the myths espoused by the cosmetics industry. For instance, did you know that the skin absorbs about 60 percent of the substances applied to its surface? I didn't, but now that I do, I plan to be more careful about what solutions I use. Think about your morning routine. . .how many cleansers, lotions, and gels do you use before you leave the house each day? Examine the ingredients of those bottles, and you'll see exactly how many chemicals you expose your skin to every day. Given the complexity of skin and other systems throughout the body, it is no wonder that diet, exercise, and other behaviors can influence how well those systems function. Beauty or the health of your skin is tied to all of those things and more.

One of the best sections in the book discusses green washing, which will help those newly interested in the "green" movement to discern which products actually are safer for them and made from natural products, and which are merely using the presence of natural products to claim they are "green" or organic. Gabriel even provides Green Products Guide with a one-, two-, three-leaf system that categorizes how natural a product is. Other helpful sections of the book provide ways to make your own green beauty products, with a list of necessary tools, ingredients, and tips on where to purchase the ingredients. I also was surprised to find green beauty tips for babies in terms of diaper area care, massage oils, baby wipes, and bathing for babies.

Overall, this guide has a great many tips for those looking to expand the care of themselves and their environment into cosmetics and beauty care. I recommend this for those who wear makeup, lotions, shampoos, conditioners, and other products, which is pretty much everyone. We all should take better care of our planet and ourselves, and what better way than to start with the beauty products we use.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2008
I didn't buy the book from Amazon, but wanted to leave a review for all potential buyers: The book is so informative, it is packed with so much information, and is a real eye-opener. I thought buying organic was enough, but its not, there are so many hidden things that Julie points out and writes about. She doesn't just say "this is bad for you" she tells you about the effects that each chemical may have on our bodies. This is a great read, and has lots of recipes for DIY too!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2013
This book is a very informative resourse for organic and natural products. I have recenly switched to organic skin care and cosmetics and this guide has been very helpful to me in this area. It saves me time. The time I used to have to take, researching. It's all here, in this guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2008
I really liked this book, I found it to be technical but friendly to read. I found myself reading it like a novel that I could not put down. The suggestions have worked well for me and I look forward to adding many of her top picks to my beauty regime. This book is a great gift for anyone who wants to start going green with their beauty products and gain some real and helpful knowledge about the beauty industry.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2012
This book has changed my outlook on beauty products and affected my daily beauty regimen. I am amazed at how much I didn't know about the dangers lurking in cosmetics! The book is cleverly written, clear, concise and so informative. It has given me the tools I need to make informed decisions and take charge of what I put on my body. I have tossed nearly everything from shampoo to nail polish. I'm starting over with greener, healthier options -- and I'm spreading the word to all I know! Thank you so much for this invaluable information.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2008
Will really help you understand the organic beauty industry, guide you on buying truly safe products so you don't waste your money (including recommendations of specific products and explanations on why not to buy certain "organic" products), and provide alternative homemade ones as well (I haven't tried them yet.)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse