Customer Reviews


1,030 Reviews
5 star:
 (813)
4 star:
 (115)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A testament to humanity and a fine story
Starring Tom Hanks as a death-row prison guard in 1935, and written by Stephen King, this is an example of story-telling at its finest. My most frequent criticism of films is that they tend to be overlong, but The Green Mile, at a three full hours, needed every precious second in order to pace the story, develop its characters, and lead the viewer into the satisfying...
Published on October 12, 2000 by Linda Linguvic

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sad Double Disc release
For such an incredibly wonderful and breathtaking movie... the Two Disc Special Edition version is a waste of money. With only a few minutes of deleted scenes, one additional documentary and a photograph montage, the money spent on buying this version is lost considering the movie was disected into two separate pieces with half placed on each disc. For a movie that aired...
Published on February 17, 2008 by J. HARMON


‹ Previous | 1 2103 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 133 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A testament to humanity and a fine story, October 12, 2000
Starring Tom Hanks as a death-row prison guard in 1935, and written by Stephen King, this is an example of story-telling at its finest. My most frequent criticism of films is that they tend to be overlong, but The Green Mile, at a three full hours, needed every precious second in order to pace the story, develop its characters, and lead the viewer into the satisfying conclusion.
Despite some gruesome scenes depicting the details of electric chair execution, the film is a testament to the humanity of people. The audience gets to experience the stress of the responsibility of prison guards seeking to bring a bit of dignity to the last days of the convicted men, and we share their moral dilemma when they are faced with hard choices.
Michael Clarke Duncan, cast as the simple and honest black man sentenced to die for supposedly killing two little girls, is absolutely superb and was nominated for an academy award for his outstanding performance. He's 43 years old, 6'5" tall and a former ditch digger and bodyguard. He has the rare quality to be able to show emotion in a way that makes the audience understand the complexities of his character.
Tom Hanks, of course, is excellent, giving us the kind of fine performance we have come to expect of him. And the rest of the cast, including Michael Jeter as the villain, and David Morse as a fellow prison guard are perfect. There is also a small cameo role for Gary Sinese as the Louisiana prosecutor who believes in the guilt of the supposed killer.
Directed by Frank Darabont who also shared the scripting of this film with Stephen King, every scene is constructed with just the right amount of tension to keep the viewer glued to the screen. There was not one wasted moment.
But by no means is this a simple "wrongly-accused killer" film. There's a slight suspension of reality well integrated into the story line. And constant thought-provoking questions that stay with you long after the video is over.
Unless you are the kind of person who absolutely can't bear some heart-wrenching brutal scenes, don't miss this video. I give it my highest rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Green Mile, April 25, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
I went to see this movie in the cinema a few months ago, not sure on what type of movie this was going to be but for the first 40 minutes it was a standard prison drama. Around now it takes an interesting twist and S Kings influence is obvious and from now on it takes you on a high low emotional ride which even for me left me and all of the rest of the people in the cinema silent at the end. Great movie, the best of Kings films yet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching drama about one life enlightening another, May 23, 2000
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
I had heard that The Green Mile was a good movie, so I decided to go to the theater one night to see it. Even though the movie was long (over 3 hours) I was kept captivated and enjoyed it the whole time.
The story centers on the connection between a prison guard played by Tom Hanks and a death row inmate played by Michael Clarke Duncan. They develop a unique relationship based upon a special 'talent' of Duncan. In a way, the story introduces the supernatural and religion from an interesting perspective that strengthens the connection between the characters and the viewer. It would take a while to describe all of the significant events in the movie, but they all contribute to character development of not only the two main characters, but the others as well (i.e. the other prison guards and inmates).
The movie is based on the Stephen King serial novel of the same name, which I have not yet had the opportunity to read. It is an interesting tale that will make you think about what counts in life, how you treat others, and the distinction between good and evil.
The Green Mile is one of the few movies (another is Schindler's List) which makes good use of 3 hours and doesn't include any extended dull periods. It is touching to the heart and even though I didn't cry, I felt moved by the story. I recommend this to you if you like good stories with interesting characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding in every respect, August 3, 2006
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
Frank Darabont's second film since The Shawshank Redemption, another adaptation from a Stephen King story, The Green Mile is concerned with good and evil, hope and resilience against unspeakable odds and the power of the human heart. This is an intense film, finding myself emotionally drained as the last credits rolled, though unmistakably open to the fact that miracles, in one form or another, can an do occur.

Although The Green Mile refers to the lime green linoleum floor in a death-row cellblock, this is not just another prison story but a sensitive supernatural thriller designed to move the human spirit. John Coffey, an African American giant, has been accused and found guilty of a terrible crime - the rape and murder of two young girls. Coffey is found holding the two dead girls in his arms, crying and wailing that he "can't take it back." He arrives at Cold Mountain Penitentiary in chains to await his execution by electric chair. As the film progresses, we discover that the giant, John Coffey has a special gift, and wonder how such a gentle man with a miracle gift can be a child killer.

Tom Hanks performance as the head guard, Paul Edgecomb, is subtle and moving, as he begins to realize his own sense of spirit and humanity. We see this humanity in action when he and the other guards risk their jobs to sneak John Coffey out of death row to help a friend in dire need. The scenes that follow are extraordinary as we witness the power of Coffey and the miraculous transformation of the Warden's wife.

Aside from Hanks and Michael Clarke Duncan's (John Coffey) outstanding performances, the field mouse, Mr. Jingles, stole the show in his many scenes, outsmarting everyone with his tricks and incredible disappearing acts throughout the film.

Director and writer Frank Darabont surprised the world with his directorial debut The Shawshank Redemption. This is a film one never tires of and can be viewed many times and continue to be inspired by the beauty of the human spirit. The Green Mile really cannot be compared with Shawshank, as they are entirely different stories, however both touch on similar themes - hope, resilience and overcoming diversity despite incredible odds.

One looks forward to Frank Darabont's next project, as Shawshank and Green Mile are unquestionably films that will become classics and remain favourites for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Emotions., May 27, 2000
By 
N. Schoenfeld (San Ramon, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
Some complain that this movie is too long and it drags on, I disagree. A wonderful film like this needs to be lenghty to set the mood. It is 3 hours of pure heaven. In this time we are introduced to very interesting characters and a VERY VERY well written supernatural fable. The themes hold something for everybody. Weather you are religious or not, you will see into the deep moral ideas that the film has to offer. Even though it is a fable, it has DEEP and realistic emotions that everyone can relate to. The story tackles everything, from overcomming insecurity to true friendship. Plus it has a wonderful little mouse, that provides some comic relief, which fits.
An emotional roller coaster. Most Highly Reccomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The special features make it worth the additional money., November 15, 2006
By 
Wayne C. Rogers (Las Vegas, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
With almost six hundred reviews, I'm not going into the plot of The Green Mile. I will, however, say that in my opinion it's the best film adaptation based on a work by Stephen King that's been done so far. I hope it won't be the last. What I want to briefly discuss is the new 2-disc edition that just came out. If you're a fan of The Green Mile, then you'll want to buy it. This new edition includes the old documentary: Walking The Green Mile, but it's a longer version than the one on the previous DVD. It also has a new 6-featurette documentary on the making of The Green Mile that will pretty much tell you everything that you want to know. The special features total around ninety minutes in length. There's also a commentary by Frank Darabont with the film. All the new material is excellent with up-to-date interviews that includes most of the cast and crew. What surprised me, however, is that there isn't an up-to-date interview with Stephen King about the film. In fact, the feeling that I got from the interviews with other novelists and screenplay writers (Peter Straub, William Goldman, David Schow, Lawrence Kasdan, and Frank Darabont) is that Mr. King is now dead. That's exactly what it sounded like. Of course, Stephen King is still alive. At least according to his website. Still, why King didn't participate with a more current interview is a valid question. He is interviewed in the featurette, but it's from when the movie was being made and King's birthday was celebrated by strapping him down in Old Sparky. I could be wrong, but he's wearing the exact same red T-shirt throughout all the documentaries, including Walking the Green Mile. I will say that this is one of the few times when the upgrade to new "extras" on a DVD is well worth the spending of additional money. This is the definitive edition of The Green Mile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Contribution from Darabont & His Team..., April 12, 2000
By 
"shinhandsomemichael" (The City of Angels, Thailand.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
From one of America's finest horror / thriller writer, Stephen KING, movingly and beautifully portrayed by the Director, Frank Darabont who once brought you another Oscar nominee, The Shawshank Redemption a few years ago, this is the story of, among others, a miracle of God in the final chapter of his life having been experienced and seen through the eyes of, among other witnesses, the Chief Guard of Cold Mountain prison in `30s ( Tom Hanks ).
Customarily, with his legacy style of writing King tied up characters in his book including the Mr. Jingles the mouse, a not so clever French / American inmate named Eduard Delacroix, a pain-in-the-butt, merciless guard with big connection, a real nightmarish, insane redneck whose hidden sins had yet to be paid for more than the world could perceive and ably justify, the miracle himself and THE INSIDER / storyteller within a certain place ( Cold Mountain Prison ) and knitted them all in such an emotionally moving, sophisticated, thought-provoking, relevantly plot-driven fashion that virtually has become his signature already. In this movie Frank Darabont and his team showcased their professionalism in every facet of the art of movie-making as well as the ability to keep viewers enjoying, interested, curious and sitting still in front of the screen for literally more than 03 hours ( you won' t get bored, I confirm ).
Tom Hanks, once again, at his best; Michael Clark Duncan with his amazingly convincing character John Coffey, the Miracle; great cameo role as Coffey's defendant attorney by Gary Sinise; Hutchison and others did their good jobs too. Still haven' t been able to figure out why the Academy overlooked, once again, monsieur Darabont's direction for the GOD-ONLY-KNOWS-WHY second time. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for diehard movieheads, If you like the Green Mile a lot, chances are you will do The Shawshank Redemption too. So check it out right about now. SP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book = Great Film, July 25, 2002
By 
Neildo (SLC, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
First off, let me give a word of advice in reference to this movie and all other movies based on books: movies and books are not the same so don't expect them to be so. If you read the book and then watch the movie, comparing all the subtle differences and changes made to the story, you are really wasting your time.
I read the Green Mile and then watched it shortly after and I am conviced this is one of the best film adaptions ever made. The cast is simply amazing, straight out of the book. Michael Duncan Clarke, is John Coffey . . . "like the drink only not spelled the same." Tom Hanks was an even more compelling Paul Edgecomb than in the book. The set design is equally flawless, just how I imagined it as I read the book.
Now to comment on the actual storyline of The Green Mile, the heart and soul of the film/book. The Green Mile is a story which captures the spectrum of human emotion, evoking pain, hatred, sadness and joy. It follows the account of Paul Edgecomb, a warden on prison block E, death row. He witnesses the deaths of many types of men, the pitiful, the deserving and the innocent.
The Green Mile in many ways is an abstract, allegorical retelling of the christian story: John Coffey with the purity and divinity of Christ, Paul Edgecomb an apostle-like witness, the devilish Wild Bill, and Percy, a Judah incarnate. Having said that I won't reveal what happens to these characters, but like the christ story it is both a tragedy and a triumph. And like the Shawshank Redemption, in the darkest situations in life, the human spirit is allowed to shine brightest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good book, June 5, 2007
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
Do you know what it's like to get blamed for something you never did, well this book THE GREEN MILE takes that to the extreme when John Coffey a miracle from God is accused for the rape and murder of two little girls. He really was trying to use the powers God gave him to heal the wounded or as he would say, "take it back." John found the little girls hurt and wounded and he tried to help them but they both died in his arms and that's were the police found John holding the dead girls. Cold Mountain Penitentiary (the green mile) is where John Coffey was sentenced to die from the electrical chair, and this is where basically the whole book takes place. The main characters in this book are Paul Edgecombe, Brutal, John Coffey, and more prison guards. This story takes place over 80 years from start to finish. The problem was that Paul had to put John Coffey a friend, gift from God, and also an innocent man to death. Paul solves this problem by asking John Coffey what he should do because he didn't want to kill an innocent man nor a gift from God. Paul asked, "on my judgment day, when the lord asks me why I killed one of his greatest miracles what will I say, that it was my job?" John just said, "You just tell him it was a kindness you had done." Three major events that affected the plot were John being put on death row, Finding out that John could heal the wounded, and when John died from electrocution. My favorite part in the book was when Percy Wetmore a man who nobody liked squashed Del's mouse just to be a jerk. So once Percy left John healed the mouse and Percy came back the mouse was running around and Percy could not believe his own eyes. I believe that the message in this story is that you should be good to people so they be good to you. This way when you die your not scared because you knew you were the best person you could be. In this book there is always something happening to make you want to keep reading. I would make the book a little bit shorter to improve it but that's the only thing. If you are going to read this book you should like action and entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touched my soul ..., April 17, 2000
This review is from: The Green Mile (DVD)
I went this movie (second time) with my step father who is pretty cool , a guy not showing his emotions very much. I was surprised to see him crying couple of times during movie. There were incredible scenes (not about supernatural stuff) about the feelings , fun , joy , sentimental , anger , shock and miracles.. Tom Hanks is definetly the best male actor currently , the supporting cast was incredibely good as well . Micheal Clarke Duncan ( what a performance !) , Bonnie Hunt (always good) , and especially Micheal Jeter and David Morse ! I really loved every bit of it . And the scores rises the effect on the movie. THIS IS REALLY A MUST FOR A HUMAN BEING !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2103 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Green Mile [Blu-ray]
The Green Mile [Blu-ray] by Frank Darabont (Blu-ray - 2013)
$14.97 $8.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.