Customer Reviews


134 Reviews
5 star:
 (111)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!
Marcus O'Malley is used to being the guardian of his family. When Shari Handford witnesses the brutal killing of a US Supreme Court Justice, it falls to Marcus to protect her life. Instinctively, Marcus enfolds Shari under his protective wing and finds himself admiring her more everyday. There's just one problem. Shari has been targeted by one of the best assassins in the...
Published on February 24, 2001 by Raina Medlin

versus
11 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sigh...
I've read The Negotiator and The Guardian and I have the same basic opinion about both: unrealistic. But then, I don't read a lot of romance novels, so maybe this genre isn't supposed to be. Just a few examples...
The characters are very black and white. They're either sickeningly perfect or completely bad. Marcus, Jennifer, Kate, Dave, Shari, her mom, her...
Published on March 27, 2004 by Julie


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, February 24, 2001
By 
Raina Medlin (North Carolina) - See all my reviews
Marcus O'Malley is used to being the guardian of his family. When Shari Handford witnesses the brutal killing of a US Supreme Court Justice, it falls to Marcus to protect her life. Instinctively, Marcus enfolds Shari under his protective wing and finds himself admiring her more everyday. There's just one problem. Shari has been targeted by one of the best assassins in the world. What happens next is a story full of danger, intrigue and Dee Henderson's trademark suspense. Shari and Marcus are fighting to survive and to see justice served. At the same time, Marcus is confronted with his past and his loss of faith in God.
Dee Henderson has created a warm, caring, funny and realistic family capable of standing together through many of life's challenges.The O'Malley series has quickly become one of my favorites. Once you're hooked, it's almost impossible to wait for the next release. I'm on pins and needles waiting for The Truth Seeker!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can recommend this book to anyone! Dee Henderson is great!, November 8, 2001
By 
Suspense, action, love, humor, faith in God, excitement, mystery... these are the elements used by Dee Henderson in book 2 of the O'Malley series, "The Guardian". As I said, I can recommend this book to be read by ANYONE! It's fantastically written. The O'Malley series are about the O'Malley family. The O'Malley consists of seven brothers and sisters, three boys and four girls. Since they were little they had been in the same orphanage and when they got out of the orphanage, they decided to 'adopt' each other, taking the name O'Malley as their family name. They all have very important jobs, Marcus is a U.S. Marshal, Kate a negotiator for hostage situations, botched-up robberies, etc., Jennifer is a doctor, Jack a fireman, Rachel a trauma psychologist, and Lisa is a forensic pathologist. This story is about Marcus, the guardian of the family.
U.S. Marshal Marcus O'Malley is helping with security at Chicago Jefferson Renaissance Hotel, making sure nothing goes wrong at a judicial conference. During the banquet, political speech writer Shari Hanford, stumbles into security control center by accident. There she meets Marcus and he leads her back to the ballroom. Both finding each other attractive, they set a date to have coffee the next morning. They part happily anticipating seeing each other again. Little do they know that they would see each other again sooner than they expect, under very grim circumstances.
Judge Carl Whitmore, friend of the Hanford family, is unexpectedly chosen to be the next Supreme Court justice. He is murdered that very night, killed in cold blood. But the killer did not expect to have Shari open the door from the adjoining room while he is still there. He fires at her but she is saved by her brother, Josh, who pushes her out of the way. Josh is hit in the shoulder and Shari's father is shot in the chest. The killer escapes and U.S. Marshal Marcus and others must make sure he is caught and brought to justice. And one more thing, they must protect Shari because the killer wants her dead, for she saw his face. Marcus must guard Shari from danger while at the same time begins to fall in love with her. But Marcus is uncomfortable with Shari and her praying to God. He had once been a believer when he was very young and had prayed all the time. Then he had been hurt when his mother had died and didn't believe in prayer anymore. Can Shari teach Marcus to believe in God and prayer?
I just loved the characters of Marcus and Shari. They are so realistic with such good characteristics such as kind, loving, trustworthy, patient, and caring. But this story just isn't about Marcus and Shari, it also involves the O'Malley's, Dave Richman (Kate O'Malley's boyfriend), and Marcus' partner, Quinn Diamond. I love the banter between Lisa O'Malley and Quinn! This book focuses on prayer and I absolutely agree with everything it says about prayer in this book. Just because God doesn't answer you doesn't mean that He's not listening. God is always there and He has a plan and a time for everything. We just have to trust in Him.
The first in the O'Malley series is "The Negotiator" in which the main character is Marcus' sister, Kate O'Malley. This is also another great book! Then after this book is "The Truth-Seeker" with Lisa O'Malley then "The Protector" with Jack O'Malley. Can't wait to read those, too! Other books by Dee Henderson is "Danger in the Shadows" (written before "The Negotiator" whose main character is Dave Richman's sister, Sara Richman) and "True Devotion", the first in the Uncommon Heroes Series. I highly recommend all of these books!! Trust me, they're all fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT......... YET AGAIN!, April 27, 2001
By 
Wendy Featherstone (Liverpool, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Mix an equally large quantity of suspense, intrigue and excitement until well blended, then sprinkle with romance and you will end up with a page turning thriller. This is obviously what Dee Henderson has done in 'The Guardian' to turn out the brilliantly written second book in the O'Malley series. As a huge fan of D.H., I have enjoyed all the books I have read of hers. Right from the start you NEED to know what happens next. I love the strong personalities and the way they interact with one another. The way she introduces new characters into the story and ultimately into the O'Malley clan is so good. I thought the message about prayer was brought into the story really well and watching Marcus learn to trust in Jesus again was beautiful to watch. The only part I hate is waiting for the next book!! Thanks Dee. Your books are very much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tough guy, big heart - the Guardian, June 2, 2001
Henderson's second book in the O'malley series was, in my opinion, much better than the first. Most likely because politics, judges and the law, as well as U.S. marshalls are closer to home than other topics she's written about.
Here, you'll read of the oldest sibling of the O'Malley clan. When the seven orphans came together, changed their names and created their own family, Marcus became the official protector and guide for the entire group. His resulting strength and wisdom are carried over into his job as a U.S. marshall.
When a federal judge is killed, Marcus takes responsibility for protecting the witness to the assassination, Shari Hanford. Through the stress of the continued threat to Shari's life, she learns to regain a hold on her life-long faith and to fall for Marcus. He, in turn, is struggling as to whether he should seek the rejected faith of his childhood.
Pretty good story, with some very interesting discussions of the reasons why people lose faith when faced with the toughest times life can throw our way. Some times a little too sappy, but it does show how people are brought into your life when you need them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book!, July 29, 2001
By A Customer
Although I didn't like this book as much as her others, I have to admit that it's awesome too. The plot is good. I love Dee Henderson, she writes books you can't put down!! Make sure you read them in order though.
I can't wait to find out about the rest of the 'O Malleys, after reading all her books you almost feel part of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, February 15, 2001
While in Chicago presenting a talk at the Judges Conference, Judge Carl Whitmore learns he has made the short list for Supreme Court nominee. Other people including speechwriter and friend Shari Hanford learn in advance about the president's latest nomination. No one bothers to provide an advance warning to the U.S. Marshalí' service so that the agents can begin protecting His Honor.

That mistake proves fatal as Connor Gray, who also learned about Judge Whitmore making the short list, assassinates him out of an act of vengeance. Shari and her family happen to be with Carl when he is killed. Shari's father and brother are shot and in critical condition. Shari is a witness to the killer's identity and U.S. Marshal Marcus O'Malley places her under his personal protection. As the search for the killer continues, Shari and Marcus fall in love, but the murderer knows he has one eyewitness he has to eliminate at all costs.

THE GUARDIAN is an exciting romantic suspense thriller that emphasizes the action. The story line works on multiple levels because the key cast feels genuine. Connorís need to kill the Judge especially feels authentic. The attraction between Marcus and Shari is a bonus that augments the strong plot with a bit of soft flavoring. In the second novel of the O'Malley family saga, Dee Henderson has provided a winner for fans of romantic suspense and thrillers.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nobody Writes 'em Like Dee!!, March 24, 2001
By 
Shelby Watson (Wilmington, DE USA) - See all my reviews
Dee Henderson has once again proved that she is a writer extraordinare. "The Guardian", which revolves around the protection of a witness to the murder of a Supreme Court Judge nominee, will keep you turning pages. Just as in her other "O'Malley" books, "Danger in the Shadows" and especially, "The Negotiator" (one of my personal favorites), she never fails to amaze me with her attention to the smallest of detail. "The Guardian" will strengthen your faith and thoroughly entertain you. Dee's books are the ones that I carry around with me EVERYWHERE I go for the 2-3 days it takes me to read them because I can't wait to find out what happens next!! You will enjoy this book and want to come back for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The O"Malley's just get better and better, May 14, 2001
Danger and intrigue are no strangers to the O'Malley family but when they fall in love they fall hard with complications sure to touch their spiritual soul. First it was Kate, now Marcus, the patriarch of this rag tag family of orphans, has his hands full not only keeping his witness alive but his heart from breaking because God's love has forsaken him. A 2000 Rita winner for her DANGERS IN THE SHADOW, author Dee Henderson returns for the second installment in her O'Malley series with Marcus's story, THE GUARDIAN and oh my what an installment it is!!
Dee Henderson's THE GUARDIAN is a must read for those who crave a tale full of incredible intrigue, "on the edge of your seat" adventure with a hero and heroine cloaked in God's love as they learn to trust in God and each other. The O'Malley's are one of Romance's most incredible families and should not be missed by serious romance readers. Ms Henderson takes the Inspirational sub genre to new heights as her body of work is the "classic standard" by which both new and seasoned authors should set their sights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, couldn't get anything else done!, February 28, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Dee Henderson tackles the difficult problem of why prayers aren't always answered the way we think they should be, and the bigger issue of struggling to reconcile the concept of an all-powerful and loving God in a hurting world. She does it without handing out platitudes. Even though it is painful to vicariously experience the losses her fictional characters experience, things like murder, cancer, and heartbreak are a part of real life, and she doesn't try to shield us from them in her stories. The realism of things not always turning out totally "happily ever after" makes the difficulties her fictional characters go through much more inspirational to the reader. Dee Henderson has a knack for combining her characters' spiritual journeys with a gripping mystery full of drama and emotion. She writes fiction that rings true because it has laughter as well as sorrow, and her characters are ones which the reader can identify with. The O'Malley family of this series is a family that everyone would love to be part of, and I can't wait until the next book comes out to hear more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Absolute Fav!, November 19, 2003
The Guardian is my definitely my favorite book out of all the O'Malley Series books. I completely fell in love with Marcus and his story. His struggle with believing in God again was so real and I loved how he really wrestled with it, instead of just having an immediate overnight conversion like so many other Christian Romance novels portray. I also love how close all the O'Malleys are to one another...and how they'd stick by each other through anything. Dee Henderson has done another masterpiece with The Guardian!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Guardian (O'Malley Book 2)
$9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.