Customer Reviews


1,330 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,188)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season since season 2 and 3 (minor spoilers)
This year, TBBT became a ratings phenomenon, reaching the 20 million viewer mark when "The Bakersfield Expedition" first aired. That was one of my top episodes. Now, with all the nerdy stuff that STILL is in the show, I don't understand why people still have such a problem with it. Amy and Bernadette are STAYING. The girls have given the show new life and the show...
Published 14 months ago by yankeesrule1989

versus
50 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous seasons.
This season's ok. It has some funny moments, but on a whole it's not as funny or well written as seasons 1-5. The dialogue isn't as smart. Since some of the characters have paired off, the writers seem to have had problems finding something to drive the plot. Penny was a psycho, overly sensitive jerk for apparently no reason for the first few episodes (you may find this...
Published 18 months ago by Cassandra


‹ Previous | 1 2133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best season since season 2 and 3 (minor spoilers), June 14, 2013
By 
yankeesrule1989 (Irondequoit, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This year, TBBT became a ratings phenomenon, reaching the 20 million viewer mark when "The Bakersfield Expedition" first aired. That was one of my top episodes. Now, with all the nerdy stuff that STILL is in the show, I don't understand why people still have such a problem with it. Amy and Bernadette are STAYING. The girls have given the show new life and the show would've dropped off and tanked at the end of season 3. At least, unlike season 5, Amy stopped with her "lesbian" comments towards Penny. There's still plenty of nerd stuff. And people still complain. They are never satisfied. Also, Amy and Bernadette are female SCIENTISTS.

The season started off kind of subpar with Howard floating around in space, apparently miserable and the butt of the other astronauts jokes. There were a few funny moments but glad they didn't stretch it out too long. Sheldon says "He went to space a boy and returns a boy-sized hero," followed by Howard screaming like a little girl as they plunge back down to Earth. Poor guy didn't get the welcome back that he really wanted, and also, wouldn't shut up about being in space either. The show picked up again in that very episode with a guys vs. girls game night which was hysterical. We had a stretch of superb episodes after that, like Stuart's Halloween party, (and Leonard showing Penny an awesome hologram in the lab) Sheldon and Howard fighting over Sheldon's parking space that he never uses, Penny teaching Howard how to fish and put a worm on a hook, Howard and Raj trying to figure out Sheldon's secret routine in a room in the university basement, and of course, the guys going to a comic convention in Bakersfield, and stopping in the same field that they shot the original Star Trek TV series--dressed as the principal characters, and getting their car stolen. And the Bob Newhart episode, where he plays Sheldon and Leonard's childhood TV idol "Professor Proton." And in 2 episodes, we are introduced to the university's human resources lady, Mrs. Davis, who's African American, and Sheldon makes a few racist comments and gives her a few very inappropriate gifts (he's obviously unaware of how bad these things are) while buttering her up to get picked for the open tenure position. And of course, there were many other great episodes, but those are my top season 6 ones.

Also, Amy and Sheldon's "relationship" starts to open up a bit more, and Sheldon makes a very shocking statement, that it's a possibility that he'll sleep with Amy someday. Penny's reaction is priceless. Howard finally moves out of his mutha's house, and Raj meets a girl who's also socially awkward. And Penny goes back to community college, to prove to Leonard that she's not stupid.

All in all, this season has been EXCELLENT. Many people agree it's been the best one since season 2 or 3. The show recently cleaned up pretty good at the Critics Choice Awards, and hopefully will win even more awards in the future. After what was season 6, they definitely will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


131 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Brilliant Comedy Since Seinfeld!, January 29, 2013
When this show started out I thought it would not last beyond a season. Four super-smart "geeky" guys who love to go to the comics store and love to quote Star Trek and debate philosophical issue regarding superheroes trying to connect with the unreachable hot blonde next door. Well the writers of this series keep coming up with new and hilarious new avenues for this show that never seems to get boring.

What is always constant among these characters is both their hatred towards Sheldon, the self-centered egotist who slings insults without a second thought and whose mind that can solve string theory, cannot fathom the most mundane things regarding human interaction. As each of the characters has an innate desire to slay this "major annoyance," they are also inexplicably drawn to him, no matter what "detailled contracts" he makes them sign or iron clad rules he makes them follow (each day is assigned a specified meal and activity).

The stories keep evolving for the better, whether it be learning that alcohol can allow Raj to talk to girls, having a Wil Wheaton/ Sheldon Cooper rivalry, finding the perfect woman for Sheldon via an on-line dating service (Amy), having Sheldon and Penny sing "Soft Kitty," having Raj's parents appearring only via Skyppe or whether it's knock "Penny," knock, "Penny," knock, "Penny!"

And now the show is into its sixth season and nobody cares that the elevator is still out of order! Some of the best scenes happen when they are walking up or down those several flights (how did they move that Time Machine up the stairs?).

TBS seems to have a few nights of marathan episodes each week and I can watch them back to back without getting bored. While a show like Modern Family is funny, the shows seem to all be the same and the characters have not really evolved since the first episode. With TBBT we see Amy evolving to becoming more human and little by little we see Sheldon start to change (he did get jealous of Amy's date with Stuart). Penny has learned to accept Sheldon's quirks and occasionally Raj will slip and talk in front of a girl sans alcohol. I don't think we will ever see Howard's mother on-screen though but we do know that the two people that tame Sheldon are his mother and his twin sister.

I hope the writers can keep up the excellent job on this show for seasons to come and that the actors realize what they have now and don't decide to jump ship just yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I actually laugh out loud with this one!!!, March 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is the first comedy I have seen in a long time that does really make me laugh when I'm watching it. And I mean, my sides hurt I laugh so much sometimes. I love all of the quirky characters, the stories range from silly to touching, and all of the actors perform seamlessly. If you're feeling blue or cranky, give this show a try - it should cheer you right up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show, December 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sheldon makes my day. This is the kind of show that can be watched many times and you laugh as much the second time as you did the first !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Comedy Series!, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Big Bang is the best comedy series on TV now. Dr. Sheldon Cooper played by Jim Parsons carries the show. The other stars in the show each bring their individual personalities into the show and make it a true success like other comedy series of the past (Seinfeld, Friends). Mayim Hoya Bialik who plays Amy Farrah Fowler does a remarkable job as Sheldon Cooper’s friend who is a girl. The sixth season continues to bring you great episodes week after week. Well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, February 9, 2013
By 
Janette Garton (Lawton, OK United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The show is just hilarious. I am still a nerd, so I understand their point of view, and find it so funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Bang, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoy this show and have no problem streaming the episode's. The earlier shows seem to be written better and a little more humorous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, February 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This show absolutely rocks! The gang is the funniest on television. The writers definitely knew what they were doing when they came up with these plots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Big Bang Theory., August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It is a must see. Sheldon is hilarious. This show keeps me laughing and delighted. Please show more of Sheldon's mom, remember her from Roseanne. Genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 73 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as previous seasons., February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This season's ok. It has some funny moments, but on a whole it's not as funny or well written as seasons 1-5. The dialogue isn't as smart. Since some of the characters have paired off, the writers seem to have had problems finding something to drive the plot. Penny was a psycho, overly sensitive jerk for apparently no reason for the first few episodes (you may find this funny; I didn't). Lines seen more forced this season and more calculated for laughs. I found myself rolling my eyes and wincing instead of laughing. After the Valentine's Day episode with Penny and Leonard (I won't spoil anything for you), I think the Penny and Leonard thing has officially run its course and had now become annoying. You can only play on a fear of commitment for so long before it starts to become ridiculous. Sheldon is more neurotic and less logical. His assistant (whatever her name is) is funny but a little out of place in the plot. I think Howard and Bernadette now have the best dynamic as a couple and have had some of the best scenes this season (like when she hid his Xbox in the washer). Raj could be used to further the plot, but he's been mostly showcased as a dating pariah- this may be changing based on the latest episode. I like to see characters develop through shows. While this season has had some good moments, I think overall the characters have been stagnant and devolving, especially when compared to previous seasons, so I've been disappointed with this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2133 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.