Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Refute An Earlier Review...
I enjoyed an earlier review which accused LS of "ripping off" music from other bands such as Sepultura and Meshuggah. In fact, it was stated that the latter "kills this pathetic chritian band just by turning their amps on."

I do find this somewhat funny, and not just the spelling error. The true, no spin, facts regarding LS are this: they are an original,...
Published on August 12, 2004 by GreyGhost83

versus
1 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Are you kidding me?
Listen, kiddies, this here isn't heavy metal at all. It's Amy Grant masquerading as a metal band. Not only is this weak music, but it's basically rehashed bits of Sunday school jargon. If you want to listen to real metal I suggest you immediately search for Cannibal Corpse, Cryptopsy, Deicide, Soilent Green, Slayer, Malevolent Creation, Darkthrone, etc. You might just...
Published on June 18, 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To Refute An Earlier Review..., August 12, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
I enjoyed an earlier review which accused LS of "ripping off" music from other bands such as Sepultura and Meshuggah. In fact, it was stated that the latter "kills this pathetic chritian band just by turning their amps on."

I do find this somewhat funny, and not just the spelling error. The true, no spin, facts regarding LS are this: they are an original, talented and mostly under-rated harcore/metal band. While criticism could be in order in some areas, stating that they "rippped off" from another band is simply false. Usually, when the accuser makes statements like this it reflects an insecurity with hardcore/metal that carries a Christian overtone or message.

It's true--LS does not objectify women, promote gruesome viloence or endorse hedonism. However, in the world of solid, hard-rocking metal LS has few equals.

If you want some of the best hardcore/metal around, simply buy LS's "Reborn," "Hammering Process," and "Conceived in Fire."

However if you're looking for a good laugh, check out the earlier review...it's great birdcage liner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Head Banging in the name of the Lord, April 15, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
That's right, this band, for those of you who are not familiar with them, is a religious metal-core band. This is one of the tightest bands out there! Their style is a sweep across the plains of all thrash-core genres. Similar to bands like Meshuggah and Sepultura, they have brought some major originality into the new metal scene; especially to that of the religious rock genre!!! Percussion adds to their already enormous sound, giving it a very solid sound with absolutely NO lack of power!
If you like bands like Meshuggah and sepulture, you will love these guys! And if you already like these guys and want something similar, look into the other two I have mentioned.
This CD is a must have for the true metal lover! And be sure to check out their other CDs as well. They just keep getting better and better!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album...great band, September 28, 2004
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
i remember first hearing their stuff and immediately turning away from it. their nonexistant and inhabit were definitely my least favorite. i won't say they sucked because people do like that. its just not my taste. but reborn was good. and this is better. they expanded their musical...whatever they have...beyond boundaries most bands haven't even seen. i really can't say anything bad about this album. i just think its funny that the guy was saying they are trying to rip off meshuggah. but i don't understand....don't you have to sound like the band your ripping off? besides...who would want to rip off meshuggah?? their drummer is good but.... yeah... get this album. i spent about 17 dollars on it and i don't regret a cent of it. at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have album for anyone into heavy music, February 26, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
I was one of those people that didn't immediatly buy this album because of the screaming vocals I even listened to it a few times in a store and still didn't pick it up. It was only after hearing a song on a sampler that I decided to pick up the Hammering Process. Oooooooooooooooohhhhhhh how that was a good decision this album is very good. If your like me and don't always go for the screaming or growl vocals don't worry you'll still like this album. And yes it does hold up and is better then many other heavy bands in the scene. Why? One the guitars never sound boring or the same. So many bands sound like they play the same song but change the lyrics. Living Sacrifice doesn't. Secondly they play solos yes and not cheesy one's either solos that fit well. Production wise this album is very well done. The guitars don't sound dampened, they sound full and thick. I can't say much more but to say if your on the fence with this album take the chance you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Living Sacrifice - What more is there to say???, November 14, 2003
By 
Brian Behm (Finksburg, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
Living Sacrifice is astounding. I have been constantly listening to this CD and it never gets old. After owning the album for a few months, I still, just yesterday, discovered something new about it. There are small intricacies that will continue jumping out at you the more you listen to it. With two drummers (one on a set and one doing other percussion) and layered guitars this album is more than you can handle in one sitting. It is more than music, it is artwork, a complete masterpiece of different sounds and melodies as well as the usual Living Sacrifice metal-style screams and growling. Everything about this album is unbelievably intricate and thoughtful, from the philosophical lyrics and the mexican type guitar in the bridge on "Burn The End" to the total metal mayhem in "Conditional," you are guaranteed to love this five piece headbang-inducer if you are a fan of the "headbang dance" as I call it. Buy it and smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LS's Best Album ... Very Solid., December 6, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
The Hammering Process is tight. It's better than coal chamber, korn and soulfy, all of which I own. I like the progressiveness along with another hardcore band such as mudvayne, which both have moments of actual singing, and brutal screaming a majority of the time. This contains all the elements of LS's past cd's and blends it all together. The elements of guitar play, percussion, vocals and song writing are all very tight. There are guitar solos which you don't see many bands doing anymore which are unique and progessive on this album which is a great addition to their sound. Ten songs make it complete. Being that the songs are so good you don't even have to skip tracks, also it's an album in which you can listen to over and over without getting tired of it; concluding a very solid album. Not many bands can live up to a standard of quality solid songs. Living Sacrifice has been around since 1991 or earlier, carving out their own sound. Reinventing themselves over and over again. With high production and perfect composure this is an album to get. I recommend this cd as one of the best new releases of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff Here!, December 7, 2004
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
This CD is highly impressive with what they do here, LS has a way of slowly building to a chorus, that by the time you get there you just want to jump around and go nuts! This is the first CD by the these guys I bought and the reason I got it was because of Bloodwork which is an amazing song. After hearing the entire album I can safely say the rest of the album follows suit. The drums and percussion are fast and driving, the guitars are perfect, and the vocals are very agrressive and gritty which make you really get into the music. Song after song the album just pounds away (good for head banging), and the lyrics are very poetic and emotional which only help to intensify the music and make it that much more enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simple Task, June 28, 2004
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
THIS CD IS AWESOME!!!! When I got this cd I was in shock at how good it sounded! This cd grew on me like an oversized shirt does as you grow it fits you better and thats what happened to me. The best songs on this cd are Bloodwork, Local Vengence Killing, Burn The End, Perfect and Conditional those are a few but all the songs sound great! (Note: THIS CD IS BEST HEARD LOUD!!!) There focus on God is great and there lyrics prove that. The songs on this cd are great for anyone who is going through or has been through struggles its a good positive helper. Buy it today don't waste time before you can't get this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THP05: The Hammering Process (Album #5), November 9, 2000
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
I got this album the first day it came out. Exactly a week before, I saw them in concert and was impressed by their performance, which was why I couldn't wait to get this CD...
Anyways, in a nutshell, THP05 is their best one yet! THP05 is more accessible than their previous efforts. In addition to the heavy guitar riffs, pounding drums and percussion, and the snarling, growling vocals, the album has some tinges of progressive metal and singing background vocals. In a sense, THP05 is far more melodic than Reborn. But don't be mistaken: this is still bone-crushing Christian metal at its best!
So if you've followed Living Sacrifice this far, do go out and buy this CD! For those of you who are into Pantera, Sepultura, and (some) Metallica, you will definitely love this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mmmm Crunchy, February 26, 2005
This review is from: The Hammering Process (Audio CD)
this is the second 2 last LS cd. There is a lot of stacato-ness in the songs (crunchy) which gives it a very percussive and pummeling sound (hence the name "hammering process). Think of it as a transition from CIF and reborn. it has more chanting (non growled vocals than any of their other cds. this an very original cd from a very original band. i do not like this cd quite as much as CIF or reborn but it is extrememly good and worthwhile to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hammering Process
The Hammering Process by Living Sacrifice (Audio CD - 2000)
Click for more info
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.