Customer Reviews

29
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Hard SF Renaissance
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:$21.12 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on January 26, 2003
Format: Hardcover
A monumental anthology waith many of the best stories published in the last ten years, including many novellas not easily included in smaller anthologies.
Some particular favorites: "Reasons to be Cheerful" by Greg Egan. A young boy finds himself a little too happy with his life. He has a tumor in his brain that has the side effect of making him happy, even when faced with the news of his approaching death. He undergoes a radical new surgery, but afterward, can he ever be happy again?
"Into the Miranda Rift" by G. David Nordley. An exciting new variation on "Journey to the Center of the Earth," except here to journey is through the middle of Uranus' moon.
"Great Wall of Mars" by Alistair Reynolds. A pyrotechnic, breathtaking tour-de-force space opera from one of the most exiting new SF talents.
"Fast Times at Fairmont High" by Vernor Vinge envisions a near future where the junior high science projects of techno-savvy young students can have global repercussions.
"Understand" by Ted Chiang shows how deadly it can be to become smater than everyone else.
"Griffin's Egg" by Michael Swanwick is a captivating depiction of a future lunar society.
"Think Like a Dinosaur" by James Patrick Kelly is both a re-examination of the issues in Tom Godwin's classic "The Cold Equations," and a thoughtful examination into the implications of dealing with alien intelligences who have alien mores and priorities.
"Marrow" by Robert Reed. Humans living and traveling on a gargantuan alien-constructed starship populated by millions of beings invesigate a mystery deep in the center of their own ship, finding there a world stranger than any outside of the ship.
All the storoes in this book range from very good to excellent. There isn't a stinker in the bunch. A worthy addition to any science fiction bookshelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
If, like me, you lament the state of science fiction today, and if, like me, you long to read stories that will transport you back to the days of the masters of "hard" science fiction--writers like Arthur C. Clarke, Robert A. Heinlein, Hal Clement and Malcolm Jameson--then this thick volume could be just what you're looking for.

In general, I find today's science fiction unreadable. Every once in a while, out of desperation, sheer boredom or an attack of unwarranted optimism, I pick up a new-release SF paperback, or check one out from the library. I am invariably disappointed. Some current SF books I can't even finish, whereas I continue to read the old ones over and over. I can't recall ANY memorable SF books written within the last 20 years. In my humble opinion, there are very few recent books that even begin to compare to the "hard" SF classics like "Space Cadet," "The Deep Range," "Mission of Gravity" or "Bullard of the Space Patrol," to name just a few.

"The Hard SF Renaissance," however, gives me some hope that all is not lost. If you're a fan of "hard" SF, the stories in this book should appeal to you. While I don't agree that they collectively presage a "renaissance" of the "hard" SF style, they are nonetheless all quite good and live up to their billing. I commend this volume to you if you want to read good, "hard" SF without having to pull out an old, dog-eared, brittle 1950s classic from your collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on January 6, 2008
Format: Paperback
Don't underestimate the size of this volume! It's almost 1,000 large pages in small print.
Excellent selection of real hard SF stories. An inspiring and challenging read. I found myself alternating between dictionary, encyclopedia and video searches (google video and youtube) in order to try and wrap my head around many of the concepts.
The editors did a truly masterful job in selecting, introducing and ordering the stories to achieve a full immersion into science, politics and futurism. The introductory notes that precede each story are brief, but do a great job of placing the author into the proper scientific and political context. I never realized just what a tight knit club hard SF is.
The focus of most stories is not science alone, however. Most take place in the near future, and in imagining the future, the authors cannot and do not ignore the politics, economics and sociology that would be required to achieve it. Make no mistake, these guys are hard core Libertarians for the most part. Thanks to this book, I am giving money to the Ron Paul campaign!
I also never quite realized that hard SF doesn't confine itself to physics alone. There are stories by biologists, statisticians and geneticists.
If i were a natural sciences teacher, I would require my students to get this book.
I recommend taking your time with this anthology. I paused in my reading of it to check out novels and other stories by a number of the authors included here.
I think of this anthology as a text book, or maybe a syllabus, for the hard science fiction fan.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Format: Paperback
A really fine, top quality selection of stories. The other writing by the editors is also really good, talking about the SF, the politics, and a piece about each writer, that is enough to boost it to the 5 level, give the stories themselves average 3.8 out of 5. Or, call the whole thing 4.8 out of 5 if you like, rounded up.

Hard SF Renaissance : Gene Wars - Paul J. McAuley
Hard SF Renaissance : Wangs Carpets - Greg Egan
Hard SF Renaissance : Genesis - Poul Anderson
Hard SF Renaissance : Arthur Sternbach Brings the Curveball to Mars - Kim Stanley Robinson
Hard SF Renaissance : On the Orion Line [Xeelee] - Stephen Baxter
Hard SF Renaissance : Beggars in Spain [Beggars in Spain] - Nancy Kress
Hard SF Renaissance : Matters End - Gregory Benford
Hard SF Renaissance : The Hammer of Gud - Arthur C. Clarke
Hard SF Renaissance : Think Like a Dinosaur - James Patrick Kelly
Hard SF Renaissance : Mount Olympus [Return to Mars] - Ben Bova
Hard SF Renaissance : Marrow - Robert Reed
Hard SF Renaissance : Microbe - Joan Slonczewski
Hard SF Renaissance : The Lady Vanishes - Charles Sheffield
Hard SF Renaissance : Bicycle Repairman [Chattanooga] - Bruce Sterling
Hard SF Renaissance : An Ever-Reddening Glow - David Brin
Hard SF Renaissance : S3xual Dimorphism - Kim Stanley Robinson
Hard SF Renaissance : Into the Miranda Rift - G. David Nordley
Hard SF Renaissance : The Shoulders of Giants - Robert J. Sawyer
Hard SF Renaissance : A Walk in the Sun - Geoffrey A. Landis
Hard SF Renaissance : For White Hill - Joe Haldeman
Hard SF Renaissance : A Career in Sexual Chemistry - Brian M. Stableford
Hard SF Renaissance : Reef - Paul J. McAuley
Hard SF Renaissance : Exchange Rate - Hal Clement
Hard SF Renaissance : Reasons to Be Cheerful - Greg Egan
Hard SF Renaissance : Griffins Egg - Michael Swanwick
Hard SF Renaissance : Great Wall of Mars - Alastair Reynolds
Hard SF Renaissance : A Niche - Peter Watts
Hard SF Renaissance : Gossamer [Xeelee] - Stephen Baxter
Hard SF Renaissance : Madam Butterfly - James P. Hogan
Hard SF Renaissance : Understand - Ted Chiang
Hard SF Renaissance : Halo - Karl Schroeder
Hard SF Renaissance : Different Kinds of Darkness - David Langford
Hard SF Renaissance : Fast Times at Fairmont High - Vernor Vinge
Hard SF Renaissance : Reality Check - David Brin
Hard SF Renaissance : The Mendelian Lamp Case - Paul Levinson
Hard SF Renaissance : Kinds of Strangers - Sarah Zettel
Hard SF Renaissance : The Good Rat - Allen Steele
Hard SF Renaissance : Built Upon the Sands of Time - Michael F. Flynn
Hard SF Renaissance : Taklamakan [Chattanooga] - Bruce Sterling
Hard SF Renaissance : Hatching the Phoenix [Heechee (Robinette Broadhead)] - Frederik Pohl
Hard SF Renaissance : Immersion - Gregory Benford

Gene Wars - Paul J. McAuley

4 out of 5

Wangs Carpets - Greg Egan

5 out of 5

Genesis - Poul Anderson

3.5 out of 5

Arthur Sternbach Brings the Curveball to Mars - Kim Stanley Robinson

4 out of 5

On the Orion Line [Xeelee] - Stephen Baxter

4 out of 5

Beggars in Spain [Beggars in Spain] - Nancy Kress

4 out of 5

Matters End - Gregory Benford

3.5 out of 5

The Hammer of God - Arthur C. Clarke

3.5 out of 5

Think Like a Dinosaur - James Patrick Kelly

4.5 out of 5

Mount Olympus [Return to Mars] - Ben Bova

4 out of 5

Marrow - Robert Reed

3.5 out of 5

Microbe - Joan Slonczewski

4 out of 5

The Lady Vanishes - Charles Sheffield

3.5 out of 5

Bicycle Repairman [Chattanooga] - Bruce Sterling

4 out of 5

An Ever-Reddening Glow - David Brin

3.5 out of 5

Sexual Dimorphism - Kim Stanley Robinson

4 out of 5

Into the Miranda Rift - G. David Nordley

4 out of 5

The Shoulders of Giants - Robert J. Sawyer

3.5 out of 5

A Walk in the Sun - Geoffrey A. Landis

3 out of 5

For White Hill - Joe Haldeman

2.5 out of 5

A Career in Sexual Chemistry - Brian M. Stableford

3.5 out of 5

Reef - Paul J. McAuley

4 out of 5

Exchange Rate - Hal Clement

3.5 out of 5

Reasons to Be Cheerful - Greg Egan

4.5 out of 5

Griffins Egg - Michael Swanwick

3.5 out of 5

Great Wall of Mars - Alastair Reynolds

4.5 out of 5

A Niche - Peter Watts

4 out of 5

Gossamer [Xeelee] - Stephen Baxter

4 out of 5

Madam Butterfly - James P. Hogan

3 out of 5

Understand - Ted Chiang

4.5 out of 5

Halo - Karl Schroeder

4 out of 5

Different Kinds of Darkness - David Langford

4 out of 5

Fast Times at Fairmont High - Vernor Vinge

4 out of 5

Reality Check - David Brin

3.5 out of 5

The Mendelian Lamp Case - Paul Levinson

4 out of 5

Kinds of Strangers - Sarah Zettel

3 out of 5

The Good Rat - Allen Steele

3.5 out of 5

Built Upon the Sands of Time - Michael F. Flynn

3 out of 5

Taklamakan [Chattanooga] - Bruce Sterling

4 out of 5

Hatching the Phoenix [Heechee (Robinette Broadhead)] - Frederik Pohl

4 out of 5

Immersion - Gregory Benford

4 out of 5
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on December 16, 2004
Format: Paperback
This anthology includes some of the most insightful speculations I have ever encountered. Do you wonder where we are headed as a species? Do your ponderings of the future keep you awake at night, imagining what is possible? When you read the paper or watch TV, can you keep from wondering "what does it all mean" for this ever-the-more complicated and confounded global civilization? Then this book is for you. Fantasies and nightmares abound in this collection of short-stories; the common theme of science and technology as a cultural catalyst binds these very different contexts and characters in an extremely readable anthology. No bird-people, no tap-dancing robots...no motherbrains, and only a few laser-beams. This stuff is far-out without all of the bells and whistles. It approaches the question of what lies ahead from the perspective of a human being living in the late twentieth/early twenty-first century--eye-witness to the marvels and horrors of the modern and postmodern age. This is the stuff that makes you simultaneously hopeful and terrified of what lies ahead for Homo sapiens.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on March 8, 2014
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
This was quite simply one of the best SF anthologies I've ever encountered, and so far the best I've read that sticks mainly to a single decade. There were a few stories that weren't to my taste, but a few out of a total of 41 is still really good. The introductions--both to the collection itself and to the individual stories--were not really to my liking (for a hard SF anthology, they focused far too much on politics, for one), but it's for the stories that people read anthologies, and this one absolutely shines. Without further ado, here are my mini reviews for each of them.

--

GENE WARS - Paul McAuley - A rather disjointed series of vignettes from the life of an amoral genetic engineer. It reminded me a bit of late Sheckley, but didn't really float my boat. 2.5/5

WANG’S CARPETS - Greg Egan - This could be the best alien encounter story ever. 5/5

GENESIS - Poul Anderson - A story told in three linked threads about nodes of a networked, galaxy-spanning intelligence. Very flowery prose and mostly decent speculation (although others like Egan and Charles Stross do this kind of thing better), but the pace is plodding. 3/5

ARTHUR STERNBACH BRINGS THE CURVEBALL TO MARS - Kim Stanley Robinson - Pretty much what the title says. A fun, extremely light-hearted baseball story, told in a conversational style. It's interesting to compare this to typical stories by, say, Egan, Benford, and Baxter as an illustration of how two stories can still be hard SF, when otherwise they couldn't be more different. 4/5

ON THE ORION LINE - Stephen Baxter - A fifteen-year-old boy caught up in a war with aliens whose modus operandi is manipulating the laws of physics themselves must escape from behind enemy lines under unique and harrowing circumstances. Reminded me a bit of Sturgeon's "Mr. Costello, Hero" but with more grounding in theoretical physics and some heavy-handed political jibes (e.g. the names of the human vessels). 3.5/5

BEGGARS IN SPAIN - Nancy Kress - This is actually my first time to read this, even though I have a copy of the novel, and it's on my list. Anyway, it's excellent, but it is not without flaws. The biggest thing that bugged me was that early in the story, we learn that neural repair during slow-wave sleep "can go on during wakefulness, if the DNA is programmed to do so." Yet about halfway through, we learn that Sleeplessness is determined by a single, dominant gene, which would seem to contradict the need for more extensive modifications to the genome. 4.5/5

MATTER’S END - Gregory Benford - An atmospheric tale about observing proton decay (and the implausible consequences of this observation), set in a tumultuous near-future India. It's sort of Clarke's "The Nine Billion Names of God" meets Egan's _Distress_, though not quite as good as either. 4/5

THE HAMMER OF GOD - Arthur C. Clarke - An uncompromisingly hard asteroid deflection story. 4/5

THINK LIKE A DINOSAUR - James Patrick Kelly - A hard teletransporter story, this is one of the stories that got me into SF at the relatively (with reference to the quip that the Golden Age of SF is 13) old age of 20 or so. I remember thinking, "hey, this guy actually did _Star Trek_ transporters right!" and went on to buy and read both of his story collections. (This is the best story in them. Oh well.) 5/5

MOUNT OLYMPUS - Ben Bova - Mixed feelings on this one. Plot-wise, it is a damned good old-school hard SF adventure that takes place in the caldera of Olympus Mons, and it doesn't screw up Japanese names quite as bad as a later story does (there's one goofy name--Isoruku Konoye [probably a bastard hybrid of Isoroku Yamamoto and Fumimaru Konoe]--and one that escapes, due to recycling the actual name of the captain that struck Pearl Harbor), but the characters are still caricatures--Japanese man with ideas about Bushido and bringing disgrace to his family if he dies and Mexican-American man whose brother died running drugs in an eighteen-wheeler. I'll split the difference on my score. 3.5/5

MARROW - Robert Reed - Starts as a Big Dumb Object story, bigger than many and dumber than most, and turns into a smaller-scale story of science fantasy intrigue. Don't get me wrong, Reed is clearly a talented writer, but this was probably the trashiest piece in the collection, and doesn't really fit in (unlike the below story by Slonczewski, which I also didn't care for, but which is, for all its issues, incontestably hard SF). 2.5/5

MICROBE - Joan Slonczewski - Was this written for children? I was bothered by quite a few things, like the mini-infodumps of stuff that any high school graduate should know (yeah, I know, sadly, many don't) and how unsurprised the protagonist was at encountering aliens with DNA that had the same four nucleotides ours does. I would not think this would be a given. It was apparently Slonczewski's first published story, but still, I was not terribly impressed. 2/5

THE LADY VANISHES - Charles Sheffield - A human invisibility yarn with a decent sense of humor. 3.5/5

BICYCLE REPAIRMAN - Bruce Sterling - Maybe the cutesiest cyberpunk story I've ever read. 3/5

AN EVER-REDDENING GLOW - David Brin - A short-short about the consequences of travel at relativistic speeds. Ultimately environmental allegory wrapped up in interstellar travel. I liked it a lot. 4.5/5

SEXUAL DIMORPHISM - Kim Stanley Robinson - A science-informed story of emotional collapse. 3.5/5

INTO THE MIRANDA RIFT - G. David Nordley - An exploratory party gets trapped in the rifts of Miranda (the satellite of Uranus) and has to make its way out. Decent hard SF. 3.5/5

THE SHOULDERS OF GIANTS - Robert J. Sawyer - A decent, updated variation on Van Vogt's "Far Centaurus". 3.5/5

A WALK IN THE SUN - Geoffrey A. Landis - Astronaut circumnavigates the moon on foot to save her own life. 4.5/5

FOR WHITE HILL - Joe Haldeman - A good (if tragic) story of artisans of the terrestrial diaspora visiting Earth after continuing interspecies war has wiped out the entire population. 4/5

A CAREER IN SEXUAL CHEMISTRY - Brian Stableford - This one takes a simple idea (genetic manipulation for aphrodisiac purposes) as far as--and farther than--I could have imagined. It's as quirky of a love story as Pohl's "Day Million", but set about a million days earlier. 3.5/5

REEF - Paul McAuley - Quite a bit better than "Gene Wars", and I liked certain things like the passing reference to the nucleotides in the engineered life being non-standard, but still far from my favorite in the collection. 3/5

EXCHANGE RATE - Hal Clement - It is not too difficult to guess the nature of the intelligent extraterrestrial life in this story well before it is made explicit, but this is still the second best example of said life in this collection (though still well behind the near-perfection that is "Wang's Carpets"). It also has the strongest grounding in chemistry in this collection. Overall, while it reminds me strongly of Clement's excellent _Mission of Gravity_ (the only other thing by him that I have read) in a lot of ways, the story kind of plods (and the utter lack of section breaks in a story of this length doesn't help), so while I would easily give it a 4.5 for the ideas, it only gets a 3 for the execution, and that's being generous. 3.5/5

REASONS TO BE CHEERFUL - Greg Egan - Maybe Egan's best near-future short of the late '90s. 4.5/5

GRIFFIN’S EGG - Michael Swanwick - This is the first Swanwick story I've read, and I'm sure it won't be the last. He does an awful lot in 50 pages with a lunar colony and neural programming. It's really ambitious: somehow scattershot and focused at the same time, and it works brilliantly. 4.5/5

GREAT WALL OF MARS - Alastair Reynolds - This is sort of Theodore Sturgeon's _The Cosmic Rape_ (not to mention several other Sturgeon works--"The Skills of Xanadu" and so on) meets Greg Egan's "Closer" (and other Egan stuff). Three human/transhuman offshoot cultures (one largely unmodified and authoritarian, one an implant-mediated hive-mind, and one an implant-mediated democracy) engage in complicated intrigues, and the protagonist tries to broker a peace between two of the cultures, but then some things go very wrong. I'm already a fan of Sturgeon's alternate take on hive minds from that of, say, Heinlein's _The Puppet Masters_, the Borg from _Star Trek_, and the pod people from _Invasion of the Body Snatchers_. So to have a hive mind portrayed both sympathetically and in a hard SF mode (in sharp contrast to Sturgeon) is thus very welcome, and the story itself kicks butt too. If anything was a disappointment, it was that the protagonist's final decision was a life-or-death one, which made it less moving than Sturgeon's more subtle stuff, and also less convincing than technologically similar concepts from Egan. 4.5/5

A NICHE - Peter Watts - An awesome, psychological undersea story that was apparently too dark for _Analog_. Their loss. 4.5/5

GOSSAMER - Stephen Baxter - Researchers are marooned on Pluto and make a discovery that may imperil their chance of rescue. I liked the speculative physics, though the discovery was a bit far-fetched. 3.5/5

MADAM BUTTERFLY - James P. Hogan - A fun coincidence (butterfly effect) story, the main arc of which involves pirates of a sort in the asteroid belt. The fakey Japanese names (like "Shimoto Icoro" and "Nagai Horishagi") stick in my craw, but it was still good. 3.5/5

UNDERSTAND - Ted Chiang - Not Chiang's best story, which is to say it's merely better than almost anything by almost anyone else. "Flowers for Algernon" on meth. 4.5/5

HALO - Karl Schroeder - A colonist on an icy, hostile world receives a message from a hostage on a ship commandeered by genocidal terrorists. 3.5/5

DIFFERENT KINDS OF DARKNESS - David Langford - Children practice looking at a BLIT (brain-trauma-inducing image) called "the Trembler". Very enjoyable. 4/5

FAST TIMES AT FAIRMONT HIGH - Vernor Vinge - Junior high school students deal with difficult final exams in the near future. 3.5/5

REALITY CHECK - David Brin - The second David Brin short-short in this collection, this one published in 2000 in _Nature_, and pretty good for its length. Posthumans in a constructed reality are crippled with ennui. 3.5/5

THE MENDELIAN LAMP CASE - Paul Levinson - A detective story involving the Amish and a centuries-old selective-breeding conspiracy. 3/5

KINDS OF STRANGERS - Sarah Zettel - An updated (and far better and more psychological and character-driven) take on Asimov's "Marooned Off Vesta". 4/5

THE GOOD RAT - Allen Steele - In a near-future where the banning of animal experimentation has created a market for human guinea pigs, a man finds love and learning. It didn't really go much of anywhere, but I still liked it. 3.5/5

BUILT UPON THE SANDS OF TIME - Michael Flynn - A tavern tale, liberally laced with laughs, that also has easily the best title in the collection. 4.5/5

TAKLAMAKAN - Bruce Sterling - A sidequel to the earlier Sterling story in this collection, this one focuses on Spider Pete, and is thus more exciting. It starts out as grimy cyberpunk, but quickly takes a turn into quickly-evolving bioengineered goo and dry runs for interstellar travel. It's bizarre, exhilarating, and wonderful. 4/5

HATCHING THE PHOENIX - Frederik Pohl - Being a Heechee story, this one breaks a lot of rules right from the get-go: FTL travel, artificial gravity, and safe entry and exit from the event horizon of a black hole. So it's far from diamond-hard, but it's not talc-soft either, as the focus of the story is not on the near-magical technology, but on astronomy at a far-future time when everything's already mapped (which pretty much limits astronomy to stuff like watching an inhabited planet get destroyed by a supernova, as the characters do in this story). Pohl's writing style is always likable, but the story itself is a bit boring. 3/5

IMMERSION - Gregory Benford - Tourists "ride" (in a similar fashion as Robert Silverberg's "Passengers", if not by the same mechanism) implant-outfitted chimpanzees. While the biology, genetics, and neuroscience in this are dubious at best, the core idea, writing, and storyline are superb. 4/5

--

These individual ratings come out to an average of around 3.75 stars, but I'm giving it a full five stars cumulatively because you could hardly do better than this if you're looking for an anthology of '90s hard SF. Almost all of the stories are good, and some are among the best in the history of the genre.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 15, 2009
This edited volume assembled by David Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer contains 41 "hard science fiction" stories sampled from the best writers of the 1990s. It stands alone as a collection, but is best seen as a continuation of their previous anthology, The Ascent of Wonder: The Evolution of Hard SF. Their similarly-themed Space Opera Renaissance is a logical next read.

My favorite stories are:

Greg Egan - Wang's Carpets. A new kind of life is both hard to detect and understand.
Robert Reed - Marrow. A long-term mission on a generation ship redefines long-term.
Joe Haldeman - For White Hill. Just another love story on home planet Earth.
Karl Schroeder - Halo. A fight-against-terrorism story with characters who never meet.
Vernor Vinge - Fast Times at Fairmont High - Convinces you to read--or not read--Rainbows End, depending on your taste.
Sarah Zettel - Kinds of Strangers. How do marooned astronauts respond to stress?

This is a particularly good collection--there was not a single story I didn't like. SF readers should scan the table of contents before buying, however, since these stories have all appeared elsewhere. The book's preface and brief introductions to each story add significant value. They contain the usual author bios and pointers to other story collections, novels and series. Each intro also presents each author's definition of "hard SF" and excerpts informatively from the authors' own descriptions of their work. The editors' inclusive definition of hard SF as technology and concept-driven science fiction allows entry to an intriguing variety of stories and perspectives. The authors' definitions enrich this definition and teach us interesting lessons about the evolution of science fiction during the 1990s.

I recommend the book to science fiction readers who enjoy solid stories in this genre. I further recommend it to Kindle and iPhone users who want something good to read during the snippets of found time in their hectic schedules.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on January 29, 2014
Format: Kindle EditionVerified Purchase
For editors of a work of literature, these editors seemed rather intent on drawing a political line between authors from different countries. Other than that, I found the editorial comments to be informative. There were a number of quips about the superiority of "Hard SF" over other parts of the science fiction genre. I happen to have no problem with that :).

I definitely enjoyed the story selection. I haven't read much SF recently, so I found myself stopping to absorb one new idea after another. That's a good thing! I have already bought several books by authors I discovered (or rediscovered) by reading this anthology.

One big complaint, though. There were hundreds of typos - probably scan errors based on the letter combinations involved. It gives you the feeling that the authors couldn't get permission to use the original files from the various publishers, so they just scanned books at the library and let the scan errors fall where they may. I'm not saying they actually pirated the text - it just looks that way.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on May 19, 2009
Format: PaperbackVerified Purchase
This edited volume assembled by David Hartwell and Kathryn Cramer contains 41 "hard science fiction" stories sampled from the best writers of the 1990s. It stands alone as a collection, but is best seen as a continuation of their previous anthology, The Ascent of Wonder: The Evolution of Hard SF. Their similarly-themed Space Opera Renaissance is a logical next read.

My favorite stories are:

Greg Egan - Wang's Carpets. A new kind of life is both hard to detect and understand.
Robert Reed - Marrow. A long-term mission on a generation ship redefines long-term.
Joe Haldeman - For White Hill. Just another love story on home planet Earth.
Karl Schroeder - Halo. A fight-against-terrorism story with characters who never meet.
Vernor Vinge - Fast Times at Fairmont High - Convinces you to read--or not read--Rainbows End, depending on your taste.
Sarah Zettel - Kinds of Strangers. How do marooned astronauts respond to stress?

This is a particularly good collection--there was not a single story I didn't like. SF readers should scan the table of contents before buying, however, since these stories have all appeared elsewhere. The book's preface and brief introductions to each story add significant value. They contain the usual author bios and pointers to other story collections, novels and series. Each intro also presents each author's definition of "hard SF" and excerpts informatively from the authors' own descriptions of their work. The editors' inclusive definition of hard SF as technology and concept-driven science fiction allows entry to an intriguing variety of stories and perspectives. The authors' definitions enrich this definition and teach us interesting lessons about the evolution of science fiction during the 1990s.

I recommend the book to science fiction readers who enjoy solid stories in this genre. I further recommend it to Kindle and iPhone users who want something good to read during the snippets of found time in their hectic schedules.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on October 19, 2013
Format: HardcoverVerified Purchase
This book is a masterpiece and i can not put it down. For those of you haven't read the synopsis here is the edited positively biased version. It is a compilation of some of the greatest sci fi authors in the English language and introduces some less well know authors to most of us. Each chapter has a brief excerpt from the selected authors book. By the end of each chapter you might feel an uncontrollable urge to go ahead and drop this very book and instead purchase the new book of which you have just read about. Nearly every chapter of this book will leave you longing for more of each story and i have to say, that it is ultimately a great job on the editors of this book for selecting such excerpts that will keep you captivated and entertained for the longest time. I recommend this book to the most dedicated and hard core science fiction fans as all as the novices in the genre who are just looking for a casual read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
The Ascent of Wonder: The Evolution of Hard SF
The Ascent of Wonder: The Evolution of Hard SF by Kathryn Cramer (Hardcover - June 15, 1994)

The New Space Opera 2: All-new stories of science fiction adventure
The New Space Opera 2: All-new stories of science fiction adventure by Gardner R. Dozois (Paperback - June 30, 2009)
$12.70

The Space Opera Renaissance
The Space Opera Renaissance by Kathryn Cramer (Hardcover - July 11, 2006)
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.