Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$13.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 25, 2009
Easy to read and great ideas on bottom line ways of increasing ones chances for a successful career and also a happier life in general.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2009
Chris uses his life story to explain how the American system works, he is not judgmental, he just states the reality. HE lays out the rules of the road, many recent immigrants to the US should read this book - it will make the "Who send you question" more understandable and less intimidating! Have a plan, learn the rules, follow the rules and you win big! Chris Mathews is a living example, coming to Washington from a stay in Africa, he knew the rules but nobody, he hard his plan within the rules and executed perfectly!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2009
I thought Chris Matthews got the essence of what people need to know in order to get along in life! Yes, he says he is still trying to learn to listen more but at least he lists that quality as what helps you succeed. I read it quickly and then bought the books for my children and grandchildren to read! They have also enjoyed it especially in these hard times!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2009
Chris tells it the way he sees it - a competitive world where hard work and persistent effort are necessary ingredients for success.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2010
If you're a fan of Chris Matthews, chances are you will like this book. It's a brief look into the world of Washington, politics, and how things are done in our government. Matthews provides examples from his own life and experiences and provides advice for anyone looking to gain inspiration from those who attain success in politics.

While the book is entertaining and somewhat insightful, there simply isn't enough; it's way too short. It can be read in a day and you will probably forget about it in a week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2014
I gave this book to a number of college graduates. It has a lot of advice from Chris Matthews with respect to your job opportunities as well as ways to treat people in life. Wonderful book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
'Nuf said. I would buy it again. Brings invaluable insight that is not usually thought about.
I enjoyed quite a number of quotes that were in the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2016
Fantastic book. Its a shame its out of print. Chris Matthews is a wonderful story teller and a great thinker, and man he's got lots of nuggets in this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2009
I expected more from Chris Matthews. I think this is a light-weight book written for fast money. I would NOT recommend wasting your money.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2009
Chris Matthews is great! I love his show and I love his book! Fun to read advice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse