Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Children's Literature Classic
The Hat is a must have for your child's library. The illustrations are fantastic and the story is so endearing. The children in my second grade class love to hear it again and again. However, beyond its appeal to children, The Hat is another example of children's lterature thats theme can be applied to adults as well. If you don't know of Jan Brett, I guarantee if...
Published on March 15, 1999

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as The Mitten
Get The Mitten instead, if you don't own it yet. This one is a little on the tedious side. You can see exactly where it's going from the very beginning and it doesn't have the peek-a-boo/sneeze joke in it that my daughter loves so much in The Mitten. To be honest, this is one of those books we have in our bookcase for variety and one of those ones where I skip parts just...
Published on June 13, 2007 by A. Axe


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Children's Literature Classic, March 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
The Hat is a must have for your child's library. The illustrations are fantastic and the story is so endearing. The children in my second grade class love to hear it again and again. However, beyond its appeal to children, The Hat is another example of children's lterature thats theme can be applied to adults as well. If you don't know of Jan Brett, I guarantee if you read this book you will fall in love with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as The Mitten, June 13, 2007
By 
A. Axe (Saratoga Springs, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hat (Board book)
Get The Mitten instead, if you don't own it yet. This one is a little on the tedious side. You can see exactly where it's going from the very beginning and it doesn't have the peek-a-boo/sneeze joke in it that my daughter loves so much in The Mitten. To be honest, this is one of those books we have in our bookcase for variety and one of those ones where I skip parts just to get to the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANIMALS DON'T WEAR CLOTHES ------ DO THEY ?, December 13, 2000
.
This book takes you into a beautiful winter wonderland.
Inspired by a visit to Hans Christian Andersen's home in Denmark, Jan Brett's latest work is a triumph of the illustrator's art.
The story is simple. It is in part inspired by Jan's earlier success with "The Mitten". We see Hedgie the hedgehog getting his nose stuck inside a woollen sock.
The beauty of the book is in the clever use of the double page format of the illustrations. We have a large central panel, which is almost like a window, where we see most of the activity. Along the top of the page we have a long narrow panel which shows the clothesline, with the items gradually disappearing as they are borrowed by the animals. On the left side we have an oval "mirror" which shows young Lisa (the owner of the hat and other clothes on the line) going about her household chores.
In the right panel we have another small oval pane, which tells us who is coming next. We get to see the succession of animals (hedgehog, hen, goose, cat, dog, pig, and horse) each eventually wearing an item of clothing they have stolen off the line. We don't see what the animals have done in the main frame until the end of the book. It's one of those picture books that you can go back to many times to pick up the various clues.
The use of the four windows on each double page gives an almost split-screen cinematic quality to the book. We get a multi-threaded and linked storyline which any web oriented reader would appreciate. This innovative approach works very well and we can expect to see more picture books pick up on this story telling technique.
The illustrations are enhanced by the use of warm bright colors within the winter greys, from the Danish flag flying on the thatched farmhouse, to the red colors of Lisa's clothes, to the vivacity of the farm animals. The accuracy and beauty of the drawings is outstanding. The keen observer will even see moss and lichen growing on the north side of the trees. We know this because we can see the dim winter sunshine on the southern skyline when looking through the forest.
"The Hat" has to be one of the classiest children's picture books published in recent years. It will bring great joy to both children and their parents.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Techniques of Foreshadowing, April 11, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
Jan Brett's picture book, The Hat, is about a hedgehog that gets a little girl's stocking stuck on his head. He says it is his new hat, but everyone makes fun of him. Eventually, though, all the animals pull something off the girl's clothesline to use as a hat. At the end, after she plucks the stocking off of the hedgehog, the little girl chases the other animals around the yard to try to gather her clothes. Illustrations are a wonderful way to enhance a story. They help the reader to really see what is happening. Jan Brett uses borders in her illustrations. Her borders inform the reader of what is going on in other parts of the story while at the same time foreshadowing what is to come.
Brett incorporates small pictures in her borders to give the reader clues to what is going on in other parts of the story. For example, while the animals are being introduced in the main illustration, illustrations of Lisa, the little girl, appear in the left-hand side of the borders. These pictures show her inside her house doing things such as reading and watering the plants. Later in the story, these illustrations are reversed: Lisa appears in the main picture and the animals appear in the border. This is because Lisa becomes the focus of the story when she finds that the hedgehog is wearing her stocking; whereas, before the animals are the main focus of the story. William Moebius explains this when he says, "the frame enables the reader to identify with a world inside and outside the story" (150). At the top of the border, there is a picture of the clothesline. This shows the progress of the story. Each time an animal takes a piece of clothing, that piece of clothing no longer appears on the clothesline. In Moebius' article, he says that Tomi Ungerer believes that "the design itself tells much of the story" (142). These pictures in the border make The Hat a multidimensional story. The reader knows what is going on with the animals outside while being able to know what Lisa is doing inside.
Brett has a distinctive technique of foreshadowing. She uses the borders of her illustrations to hint at what will come next in the story. On each page, in the right-hand side of the border, the animal that will appear next is shown. For example, the hedgehog is on the right in the border, foreshadowing his appearance on the next page. Once all of the animals have been introduced, Lisa appears in the right of the border, informing the reader that she realizes something is going on. In the second to last page, the hedgehog appears in the border yawning. This picture wraps up the story and informs the reader that the story is almost over. Using the border is an excellent way to foreshadow events. It gives the reader insight into the developing plot while using the main illustration to describe the current events.
The unique style of illustrating that Brett uses serves many purposes simultaneously. The main illustration, large and centered, focuses only on the current situation. The border around that, however, notifies the reader of events that are taking place in the story at the same time as the event that is being focused on in the main illustration. These borders also cue the reader into the event that is about to occur. Brett's borders are important in her stories in order to give the reader the entire picture and to foreshadow the coming events.
Moebius, William. "Introduction to Picturebook Codes." Word and Image 2.2 (1986): 141-158.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, October 31, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
As an early childhood educator and a lover of good literature for children, I am a huge fan of Jan Brett. This title won't disappoint for reading aloud with young children. The illustrations are beautiful and add a whole other layer to the story, making this book one you and your child can read again and again noticing something new on every page.
Be sure to check out Jan Brett's other titles, and visit her website at [...] It may be the best author website I've seen, with lots of activities and props to print for use at school or home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appealing story for all ages!, February 4, 2004
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
Another Brett story to treasure! I was so thrilled to see my husband had picked up four Brett stories for me to read to our sons ~~ I love her illustrations and I love her story. She has an imagination that is just beguiling and refreshing to read.
This one is about Lisa who takes her woolens out of her chest to air out in preparation for winter. Then when the wind blew one of her stockings off the line, a hedgehog gets in trouble when he couldn't get it off his head after he poked to see what was in the stocking. Because of his new fashion statement, the other animals in the barnyard decided to be fashionable too and "borrowed" Lisa's clothes to wear as hats.
The pictures are hilarious as well as beautifully-drawn! My sons love looking at her pictures. I love reading it. It's not long and drawn-out like a lot of children's books. It's whimiscal and imaginative.
This is another must-read for every child and her/his parents.
2-4-04
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story for toddlers, January 3, 2010
By 
K. Martin (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
I was given this book as a gift for my baby when she was born. The story is sweet and the illustrations are very pretty, but I have not been able to get my baby to like the book yet. The illustrations are a little hard - some animals are very small and hard to make out due to the "sketch like" nature of the drawings. The hedgehog is a hard animal to use as a main character since it is not in the farm animal lexicon familiar to small children. I am sure my baby will like this book eventually, but even now at 14 months, it does not hold her attention and she wants to turn the pages much too quickly to get through all the conversation on each page.
Update: My litle girl is now 20 months old and has really loved this book since she was about 17 months. She loves her Hedgie and asks for thos book often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everyone Should Weat A Hat, January 30, 2006
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
A misbegotten woolen stocking becomes a "hat" when it gets stuck on the prickly head of a hedgehog. Hedgehog feels silly, is full of excuses with regard to what he is wearing, but just cannot free himself from this "hat". The ending is a surprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars foreshadowing and "off-camera" as only Jan Brett can do it, August 19, 2005
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
One of the nicest elements of Jan Brett's books is the sidebar illustrations. In The Hat, a small hedgehog accidentally gets tangled up in some winter woolens which are hung to air out. Each animal he meets laughs at him but, upon hearing Hedgie's clever replies, becomes convinced that he too needs a "hat". On the left sidebar we see the movements of the little girl, completely unaware of what is happening to her clothing outside. On the top we see the line of laundry, first full... then slowly more and more pieces of clothing begin to disappear. The foreshadowing continues with the right sidebar, first showing each animal who is about to approach Hedgie, then towards the end of the story we can see each animal struggling to get into the piece of clothing they have taken off the line. My daughter loved this book and caught on to the joke right away - I think this is the first time she's noticed that the illustrations contain more information than just what the text directly states - and gleefully shouted "clothes aren't for animals!" as it became more and more apparent what direction the story was heading in. I think this book is better than The Mitten; we enjoyed it very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ART WORK ALONE IS WORTH THE PRICE OF THE BOOK, September 20, 2006
This review is from: The Hat (Hardcover)
I loved this one. It is very, very well written, cute and thoughtful story and the art work is some of the best I have seen in this particular genre. The kids I read it to in school love it (and that is really what counts in children's literature, isn't it?) and it is fun for adults to read also. There are several lesson taught in the story and the characters are quite appealing. Actually this is one of the better works I have worked with over the past few years and I do highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hat
The Hat by Jan Brett (Hardcover - September 29, 1997)
$16.99 $12.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.