Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series so far
F. Paul Wilson continues his popular (and constantly improving) Repairman Jack series while putting his own stamp on the familiar haunted house tale. Repairman Jack is absolutely the most intriguing series character running today -- a mercenary with no official identity but a solid moral foundation, he "fixes" situations that are outside the realm of normal legal channels...
Published on May 6, 2004 by Craig Clarke

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 Stars -- A Good Book But Pretty Predictable!
While I enjoyed The Haunted Air (as I have most of Wilson's books), it is far from the best in the series and nowhere near as good as The Tomb. Perhaps after reading so many superlative reader reviews here, I was expecting much more than what I got. The Haunted Air is a fast-paced, entertaining book that is a good choice as a beach read or long plane trip, and Repairman...
Published on July 16, 2004 by Bobbewig


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best in the series so far, May 6, 2004
This review is from: The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
F. Paul Wilson continues his popular (and constantly improving) Repairman Jack series while putting his own stamp on the familiar haunted house tale. Repairman Jack is absolutely the most intriguing series character running today -- a mercenary with no official identity but a solid moral foundation, he "fixes" situations that are outside the realm of normal legal channels and that generally involve some supernatural elements. And I wait eagerly for the release of each succeeding entry.
The Haunted Air is by far the best novel in the series that I have read since the inaugural The Tomb. I thought Hosts was great until I read this one. Wilson has really caught his stride and is able to further develop the characters of Jack, his girlfriend Gia (and her daughter Vicky), and his friend and supplier Abe -- as well as their relationships to each other -- while continuing to invent plausible fantastic scenarios that put them deeper and deeper in peril. The Repairman Jack series can always be counted on for thought-provoking storylines as well as heart-pounding, pulse-racing, eye-widening climaxes.
Two brothers, Lyle and Charlie Kenton, run a sham psychic business out of their historic home, Menelaus Manor, under the names Ifasen and Kehinde, respectively. They have, over the years, quickly boosted their clientele by stealing them from competing psychics, and somebody has decided to get revenge. Drive-by shootings and mysterious door openings and closings are only the beginning. Once Jack gets involved, however, the intensity is turned way up as he decides to confront the suspects -- a competing psychic -- on her own turf; he gets to scam the scam artist.
Further investigation brings up secrets about the house, its previous owner, and a spirit out for revenge. On top of all this, Gia fears she may be pregnant. How can a child have a father with no identity? Would Jack be willing to give up his Repairman Jack lifestyle to become Citizen Jack?
It is this extra layer of emotion that raises The Haunted Air above the usual fare. Wilson gets into the minds of his characters, especially tricky with a man like Jack who is such a physical presence, and lets us know how they feel about the events, as well as taking us on a rollercoaster ride of fear, thrills, and suspense--all the while dropping clues to the upcoming confrontation with The Otherness--making sure to deliver a whiz-bang conclusion that tops anything else he has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Contribution to a Marvelous Series!!!, October 17, 2002
By 
Craig Larson (Maple Grove, MN USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunted Air (Hardcover)
This is the latest Repairman Jack novel, a series which combines noir/mystery/crime novel with elements of horror and science fiction. Jack is one of the combatants in the battle between the Otherness and the Ally, a battle that's been raging throughout Wilson's novels and serves to tie most of them together into one continuum. In this book, Jack is faced with impending fatherhood and what that will mean to his shadowy, off-the-books existence. He also has to deal with the apparent ghost of a young girl who is haunting the house of a con-man/ psychic and his born-again brother, as well as a mysterious man who hires him to shadow his "brother" and prevent him from committing any crimes during the next full moon. All of this material comes together in a very satisfying way, leaving one wanting more. Wilson is one of those writers who just doesn't write fast enough.
Jack is a great creation, sort of the Equalizer crossed with the X-Files, and if you haven't experienced this series yet, you owe it to yourself to seek it out (other titles are _The Tomb_, _Legacies_, _Conspiracies_, _All the Rage_, and _Hosts_).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lousy Hardcover Edition (tiny print); Very Good Novel, November 8, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Air (Hardcover)
This is vintage Paul Wilson. All his books are a great read, especially the Repairman Jack series. So I am giving it four stars.

But I think prospective buyers should be informed that the hardcover edition is a painful read. The print size is very, very small. It is even smaller than the print of a regular pocketbook. This is unacceptable. I don't see any point in paying an extra 12 dollars for a hardcover edition and getting less print quality than a mass market paperback.

So this is my advice. If your eyes are good enough to read 410 pages of tiny print, go for it. If not, stay away from Forge books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack's Shining Moment, April 7, 2007
By 
N. Bilmes "bookaholic" (Vernon, CT United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
The reference to The Shining in the headline is no accident. This book is Wilson's haunted house novel, much like The Shining was Stephen King's haunted novel. Both books have a Jack in them, child ghosts, and of course, a haunted abode. Both novels are also suspenseful and riveting.

Long time readers of Wilson's series will devour this book, but first-timers can pick it up and enjoy the story as a self-contained single entity.

A very impressive work by F. Paul Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repairing Queens, July 13, 2004
This review is from: The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Wilson's series is always engaging, with his New Jersey born Jack the rebel repairer. This one is outstanding, and moves from both his standard Manhattan and suburban settings to the borough of Queens. Lyle and Charlie Kenton are very attactive additions to the series; I hope to see more of them!
There are weaknesses. Wilson isn't entirely comfortable with the Kenton brothers, and his ghastly version of Detroit black street language is a distracting nuisance. Lyle, the very upwardly mobile, articulate, and sharply intelligent con artist, is more realistic. Gia from Iowa remains as boring as her unbearably cutesy daughter, but the reader can skip past her.
Otherwise it's a lively, exciting, well-developed novel, with flashes of acid humor. The settings are very well-handled, and the pacing is breathless. Grab a copy for the beach or subway!
Now when will Dr. Wilson set a story in the Bronx? We have Edgar Allan Poe's cottage and Woodlawn Cemetery, so well written of in Peter Beagle's _A Fine and Private Place_, to tempt him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 1/2 Stars -- A Good Book But Pretty Predictable!, July 16, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
While I enjoyed The Haunted Air (as I have most of Wilson's books), it is far from the best in the series and nowhere near as good as The Tomb. Perhaps after reading so many superlative reader reviews here, I was expecting much more than what I got. The Haunted Air is a fast-paced, entertaining book that is a good choice as a beach read or long plane trip, and Repairman Jack is - well - just Jack. Enough said about that. However, most of the other characters are thinly developed and the plot lacks the level of excitement, surprises and suspense that I've come to expect from this series, and particularly from these reviews. All in all, if you don't go into reading this book with very high expectations, as I did, and can be satisified with an entertaining story, I think you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Legend Matures, December 18, 2002
By 
N. Richardson "nano" (Los Angeles, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Haunted Air (Hardcover)
First, I would like to say that while the print is small, reading glasses are cheap.
I fully understand why there is a discomforture with the evolution of Jack from a force for mindless vengence, to a fully fleshed out character confronting choices and responsibilities, I am happy to see this character involved in a mature relationship and friendships that defy convention.
Like Joe Landsdale, Wilson is far too good a writer to be tied down to the cliches of male oriented pulp adventure, and the Repairman Jack series is always full of wonderful surprises.
Not surprisingly, the introduction of Lyle and Charlie, who bust every stereotype in their dialogue on skepticism vs. belief and their overly decency, makes one hope they become part of the RJ ensemble of players.
This book is totally delightful, funny, smart, and action packed.
And it is smart...about people, ideas, and the unknown.
A great treat, and fast read....dispite the the print size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS POSSIBLY THE BEST IN AN ALREADY GREAT SERIES!!!, December 14, 2002
By 
Wayne C. Rogers (Las Vegas, Nevada United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted Air (Hardcover)
THE HAUNTED AIR by F. Paul Wilson-author of THE KEEP, THE TOMB, ALL THE RAGE, and HOSTS-is the sixth "Repairman Jack" novel in this utterly fantastic series about one man's attempt to protect himself and the people he loves from an evil supernatural phenomenon known simply at the "Otherness." This novel is certainly a lot longer (415pp. of very small print) than the previous books in the series, and I would probably have to say that it's also the best, which is a mouthful, considering how well written most the other novels are. This time around, the story centers on two brothers, Lyle and Charlie Kenton, whom Jack develops a close relationship with. The brothers are two psychic scam artists who have the perfect setup with their supposedly haunted house in a suburb of Queens, giving mystical readings to the rich wives and widows who want answers about the their impending future. Except for threats and gunshot warnings from some of the local psychic competitors, everything is going fairly good for the brothers until Jack and his girlfriend, Gia, show up one night with friends who want a reading from them. A mild earthquake takes place as soon as Jack and Gia start to enter the house. This cracks open the concrete floor in the basement, releasing the spirit of a murdered girl that now wants revenge against the people who killed her. Jack, who's still recovering from the death of his sister (see HOSTS), suddenly finds himself caught up in the brothers' dilemma as he attempts to find out who's been threatening them and as another case he's working on begins to tie in with the death of the little girl. While all of this is going on, Gia finds out that she's pregnant with Jack's baby and begins to worry that he may not want to give up his secret life in order to become an actual parent for the child. What neither one of them realizes is that the "Otherness" is back and wants the unborn baby for its own obscene purposes. As my mama used to say-when it rains, it pours! In THE HAUNTED AIR, the author delves more deeply into the personality of Repairman Jack as the character is forced to make an important decision about his life and the lives of the people closest to him. Jack's not even sure it's possible for him to become a citizen without facing heavy fines for tax evasion and jail time for breaking the law. Gia also has to make a life-changing decision with regards to her feelings for Jack and what having his child may mean to her own goals and desires. Mr. Wilson makes these two characters appear more human and their choices in life more complex. Another thing that interested me was the discussions throughout the book on the nature of faith, religion, The Bible, God, and the essence of "good" and "evil." It helped me to clarify some of my own thoughts in relation to these subjects. One thing to keep in mind about the "Repairman Jack" novels is that all of them take place during the mid-eighties within a fifteen-month time frame, though some of the technology is present day and references are made to the 9/11 attack on the World Trade Centers, and the murdered child was supposedly killed in the late eighties. And let's not forget all of the references to current music. This can get pretty confusing if you allow yourself to even think about it for a moment. The best thing to do is simply enjoy the ride for what it is. There's also a connection within this book to Mr. Wilson's first novel, THE KEEP (the stone blocks from Romania). Finally, a really nice addition to this series is the introduction of the Kenton brothers. These are two guys that kind of grow on you as the book moves along, and you find yourself hoping that the author will bring them back in a future novel, or at least one of them. With prose that's razor sharp, a more intricate plot, and stronger character development, F. Paul Wilson has written what is possibly the best novel in an already great series! I know his legions of fans will grow even larger after reading THE HAUNTED AIR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack is back, and he's got a few more challenges..., May 20, 2004
This review is from: The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Take, for example, Lyle and Charlie--two con artists (although Charlie's a born-again Catholic) trying to make a few bucks. They've made some enemies since their move to New York. Enemies that may want them dead.
And then there's the earthquake that occurs beneath the brothers' house. It creates a giant crevice in the floor of their basement...and releases something into this world that maybe should've stayed below.
And then there's Jack's girlfriend, Gia. She's worried...because she's pregnant. And that means that Jack might have to turn in his Repairman job forever...
F. Paul Wilson's "The Haunted Air" is not only riveting--it's flat-out entertaining! Repairman Jack is quite possibly the best literary character to come along since James Bond, or Sherlock Holmes. He's tough, he has a mean streak...but he's sensitive, and abhorrs violence. Doesn't stop him from repairing situations for people, though.
The fifth Repairman Jack novel finds Jack (and Wilson) in top form. Check this one out; then, if you haven't yet, check out the other Repairman Jack novels. They're a must for die-hard readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horrifyingly Scrumptious, May 3, 2004
By 
This review is from: The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels) (Mass Market Paperback)
Since I loved his other book, Crisscross, I bought this book with a paralyzing fear-induced apprehension. How many times have I read a great book and then went for another in the series only to be disappointed? Too many times. After putting the book down, my cup runneth over with glee. With a buffet of vengeful ghost, bloody sacrifices, evil entities and a hefty portion of violence on the side - this is horrifyingly scrumptious.

The sixth novel in the Repairman Jack series, you will have no trouble reading it as an isolated story. The plot is intricate, original and irresistible. I sat down with the intention to only read a few pages before bedtime and found myself still reading at 3 am. The subplots moved with a hushed undercurrent until converging, giving you an exploding climax. The pace in the story is steadfast and tenacious. The book hijacks you from the first line but always manages to keep you close and secure.

The atmosphere is shrouded in mystical undertones and terrifying fundamentals. As the journey unfolds, the air vibrates with an overpowering sense of fear and rage. Wilson's style of writing is taut and up-front. With that said, I did have a problem with the dialogue of the Kenton brothers. I understand the need to make the men sound more urban, but around the third chapter it started to grate until finally I skipped almost all the dialogue of Charlie Kenton completely.

Having read the last book first, I have no concept of the fleshing out of players over time. Instead, I get to learn Jack's past and understand how he got to this point. The characters are realistic, consistant and hilarious. Wilson gives his cast what readers hunger for: A Soul. Returning to the series, I felt like I was meeting back up with old friends.

My rating? I give it a 4 . Wrap those pennies, collect some cans and if all else fails I hear Red Cross needs a pint or two - this book is a Must Have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels)
The Haunted Air : Repairman Jack (Repairman Jack) (Repairman Jack Novels) by F. Paul Wilson (Mass Market Paperback - April 19, 2004)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.