Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain awesome
Whether or not you are a fan of Rob Zombie's music or films is irrelevant, The Haunted World of El Superbeasto is a pure blast. If you can, imagine Fritz the Cat minus the political commentary and double the nudity and violence, as Zombie adapts his own comic to tell the story of professional wrestling super celebrity Beasto (voiced by Tom Papa) who is on a never ending...
Published on September 22, 2009 by N. Durham

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan of Rob Zomie's Films.
"Consider it my donation to the Sad-Ass Ho Club."

Genre: Action | Animation | Comedy | Horror | Thriller
Director: Rob Zombie
Run time: 77 Minutes
Language: English
Rating: R for strong crude and sexual content throughout, nude graphics, language, violence and gore.

In all honesty, I do not like Rob Zombie as a film maker. I find...
Published on March 16, 2010 by Patrick G. Kenehan


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just plain awesome, September 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Haunted World of El Superbeasto [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Whether or not you are a fan of Rob Zombie's music or films is irrelevant, The Haunted World of El Superbeasto is a pure blast. If you can, imagine Fritz the Cat minus the political commentary and double the nudity and violence, as Zombie adapts his own comic to tell the story of professional wrestling super celebrity Beasto (voiced by Tom Papa) who is on a never ending adventure of action and babes. He and his hot, Nazi-zombie hunting sister Suzi X (voiced by Sheri Moon Zombie) embark on a quest to rescue foul-mouthed stripper Velvet Von Black (voiced by Rosario Dawson) from marrying wanna-be world conquerer Dr. Satan (voiced by Paul Giamatti). In the middle of all this are plenty of "I can't believe what I just saw" moments, blink-and-you'll-miss-them visual gags, hilarious songs and music, and plenty of animated graphic ultraviolence; so much so that you can't help but enjoy what you find here. Yes, as you can probably tell by now, The Haunted World of El Superbeasto isn't for everyone, but if any of the aforementioned sounds appealing in the least, you are almost guaranteed to love this animated flick, regardless whether or not you're a Rob Zombie fan. Also featuring voice work from Zombie regulars Brian Posehn, Ken Foree, Geoffrey Lewis, and cameos from Sid Haig and Bill Moseley in their House of 1000 Corpses/Devil's Rejects roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brain-damaging, but hilarious., September 24, 2009
After a great many years in conception and production, horror director/artist/metal legend/all-around bad mofo Rob Zombie hath finally bequeathed unto us his animated masterwork "The Haunted World of El Superbeasto". Was it worth the wait? Well, it's a mixed bag to say the least, but if I told you I didn't have a great time I'd be lying to you. What we have here is a twisted tale of stupidity that bombards you with cartoon breasts and behinds, potty humor, racial caricatures, homages and cameos from every corner of the entertainment universe, a truly bizarre comedic soundtrack that sounds like a collaboration between Tenacious D and Flight of the Conchords, and general Rob Zombie madness like you've never ever EVER seen before. Sound good? Hop onboard.

What's the story? Who cares? It's dumb. This film is about chaotic, childish glee. It begins with a classic black-and-white Universal move by giving us a friendly warning that what we are about to see may horrify us. He's not wrong, but the movie is far from scary in the traditional sense. It takes on an animation style similar to Ren & Stimpy and utilizes devices and sound effects from all of the innocent classic cartoons we grew up watching. Then all the girls take off their clothes and use prehensile female anatomy in ways that make you embarrassed to be watching then you see your favorite horror characters and get all happy and then all the tailkicking starts and there's Nazi werewolves (Zombie really likes Nazis..and werewolves...and especially Nazi werewolves) and zombies and Nazi zombies and they have their own theme song and then there's more boobs and this transforming robot that's all horny for this awesome chick who steal Hitler's pickled head and Superbeasto is a luchador who shoves a cat down his pants so he has a bulge and there is Dr Satan who is really a nerd and has a talking gorilla with a screw in his head then all this stuff happens and it's crazy as fu.......[deep breath].....Yeah, so this flick gets a bit crazy at times.

So I think we've established that the humor in this one is decidedly lowbrow. Let's talk homages, references, and cameos. It's pretty much the biggest draw here unless you are one to pleasure yourself to cartoons (which is okay, as a song in the movie informs us, because Japanese people do it every day....nice). Plenty of horror icons ranging from Dr Phibes to the Bride of Frankenstein and The Fly as well as characters from Zombies' own films, but then there's references to everything from Benny Hill and Jerry Lewis to Charlie Chaplin (who Beasto mixes up with Hitler) and movies like Taxi Driver and Planet of the Apes. Other amusing cameos of note include Courtney Love, the Olsen Twins, and a featured role for Michael Myers.....as street pizza. This is an infinitesimal sampling. Honestly, aside from the sheer twisted insanity the massive unending pile of homages and cameos are what is going to keep your interest for the full hour and twenty. This has to be some kind of record. Eat it, Tarantino!

Voice cast. Awesome. Rosario Dawson lets fly some of the most staggeringly ignorant ebonics you've ever heard onscreen. Normally, I'm unimpressed by this cheap style of humor, but in this particular setting it did the trick for me. The Mexican caricatures, however, go down as a fail in spite of the marvelous man-god Danny Trejo lending his voice. Getting a real Mexican to play a caricature just doesn't sound funny, I guess. Tom Papa is pretty much The Man playing the title character. He has a really classic voice and delivers the lines with the perfect amount of sleaze and glee. Rob's wife Sheri Moon Zombie was born to be a voice actress. As cute as she is onscreen, when she's reduced to just a voice to an animated caricature her gigantic personality is just unbelievably charming. Again, big thumbs up for the cast.

Throw in some self-referential humor (including a song that plays during an homage scene stolen from a classic horror film that laments the cliche parody and asks if they got permission to do it) more cartoon boobs and ebonics slang, and even more cameos and references and that pretty much sums it up. The special features are a few minutes of extremely brief deleted scenes (one has Leatherface in it) and a very long set of unfinished alternate scenes. I'd have hoped for at least a commentary or making of after all the delays but whatever, Zombie. "The Haunted World of Superbeasto" is a great time if you're looking for a cartoon to keep as far away from your children/parents/grandparents/girlfriends as possible. You may not get away with all of your brain cells intact, but you'll probably leave with a smile. A stupid, stupid smile.

3 1/2 stars rounded up because I have a strong urge to watch this again. Soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So damn funny!, September 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this movie. So hilarious. It's a X rated Groovy Ghoulies. Even the songs are so funny. The action and humor is kinda sick and twisted. I'd love to see a sequel to this and will be purchasing the graphic novels. I totally recommend this to anyone who is a fan of Rob Zombie movies and monster movies and cartoons. Not for the kiddies!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an actualy non disturbing movie, September 8, 2009
i think the only reason this movie wasnt rated X was because it was animated.it definately has all the qualities present in low level porn.the animation is like a 1970s-80s cartoon.it involves all the same goofy sounds and slap stick routines, funny facial expressions,general silliness and what not.the violence is beyond severe.it reminds me a lot of "itchy and scratchy" from "the simpsons".the music is very before rock and roll like the music from "who framed roger rabbit?".only the lyrics are like something off of "south park".
rob zombie did the comic book this was inspired from.he also drew for "beavis and butthead do america" during beavis's peyote trip and directed the movie "house of 1000 corpses".no the dr satan from that is not the same dr satan from this film.
this movie is about a lucha libre star[mexican professinal wresler],a big shape shifting droid and a sexually obsessed crime fighter chick taking on nazi bikers,a permiscious ,cussing wanna be chick,a giant gorilla and yes,dr satan to stop the end of the world.
so if you could stand the goofy,dizzying breakneck pace of old school cartoons,you love porn[even animated],and can stand ultra violence all to the tune of 1000 cuss words a second,this movie is for you!
if you dislike even one of those elements,skip it because the movie is full of all of them!
in this movies defense,i would like to say,it is a welcome change from the horrors that are all too commonplace these days.i say go ahead and watch it!just dont do it while your kids or girl friend are around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious Zombie?, July 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rob Zombie goes out of his element on this animation, but no without putting in a load of horror icons. It is a seriously raunchy comedy, but as long as you have a very high and tolerable sense of humor you will definitely enjoy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a fan of Rob Zomie's Films., March 16, 2010
"Consider it my donation to the Sad-Ass Ho Club."

Genre: Action | Animation | Comedy | Horror | Thriller
Director: Rob Zombie
Run time: 77 Minutes
Language: English
Rating: R for strong crude and sexual content throughout, nude graphics, language, violence and gore.

In all honesty, I do not like Rob Zombie as a film maker. I find his work rather boring, and I feel as though he tries to give his movies entirely too much comic relief.
Anyway, this movie is based upon the comics he created about a wrestler/actor/director named El Superbeasto. Basically it's a cartoon movie that closely resembles a porn movie, which is even in the beginning of the film. Some might say I'm uptight, well this movie is entirely too profane, and rather disgusting. It does have some funny scenes, but the level to which this movie goes, out weighs the humor.

If you're interested in animated strippers, nudity, nazi zombies, crude language, crude humor, I'd recommend this film. But if animated porn isn't your venture, I don't recommend it.

All in all, I give this film a rating of: 3 stars.
Don't go out of your way to find this, but if you're bored, and a friend owns a copy, and you have nothing better to do, give it a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious, January 6, 2011
this is a great movie, rob zombie is the man, i can't wait until number 2 comes out. just a great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superbeasto Masterpiece!, December 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Loved this! I received this so fast by mail -- it must of been magic!
Absolutely loved this movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERBEASTO, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
THIS MOVIE IS NOT FOR EVERYONE! BUT FOR THOSE WHO CAN APPRECIATE THIS KIND OF MATERIAL, YOU'LL LOVE IT. I JUST WISH ROB ZOMBIE WOULD DO MORE OF THIS KIND OF WORK RATHER THAN BUTCHERING THE HALLOWEEN FRANCHISE..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loooove it!, March 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Amazing! Just love the art, the story, the characters!! Rob Zombie is one of my favorites in everything he does!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Haunted World of El Superbeasto [Blu-ray]
The Haunted World of El Superbeasto [Blu-ray] by Paul Giamatti (Blu-ray - 2009)
$19.99 $12.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.