Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, all around practical guide.
Finally! A book written just for the homeowner in Hawaii. I like the friendly, humorous writing style. Great tips for everything from pests to roofs to rock walls. Lots of things I didn't know! Plus ways to save money and not be penny wise and pound foolish. Thanks to the author and publisher for writing the book we've all been waiting for. This one is a must-have, and...
Published on September 9, 2006 by Coconutwireless

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Materials review, not much else
Was excited to see what was billed as a "guide to tropical living" but is actually just a well photographed review of building materials. The link to magazine and publishing resources is clear in that it is a quality product with not much to say about the details of tropical living. A great coffee table book but not the resource presented.
Published 22 months ago by Miguelon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great, all around practical guide., September 9, 2006
By 
Coconutwireless "coconutwireless" (Capt. Cook, HI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
Finally! A book written just for the homeowner in Hawaii. I like the friendly, humorous writing style. Great tips for everything from pests to roofs to rock walls. Lots of things I didn't know! Plus ways to save money and not be penny wise and pound foolish. Thanks to the author and publisher for writing the book we've all been waiting for. This one is a must-have, and the tips will save you the cover price many times over. Rate highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for anyone in Hawaii, October 20, 2007
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
I bought this book and am really impressed with all the information because it is specific to Hawaii. It doesn't matter if you are a renter or a high-end homeowver, all the tips and info in this book are really practical. I like the section on propane, online tiki torches, rock walls, and swimming pool maintenance. I've passed this book along to friends, and I think it is the bible for living in the tropics. The bug section is really great, and includes info how to kill a centipede and what to do about carpenter bees. Even general topics like windows, flooring and screens all relate specifically to Hawaii...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tips for living in the tropics..., August 23, 2007
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
The book has some good tips for living in the tropics. The sections on dealing with pests is the most valuable. Other parts of the book talk about general construction practices and products which anyone who has some interest in home improvement will already know, but the information may be useful to newbies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book very very Helpfull, October 20, 2007
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
Very informative anyone with a home or buying one should get this book. It doesnt matter if its a shack or a palace this book is a fantastic help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book if you're thinking of moving to Hawaii, May 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
We've read several of these books with suggestions, etc., for someone planning to move to Hawaii. We prefer this one by far. The author seems to have made a serious effort to consult local experts in areas where her knowledge might have been a bit weak. We found the book extremely helpful for planning our move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Materials review, not much else, September 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
Was excited to see what was billed as a "guide to tropical living" but is actually just a well photographed review of building materials. The link to magazine and publishing resources is clear in that it is a quality product with not much to say about the details of tropical living. A great coffee table book but not the resource presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, February 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
This book is a good example of REAL life in the islands. The tips in here will save you the price of the book many times over. On the flip side, you may end up with the opinion that Hawaii is over-run with bugs, vermin, man-eating shrubbery, and that the geckos will carry you off in the night. We've visited the islands a dozen times, renting homes for two week periods to help us plan for retiring to the islands, so we felt pretty comfortable. after reading the section on pests in this book, my wife was second guessing the planned move. It is a realistic, sort of "I've lived through it" kind of book. The homes shown in the book are on the higher end of most people's budgets and are in far nicer condition than the average Hawaiian home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative, March 29, 2010
By 
Di West (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
Lots of great tips for the person thinking of building or buying a house in Hawaii. Some very interesting facts and local knowledge which is really handy. Well written in an uncomplicated manner, an easy read. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks Good - Info OK - BUT!, September 28, 2007
By 
Joey "O" (Bodega Bay - Hawaii) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living (Paperback)
Really liked the pictures and the info was pretty good - BUT - it paints/shows a prettier picture than Hawaii actually is. If you built a home to match the pictures/info - the cost would be prohibitive for the average person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living
The Hawaii Home Book: Practical Tips for Tropical Living by Karen Anderson (Paperback - August 30, 2006)
$19.95 $17.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.