Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amino healing power
The amino acids in the human body are proving to be potent healing substances. This book reveals the findings of research in the 1980s and 1990s on the beneficial role of the aminos in Alzheimer's, cancer, depression, heart conditions, stress and many other disease states.
The different amino acids are discussed in chapters according to type: Aromatic, Sulphur, Urea...
Published on January 15, 2004 by Pieter Uys

versus
34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a basic text
quite a bit of the research on which it is based is now dated, and some important aspects of nutrition have been completely ignored. It does however give a simple introduction to amino acids, and this is a complex topic, so that it is a good place to start
Published on February 16, 2006 by Louise Shortus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amino healing power, January 15, 2004
The amino acids in the human body are proving to be potent healing substances. This book reveals the findings of research in the 1980s and 1990s on the beneficial role of the aminos in Alzheimer's, cancer, depression, heart conditions, stress and many other disease states.
The different amino acids are discussed in chapters according to type: Aromatic, Sulphur, Urea Cycle, Glutamate, Threonine and Branched Chain. Their food sources, nutrient interactions and proven benefits are given in detail.
The therapeutic functions of specific aminos include pain relief (Phenylalanine), fighting addiction (Tyrosine), treatment of Parkinson's (Methionine), heart protection (Homocysteine), herpes killer (Lysine). Many of them also play a part in immune stimulation or as anti-oxidants.
There are three appendices: 1. The Problems of Vegetarianism. 2. The Much Maligned Egg: The Best Amino Acid Food. 3. Continuing Breakthroughs in Amino Acids. This informative book with its good news concludes with an extensive bibliography, a glossary of terms and an index.
Everyone can benefit from the use of supplemental amino acids. This excellent book shows how to integrate them in one's own health management programme. Similar helpful books include The Amino Revolution by Erdmann and Amino Acids In Therapy by Chaitow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 62 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and extremely helpful, July 17, 2000
By 
Jimmy Gutman (D.D.O., Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
One of the best references on my shelf. Scientifically detailed but easily understood. When I have a query about an amino acid, I usually reach for this book first. If it doesn't have the precise answer I want, the reference lists contained in the book will lead me to find what I need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this book., June 27, 2001
The Healing Nutrients Within is a must if you want to stay healthy. It's about proteins and amino acids. Amino acid deficiencies and inborn errors of amino acid metabolism are important causes of diseases, some of them deadly.
Problems with amino acids may cause mental or physical illnesses or both. So you should own this book if you want to have a sound mind in a sound body.
There is a separate chapter for each of the amino acids found in the human diet. And there are an amazing hundred-plus pages of scientific references.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: The Healing Nutrients Within, March 8, 2008
This book is exactly what I was looking for. I needed information about each of the amino acids, what functions they are involved in, how they interrelate, and what illnesses they are connected with. This book is well-organized, highly readable, and extremely interesting. It was just the right mix of research information, along with dosage and uses.

This book has been very useful in helping me find supplements that are improving my medical issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a basic text, February 16, 2006
quite a bit of the research on which it is based is now dated, and some important aspects of nutrition have been completely ignored. It does however give a simple introduction to amino acids, and this is a complex topic, so that it is a good place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Resource, October 2, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very thorough, well written exposition of individual Amino Acids and their effects on the body. If you still remember your high school Biology, you'll remember that amino acids were defined as "the building blocks of life."

I started learning about their power for healing the body about two years ago, when I was trying to help my husband recover from a bout of crippling fatigue. Amino acids are components of protein and their targeted use can do amazing things for the body. You'll learn about l-carnitine, l-tryptophan, l-tyrosine & many others that can help you live a healthier, happier life in our high-stress modern world (filled with processed foods & unbalanced amino acid profiles).

The book is very detailed without being overly technical. It's easy to understand; it has been a priceless resource for me and will stay an integral part of my medical library forever. Highly recommended--get a copy while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get off prozac, etc., July 15, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a wonderful book for those who are serious about using amino acids to balance the neurotransmitters and avoid the need for prescription medications.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serous subject, vital information, August 16, 2000
By 
karen (New York City) - See all my reviews
This book strikes at the core of nutritional know how. If your serious about fueling your nutritional knowledge base and intrested in real world application of that data. This boook is for you. Really, this is not an light reading. This book is chock full of information that you will keep going back to. This is a book that you keep for life! After you read this book the benchmark is raised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the healing nutrients within, January 26, 2000
this book is worth the everest mountain in gold.this bible of the mecanisms of the amino acids is covering all the aspects of disease, error- metabolism,the amounts in foods, and most of all the metabolic team work and interactions among themselves, as well as with other nutrients such as vitamins and minerals,and there are very few books who share this comprehansive knoledge in one book in a very educative way with the public. it is also contain a section that tells you who should not take a specific amino-acid.go ahead and buy this book today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Healing Nutrients Within, March 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Healing Nutrients Within: Facts, Findings, and New Research on Amino Acids, Volume 2 (Paperback)
When I read the reviews for this book I thought I'd found some great info on healing with amino acids. While there is some useful info in the book, I felt disappointed when I read through it. What got me was the fact that roughly three quarters of the book is a list of references. This is not what I expected. I would never have purchased it had I known.

I have to wonder if the older versions of the book had more information. I'm sure not going to waste more money finding out. I'd still like to read a good book on amino acids.

(Note: I bought the edition that says, "New Third Edition," on the cover.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Healing Nutrients Within: Facts, Findings, and New Research on Amino Acids, Volume 2
$34.49 $27.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.