Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very balanced and bold book
I consider Leanne Payne's book Healing presence as an exceptionally good book. Because it has much truth, it divides opinions. That is the nature of truth. Some like,it some don't. While reading it, it especially struck me what she said about wrong fantasies, how they kill the real imagination and prevent us to be "fertilized with the reality" - this really hit...
Published on November 19, 2001 by Tiina Rekula

versus
87 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, But Not Exactly What It Promises To Be
This goal of this book, as the title states, is to show Christians how they can receive emotional healing from Christ. The problem is that the book isn't very direct in this regard. It is possible to read this entire book yet still not really know how to pray for healing. Basically, the book is not down-to-earth and practical enough. While it plumbs the theological...
Published on November 15, 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very balanced and bold book, November 19, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
I consider Leanne Payne's book Healing presence as an exceptionally good book. Because it has much truth, it divides opinions. That is the nature of truth. Some like,it some don't. While reading it, it especially struck me what she said about wrong fantasies, how they kill the real imagination and prevent us to be "fertilized with the reality" - this really hit me but because I accepted it, it set me free! All happened in an instant! Payne has great insight about what it means to be human, a created being, called to fullness, creativity and into all truth in Christ. Read it with prayer and apply it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who've experienced healing through Christ, July 13, 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
Only those who have experienced healing in Christ will fully appreciate Ms Payne's insight. For that reason alone, it cannot be counted as a how-to book. Also, it is generally acknowleged that Christ heals persons in vastly different ways. This book is primarily for those who have over-intellectualized their lives, who have experienced ill effects from the teachings of straight psychology, or who have found self-hood in their talent or art or personal beauty. I agree that more attention needs to be given to the more common long-term healing in addition to the rare instant miracle healing. Some of us have spiritual cancer rather than a spiritual broken bone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


87 of 107 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, But Not Exactly What It Promises To Be, November 15, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
This goal of this book, as the title states, is to show Christians how they can receive emotional healing from Christ. The problem is that the book isn't very direct in this regard. It is possible to read this entire book yet still not really know how to pray for healing. Basically, the book is not down-to-earth and practical enough. While it plumbs the theological depths and comes up with some penetrating insights and arguments, it doesn't really give you a handle on what you most need/want to know. Even at its high points, Ms. Payne's writing tends to be a bit flowery as well, which might not sit well with the average reader. Unlike the Bible, this book is just not that straightforward.
From her writing, it is easy to tell that Ms. Payne is an optimist, and at times her outlook is contagious. At other times, it is cloying, and you wish she'd take *off* the rose-colored glasses for a moment or two. Her accounts of an extended period of demonic harassment and other struggles notwithstanding, you get the impression that she has not led a horrendously difficult life (compared with many other people anyway), which would help provide an explanation for some of her viewpoints.
At various places in the book, Ms. Payne does come across as quite judgmental. For instance, when describing Richard, a man who struggled with homosexuality, at times her assessment of his situation seems very harsh. [To make myself clear here, I am not referring to her belief that homsexual behavior is wrong as "judgmental" (because I agree that it is wrong), but rather to her description of Richard's emotional condition, etc. Her portrayal is just not very sympathetic in my opinion.] Also, when recalling a time that she was ministering to a young man who had various introspective habits, Ms. Payne flatly states: "I told him in no uncertain terms what he was doing..." This and other statements give one the impression that there is quite a bit of subtle (and not so subtle) condemnation in the way Ms. Payne ministers.
One major concern I have about the book is the way it treats listening prayer. In general, I think listening prayer is a lost art and woefully neglected in the Church. On the other hand, Ms. Payne seems to go a bit too far with it. She even includes in her book various words she has received from God. There is nothing wrong with this per se, but she never really gives out any warnings in regard to listening prayer. That is, she never really tells you how to know if what you heard is actually from God, and she never warns you about acting on what you've "heard" without good wisdom, sound judgment, etc. Many people "hear" things from God and end up doing some very misguided things as a result. Plus, she doesn't really address the fact that you can listen try to listen "too much" to God, which can be just as unhealthy as not listening enough.
Another problem I have with the book is that it focuses too much on "quick" healings. Even though Ms. Payne does mention that not every healing will be instant, overall she does tends to emphasize dramatic, "from night to day" healings in her writing. Unfortunately, this detracts a bit from the book's relevance to real life, because most Christians do not experience healings that are so dramatic.
I've focused more on the drawbacks of the book above. The book does present many wonderful truths, and speaks to a lot of topics in a very Christian way. Certainly, it is extremely difficult to read this book and not feel uplifted. The things that the book does well, it does *really* well. It's just that the book doesn't completely fulfill its stated mission.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't trust personal attacks, July 28, 2001
By 
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
Sam's so-called review of this book (see below) should not be trusted. I don't know whether or not he's telling the truth, and he does not give any solid information to go on. He doesn't say why his friend was suicidal, or what his letter contained, or exactly what Ms. Payne said in response.

The Healing Presence is a profoundly insightful examination of such topics as the meaning of Christ's presence, true healing, Christian imagination, and the dangers of gnostic forms of spirituality common in the world today. Like her spiritual mentor C.S. Lewis, Leanne Payne cuts through the Protestant/Catholic divisions typical of most spiritual writers, and goes to the heart of true faith. This book is irreplaceable.

EDIT: (3/20/11) After all these years I look back at this review and see it's not terribly informative. Oh well. I was actually responding to another review that said nothing about the book but attacked the author on personal grounds; that review is now gone, so references to it in my review above don't make much sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book on Healing a Hurting Heart with Intelligent Christianity, August 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
I've read at least eight or nine books on healing, forgiveness, recovering from pain caused by the self and other people, and Leanne Payne's book is by far the best one I've ever read!. I wish I had discovered it the year it was published!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The healing power of the love of God., October 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
This book is probably the third one I've owned. I've given several away because of the amazing quality and healing power of the material presented, that of our union with Christ, ultimately our only hope for overcoming sin and childhood pain. Purchased used through Amazon, it is in perfect condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars please read, December 21, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
If you are a seeker after an intimate walk with Christ, please read this book.
If you need healing (spiritual, emotional, or physical), please read this book.
If you want to help someone else find wholeness, please read this book.
Profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Help, April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
Helped me so much in closer walk with God. Helped me heal area in my life I could not before
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Healing Presence; Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ, May 1, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
Leanne Payne does a superb job of describing how a closer relationship with Christ can heal us. She brings what the New Testament say about Jesus' ministry on earth of healing and deliverance to the here and now. By using her own experience to show how God healed her and how He heals others she has worked with. This book is invaluable to any Christain or non-Christian who really wants to know the key to how people can be healed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Teaching on Healing and the Presence of God, August 7, 2011
This review is from: The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ (Paperback)
LeAnne Payne offers a solid, theologically and Biblically sound teaching on the healing presence of God. She emphasizes the absolute necessity of inviting the presence of God into our individual lives and corporate lives in the church. Her teaching on how people, even Christians, have centered their lives outside of God and created divided "selves" is extremely helpful. Her teaching will help readers become more intentional and prayerful about living from God as their center. She promotes healing of the divided, critical self.

This is a great book on insights into the healing ministry; although, at times it seems she requires to much precision and details in the healing of individuals. On this issue, I think she may dwell on the most problematic cases as prescriptive methods for healing. It seems like she diminishes the fact that the very presence of God in every Christian brings healing to some extent in the new creation. At the same time, I don't want to minimize the deep-seated need for inner healing all Christians have.

In the concluding chapter, she focuses on Carl Jung and how his theories were inspired by demonic visions and oppression. This was interesting but seemed to be a tangent from the topic of God's healing presence. It is an insightful critique of Jung however.

I was impressed with Payne's assertions and theology and of course with her experience in healing ministry. She leans heavily on C.S. Lewis, and although I'm a fan, I eventually became weary of trying to follow her descriptions of Lewis' works, mainly his fiction that I had not read before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ
The Healing Presence: Curing the Soul Through Union with Christ by Leanne Payne (Paperback - August 1, 1995)
$22.00 $19.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.