Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore, October 29, 2001
By 
"abe7399554" (Henderson, NV USA) - See all my reviews
In prayers and poems of depth and simplicity,Tagore expresses his very soul...which is somehow the soul of each of us.
Obviously a spiritual master, he speaks for each of our hearts with a depth of compassion and honesty that embraces universal and timeless themes. Human struggle, delight, quest, hope, trust, joy, despair, and peace are expressed in a compelling commitment to Love which draws him only into deeper intimacy with the Beloved.

Tagore puts into words a love which surpasses understanding, time, or any methodology. He speaks in his writings a very human, very real, very tender love letter to the Divine.
I liked this book because it draws me also into the heart of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Prayers of Tagore, August 31, 2005
By 
This review is from: The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback)
This collection of seventy-seven poems of the Nobel Laureate poet of India is taken from seven sources of his poetry. The editor has skillfully degenderized and introduced contemporary language where he deemed appropriate. The beauty of Tagore's spirit and his eloquence will be augmented for some by the editor's gifts. Long familiar with Tagore's own translations of his poetry, I find in this collection extreme satisfaction in accessing the presence of the poet in images of rare beauty. This book is an important addition to the literature, providing

fresh acquaintance with a master poet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unending love, January 29, 2010
This review is from: The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback)
If you have ever find yourself searching for God's love or if you are not seeing it beyond immediate presentation, see if this resonates or ignites something in your heart :

I seem to have loved you in numberless forms, numberless times...
In life after life, in age after age, forever.
My spellbound heart has made and remade the necklace of songs,
That you take as a gift, wear round your neck in your many forms,
In life after life, in age after age, forever.

Whenever I hear old chronicles of love, it's age old pain,
It's ancient tale of being apart or together.
As I stare on and on into the past, in the end you emerge,
Clad in the light of a pole-star, piercing the darkness of time.
You become an image of what is remembered forever.

You and I have floated here on the stream that brings from the fount.
At the heart of time, love of one for another.
We have played along side millions of lovers,
Shared in the same shy sweetness of meeting,
the distressful tears of farewell,
Old love but in shapes that renew and renew forever.

Today it is heaped at your feet, it has found its end in you
The love of all man's days both past and forever:
Universal joy, universal sorrow, universal life.
The memories of all loves merging with this one love of ours -
And the songs of every poet past and forever.

~Rabindranath Tagore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore, February 16, 2007
This review is from: The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback)
this is a wonderful bedside book...the poems are what i would call in depth minimalist style writings...this might be a contradiction in terms but every word is positioned just right in tagors syntax...he is i guess what you would say famous for his going to the core of what he is trying to say...yet he excludes nothing and every poem is titled well...so you can a navigate the book with ease...this is my first tagore book and i have another...fireflies...on the way...pleasant reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars every good library, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback)
Every good library should have this book of poems.
as a sample from memory . . . "let your love play on my voice and rest on my silence, let it pass through my heart into all my movements" . . . then it gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, January 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed reading this very much. The language is heady and the points he wants to make are powerful and full of love. I read it all in one shot and then started it over. Very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore, July 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback)
This is one of the most amazing books of spiritual reflections and prayers that can touch people of almost any faith tradition. The prayers are poems that are deep, beautifully and refreshingly poetic, insightful, authentic, and human. I continue to be stunned by the depth and beauty of the pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet, Simple and Heartful Devotion, April 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rabindranath Tagore is one of my favorite poets since childhood. This particular book is especially beautiful and very good to read before sleep. It helps to take one closer to the Divine Within. I recommend it with all my heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent companion for daily prayer., December 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback)
This book is so beautiful. The poems feel so contemporaneous, they are everlasting. Experiencing God's presence is timeless. This book is a great companion for daily prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, September 18, 2014
By 
Sarah Nicole Warner (STEVENSVILLE, MI, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback)
Loved this so much I gave my copy to a dear friend and re-bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore
The Heart of God: Prayers of Rabindranath Tagore by Rabindranath Tagore (Paperback - July 15, 2004)
$8.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.