Customer Reviews


379 Reviews
5 star:
 (181)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (58)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dick's Masterpiece
The Man in the High Castle is Dick's masterpiece. Along with VALIS and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, it completes the trilogy of the author's essential works. A must read for Dickheads or for anyone who considers himself a serious fan of science fiction. Dick was clearly influenced by two earlier works of alternative history, Sarban's The Sound of His...
Published on May 15, 2000 by Edward J. Tabler

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright, but not great. Doesn't fulfill its potential.
Although I was satisfied enough with the earlier portions of the book -- which introduced the characters, set the several interweaving lines of plot in motion, etc. -- I was ultimately disappointed as none of it ended up going much of anywhere by the conclusion.

The situations which have been developing throughout the novel get brought to a close in the last...
Published on August 3, 1997


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

174 of 182 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dick's Masterpiece, May 15, 2000
The Man in the High Castle is Dick's masterpiece. Along with VALIS and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, it completes the trilogy of the author's essential works. A must read for Dickheads or for anyone who considers himself a serious fan of science fiction. Dick was clearly influenced by two earlier works of alternative history, Sarban's The Sound of His Horn and C. M. Kornbluth's "Two Dooms". In turn, The Man in the High Castle has influenced any number of later works, not just Norman Spinrad's The Iron Dream and the novels of Harry Turtledove, but Ursula LeGuin's The Lathe of Heaven as well.
This is a very complex, suspenseful novel, consisting of four main plot lines and a host of characters whose lives sometimes interact. Don't expect any slam-bang pyrotechnic action here, despite the novel's provocative premise. It's more a slice of life tale, showing that even after a catastrophic defeat, life in America would go on. Dick is very good at detailing the nuances of life in Axis-ruled America. For example, at one point as an aside, it is pointed out that after the Nazi pograms, the only surviving prewar comedian is Bob Hope, and even he has to broadcast out of Canada. Also, an unintended irony for a novel written in 1962 is Dick's conjecture that if the United States had lost WWII, we would all be listening to Japanese audio equipment and driving German cars now. The author achieves the near impossible feat of actually being even-handed towards the Nazis without glamorizing them. He describes them at one point as Neanderthals in white lab coats, technological geniuses who have drained the Mediterranean and are conquering the Solar System, yet are morally bankrupt. Dick is much easier on the Japanese, depicting them not just as benign conquerors, but almost like a group of tourists, just off the latest JAL flight headed for the souvenir stand at Disneyland. Only in one brief instance when Juliana Frink reminiscences about conditions in San Francisco immediately after the occupation is their wartime rapacity even hinted at.
Several other reviewers here appear to be put off that the novel didn't live up to the action and dramatic tension hinted at in the synopsis above or the 1964 Popular Library cover with its map of the United States superimposed by Nazi and Imperial Japanese flags. When I first read it back in 1964 at age fourteen, I felt much the same way. On rereading it in 1988, however, I saw it for its true worth, an existential novel of the first order (ranking with the best of Camus or Sartre). It represents the fullest flowering of Dick's most consistent theme: What is reality? The provocative setting of an alternative universe where the Axis has won World War II and now occupies a defeated and humiliated America is merely a sensational back drop for Dick's real theme: how can we be sure of what is real? Thus the seemingly minor scene involving two Zippo lighters is actually the key to understanding the whole novel. One is merely a minor collectible, the other is priceless, Mr. Wyndam-Matson tells his mistress. What's the difference? The one was the actual lighter FDR was carrying when he was assassinated in 1934. But how does he know it is real? Well, he has a paper that certifies it is. But how does he know the paper is real? And so on. Likewise, the emphasis on the Japanese obsession with collecting authentic relics of America's prewar past is a symbolic of the authenticity which all the novel's characters are seeking in their own diverse ways. The anticlimactic and ambiguous ending also only serves to re-enforce what Dick was trying to say. In retrospect, he couldn't have ended it any other way. To neatly wrap things up would only subvert the novel's whole premise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Things are not as they seem. Skim milk masquerades as cream., January 26, 1998
By A Customer
Alternate history...Philip K. Dick style.
What does that mean? Well, basically, if you think that the characters in this book seem a little out of place, keep reading, and you may find YOURSELF out of place.
On the surface, it is the usual time-shifting novel...FDR was assasinated in 1936, and as a result, the United States lost WW II. Twenty years in the future, when the novel takes place, Nazi Germany and the Japanese Empire have occupied the United States and imposed their brand of culture on their respective halves of the American populace.
But this book really isn't about alternate time lines...its about alternate realities. Things are not as they seem...characters' true identities are hidden, and their moralities are tested. It's about the nature of the true state of the universe, Eastern religion, and the I-Ching. When Philip K. Dick is at his best, his characters question their own existence, and it soon follows that the readers do the same.
So when you come to the end of the book, hopefully, a number of things will happen:
Number 1: You'll instantly re-read the ending.
Number 2: You'll throw the book against the wall and exclaim "that's it?"
Number 3: You'll probably re-read the ending again.
Number 4: You'll swear that you'll never read another Philip K. Dick novel.
Number 5: Later, you'll think a bit about the book, and realize that the novel wasn't really about what you thought it was.
Number 6: You'll read it again. And again...
This isn't your typical sci-fi novel. The story doesn't wrap-up into a neat little package. Like Eastern religions, time is not linear, it is circular, and that is the reality of the book.
Alternate histories are so commonplace in sci-fi today, that it is important to look at this book as the one that really started it all. A completely original masterpiece...even the followers can't keep up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Grasshopper Lies Heavy, March 8, 2002
Philip K. Dick's masterpiece is one of the classics of the alternative history genre. This was my first Philip K.Dick novel and it's so good that I want to light up a Land-o-Smiles and read everything he's ever written. The characters seem like real people. The story is told through interleaved overlapping stories that revolve around the Nazi and Japanese domination of America after America and the British lost WWII in 1947. It's 1962 and the United States has been divided between the Nazis in the East and the Japanese in the West. America has become a third world country controlled and exploited by the victors. The Japanese are better masters than the Germans. The Germans have turned their part of the world into a living nightmare and are plotting to start a war with the Japanese. The Japanese are quiet and philosophical. The scenes of life in Japanese dominated San Francisco are oddly familiar. Dick has transposed the usual circumstance a visiting American finds in third world countries friendly to the United States: Wealthy foreigners living in exclusive enclaves, fawning local businessmen eager to get the foreign visitor's business, local police dominated and loosely controlled by the foreigners. The I Ching is central to the story, guiding the action of many of the protagonists.
In all an imaginative take on what life could have been like, uniquely flavored by the influence of Eastern Philosophy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


81 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complex book that defies labels!, September 4, 2000
OK, first let's get one thing out of the way - this is a great book, and it's absolutely irrelevant if you label it "science fiction," "alternative history," or whatever. Except for the purposes of book marketing, who cares anyway? The bottom line is that Philip K. Dick was too complex and intelligent a man for his work to be pinned down into any one genre. And who would want it to be?!? On one level, or course, "The Man in the High Castle" is - at least on the surface and on the jacket cover - about an alternative time line in which America loses World War II (with the Nazis taking over East of the Mississippi, the Japanese West of the Rockies, and the middle being a kind of backwater/no-man's land). But what is this book really about? My conclusion after reading the book, as well as many of the reviews here and out there on the web, as well as some stuff about Philip K. Dick, as well as talking to a really smart friend of mine who has read the book many times, is that this book is about several main themes, and can be read on several different levels (as most great works of fiction can be).
Thus, in my opinion "The Man in the High Castle" is about, among other things (in no particular order): 1) the lives of Americans under Japanese occupation; 2) the lives of the Japanese occupiers, and especially their interaction with various Americans - white, black, Jewish; 3) the Japanese-German relationship, and the difference in Japanese and German culture; 4) what is the nature of "reality"?; 5) what is "authentic" and what is "fake"?; 6) what constitutes a moral life?; 7) culture and national identity; 8) how does one remain true to one's self/ideals, especially when it isn't easy to do so; 9) what is sane and what is crazy, especially in a highly confusing world without clear black-and-white moral choices (in other words, OUR world!)?; 10) the concept that there is some fascist within all of us, and how easy it is for fascism to settle in comfortably to "middle America"; 11) the place of the artist, artistic freedom, and artistic courage; 12) the connection between art and the "real world"; and 13) a relatively deterministic (i.e., Hegelian, the I Ching) view of the way history works (in which humans are essentially pawns) vs. one in which things are NOT preordained and in which actions (or lack thereof) by individuals can play huge roles. Whew! That's more to think about in one book than you'll get in several books of popular fiction put together!
The bottom line: Philip K. Dick is a genius, and this is possibly his greatest book (although another one of his books is better known because it was made into the movie "Blade Runner"). Read it now...you won't soon forget it! (PS The complaints about the ending not tying things up neatly totally miss the point of the book - see #4, #5, #8, #11, and #12 above!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An alternate universe where people are obsessed with an alternate universe, October 9, 2007
By 
Eric D. Austrew (Brookline, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read only a few books in my life that are so disturbing that I have trouble completing them. Usually I don't have any trouble with serious novels and great literature, because I know going in that they have an agenda, a point to make- and usually not a pleasant one. But some books come at you sideways sneaking up with humor or escapism and sinking their talons into you. Catch-22 was one such book for me, and "The Man in the High Castle" was another.

By now it's a standard science fiction device to wonder what may have happened if things had gone differently in history. In fact, there is so much alternate history that it sometimes has a special sub-section devoted to it in the bookstore. But what most of those books concentrate on is the events: Roosevelt was assassinated, so the U.S. didn't enter WWII. The South won the Civil War, so slavery was never abolished. And so on. "Castle" has some of that, certainly. But it reads differently, because it concentrates on the effect of the new world on ordinary people. And needless to say the effect is not good.

In the world that Dick describes, the Japanese and the Nazis have won the second world war and divided the globe between them. The Japanese half is administered efficiently and held within the rule of law. The Nazi half is a charnel house of criss-crossing genocides; Jews, blacks, even Italians all exterminated with varying levels of prejudice, with no end in sight or comprehensible reason.

These events are in many ways remote from the characters in the book, all of whom live on the Japanese administered West Coast, or the "free" mountain states between them and the German East. But each character has internalized, to varying degrees, the horror that the world has become. Their basic thoughts are warped, and it seems as if some of them know it but cannot quite articulate what is wrong.

There is in this world a book of alternate history, a science fiction novel, that describes what the world might have been like if Germany and Japan has lost the war. I was expecting that book to mirror history as we know it, but of course it didn't - even the alternate history was gloomy, pessimistic, and wrong. The tragedy, as one of the German characters puts it, is that even to him this story of the defeat of the Reich seems more cheerful than the reality of their victory.

This is an incredible book, but a hard read. But ultimately I'm glad I picked it up, if only because it's good to be reminded from time to time of how good we have it here in the real world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unsettling portrait of a nightmarish alternate America, August 12, 2002
"The Man in the High Castle," by Philip K. Dick, is a science fiction novel that pushes the boundaries of the genre. It takes place in an alternate America where Germany and Japan won World War II. The Pacific States of America are ruled by Japan through a puppet white government; the Germans have engaged in genocide in Africa and are pursuing an aggressive space program. That's only the beginning of the "what if?" strangeness.
In "Man," Dick uses a dual book-within-the-book theme. The plot and characters are continuously impacted by two texts: first, the ancient Chinese oracle known as the I Ching, and second, "The Grasshopper Lies Heavy," a banned novel of yet another alternate America. The book thus becomes a mindbending literary house of mirrors.
This is a bizarre, intelligent, and compelling work of fiction. There may be just a little too much going on; in the end, I'm not sure if the book completely holds together. But Dick poses some fascinating questions. "Man" is a biting satire about conspiracy, power, censorship, and cultural exploitation. Ultimately, Dick questions the very nature of science fiction, and ponders the role of literature in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very complex book that is not what it seems, April 30, 2002
By 
Upon first glance, this seems to be a different type of book for Philip K. Dick to write. It's more linear, and has far less screwy elements, than the majority of his work. It was one of the first major alternate history novels, and has been quite influential in that manner, and it also, as the back of the book claims, broke down the barriers between "science fiction and the serious novel of ideas." The book seems kind of haphazard after the first reading, and can actually be a disappointment. Being one of Dick's most famous books, and winner of the Hugo award, one might expect more than the seemingly arbitrary plot elements and non-action of the book - not to mention the apparently shabby ending. The book offers no obvious revelations, nor does it give any easy answers. The book, which seems to end almost at random, will, in all likelihood, leave you railing something along the lines of, "What?! That's IT?! How can it be done?! What was the POINT?!"
However, once examined, you realize something: this book isn't really about what you thought it was. I think that the sypnosis of this book that is generally given (the one on the back cover) is rather misleading, as is the one for Dick's novel, A Scanner Darkly. For, the sypnosis that is given has absolutely nothing to do with what the book is really about - much less what it means (also like the aforementioned novel.) Sure, this is an alternate history novel. Sure, in it, the Allies lost the war, and the United States is now occupied jointly by Germany and Japan - sure, sure, sure. That has nothing to do with the book, however.
Allow me to explain. Despite what may gleam from the surface of this book, what Dick has actually done here is write another book that asks - in a fashion much more slip-shod and roundabout than usual - the question, "What is reality?" The book has nothing to do with war, alternate history, or anything else that you may imagine it has to do with. What the book actually does is examine the very fabric of reality itself. It's almost a cosmic joke - on a grand, realistic level.
Look at it. Dick wrote this book, in which resides an alternate history in which Germany and Japan won the war. In it, a man writes an alternate history book in which Germany and Japan lost the war. (Interstingly enough, let me point out something else, too: THIS BOOK HAS ABSOLUTELY NO SCIENCE FICTION ELEMENTS. This fact is appreciated by Dick, who, in describing the novel within the novel, has a character say that it resides in the real of "fiction, possibly science fiction." Another character rebukes, saying that it isn't set in the future, and contains no science - elements both necessary for a novel to be considered science fiction. The arbiter refutes this notion, saying that it, like much science fiction, deals instead with the alternate present. This book just gets pigeon-holed as SF because it was written by Dick. Almost certainly, if it had been written by an author who wasn't generally considered and SF author, it would've never been called SF.) However, we find out, in the end, that Germany and Japan actually lost the war in the book, as well.
Or did they?
Like in many of Dick's other great novels - Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, A Scanner Darkly, VALIS - the story starts out strange, and only gets stranger. And, just when you think you've got it pinned down, there is a major twist in the novel that will leave you scratching your head. Dick, at his best, pulls the thinner-than-you-think mat of reality out from underneath your feet at the moment you least expect it, leaving you reeling and questioning the very nature of your existence.
Perhaps existence is more arbitrary than we imagine - after all, what IS reality?
I think Dick himself said it best when he said, "Reality is that which, when you stop believing in it, doesn't go away."
...and that's what this book is all about. Not war, not alternate history - but reality itself. Incidentally, I think the whole heavy emphasis on the alternate WWII element may have ruined the book for many people. They went into it expecting something other than what they got, and left it feeling empty, and perhaps cheated. Here's a tip: ignore the back of the book. On any Philip K. Dick novel. It will only lead you down the wrong path. I don't think Dick intended the reader to know that this book was set in that alternate universe going in. It kind of spoils the story; one would be better off - and certainly more surprised - if they went into the book thinking that it was set in our time, and slowly realized the differences - and then back again... thinking, Maybe it's not SO different, after all...
Ultimately, this book does have a few problems. It's not perfect, and it's not Dick's best. However, it is a very interesting read - much more than it seems on the surface - and one that anyone should read. If you are a first-time Phil Dick reader, I advise you to start elsewhere - Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? or VALIS, for instance - but you will want to read this one, eventually: it's an essential book for any Philip K. Dick fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Transcends its genre., April 29, 2000
By 
Michael Bulger (Rochester, NY, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Philip K. Dick, as some reading this might be aware, was a science fiction writer whose stories served (loosely) as the basis for the films "Blade Runner" and "Total Recall." His short fiction exemplifies the maxim that science fiction is a "literature of ideas." The "idea" behind "The Man in the High Castle" is that of the alternative history: the Axis powers actually prevailed in World War II, and modern-day America (meaning, in this case, the 1960's, when the book was first published) has been roughly split into two spheres of influence, German and Japanese.
How pleasantly surprising, then, to discover that this central "idea" is nothing more than a backdrop; that while plot and characters are certainly shaped by the imagined circumstances, the actual concern of the book is not the situation but the people within it. As a result, rather than reading as a description of an alternate reality, we are treated to a full experience of lives in a world that differs profoundly from our own. As a result, this novel is more than just science fiction. It succeeds in transcending the genre ghetto and meriting consideration among the best of modern writing.
Examples of how carefully, and how well, this book was thought out are too numerous to list, but one example: the titular "Man" is an American maverick writer of an alternative history in which America and its allies prevail in World War II. How simple, how convenient it would have been to have this alternative-history-within-an-alternative-history perfectly reflect our own reality. But it isn't so; the imagined history is completely different. Brilliantly conceived and executed, this is a truly rewarding book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alright, but not great. Doesn't fulfill its potential., August 3, 1997
By A Customer
Although I was satisfied enough with the earlier portions of the book -- which introduced the characters, set the several interweaving lines of plot in motion, etc. -- I was ultimately disappointed as none of it ended up going much of anywhere by the conclusion.

The situations which have been developing throughout the novel get brought to a close in the last few pages in what I felt was a too abrupt and unsatisfactory manner.

The scene in which one of the characters finally encounters the author of the novel in which the Axis lost the war was especially disappointing. I found it muddled and confused and it seemed as if Dick were playing around with various ideas but didn't really know what to do with them.

Most of the book takes place in the Japanese controlled area of the United States and one of the constantly recurring elements is that numerous characters (both Japanese and not) are constantly consulting the I Ching for guidance. However none of the material relating to utilization of this oracle and the philosophy attendant to it struck me as terribly deep or convincing.

I would say the same of the book's presentation of Japanese culture in general: it has been done with far more depth and success elsewhere.

Also, several of the plot elements introduced in the book but never resolved -- such as the existence of a secret German plot against the Japanese and the fact that the potential German/Japanese conflict might force the Japanese to ally themselves with certain morally repugnant elements of the Nazi regime or the suggestion that the Nazi programs of genocide may ultimately backfire and cause them severe economic problems -- struck me as potentially much more interesting than those with which the book primarily concerned itself.

I guess, overall, my feeling about the book is that it was generally flat. It didn't involve me with the characters or with the world it created. I felt like I was an uninterested observer watching the events from a distance. It failed to convey to me any of the sense of convincing veracity which I think any novel needs, at least to an extent, to succeed.

Lest the above give you wrong idea and cause you to think me simply out of tune with Philip Dick ("Oh, the reviewer obviously doesn't appreciate Dick's predilections. He obviously wanted this to be an espionage novel or a geopolitical thriller!"), let me just say that that is not at all the case.

The only other Dick novel I've read is Valis. Now Valis, for those of you who haven't read it, is far more non-linear and discursive than The Man in the High Castle, and far more radical in its blurring of the lines of what constitutes reality. And Valis, I thought, was great.

And just for your information lest the "July 1, '92" date on Amazon confuse you, The Man in the High Castle was published originally in 1962. (Valis was published in 1981.)

Andy Bruce aka andy_bruce@hotmail.com
Sunday August 3rd, 1997
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philip K. Dick's alternate history masterpiece, January 24, 2012
By 
This review is from: The Man in the High Castle (Paperback)
The Man in the High Castle is a skillful blend of abstract and concrete, of political theory and the impact of fascism and colonialism on a formerly free people. The novel is many things at once: a story of personal growth; a meditation on the nature and purposes of art; a deconstruction of political doctrine; an exploration of moral philosophy. I don't think I fully appreciated it when I first read it, about ten years after it was published. It still isn't my favorite Philip K. Dick novel (Ubik holds that distinction) but, after rereading it, I have a better grasp of what Dick was trying to accomplish. It is probably the best alternate history I've encountered.

As is true of the best Philip K. Dick novels, The Man in the High Castle is intricately plotted. The first half of the story establishes characters and sets up the intrigue. It isn't immediately clear where the story is headed. The second half weaves together the various storylines, all taking place in a world where Germany and Japan prevailed in World War II. Not every story is nicely resolved, but that's a reflection of life.

The cast of characters includes an Italian fascist, a Nazi, a Japanese bureaucrat, a divorced Jewish couple, and American forgers and dealers in Americana, both antiquities and kitsch. Dick made the inspired decision to write a book within a book: although it is banned in some places, everyone is reading a novel that imagines the US and Britain had defeated Germany and Japan. The device allows characters to compare life in Dick's alternate history to life as it more-or-less exists in post-war America.

To some extent, The Man in the High Castle is more interesting for the questions the characters ask than for the events that shape their lives. Would anyone but Philip K. Dick imagine a German, victorious after World War II, thinking: "We do not have the ideal world, such as we would like, where morality is easy because cognition is easy. Where one can do right with no effort because he can detect the obvious." If there is any context in which doing what is "right" is "obvious," it is Nazi Germany. Yet even in that context a soldier who wants to challenge the leadership of the Reich finds himself wondering whether he is following the right path. It is fashionable to condemn "moral relativism" in modern America, but Dick masterfully portrays the difficulty of viewing life through the lens of absolutism. That is one of many respects in which Dick encourages the reader not just to read and enjoy the story, but to think. This is a novel that benefited from a second reading; I think it would easily bear a third.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Man in the High Castle
The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick (Paperback - January 24, 2012)
$13.95 $8.09
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.