Customer Reviews


4,261 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,518)
4 star:
 (1,164)
3 star:
 (341)
2 star:
 (153)
1 star:
 (85)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


201 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baldacci at his brilliant best
"The Hit" is David Baldacci at his brilliant best - a page turning action thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat right through to the very end.

Once again we meet Will Robie (from "The Innocent"), a larger than life cold-blooded professional killer for the US government. Robie is given his hardest and most dangerous assignment yet - to hunt down...
Published 20 months ago by Suncoast

versus
37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT HIS BEST WORK
I have read many of the reviews written about this book and just can't agree with the people who gave it five stars. I love David Baldacci's books and have enjoyed most of them but this one was predictable and just didn't grab me. The opening scene got my attention and led me to believe that it was going to be another Will Robie page turner however, it fell flat after...
Published 18 months ago by E. Piper


‹ Previous | 1 2427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

201 of 217 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baldacci at his brilliant best, April 18, 2013
By 
Suncoast "Suncoast" (Sunshine Coast, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
"The Hit" is David Baldacci at his brilliant best - a page turning action thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat right through to the very end.

Once again we meet Will Robie (from "The Innocent"), a larger than life cold-blooded professional killer for the US government. Robie is given his hardest and most dangerous assignment yet - to hunt down and eliminate rogue fellow assassin Jessica Reel who has killed her handler and is systematically killing associates. Reel is especially deadly because she is almost Robie's match as a professional killer.

His thoughts on the assignment are simple - "Sending a killer to catch a killer actually made sense. We talk a different language and we see the world through a separate prism that no one else could possibly understand....So Reel dead, or me. It really was that simple. And also that complicated."

As with most of Baldacci's stories, nothing is as it seems and the plot has more exciting twists and turns than a fast paced game of snakes and ladders and nobody can be trusted. Along the way Robie encounters booby traps, firebombs, ambushes and big games of double-cross and conspiracy.

Over the years Baldacci has built an enviable collection of amazing characters and Will Robie is amongst the best, especially because at rare times he does show some signs of humanity and trust in others. Robie painfully reflects on the conflict between being a killer and being a human being. "The only problem is, I can't be both". As you get to know her, Jessica Reel is another complex and compelling character.

This book is David Baldacci at his best with great actions and characters. Highly recommended - it will keep you guessing to the end so sit back and make time to read this book because once you are hooked it will be hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT HIS BEST WORK, June 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hit (Will Robie Series) (Hardcover)
I have read many of the reviews written about this book and just can't agree with the people who gave it five stars. I love David Baldacci's books and have enjoyed most of them but this one was predictable and just didn't grab me. The opening scene got my attention and led me to believe that it was going to be another Will Robie page turner however, it fell flat after that. I continued to read hoping that it would pick up, which it did, somewhere around the middle of the book. It was, indeed, full of twists and turns but was still predictable with flat characters and boring dialogue. Will I buy the next Baldacci book? Yes, because this author is capable of writing wonderful novels - just look at the Camel Club series and the two previous novels featuring Will Robie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 181 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAST-PACED and ACTION-PACKED, April 7, 2013
This review is from: Hit (Paperback)
THE HIT is the second book in the Will Robie Assassin series after The Innocent and is another well-written, captivating thriller that grabs the reader's attention and won't let go until the very end. Then it becomes a memorable story you won't forget any time soon.

When the U.S. Government needs a black op commissioned to rid the world of undesirables and threats, they call on their number 1 hitman, Will Robie. He is effective, deadly and will leave no trace back to him or his handler, the Government. Enter Jessica Reel, a fellow agent; lethal assassin also, nearly as good as Will, and has just gone rogue. Will's instructions are clear - remove the threat of this rogue agent by any and all means, dead or alive, they want her out of commission, permanently.

But there are two sides to every story. Has Jessica really gone rogue, or has someone high up in Government made it look like she's a threat? Things are not what they appear at first glance.

The author takes the reader on a gripping ride with more twists and turns than a snake on speed. A fast-paced, action thriller that I highly recommend.

Bestselling author,
RJ Parker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Baldacci Finally Crashed, May 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The author must have been in a big hurry when he wrote this book. It was not up to his usual standards. The plot was an out of world experiences; so far out of world that it never came back to earth. Poor, poor, poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not His Best, May 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Baldacci used to be one of my favorite authors, but in the last 3-4 years, his characters have become more 2-dimensional and his plots less original. The Hit doesn't match his Absolute Power or Total Control from years gone by. Still - an entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Read up on ballistics and basic physics, Baldacci, May 4, 2013
I was amazed when I read "The long distance flight of a 7.62 round built up astonishing kinetic energy. In fact the farther it travelled the more energy it built up." This is not just wrong, but profoundly wrong. It makes me wonder if Baldacci is not only ignorant of how firearms work, but fundamentally ignorant of basic physics. It is also amazing that the publisher did not have someone with knowledge of firearms and/or science read the manuscript before they published the book. Maybe he has bullets confused with simple skyrockets, which can actually build up velocity the longer they fly. He also thinks that the barrel of a sniper rifle will float: "... plugged the barrel of his rifle with the quick-hardening solution and pitched it down one tunnel; a constant flow of water would carry it out to the East River, where it would sink into oblivion." I'll give it 2 stars. It would have been more except for the bizarre "facts" he inserts about how things work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Way below par, June 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I like superficial, plot driven thrillers and Baldacci usually writes very entertaining ones. But this story was more like a super hero comic book with two main super spy assassins using their super spy powers to get out of one impossible mess after another to finally thwart an omni-present evil villain in the end. The book needed some humor or something...but it was just way below par.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 96 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars write by numbers, May 14, 2013
By 
Verbier Library (Verbier, Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hit (Will Robie Series) (Hardcover)
I am living on another planet from all those five star reviewers. How can anyone call this book exciting, or a page-turner? How lame do you have to be to roll over and kick your legs in the air for crap like this?

This book is padded out and grotesquely derivative. In his Puller books, Baldacci shamelessly steals from Jack Reacher. In this book Stephen Hunter is crudely aped. But the real problem is an utter lack of imagination. There is not a single scene in this book which has not already been written elsewhere.

Annoying too is the attempt to pad out the book, in the kindle edition, by presenting blank chapter pages after every two or three pages of text.

With all the excellent inside and detailed portrayals of the White House in novels and on tv, and with similar exposure of our intelligence agencies, in HOMELAND for eg, today's readers cannot be put off with Baldacci's glib and unconvincing writing.

Both his agents happen to speak Arabic, with NO accents? They travel everywhere with tons of weapons? Please, make an effort to help us suspend disbelief.

That is the problem. Baldacci has become so successful he does not want to work. He hands out drivel and says, 'Pay for it, suckers, and write five star reviews'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Hit, May 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not this author's best work. The plot is contrived and, in the end, quite predictable. Bring back the Camel Club series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 47 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Same thing, April 28, 2013
This book was slow to get into. It also had the same themes as other books written by him and a lot that was VERY close to other ideas and story lines of other authors. Maybe he needs to take a break or get a different topic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2427 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hit (Will Robie Series)
The Hit (Will Robie Series) by David Baldacci (Hardcover - April 23, 2013)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.