Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Hite Report on Male Sexuality
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars10
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 11, 2014
Here in one book, all you ever wanted to know and much more about male sexuality is found in The Hite Report on Male Sexuality by Shere Hite.
7,239 men from ages 13 to 97 were asked a series of 168 questions about sex. The contents are broken down in broader headers and nine major parts, from as simple as “being male”, “relationships with women”, to “sexuality of older men” and “rape, paying for sex, and pornography.”
This format of the book allows for a quick reference guide and the passages come from what men shared in the survey.
I found it fascinating to review and compare to my own perspective as a male. This book not only is a good reference on male sexuality, it is also is a snapshot of the views at the time of its publication. Since the 1970s our world has been transformed by the ideas and images that are transmitted into our lives on a daily basis.
This work also allows a format for men to be able to be honest to not only themselves but to the world when it comes to male sexuality. From what men desire, to what they see as their expectations of a good lover.
A great reference for any library or anyone who wants to enter a man’s psyche, which in essence they want more sex from their lovers.
22 comments|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
If you want to learn more about men in general and in particular cases, "The Hite Report on Male Sexuality" Shere Hite is an excellent resource and place to start. Many times women stereotype men or make claims against them without doing the research (reading and listening to their man and men in general).

"The Hite Report on Male Sexuality" will teach you a great deal if you're willing to hear what the men in this book have to say without growing defensive, and if you're willing to be open-minded and withhold judgment, you will learn. Some of the stories may surprise you while others will be just as you suspected, but still these men need to be heard.

It discusses how they feel about women whom they've dated, married and/or divorced. It is about their whole "beingness" as men (marriage, love, family, relationships with their fathers and mothers, other men, and, of course, their relationship with women). I cried, laughed and gasped at some of the things I read, but I came away with a greater, much greater understanding and feelings of compassion for all men. This is, of course, and older book, but men have not changed so much that the information within is not still relevant to understanding them. It is highly recommended, because these men actually had something important to say to women (and to the world).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2002
Whether the study was accurate enough or not, a lot of data in this book is still valuable. A great amount of men spoke out to a woman who knows how to interpret and how to write. Certainly during the time she wrote it, people were more loyal to any kind of study than nowadays, so you can't just say this book is only a nice thing to have on your shelves (referring to the review of the anonymous man from Argentina here below). It is not fair to state things are inaccurate and proven without mentioning the full (traceable) resources. In the book you can also see she has had many interviews with a lot of men. I still think Shere Hite has managed to collect valuable, timeless data.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2008
Sex researcher Shere Hite brings the same style from her earlier look at female sexuality. Again, Hite compiled information from thousands of anonymous questionaires from the late 1970's, publishing the results, comments, views and attitudes of respondents. The result is an interesting and informative look at male sexuality. This study dates from before safe sex and cyber porn, and many criticized Hite's methodology. Such criticism may be valid, but what sex survey ever got 100% honesty? This book was pretty good, but (perhaps as a male) her earlier book on women was more fun to read.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 1998
When this book was at first published, it was revolutionary. Following the female version, it showed men's oppinions about sexuality in a way that had never been discussed before. For people living in the nineties, just a small portion of the book remains interesting. Besides its obsolence, The Hite Report on Male Sexuality is statistically inaccurate, for it was proved that the choice of those 7000 men had a flawed criteria. The author based the research upon forms published in magazines she received. The result is that there's an abnormal concentration of men with sexual problems, causing a distortion in the result. Its historical importance, nevertheless, still remains, and that should be one's only reason to buy it.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2004
The data in this book is deeply flawed. Reading this book will give you an inaccurate picture of what american sexuality is like. The data is responses from a survey in Redbook Magazine. The data is not timeless, nor is it correct. For full details, read "Sex in America", a fully designed and cross checked survey - and look at the differences in the numbers. Make up your own mind.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2010
All the Hite reports are great. This book helped me to have insight into the male sexuality and the inner workings of the male brain when it comes to sex and relationships.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2014
People have to keep in mind that this book came out during the Sexual Revolution and pop psychology or sociological writing took off. I often wondered, when I first read this book, how Ms. Hite decided what resources were available and whether they were credible. A lot of the study is taken from men who were in prison, for example. It's an interesting read, but the jury is still out on the level of accuracy. This book would have come out during the time as such other titles as Nancy Friday's 'My Mother, Myself'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2013
This book far exceeded my expectations, it is full of valuable information. I think they covered every subject on human sexuality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2002
I already read the Hite report for women and this one was just as good. Anything you need to know about men you will find in this book. I liked both, they are very informative and interesting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.