Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just about all of them are here
Last I knew this had been certified for over 10 million in sales so I'm not sure how many people interested in this don't have it already, but those wanting to get an overview of just about all of Garth's hits will find most of them here. (Singles pre-1994, that is. That means don't look for "She's Every Woman","The Fever","Beaches of Cheyenne","The Change","It's Midnight...
Published on May 2, 2005 by Greg Brady

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars the hits
I bought this when it first came out. The only Garth cd I had before this was the Garth Brooks Collection that you could get at McDonald's. So having most of his hits on one cd was better then having them all spread out with a bunch of none singles was better.
The only complaint that I had was that I felt they should have put Learning To Live Again on here. Other...
Published 1 month ago by john thomas


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just about all of them are here, May 2, 2005
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Last I knew this had been certified for over 10 million in sales so I'm not sure how many people interested in this don't have it already, but those wanting to get an overview of just about all of Garth's hits will find most of them here. (Singles pre-1994, that is. That means don't look for "She's Every Woman","The Fever","Beaches of Cheyenne","The Change","It's Midnight Cinderella","That Ol' Wind","In Another's Eyes","Long Neck Bottle","She's Gonna Make It","Two Pina Coladas","To Make You Feel My Love" or "You Move Me")

If you're not sure what Garth means to country music, consider that before him a country show primarily meant the musicians simply performing without much showmanship. Garth brought flames, smokescreen, flying out over the stage on wires and other razzle dazzle to his shows and fans turned up in droves. He reminded country performers that a little spectacle isn't necessarily a bad thing.

HIGHLIGHTS:
All of these were chart hits to some degree or other but obviously some songs stand taller than others. To this day, "Friends in Low Places", "The Thunder Rolls", "Unanswered Prayers" and "If Tomorrow Never Comes" still get frequent (and deserved) airplay. "That Summer" doesn't get as many spins, but it should because it's a perfect evocation of the emotions every man goes through the first time he has sex. Garth was right about "Callin' Baton Rouge"...it's a great song. At least if New Grass Revival couldn't get a solid hit out of it, they got some recognition for the tune.

LOWS:
"American Honky-Tonk Bar Association" (the same stereotypes as on "Friends in Low Places" but without the great sense of humour) and the preachy "We Shall Be Free" are the clunkers here, despite their chart appearance.

BOTTOM LINE:
He was the Country Music Association Entertainer of the Year 5 times. He's one of only 3 musicians to ever appear as both host and musical guest on "Saturday Night Live" (Dolly Parton was 1 of the other 2...not bad company). These are the greatest hits of the most popular country artist of the 1990s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A country music phenomenon, July 18, 2005
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Garth Brooks recorded some great songs many of which are included in this fine collection, which was compiled from his first five albums (Garth Brooks, No fences, Roping the wind, The chase, In pieces). Garth's phenomenal success in his American homeland contrasts sharply with his international profile. He became very popular in some countries (notably Ireland) but conspicuously failed to make more than a limited impact elsewhere, notably Britain, where he had a few hit singles but his chart history is not spectacular, so this review focuses primarily on his American career.

Garth's first single (Much too young) was a great song but the other two hits (If tomorrow never comes, The dances) from his debut album (simply titled Garth Brooks) really set up his career. Irish singer Ronan Keating later had a British number one hit with a cover of If tomorrow never comes. While his debut album provided Garth was a great start to his career, he was at that stage overshadowed by another rising country star, Clint Black. While Clint was never quite able to match the brilliance of his debut album, Garth took country music to a whole new audience.

Garth's second album (No fences) yielded four major hits (Friends in low places, Unanswered prayers, The thunder rolls, Two of a kind working on a full house). Garth co-wrote The thunder rolls before he had a recording contract and Tanya Tucker was the first singer to record hit. Tanya's brilliant version was not released on an album at the time (it later appeared on a 4-CD boxed set in 1994) so Garth recorded it himself. The album eventually sold well over ten million copies in America, reaching out to a pop and rock audience that traditionally ignored country music.

Garth's third album (Roping the wind) consolidated Garth's status as a superstar. No less than six tracks from it can be found here, these being Burning bridges (a hit for Garth in Spain), Shameless (a cover of a Billy Joel song), What she's doing now (co-written by Garth but first recorded by Crystal Gayle), Rodeo, Papa loves Mama and the title track.

Garth's fourth album (The chase) is represented by just two tracks here (We shall be free, That summer). Garth is upset at the controversy generated by We shall be free. He and Stephanie Davis, who co-wrote the song, intended it to be a simple love song but the lyrics can be interpreted differently to make it sound like a political anthem. Listen and judge for yourself.

Garth's fifth album (In pieces) is represented by three tracks here (Ain't going down till the sun comes up, Calling Baton Rouge (a cover of a song first recorded by the New Grass Revival, who back Garth on his version of the song), American honky-tonk bar association). The European edition of this compilation, also long out of print, includes two further tracks from this album (Standing outside the fire, The red strokes).

This collection fairly represents Garth's classic period. Although he continued to record further albums, he never quite recaptured the magic of his first five albums. This hits collection was released as a limited edition and is long out of print, but the original albums are still in print. If you can't find a used copy, I recommend you begin with No fences, then pick up In pieces, Garth Brooks, Roping the wind and The chase in that order, stopping if you feel you've got as much of Garth as you want. Garth also recorded a Christmas album (Beyond the season) during this period, which is also worth hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1st Country CD I bought and the best one, September 9, 2004
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I never liked country music until I gave this CD a try back in 1994. It introduced me to Garth and to country, and I loved both ever since. Ever track on The Hits is a keeper, unlike all of Garth's studio albums which has a few fillers. Highly recommended to everyone!!! Doesnt get any better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection Of Garth Brooks Biggest Hits!, July 19, 2002
By 
Barron Laycock "Labradorman" (Temple, New Hampshire United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
While I am not a very big fan of country music, I have watched Garth Brooks' career with interest, for he seems to have a talent for producing some very interesting music and with a series of collaborators certainly has a lyrical gift worth appreciating. On particular songs such as "The Dance", he shows how high he is able to soar as an artist, although I have to confess that a lot of his other songs I find less than enthralling. Still, I am of the opinion that this collection of his hits is well worth listening to, and there really is something worth listening to here for everyone, even if much of what is here is not necessarily for everyone.
I am a sucker for most sentimental songs, although I do have limits, and much of what country music presents goes far beyond what I can appreciate, over into the land of contrived hooks and emotional showboating. Yet most of us would agree that "if Tomorrow Never Comes" is one of those songs that runs recklessly on the edge of the latter but stays beautifully just inside the limits of what even an old curmudgeon like me has to love! So, too, does the thoughtful emotionalism forwarded in "The River" and "Unanswered Prayers" provide us with examples of just how good Garth can be at his best. So too his magical lyrical confections catch us up in spite of ourselves in songs like "Standing Outside The Fire". Garth does indeed have a way with words.
We all should appreciate the degree to which Brooks has been an influence on the direction of contemporary country music, and I dare to be of the opinion that he has helped to encourage a degree of seriousness and purpose among many young songwriters that the general level of excellence has been lifted. While we may always be victimized by the "You Flushed Me Down The Toilet of Your Heart" kind of country singers, we can also look forward to an occasional glimpse at songs like "The Dance" or "The River" because of Garth. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Master Of Self-Promotion, January 2, 2007
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Love him or hate him, you have to admit that Garth Brooks knew how to sell himself to the masses. His career started out promising enough with his self-titled debut which included two of my personal favorites, "The Dance" and "Much Too Young (To Feel This Damn Old)." He followed that with the harbinger of things to follow, "No Fences," which included the tune that really put him on the map, the wonderful "Thunder Rolls," and the bar-friendly "Friends In Low Places." From there, Brooks' tunes took less of a personal and genuine turn and evolved into a hybrid of "what sells the most" and "what sounds most genuine to those outside of Country music."

Starting with the album, "Ropin' The Wind," Brooks began to crank out commercially successful, yet lyrically insignificant songs like "American Honky-Tonk Bar Association" and "Rodeo." He managed to fire off a couple of solid, meaningful songs like "Standing Outside The Fire" and "River," but most of his songs were fluff like "Ain't Goin' Down (Till The Sun Comes Up."

All of the aforementioned songs are available on "The Hits." It, much like every album after his first two, was also created to generate high, fast, and record-setting sales marks by having it put out in limited release. However, it's a very significant album in Country music history since it catalogs the first half of a career full of great promise (songs like "The Dance") and a huge ego (the forced-upon social tune, "We Shall Be Free"). It also signalled a turning point in Brooks' career with the release of even heavier commercial works such as "Fresh Horses" and "Sevens" after "The Hits" hit the store shelves.

Brooks' ego finally caught up with him with the abysmal "Chris Gaines" era. He suffered a huge commercial blow due to this experiment and he has never regained his status as a commercial star. However, this knock to the ego did result in the decent "Scarecrow" album, yet nothing has added up to the success of his pre-"The Hits" albums.

Brooks forever changed the face of Country music. He helped expose the world outside of Country music to great neo-traditional artists such as Alan Jackson and Vince Gill. He also helped pave the way for fluff acts like Tim McGraw and Kenny Chesney, who've managed to master Brooks' old formula of self-promotion.

From a blah cover like "Shameless" to a wonderful cover of "Callin' Baton Rouge," and every original hit and miss in between, "The Hits" is a crucial album to Country music history since it is a gathering of the best and worst of a true Country "performer" who single-handedly saved and destroyed real Country music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album for Country Haters, May 10, 2005
By 
earthwormgym "earthwormgym" (Fort Washington, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I first grudgingly heard this album in 1995 in the Navy. It made me a believer in the carms of Country. I am not a Country fan in the slightest, but Garth was single-handedly capable of making people like me become open minded. Since then I've been exposed to Tim McGraw and John Anderson. Some of it IS good. Forget the naysayers, listen to the album, and you'll find yourself enjoying it with little effort. Trust me on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must-own, June 2, 2006
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Anyone who likes Garth Brooks will love this album. It contains many of his best songs, including "The Dance," "The River," "Unanswered Prayers," "Callin' Baton Rogue," "Standing Outside the Fire," and "Friends in Low Places." It is a perfect showcase for his music, and I thoroughly enjoy listening to it whenever I do. Even if you are not a fan, you will still enjoy it due to the perfection of song selection. If you can find it anywhere, get it. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD is awesome!!, April 21, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
This was the very first Garth CD I bought and then I just had to have more of his albums. The lyrics to some of the songs really hit home with me. I love all the songs on this CD, but my very favorite one is The Dance. It really brings back some memories. I'd recommend this album to anyone!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, February 6, 2004
By 
Phillip (Midland, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
I didn't like country until i heard this cd. Some may argue that this isn't REAL country, but perhaps those who are complaining about the music should shut up and listen to the words of the song. Garth Brooks writes some of the most amazing songs all filled with wisdom and experience! Not only do i love the lyrics to the songs i love the music as well! It is by far one of the best cd's you can buy! VERY VERY WORTH IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best collection of his work., October 2, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Hits (Audio CD)
Garth has many albums but by far I feel that this one is his best. The collection on this CD has been played for countless hours and if it were a tape it would have been replaced many times over. You will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hits
The Hits by Garth Brooks (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.