Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cary Grant..still our leading man
Although the more-recent Cary Grant documentary "A Class Apart" (which is included as an extra on the Blu-ray release of "North By Northwest") has kind of negated this earlier 1988 documentary special, CARY GRANT: THE LEADING MAN is a good retrospective of the star who still epitomizes male masculinity and romance in the movies.

Initially pegged by producers as...
Published on June 16, 2011 by Byron Kolln

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Very old
While I appreciate that these old bios are available, I hate that they present them as "current" when they're 20 years old.

Everything about Grant is good, but there is a newer and better bio out there.
Published 12 months ago by Zabadu


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cary Grant..still our leading man, June 16, 2011
By 
Byron Kolln (the corner where Broadway meets Hollywood) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hollywood Collection - Cary Grant: The Leading Man (DVD)
Although the more-recent Cary Grant documentary "A Class Apart" (which is included as an extra on the Blu-ray release of "North By Northwest") has kind of negated this earlier 1988 documentary special, CARY GRANT: THE LEADING MAN is a good retrospective of the star who still epitomizes male masculinity and romance in the movies.

Initially pegged by producers as just a "walking prop" to which they attached such vibrant leading ladies as Mae West and Sylvia Sidney, Cary Grant forged his own identity through hard work; soon establishing himself as the leading male star of choice for screwball and romantic comedy heroes. Opposite Katharine Hepburn, Grant sparkled in "Sylvia Scarlett", "Bringing Up Baby", "Holiday" and "The Philadelphia Story". In "His Girl Friday", Grant played the no-nonsense newspaper editor who wins the heart of former wife Rosalind Russell all over again; and Irene Dunne was his leading lady for "The Awful Truth" (regarded as quite possibly the best screwball comedy ever made), in addition to the poignant melodrama "Penny Serenade". Perhaps most importantly, Cary Grant became one of the first actors to go freelance, at a time when most actors were under contract to specific studios.

In "None But the Lonely Heart", Grant earned an Academy Award nomination, playing against type as a man with a criminal past, trying to make amends with his ill mother. Hitchcock transformed Cary Grant in the 1940's as a suave man-of-the-world with a sexy, dangerous edge, in such classics as "Suspicion" and "Notorious". Deborah Kerr was his luminous love interest in the three-hankie classic "An Affair to Remember" in 1957; and in the underrated "Father Goose", Grant was a bedraggled hermit, suddenly forced to help care for shipwrecked schoolteacher Leslie Caron and her gaggle of schoolchildren.

CARY GRANT: THE LEADING MAN is peppered with clips from many of Grant's best films, and has some illumimating interviews from former leading ladies Deborah Kerr and Leslie Caron.

The only thing that irks me at all about these Gene Feldman/Suzette Winter "Hollywood Collection" documentary DVDs is their advertised running-times as opposed to their real running-times. The back of the box for this Cary Grant DVD, for instance, says 127 minutes when in actuality the programme itself is 60 minutes. Factoring in the bonus materials (much of it appears on all the "Hollywood Collection" titles, like trailers and a "Meet the Producers" segment), then yes it would probably take just over two hours to watch all the content on the disc. It's just a bit misleading to think you're in for an indepth, lengthy documentary when all you really get is 60 minutes. Otherwise, these "Hollywood Collection" biography discs are a good buy for classic movie fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great series., May 10, 2013
By 
Anne (Boonton, NJ) - See all my reviews
All of the biographies in this series are very well done! Photographs and interviews rarely seen before are included in these documentaries that give greater insight into the person being profiled. Gary Grant has a much more interesting history than I imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you loved Cary Grant, don't miss this one!, February 23, 2014
By 
C. Ricucci (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, this bio is 25 years old and we know more about Cary Grant today than we did then, based on other biographies of him as well as autobiographies of Dyan Cannon and others who were close to Grant. But I thought this documentary was excellent and I had a great time watching it. There's so much in it that I never knew, and I had fun seeing clips of so many of his films, including some of my favorites. If you enjoy movie classics and appreciated Cary Grant's range of talent, grab your popcorn -- you'll like this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love that man!, October 22, 2013
I'm a huge Cary Grant fan! Love his movies, this was a pleasant look at Cary's life and I liked the way it included the movies he did as milestones in his life. Very enjoyable and educational.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and interesting, July 9, 2014
Cary Grant has been a favorite of mine, I found this interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unique, Without Qualifier (as is correct), June 11, 2014
Primarily, I can never get tired of just watching Cary Grant! No one demonstrated the body grace, versatility, expressive affect, and - need I say it - phenomenal physical appearance as this timeless actor. Too bad he was so insecure for so long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see for any Cary Grant fan!, April 28, 2014
A must see for any Cary Grant fan! This was very revealing story and understandably a great factor in his acting success!

ViGan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting story about the life of an icon, March 16, 2014
Great story about America's leading man. There were a lot of interesting facts about this great actor. I enjoyed watching it and recommend it to everyone who likes movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fascintating story the life of Cary Grant, March 11, 2014
By 
A Real Comment "ng" (California, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Hollywood Collection - Cary Grant: The Leading Man (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching this and reading his biography. He was a man of many layers but a professional actor. He had a lot of discipline with his instrument (body) and lived a good life. So handsome and complexed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Honest and Well Done, January 5, 2014
Very fairly portrayed and well done. It offers a glimpse into the world of a man who was very well known on screen, but ever so private off of it. Nice to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Hollywood Collection - Cary Grant: The Leading Man
$19.95 $17.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.