Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Holy Bible: King James Version
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 17, 2009
I have several Bible translations on my Kindle (NIV, NET, ESV, NKJV) and I waited for months for the publisher (Thomas Nelson) to finally release the Kindle edition of the NKJV. I went so far as to write to the publisher and was told that they were taking time to make sure they got it just right. The other translations have the table of contents setup so that at the beginning of each Bible book the chapters have links so that you can jump to them. With the NKJV Kindle edition there are no chapter links so to get to Isaiah Chapter 50 you have to page through until you get there. To make matters worse, you can't tell what chapter you are in except on the first page of each. (see the NET Bible which has chapter and verse notation.
1111 comments|504 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2009
This NKJV for the Kindle was recently updated in October 2009 to fix some of the formatting issues present in the previous version as well as enabling chapter navigation. One word of caution regarding chapter navigation is that it works very well for me with the Old Testament but not so well with the New Testament (would take too long to explain). At any rate, I use this Kindle version as my daily reader and use 4 book marks to pick up where I last left off: 1. In the Old Testament 2. Book of Psalms. 3. Book of Proverbs. 4. New Testament.

When I need to study something in depth, I either go to (blueletterbible dot org) or pull out one of my leather bound Bibles.

Don't at all be afraid to get this bible if you are going to use it as your daily reader. Again, not so good for in depth bible study unless you get really, really good at using the kindle's search feature.

If you need a kindle Bible with better chapter navigation...get one of these: NKJV New Spirit Filled Life Bible or KJV: Holy Bible - The Illustrated King James Bible (King James Version, KJV): The Old & New Testaments, Deuterocanonical literature, Glossary and Suggested Reading. Illustrated by Gustave Dore
88 comments|309 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2012
Each page of this Bible contains three columns of very small print. I can't even imagine trying to read it. I am extremely disappointed.
review image
22 comments|29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2007
As one who has numerous bibles, I read and study from various versions including the NASB, NIV, TNIV, NRSV, ESV, HSCB, and the NKJV. Generally, for easy reading I go to the NIV or its updated TNIV. But for really serious study I go to the NASB and the NKJV.

I love the accuracy of the word-for-word translations which the NASB and the NKJV provides. Though a little more difficult at times to understand, you know they're accurate and true to the original languages.

The huge advantage of this NKJV Large Print UltraSlim Bible is its large print! It is superior to all the other bibles I have maybe with the exception of the Zondervan NIV Wide-Margin Bible. Therefore, for someone like me who is over 60 and wears bifocals, this is a huge plus!

The only thing I don't like about the NKJV Large Print UltraSlim Bible is the typesetting of the words of Jesus. They're printed in red ink of which the coloring is inconsistent from page to page and for some reason does not line up exactly with the rest of the verse(s). But then you have to realize you're not paying a whole lot for this Bible!

This Bible has 1200 pages which includes a 66-page concordance. This is not a study Bible meaning it doesn't have study notes or reference verses. However, being true to the NKJV it includes footnotes where it varies with the Critical and Majority Texts.

As others before me have commented, this Bible is very light, being about 1-inch thick, making it very easy to take just about anywhere. Sure, the cover isn't high quality, but the binding is excellent and I find the Bible to easily lay flat regardless of what page I'm on. That for me is a huge plus!

One more thing, there is very little in the way of margins in this Bible at 3/8ths of an inch all around. So, not easy to write notes. But I have found that you can use a fine-point ink pen and underline at your hearts content and not have to worry about the ink bleeding through! Of all the Bibles I own, this is the only one that I can do this with. This means that the quality of paper used in this Bible is excellent!
0Comment|134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2008
For those of you who don't know, this is God's second novel after the Old Testament. It's a marked improvement, in my opinion. He got rid of a lot of his previous angst and scorn, and has really begun to show some of the maturity present in his later works. He's become a much more loving and kind God, and, noticeably, he doesn't throw nearly as many tantrums as he did in the first book.

That said, there is still vast room for improvement. Plot wise, there isn't really much suspense, and the story can be incredibly repetitive. In like four chapters, he just rewords the same basic story over and over again. To top that off, he puts those chapters one right after the other. Like we wouldn't notice! I like the whole Jesus character, but let's face it, the whole good guy martyr thing has been done before. There was no need to devote so much of the book to that guy.

If you're really looking for a good God read, check out the Koran or the Book of Mormon. They're much more polished. Plus, the storytelling in the Book of Mormon is wild. Some people say it goes too far and point to it as evidence that God's over the hill, but I beg to differ. Just read it. God's like a genius or something. I mean, magic spectacles! Tell me that isn't awesome. I don't know how he dreams up some of this crap.
207207 comments|3,150 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2006
I was very pleased with both the price and the quality of the Ultra Slim New King James Version Bible. The print is larger than other bibles I have had and yet it is slim and lightweight enough to carry. I would recommend this book to those with "over 40" eyes. The slightly larger print has reduced eye strain.
0Comment|106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2011
This Comedy-Fantasy is one of my favorites to read when I'm having a bad day, along with the Monty Python and the Holy Grail transcript! King James is a comedic genius rivaling Ricky Gervais and will surely be remembered as such for generations to come.

The plot follows the antagonistic character God, an angsty old man hungry for power, who becomes bored in his isolation and so creates a magical world where he places a naked man and a woman, but neglects to tell them the difference between right and wrong. He puts a magic forbidden apple on a tree and places a magic snake to tempt the naked people to eat the magic apple, apparently forgetting that he forgot to teach them what it means to be "wrong" about trusting the snake and eating the apple- so they eat the apple, and then the fun really begins!

Follow God through the years as he overcomes obstacles such as figuring out how to kill off the human race, impregnating a married woman, and being generally disliked by the majority of the world's population!

With countless stories about incest, murder, rape, violence, and genocide OK'd by God, The Holy Bible is a laugh a minute! I just love that every hotel I visit already has The Holy Bible laid out for me, where I can easily reach it if I am feeling homesick and need a quick pick-me-up.

::SPOILER ALERT::

The character Satan fill's the role of God's avasary. Satan and God both enjoy killing people- in the end however, with his all-powerful and all-knowing magical powers, God racks up thousands of kills while Satan is barely able to boast a handful!

The next time you find yourself a hankerin' for a Saturday night box office comedy, consider a cheaper alternative. Stay home and read the Bible.
6666 comments|1,784 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2009
Ok....here's the low down on the Kindle version of this Bible.

1. There is no chapter navigation. If you are someone looking for a study Bible and need chapter navigation, then this Bible is not for you. It does have book navigation, so you can get in the vicinity of where you are searching.

2. This is a great version of the Bible, and unfortunately it is only one available on the Kindle. I am waiting for another publisher to get on the ball and release one to Amazon. If you need this version of the Bible, then you are stuck.

3. It is perfect for either reading the Bible straight through or a particular book of the Bible straight through. I am using it for my daily reading Bible. Once again, if chapter and verse navigation are important to you, then stay away! This is a reading Bible.

I hope this helped!
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2003
This book is one of the most disjointed novels I've read in a long while. If you think about it, it's more a collection of short stories by various authors that tell the story of God and his sundry children, most of them Hebraic. God is a pretty powerful heavy, though it's implied that he incorporeal and invisible. Although he's usually depicted in the movies sitting on a throne and sporting a long beard, in "Exodus," he appears as a bolt of fire. Other places in the book, he speaks as a burning bush. Excellent special fx all throughout.
There's a lot of begats going on, and in the chapter titled "Song of Solomon," we get a nice PG-13 to R-rated glimpse of the ... sensual mores of these people.
There's also a pretty cool story about this guy named Job and how God had an ongoing bet with Satan as to who would win his soul. I don't want to give away the ending, but there's a lot of pathos, hubris and plotlines right out of such movies as "Trading Places," "Meet John Doe" and "Life Stinks."
My favorite one, though is about Moses, and how he led his people out of Egypt and to the promised land. Along the way, though, Dathan tries to make them worship a golden calf. Personally, I preferred the movie version, as directed by Cecil B. deMille: The character development of Moses (played by Chuck Heston), Dathan (Edward G. Robinson) and Moses' mother (the ever comely Anne Baxter) is much improved. And also, in Technicolor.
There is little plot to this book, save for in the second half, much of which revolves around God's son, Jesus, an interesting fellow. Definitely, the story has finally hit a stride, so the New Testament reads like a novella. Everywhere this Jesus guy goes, he travels with his posse of "Apostles," who aren't your standard yes men. Although they all sing his praises when the going's good, one gives a great "I don't know about no Jesus" performance (Peter) worthy of a scruffy rat like Steve Buscemi. Another (Judas) sells out Jesus for a bunch of dead presidents, like Sean Penn did in "Carlito's Way." Unfortunately, Jesus gets rubbed out by an Italian gang, "The Romans," who torture him and nail him to a cross in revenge for representing on their turf. Lots of high drama here.
"Revelations" was pretty weird, sort of like watching "Fantasia" while doing mushrooms, only a lot scarier.
Altogether, an excellent read.
44 comments|303 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2004
I'm not generally a fan of fantasy fiction, but I felt obligated to read this title, it being the popular example of the genre. The story has a good premise that I can't help but think suffers in its implementation. The collaborative writing and editing processes, to say nothing of numerous translations, render the basic message somewhat indistinct. For example, as early as the first chapter, the authors make an attempt to introduce literally everything into the plot, even going so far as to suggest that the beginning of the story is the beginning of the universe. The rest of the book, however, makes no attempt to reconcile these far-reaching plot threads, instead focusing solely on the actions of a (relatively) small group of characters in the Middle East. Even with these strenuous limitations the remainder of the novel suffers from an overabundance of characters, most of whom are crude caricatures and only mentioned in passing. The authors would have done better to limit the scope of the plot, both in time and setting, to better highlight their message. The few characters who are developed suffer from serious inconsistencies as a result of the collaborative writing process.
Take, for example, the main character, God. In the first half of the book, which has a very linear and logical format, God is something of a bully. Only a few pages into the first chapter he has condemned the entire human race to a lifetime of suffering by casting their ancestors out of an idyllic paradise. Whenever anyone says or does anything critical of him, God either kills them outright or makes them wish they were dead. He kills women and children, he levels cities, at one point he even wipes out the whole human race with the exception of a single elderly couple, who are forced to engage in years of back-breaking manual labor simply to survive. God's history is never fleshed out; the authors simply leave him in place, unchanging, as a literal deus ex machina to be called into play whenever the plot gets too convoluted. It isn't hard to imagine that God's character in this part of the book was inspired by the Greek ideal of Zeus: an omniscient entity who rains suffering upon mankind from on high whenever he's in a bad mood.
At some point the original authors apparently felt they had done their part and the book sat around unfinished for a few centuries until a new group came along to add their contribution. The second portion of the story, the "New Testament", doesn't start off in a promising manner: God, evidently still in his Zeus mode, impregnates a mortal woman who, by his own admission, has done nothing wrong. (The authors even make a point of saying that, although married, she was a virgin prior to this episode.) Predictably, she gives birth to a half-human demigod, who at the age of thirty suddenly decides to start talking to people about his origins. Apparently fatherhood has softened God up somewhat; he's now willing to forgive and forget, no matter what people do, as long as they're willing to tell him how great his son, Jesus, is. The authors make no attempt to explain the about-face, and after a while some Romans show up to kill off the Jesus character, without God's interference. The intervening portions of the book are devoted to a collection of pithy parables with less-than-subtle morals, presented out of order and without context. Here the editors' methodology of slapping together the works of disparate authors, even leaving out whole books to clear up the larger inconsistencies, comes into play. A few main characters wander about, telling everyone how great Jesus was, presumably so that God, who doesn't show up at all in this part of the story, will treat them well. The narrative is stripped of any cronological basis and on the whole becomes fairly tedious.
Having fortunately sensed that they were losing their audience, a third group of authors then came along and added a brief summary so fantastic that it makes the rest of the book seem like an accurate history. God makes another appearance, just in time to see the human race he allegedly loved destroyed - except, of course, for those people who told other people about what a nice guy his son was.
On the whole, the book could have better presented its moral message by sticking to a well-defined format, be it a cronological narrative or a succession of fables. It's certainly worth a read; just be prepared to be confused by the characters and their motivations.
77 comments|245 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse