Customer Reviews


867 Reviews
5 star:
 (466)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (80)
2 star:
 (69)
1 star:
 (132)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


272 of 298 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recently Updated in October 2009!!!!!!
This NKJV for the Kindle was recently updated in October 2009 to fix some of the formatting issues present in the previous version as well as enabling chapter navigation. One word of caution regarding chapter navigation is that it works very well for me with the Old Testament but not so well with the New Testament (would take too long to explain). At any rate, I use this...
Published on October 5, 2009 by Amazon Lover

versus
455 of 496 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Finally NKJV for the Kindle .... But no chapter navigation
I have several Bible translations on my Kindle (NIV, NET, ESV, NKJV) and I waited for months for the publisher (Thomas Nelson) to finally release the Kindle edition of the NKJV. I went so far as to write to the publisher and was told that they were taking time to make sure they got it just right. The other translations have the table of contents setup so that at the...
Published on February 17, 2009 by Charlie Crusan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 587 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 111 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't get it, July 21, 2011
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
Still scratching my head over this one. It starts with the story of a talking snake and ends with a story about a seven headed dragon. In the middle there were stories about swarms of frogs, lice, locusts and flies; bears eating kids; talking donkeys; a giant fish ate a guy at one point; there were swine that go crazy and jump off of cliffs; there was this guy who made a big boat and filled it with all kinds of animals and then floated around for awhile following birds.

Even though there was some sex, murder and magic in it, it was overall a weird, disjointed rambling book that didn't make much sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


157 of 203 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written horror book about an awful dicator called God., November 6, 2010
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
The bible is a poorly written book that does not contribute to believing in the Christian god whatsoever, quite the opposite. It's absolutely filled with contradictions after contradictions, factual and scientific error, false history and lies.
The book is only valid as a book of fiction to understand why our history has been filled with genocide and murder.
If the holy bible had at least been well written I would have given it 2 points but it's just so awful in every way that it would not be honest to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 102 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fiction, July 19, 2011
By 
Paul Morgan (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
When it comes to fantastic stories, this is pretty good. When it becomes the basis for the belief in a non-existent mythical "God", then it becomes dangerous. To base your life on such ridiculous nonsense shows lack of a rational mind. Every bit as daft as believing in magical pixies at the bottom of the garden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 198 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Blasphemy!, July 19, 2011
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
King James has taken some of his inspiration from Pastafarianism, but corrupted its message beyond all recognition. There is no mention of Pirates, or the Heavenly beer volcano, or His Divine Noodliness, the FSM.

Save your immortal saucy-souls, and rejoice in the one true book, The Gospel of the Flying Spaghetti Monster
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 156 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Holy Crap!, July 19, 2011
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
I picked up this book because I heard it depicted the hero of mankind as Jesus Christ. Turns out that he was a total push over!

SPOILER ALERT!!!

Okay, so first of all his mom cheated on his dad with a holy pimp and got knocked up. Wham bam thank you ma'am = the bastard child Jesus. So Jesus wanders around speaking gibberish and throws tantrums vandalizing merchant tables and destroying their local businesses. He thinks he has a right to break other people's stuff cause he is the word of an omnipotent creature in the sky... Yea, he's crazy. Someone's got some MAJOR daddy issues. So obviously the Roman cops wanna stop this mad man from spreading his wild ideas and creating more pandemonium in the area. Jesus tricks people into thinking he has magical powers by preforming some street magic he learned online and from watching Chris Angel on TV until he has a big following of people who kiss his feet and do anything he says.

He eventually gets caught and nailed to a cross and everyone's like, "Yo, Jesus! Just use your magic, bro!"

And he's all like, "No! I don't want to!"

And they're like, "But dude, you're gonna die!"

And he's all like, "Yea, so? Whatever, I don't care..." But you could totally tell by the look on his face he was like, "Oh crap, I'm screwed."

Then he got stabbed in the side with a spear and everyone was like, "DAAAAAMN!" and he died like a normal person would. Then some of his old buddies robbed his grave and walked around with his corps like the movie Weekend at Bernie's and pretended he was still alive until he started to decompose. Then they just dumped him in a ditch. That's basically it.

I don't get why people think that guy ever did anything useful. He was a crazy bum ranting about the rapture and repentance just like your average homeless psycho in the streets of New York or Philly. And we all know those bums are crazy, but for some reason people are like, "Oh no, not Jesus. He's not crazy. He said get rid of everything you own cause rich people go to hell. Totally logical." What a bunch of crap. Batman could kick his butt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 118 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, October 5, 2009
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
This book is the holy grail for learning how to become evil. God is such a master at this!!! I am in awe at the magnitude of death in this book. Satan had to learn from someone! I give this book only 1 star however as the plot sucks seems to be taken from earlier books see Pagan etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 147 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not believable., June 24, 2008
By 
R. Nevitt (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
Is it too much to ask for an author to read what he writes and eliminate plot holes before publication?

Clearly anybody who read this and thinks it's a good read hasn't ever read an actual good book in their life.

I'd say this is the religious version of a Stephen King novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


142 of 184 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars inconsistent character traits, July 18, 2011
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
What started out as a good action adventure left me disappointed. I mean this character called the LORD, starts out with superpowers. He can control the weather, make people from dust,and even make critters talk. So when the star of the book of "Judges" (a fellow named Joshua) sets out to smite some canaanites, well he's feeling like a 15 year old after years of WOW gaming, cause the LORD tells him he's on his side. It's like a cake walk until he gets to the valley where those folks just won't be smitten! What's up with that? Joshua is riding this ALL POWERFUL LORD band wagon, and he gets stymied by a bunch of valley girls? And the author explains it by telling the reader it's because they had "iron chariots"! Come on! The author already told us the LORD could drown the whole world. How 'bout just enough rain to rust the wheels or something. Imagine if J.K.Rowling had Harry Potter fall off his broom in the Deathly Hollows after already establishing how great a "Seeker" he was. Where was the editor on this. I'm sorry but after that character gaff, the whole rest of the story just became too unbelievable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 100 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, boring and full of fallacies, July 18, 2011
This review is from: The Holy Bible: King James Version (Paperback)
Although it has been written more than 2000 years ago, I still would have expected more from such a best seller. It's very badly written, slow, almost childish at times. It was very difficult to finish and the numerous errors and inconsistencies leave the reader somewhat cheated. It's a no buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Quality, July 22, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The Read-Along References® are my favorite feature -- instead of having to search the center column to find the cross reference, it is embedded in the text next to the verse. I would give it 5 stars if there were introductory comments at the beginning of each book. The print is an ideal size -- not too big and not too small. It looks and feels like supple leather, and I expect will be very durable. The NKJV is a very accurate translation, but so is the English Standard Version (ESV) which is a little more readable (referring to the flow of words).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 587 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Holy Bible: King James Version
The Holy Bible: King James Version by Thomas Nelson (Paperback - February 24, 2005)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.