Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: "The Holy Mushroom: Evidence of Mushrooms in Judeo-Christianity"
In re-examining the rift between the late Dead Sea Scroll scholar John Marco Allegro and late amateur mycologist R. Gordon Wasson, "The Holy Mushroom: Evidence of Mushrooms in Judeo-Christianity" author Jan Irvin seeks not only to re-open a scholarly dialogue concerning the use of entheogens in Judeo-Christianity, but also to prove that entheogenic mushroom usage had been...
Published on January 4, 2009 by MatthewN

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good companion book if you know about John Allegro
If you have followed (or heard a little about) the controversy surrounding John Marco Allegro then this book "The Holy Mushroom" is a good book to read. It recounts events and reprints articles and letters to newspapers which were printed in the years following the publishing of John M Allegro's book The Sacred Mushroom and The Cross: A study of the nature and origins of...
Published on July 1, 2011 by TJ Stevens


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review: "The Holy Mushroom: Evidence of Mushrooms in Judeo-Christianity", January 4, 2009
This review is from: The Holy Mushroom: Evidence of Mushrooms in Judeo-Christianity: A critical re-evaluation of the schism between John M. Allegro and R. Gordon Wasson ... in The Sacred Mushroom and the Cross (Paperback)
In re-examining the rift between the late Dead Sea Scroll scholar John Marco Allegro and late amateur mycologist R. Gordon Wasson, "The Holy Mushroom: Evidence of Mushrooms in Judeo-Christianity" author Jan Irvin seeks not only to re-open a scholarly dialogue concerning the use of entheogens in Judeo-Christianity, but also to prove that entheogenic mushroom usage had been an integral part of these Abrahamic religions up to and possibly through the middle ages.

The study first starts off with an analysis of the missives between Wasson and Allegro pertaining to the Plaincourault fresco and Allegro's theory, as presented in his "The Sacred Mushroom and the Cross", that the fresco is but one piece of evidence highlighting the connection between Christianity and the holy mushroom. This thesis was in contrast to Wasson's own, which was that mushroom usage was indeed a part of Judeo-Christianity but did not extend anywhere past circa 1000 BCE, and that the Plaincourault fresco was merely a "stylized Palestinian tree".

Specific emphasis has been placed on the entheobotanical citations that Allegro used throughout "The Sacred Mushroom and the Cross" in order to detail what errors were actually his and which were those of the authors whom he referenced. As Allegro took the brunt of the blame for the incorrect information contained within the citations of, but not limited to, the chemical constituency of the amanita muscaria (fly-agaric) mushroom, this portion of the book is of particular importance in attempting to comprehend the larger concept that Allegro was presenting.

Included within the text are various color examples of Christian artwork depicting mushrooms in various motifs from the Bible. Furthermore, with the inclusion of the Epistle to the Renegade Bishops, Irvin presents direct proof that not only was the mushroom distinctively acknowledged, but that it was subsequently announced throughout all Christendom.

This work would make a fine addition to any library and is, in this reviewer's opinion, a must read for any scholar, theologian, religious historian, or amateur re-searcher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid scholarship to force assessment of entheogens throughout Christian history, December 27, 2008
This review is from: The Holy Mushroom: Evidence of Mushrooms in Judeo-Christianity: A critical re-evaluation of the schism between John M. Allegro and R. Gordon Wasson ... in The Sacred Mushroom and the Cross (Paperback)
Every entheogen historian needs to read this book, to see how the field has been distorted and prematurely limited by too much uncritical respect for Wasson. The strange case of Wasson and Allegro is inherently interesting, and I expect the casual reader of entheogen history to find this investigation and correction every bit as interesting as I did ever since I began investigating and unravelling what exactly Wasson wrote.

Why should anyone care about some esoteric nitpicks about what Allegro and Wasson wrote? This is the most interesting subject, because the history of this scholarship shows how entheogen scholarship has gone dreadfully wrong in the past, and how we need to fact-check every statement and assumption by even the most renowned scholars such as Wasson, and Allegro, and I now add T. McKenna.

The most important subject in the world is the question of to what extent were visionary plants used throughout Christian history. This book provides the right kind of evidence and argumentation to reverse the refusal to countenance that question, a refusal for which the exagerratedly venerated hero Wasson is largely to blame. There is a great abundance of evidence in support of the maximal entheogen theory of Christian history, which can be readily seen if one ignores Wasson's efforts to stymie the investigation. Examining the entire issue of use of all visionary plants in all religions in all eras, including all forms of evidence, it is now a certainty that Christianity has centrally incorporated visionary plants all throughout Christian history -- the question is no longer "did Christians use entheogens?"; the question has become "to what extent did Christians use entheogens?"

Irvin and I worked up many of these ideas together. What a time of revolutionary revision that has been, because what a cesspool of shoddy, flimsy argumentation, a travesty of scholarship, the whole Plaincourault issue has been. Plaincourault served as a proxy issue: Per Wasson's strategy of suppression, if Plaincourault isn't a mushroom, then we must not permit the question of the extent of visionary plant use in Christian history; per Allegro's side (which Allegro didn't take nearly far enough), if Plaincourault is a mushroom, then we must hasten to open that question wide up: just exactly how many Christians have ever used visionary plants as the Eucharist? Quite a few, it is clear from a coherent interpretation of the texts and iconography (there are countless pictures of mushrooms in Christian art, and many yet to be photographed and documented).

My systematic theory, published online and already announced to a wide variety of scholars in email, is that Christianity began not in themes from Egypt as Irvin and Acharya S would have it, but rather, first and foremost, as a counter-propaganda rebuttal to Roman Imperial theology. Roman imperial theology utilized the era's ubiquitous use of visionary plants such as in mystery initiation and symposium "drinking" parties, to prop up and justify Julius Caesar and Augustus Caesar's violent, crucifying system of empire.

In rebuttal, Christianity was created and became popular by utilizing anti-Roman, Jewish-styled themes, fabricating a counter-Caesar figure of Jesus. The origin of Christianity has two main parts: the use of visionary plants (which was utterly normal and ubiquitous in late antiquity), utilized for the purpose of not only individual spiritual enlightenment as Irvin would have it, but even more for the purpose of erecting an alternate, egalitarian, social-political support network, using a Jewish-like synagogue network that was separate from the official culture's honor-and-shame hierarchy.

The first centuries of Christians were all about using the plant-induced altered state to support an alternate social-political system, against the Roman Empire's use of visionary plants to prop up Caesar's honor-and-shame hierarchy system. This political motive for visionary plant use, which is my original research published online, is missing from Irvin's work -- he only has the visionary plants themselves, and connections to Egypt instead of the more relevant connections to the overall culture of the Roman Empire such as ruler cult.

I look forward to more books by Jan Irvin, Prof. Rush, and Carl Ruck blowing open the world's most important field of investigation, and the world's most suppressed and oft-evaded question: to what exact extent were visionary plants utilized throughout Christian history? First we need to quit the blinding dogmatic emotional attitude of T. McKenna and other entheogen historians that Christianity was evil and therefore cannot be countenanced to have centrally incorporated entheogens. It doesn't matter how evil Christianity was, the evidence must be permitted to speak for itself, that Christianity has always incorporated visionary plants to a substantial and central extent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good companion book if you know about John Allegro, July 1, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have followed (or heard a little about) the controversy surrounding John Marco Allegro then this book "The Holy Mushroom" is a good book to read. It recounts events and reprints articles and letters to newspapers which were printed in the years following the publishing of John M Allegro's book The Sacred Mushroom and The Cross: A study of the nature and origins of Christianity within the fertility cults of the ancient Near East
"The Holy Mushroom" is not a religious apologist view, and helpful in helping Allegro get back some respect for what evidently was a very brave piece of work, but which did not go down well with Christianity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars dry , but good read, January 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
i enjoyed this book , although it wasn't what i expected. I was expecting a little bit more about the actual mushrooms and Christianity itself, not just the argument between Allegro and Wasson. I would also recommend buying the colored edition, i bought the black and white copy hoping to save money but it wasn't worth it, you can hardly see the details of the images , there's a section of the book that has numerous pictures of mosaics, frescoes, and paintings showing mushrooms in churches. I also would recommend reading Allegro's book The Sacred Mushroom and the Cross before reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beginning to Shed Light on Dark History, December 29, 2008
By 
Mark Stahlman (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Holy Mushroom: Evidence of Mushrooms in Judeo-Christianity: A critical re-evaluation of the schism between John M. Allegro and R. Gordon Wasson ... in The Sacred Mushroom and the Cross (Paperback)
Mr Irvin has done a service by carefully dissecting the controversy over the use of mushroom-based entheogens in early Christianity. Contrary to what some have said, entheogens have played an important role in all of the world's religions, including Christianity.

Naturally, the actual history of the use of entheogens is a secret one. As a result, there is much scholarship that needs to be updated as the details of this occulted narrative increasingly become public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Holy Mushrrom, April 8, 2012
By 
Markus Tyler Bays (West Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is very informational and eye opening to some things that you may or may not have know about Jeudo-Christianity & Psychedelics. Although, I was expecting a simple presentation of information & proof, this books delves mostly into an atguement from the late 1960's between two authors/scientist about weather or not on peice of art work does or does not depict a psychedelic mushroom. Although knowledgable, and interesting to me, the common reader who does not read carefully at the review or summary of this book will be disapointed. Also the main bulk of the middle of the book is refferences from one of the autghors and quiet unbareable and uneeded for most to read. I thoroughly enjoyed this book, but readers please make sure you know what you are buying first, because although it was perfect for me, I see most as stating, "This isn't what I wanted."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ostrich Phenomenon, September 10, 2013
By 
mycogoddess (IslandMagee, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
How long will we continue to bury our heads in the sand? All the evidence is in and science is finding proof of this mushrooms amazing healing abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mushroom Jesus, June 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great Book for any Mushroom Jesus Researcher! This is a review of Allegro and Wasson's works by Jan Irvin regarding the Theory that the Bible references Sacred Mushrooms
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa853f54)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.