Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


203 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eternal Religion -- pervading ALL religions . . .
Swami Sri Yukteswar (1855-1936), whose westernly-known disciple was Paramahansa Yogananda, was a quiet, demanding Bengali teacher of Kriya Yoga, the advanced form of raja (meditative) yoga that Yogananda has made so popular in the west. Sri Yukteswarji, however, did not have the effusive, entertaining style of his popular disciple, nor did he write in as easily...
Published on December 18, 2002 by richardpinneau.com

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY THIS COPY OF THE BOOK
Better to buy the version published by Self-Realization Fellowship. This copy has size 20 font. The cover image is of poor resolution. Seems to be some kind of bad bootleg copy. It doesn't even have a library of congress page.
Published 10 months ago by Megan E. Flaherty


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

203 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Eternal Religion -- pervading ALL religions . . ., December 18, 2002
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
Swami Sri Yukteswar (1855-1936), whose westernly-known disciple was Paramahansa Yogananda, was a quiet, demanding Bengali teacher of Kriya Yoga, the advanced form of raja (meditative) yoga that Yogananda has made so popular in the west. Sri Yukteswarji, however, did not have the effusive, entertaining style of his popular disciple, nor did he write in as easily accessible manner. This slender volume is nevertheless to be highly recommended to the serious student of yoga philosophy or raja practice, and especially to students of Kriya Yoga, for whom Sri Yukteswar's penetrating insights will fit together important puzzle-pieces of the yoga spiritual path. (Beginners to yoga philosophy and practice would be well advised first to read Yogananda's "Autobiography of a Yogi" -- perhaps a few times and taking in even the technical footnotes -- before tackling "The Holy Science." )
The swami defines his volume's purpose to be: showing the essential unity of *all* religions. It is, but the emphasis definitely centers on parallels between John's gospel and Revelation and the yoga principles of India's Sankhya philosophy "Sanatan Dharma." Some of the most arresting parallels presented concern the way both teachings present concepts of "The Word", "Holy Baptism", and "Messiah/Satguru". Sri Yukteswarji does not expend extra words attempting to make unity persuasive to those who have a dogmatic conviction that their religion (Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, or whatever) has the "true" hold on "truth," so those who are so persuaded can safely skip this work. If, however, you have always had a nagging intuitive sense that there ought to be One Truth behind all versions of religious truth, time spent to assimilate the swami's realizations will be well repaid.
As a bonus there is a fascinating introductory chapter which explains India's macro-astrology and the astronomical progression of the equinoxes ( the phenomenon which leads western astrologers to speak of the coming "age of Aquarius"). This introduction to the Indian astrological system reveals it to be remarkably sophisticated -- offering reason to pause and reflect on the implications of a possible cyclical nature of *spiritual* ages ("yugas" to India) -- and new hope that humanity's spirituality will start to catch up with its technology... providing we attend to our dharmas!
Not an *easy* read -- but if you think you're ready for it, it can be an extremely rewarding one.
PS: Although as of this writing the Amazon photo of the jacket makes this appear to be the Spanish translation of the work, this ISBN ( 0876120516 ) is actually correct for the English language edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom of the Ages, January 4, 2005
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
At first reading this short book may seem too deep to cognize. But after study and reflection the Truths encased in this obscure treatise begin to roll around in your mind like a sacred vibration awakening the consciouness long after the words have been read.

For example, one point in the introduction regarding the yuga cycle has led me to a complete new understanding of history: it is a cycle not a linear progression, see [...] and another comment on the length and cause of precession (opposed to the lunisolar precession theory) has opened my eyes to the correct celestial mechanics of our local system, see [...] I just can't say enough about this book and the profound wisdom of its author.

Commissioned by Babaji at one of the most sacred spots on the planet, The Holy Science is a book ahead of its time. It is not for all, however, if you already meditate and you are seeking a deeper understanding of world ages, knowledge of cosmic order and the keys to a mystic life, get this book. The kinetic wisdom of its pages will kindle the love of Christ within you - into a bonfire of joy!

WC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPIRITUAL GIANT SINGS OUT ACROSS TIME, November 19, 2002
By 
MICHAEL HAIGH (ROTHERFIELD, EAST SUSSEX United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
Swami Sri Yukteswar's only book stands alone in that it was commissioned by the great Babaji for a specific purpose.(see Autobiography of a Yogi by Paramahansa Yogananda). It is difficult to grasp in many places but his wisdom and clarity are unmatched. His message rings out across the ages. It needs to be read in the context of Yoganada's Autobiography because it then becomes evident what a great being he was in that incarnation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Profound and Enlightening Study, June 1, 2006
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
The Holy Science is a deep and powerful book that, in a quiet and almost casual way, presents some revolutionary teachings--such as Sri Yukteswar's precedence-shattering treatment of the yuga cycle (ages of man).

This book is not long, but it takes a while to finish. Each sentence is a condensed mental mouthful that needs chewing and digestion. It's all extremely nourishing, but you want to take your time. When you read the words of Swami Sri Yukteswar you really get the feeling that here is someone who knows the answers to the most difficult questions, the thorniest problems. And that, behind his crystal clear mind lies the heart of a friend.

Sri Yukteswar was the guru of Paramhansa Yogananda, author of the spiritual classic Autobiography of a Yogi. If, after reading this book, you want to know more about the author, Yogananda has written in the early pages of his book one of the most beautiful and glowing tributes to a spiritual mentor in the history of literature.

Richard Salva--author of Soul Journey from Lincoln to Lindbergh [UNABRIDGED]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lead to by Spirit...., April 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
This book has so much spiritual information that it can not be absorbed in one, two or many readings. When I was contacted by my spirit guides many years ago enlightening information was passed on to me, but I did not understand one very definate "word" which could have several meanings until I was guided to this book which explained exactly the meaning and to my knowledge does not exist in any other book I have read or researched. This is one of the reasons I hold this book in such high esteem. I would recommend that people wanting to understand information in it to first try ready "Autobiography of a Yogi" by Paramahansa Yogananda, who was taught by Sri Yuktswar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swami Sri Yukteshwar, January 1, 2002
By 
Eric S Lloyd (Dallas, Tx United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
The Jnana Avatar (Incarnation of Knolege) Swami Yukteshwar has a very insightfull way of looking into the Vedas as well as the Bible. I had learned of him from Paramahansa Yogananda's book "Autobiography of a Yogi".
Sri Yukteshwar in my opinion has been severly under-praised. He is a brilliant soul, who never sought out any type of publicity. This book explains the Yugas (eras) in a very different way than commonly understood, and I have to agree with this author.
This book isn't very long, but it is packed with allot of usefull information. The author died somewhere between 1920-1940, and its hard to beleive it was so long ago, his vibrations come alive while reading the book.
Sincerely,
Eric Lloyd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy, September 11, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
This book is quality, not quantity. Reveals the underlying unity of Hinduism and Christianity; the 'solution manual' to the scriptures of East&West. How truthful the fact that so few recognize its value and actually follow the procedure recommended therein; considering we only recently entered Dwapara Yuga (atomic age), predominated by indifference to the mysteries of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Immense, condense & serene wisdom from a great master, September 29, 2003
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
If you want a unique insight into the shared and underlying truths behind Hinduism and Christianity, especially the Vedas and Revelation of John, then this exquisite, concise exposition could be ideal.
Like most SRUTI - revealed truth, this book needs reading, considering and reading again and again.
The explanation of the Yugas and the precession of the Equinoxes/Great Year ties up a lot of loose ends. Like the rest of the book, you have to work out the consequences of what is written here. (More on this in Celestial Fire by Robert Cox.)
Just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Density Wisdom, October 14, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
There is book is so small, yet so rich with wisdom that I must frankly say that most of it went over my head and probably will for a long time to come. The faultless spiritual vision of Swami Yukteswar pierces many mysteries and lays before anyone ready to understand them in this amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sri Yukteshwar, A true light for mankind!, August 8, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) (Hardcover)
I first read this book as a young student, perhaps forty years ago, and I just loved it. I recently sent a copy to one of my best friends, who is a spiritually advanced psychotherapist. She told me that she just couldn't put it down, and ecstaticly engulfed it in one sitting. It is packed with explosive spiritual insight that will bring you to new depths and horizons in spirituality. Hold onto your hat! Wow!!!!
I also had to buy a copy for myself to reread. This great soul is just .....(no words). I simply revere him. What a beautiful small packaged gift he left us by preserving his knowledge in this way. Sri Yukteshwar is amazing. We are all blessed by his dedication to us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship)
The Holy Science (Self-Realization Fellowship) by Swami Sri Yukteswar (Hardcover - December 31, 1990)
$14.95 $12.46
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.