Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$11.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 18, 2002
Swami Sri Yukteswar (1855-1936), whose westernly-known disciple was Paramahansa Yogananda, was a quiet, demanding Bengali teacher of Kriya Yoga, the advanced form of raja (meditative) yoga that Yogananda has made so popular in the west. Sri Yukteswarji, however, did not have the effusive, entertaining style of his popular disciple, nor did he write in as easily accessible manner. This slender volume is nevertheless to be highly recommended to the serious student of yoga philosophy or raja practice, and especially to students of Kriya Yoga, for whom Sri Yukteswar's penetrating insights will fit together important puzzle-pieces of the yoga spiritual path. (Beginners to yoga philosophy and practice would be well advised first to read Yogananda's "Autobiography of a Yogi" -- perhaps a few times and taking in even the technical footnotes -- before tackling "The Holy Science." )
The swami defines his volume's purpose to be: showing the essential unity of *all* religions. It is, but the emphasis definitely centers on parallels between John's gospel and Revelation and the yoga principles of India's Sankhya philosophy "Sanatan Dharma." Some of the most arresting parallels presented concern the way both teachings present concepts of "The Word", "Holy Baptism", and "Messiah/Satguru". Sri Yukteswarji does not expend extra words attempting to make unity persuasive to those who have a dogmatic conviction that their religion (Hinduism, Islam, Christianity, or whatever) has the "true" hold on "truth," so those who are so persuaded can safely skip this work. If, however, you have always had a nagging intuitive sense that there ought to be One Truth behind all versions of religious truth, time spent to assimilate the swami's realizations will be well repaid.
As a bonus there is a fascinating introductory chapter which explains India's macro-astrology and the astronomical progression of the equinoxes ( the phenomenon which leads western astrologers to speak of the coming "age of Aquarius"). This introduction to the Indian astrological system reveals it to be remarkably sophisticated -- offering reason to pause and reflect on the implications of a possible cyclical nature of *spiritual* ages ("yugas" to India) -- and new hope that humanity's spirituality will start to catch up with its technology... providing we attend to our dharmas!
Not an *easy* read -- but if you think you're ready for it, it can be an extremely rewarding one.
PS: Although as of this writing the Amazon photo of the jacket makes this appear to be the Spanish translation of the work, this ISBN ( 0876120516 ) is actually correct for the English language edition.
11 comment| 235 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2005
At first reading this short book may seem too deep to cognize. But after study and reflection the Truths encased in this obscure treatise begin to roll around in your mind like a sacred vibration awakening the consciouness long after the words have been read.

For example, one point in the introduction regarding the yuga cycle has led me to a complete new understanding of history: it is a cycle not a linear progression, see [...] and another comment on the length and cause of precession (opposed to the lunisolar precession theory) has opened my eyes to the correct celestial mechanics of our local system, see [...] I just can't say enough about this book and the profound wisdom of its author.

Commissioned by Babaji at one of the most sacred spots on the planet, The Holy Science is a book ahead of its time. It is not for all, however, if you already meditate and you are seeking a deeper understanding of world ages, knowledge of cosmic order and the keys to a mystic life, get this book. The kinetic wisdom of its pages will kindle the love of Christ within you - into a bonfire of joy!

WC
11 comment| 100 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2002
Swami Sri Yukteswar's only book stands alone in that it was commissioned by the great Babaji for a specific purpose.(see Autobiography of a Yogi by Paramahansa Yogananda). It is difficult to grasp in many places but his wisdom and clarity are unmatched. His message rings out across the ages. It needs to be read in the context of Yoganada's Autobiography because it then becomes evident what a great being he was in that incarnation.
11 comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon June 1, 2006
The Holy Science is a deep and powerful book that, in a quiet and almost casual way, presents some revolutionary teachings--such as Sri Yukteswar's precedence-shattering treatment of the yuga cycle (ages of man).

This book is not long, but it takes a while to finish. Each sentence is a condensed mental mouthful that needs chewing and digestion. It's all extremely nourishing, but you want to take your time. When you read the words of Swami Sri Yukteswar you really get the feeling that here is someone who knows the answers to the most difficult questions, the thorniest problems. And that, behind his crystal clear mind lies the heart of a friend.

Sri Yukteswar was the guru of Paramhansa Yogananda, author of the spiritual classic Autobiography of a Yogi. If, after reading this book, you want to know more about the author, Yogananda has written in the early pages of his book one of the most beautiful and glowing tributes to a spiritual mentor in the history of literature.

Richard Salva--author of Soul Journey from Lincoln to Lindbergh [UNABRIDGED]
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 1999
This book has so much spiritual information that it can not be absorbed in one, two or many readings. When I was contacted by my spirit guides many years ago enlightening information was passed on to me, but I did not understand one very definate "word" which could have several meanings until I was guided to this book which explained exactly the meaning and to my knowledge does not exist in any other book I have read or researched. This is one of the reasons I hold this book in such high esteem. I would recommend that people wanting to understand information in it to first try ready "Autobiography of a Yogi" by Paramahansa Yogananda, who was taught by Sri Yuktswar.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2002
The Jnana Avatar (Incarnation of Knolege) Swami Yukteshwar has a very insightfull way of looking into the Vedas as well as the Bible. I had learned of him from Paramahansa Yogananda's book "Autobiography of a Yogi".
Sri Yukteshwar in my opinion has been severly under-praised. He is a brilliant soul, who never sought out any type of publicity. This book explains the Yugas (eras) in a very different way than commonly understood, and I have to agree with this author.
This book isn't very long, but it is packed with allot of usefull information. The author died somewhere between 1920-1940, and its hard to beleive it was so long ago, his vibrations come alive while reading the book.
Sincerely,
Eric Lloyd
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2003
If you want a unique insight into the shared and underlying truths behind Hinduism and Christianity, especially the Vedas and Revelation of John, then this exquisite, concise exposition could be ideal.
Like most SRUTI - revealed truth, this book needs reading, considering and reading again and again.
The explanation of the Yugas and the precession of the Equinoxes/Great Year ties up a lot of loose ends. Like the rest of the book, you have to work out the consequences of what is written here. (More on this in Celestial Fire by Robert Cox.)
Just buy it!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2001
There is book is so small, yet so rich with wisdom that I must frankly say that most of it went over my head and probably will for a long time to come. The faultless spiritual vision of Swami Yukteswar pierces many mysteries and lays before anyone ready to understand them in this amazing book.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2006
Sri Yukteswar, teacher of Paramhansa Yogananda of India, does a great service to the West. In this treatise he clearly shows how all religions essentially reveal the same truths. Using Biblical as well as Hindu sacred scriptures he compares the essence of these beliefs and binds them togther. A must read for any serious student of Mahayoga.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 1998
This book is quality, not quantity. Reveals the underlying unity of Hinduism and Christianity; the 'solution manual' to the scriptures of East&West. How truthful the fact that so few recognize its value and actually follow the procedure recommended therein; considering we only recently entered Dwapara Yuga (atomic age), predominated by indifference to the mysteries of life.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse