Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: The Homebrewers' Recipe Guide: More than 175 original beer recipes including magnificent pale ales, ambers, stouts, lagers, and seasonal brews, plus tips from the master brewers
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Drowners Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 5, 2003
I have used this book so much I wore it out. I now have a second copy. This is no doubt the best recipe book I own. It is geared towards the extract brewer and is a great companion to Papazian's "Complete Joy of Homebrewing". It is not an instruction book for the new brewer but rather a comprehensive book or recipes. There are simple recipes that a new brewer can use instead of purchasing a kit. There are also more advanced recipes for the more experienced brewer. It contains recipes for nearly every style of beer as well as cider and mead. My personal favorite is the Saison recipe, which most recipe books do not include.
Unfortunately I don't see copies this book at the local bookstores or LHBS anymore. Grab a copy before this gem goes out of print.
22 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 1999
If you're looking for a "how-to" book with regard to home-brewing, this ISN'T it, but if you just want RECIPES than this is the one to get. There is a mix of both extract and all-grain recipes. The emphasis on the former is not as great as advertised which I found slightly disappointing--for me, home-brewing is a hobby and not an occupation. (With a little bit of practice, however, it's not too difficult to convert an all-grain recipe into an extract version.) No matter what your style or taste, you'll find at least several different choices here, with recipes complete and easy to understand, and usually presented in a very entertaining fashion. Lots of tips, "history of beer" vignettes, and quotes from famous people on the subject of beer, many of which I have found fun to use in label-making. There's also some very good food recipes in here, all using beer--the Chicken with Roasted Garlic Cream Sauce has become a family favorite, and I'm anxious to try the Chocolate Cream Stout Cake!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 14, 2000
Anyone can put together a list of recipes for all the classicstyles of beer, throw a cover on it and hawk it for ... ... or put up a web site and collect a thousand different ways to combine malt and hops... recipes are easy to come by. But this book is more than just a collection of formulas.
I give it a wholehearted five stars because the authors fill the pages with their passion for brewing great beer. The pages are a combination of anecodtes, brew tips and best of all quotations from all the greats of literature... Shakespeare to Orwell, they all had something to say about beer. I never tire of flipping through the pages when I am getting ready to make the next batch, and laughing at the wit and wisdom found within. I'll say it again. Get this book, it's worth twice the asking price.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2005
It's fitting that Charlie Papazian wrote the foreword for this book. "The Homebrewer's Recipe Guide" is written very much in the spirit of Papazian's "Complete Joy of Homebrewing". The book is filled with famous beer related quotes and bits of beer related prose, most of it quite good. The recipes are divided into the usual categories, most of the recipes have whimsical names and a little information about the brew or the person who made the recipe. Everything about the book is light and fun, much like "Complete Joy of Homebrewing". I've tried a few of the recipes and they made good beer. I'm sure all of them will make good beer. One of the more interesting ones is a Belgian Wit that involves dry hopping Cascades, definitely not to style but I bet it tastes good.

The authors are right up front that this is not a technical manual but rather a guide, hence the title. I'm puzzled by all the negative reviews that criticize for not specifying IBU's and not including instructions for partial boils. If you've brewed a few batches of beer, you should be able to look at these recipes and understand how to adapt them to your system and your personal taste, it isn't difficult. The authors weren't out to write a textbook but rather to share whats worked for them and inspire the reader to brew beer. This, like "Complete Joy of Homebrewing", is an excellent book just to browse through on rainy days when you can't brew. For me, both books really capture the spirit of homebrewing. You can follow these recipes to the letter no matter what size boil you're doing or what %AA your hops are and make great beer or you can change these recipes to hit whatever marks you want to hit. There's all kinds of software you can plug the ingredients into to figure out what you're going to get, or you can calculate with pen and paper, or you can just wing it. I don't think it's fair to criticize this book for not nailing down all the specifics and for not providing specific conversions for extract, partial-mash, and all grain versions of each recipe. It's not that kind of book and it doesn't pretend to be. It is a great recipe guide with some wonderful bits of literature. It's not a beginner's guide but it certainly can be used by beginners and it's not an advanced manual but you'd have to be pretty heartless not to like it.

If you didn't like Papazian's "The Complete Joy of Homebrewing" because it's a little too whimsical, not specific enough, and contains "outdated" information, then you're not going to like this book either. However, if you love "The Complete Joy of Homebrewing", this book makes an excellent companion. As for the politics several people have mentioned, there are no political discussions in my edition (1996). There is a reference to Jimmy Carter since he's the one who made homebrewing legal in the US and there is a reference to Thomas Jefferson also in a beer related context, but I find no references to Newt Gingrich or the Democrats in my edition and I've read it many times.

Amazon has the "Search Inside This Book" feature available for this book. The sample pages are a good representation of what you get. If you like what you see, I highly recommend purchasing it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 1998
This is a delightful book of recipes, tips, and antecdotes. As an extract brewer, the book meets my needs perfectly. The recipes are varied and wide ranging, from classic recipes to historic and seasonal brews.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
Purchased as a Christmas gift for my father-in-law who has been brewing his own beers for quite a few years now so I was worried that he wouldn't appreciate the recipes a whole lot but he flipped through it after un-boxing it and he was quite intrigued by a few of the recipes just at first glance. Great present for anyone already home-brewing or anyone who wants to get into it. I only wish that is was available in hardcover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2012
Just a heads up.. not one of the recipies contains any information about hop bitterness in any format (IBU, HBU, AAU). Since hops are a integral component of any beer, not having any guideline for the quantity of hop in a recipe is like a cake recipe using 'some flour'. No color guidelines either.
Very disappointing.
Pay for the shipping and you can have my copy.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2012
The people who wrote this book had a fun time doing it! I give the book a 4.9 star rating because it seems that for a lot of the recipes, they only brewed it once before including it in the book. Therefore, there's a chance that some of the recipes have room for improvement. But like the authors say, it's never the exact same batch twice, and changing the recipe to your liking is part of the fun.

Otherwise, this is an awesome resource. There are all the classic beer styles including meads, ciders, lambics, Christmas-time ales, and some yummy-looking food recipes as well. The tips are quite helpful too. But if you don't know how to brew, you should learn how to do that first (I like Papazian's The Complete Joy of Home Brewing).

That's all for now.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2015
Was purchased as a gift for my niece who is into brewing. She called to exclaim that this was right in the money! Perfect! She raved about the different recipes she wants to try. Great find on my part!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2013
A nice guide with a fairly complete list of traditional and interesting brews (and bybrids). I do recommend it for those who are new to grain brewing and looking for interesting new recipes to try. Excellent way to learn various styles and how to make them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse